(2012/01) Jan 2012

Jkids,
No. Cos my relatice stays pretty far fr me, so i only bring her home on weekends. I want to keep my kids together so they can bond. It's either they both stay with my relative or i get them into childcare/infant care

hkbaby: Thanks for sharing. Will start shopping for pjs

Alice: first 3 months i have to have biscuits with mil every night.. thereafter it eased off..now only ocassionally if i had early dinner then I'd need to eat something before i sleep

good to sleep early too
when bb is out we'll be depriced of sleep so now sleep more! i sleep at 10.30 every night..hahaha..

mabel cherry: dont stress done stress..keep a positive mind and just observe your condition closely and seek gynae's help when in doubt..gambatte!

Ritzc: thanks for the post. How does the doc check cervix length? By internal or external ultrasound? I was walking a bit like one bus stop& it happened. The other times while I was having constipation. The gynae check placenta and he said the placenta very low lying. I asked him my cervix open or not. Then he said it's ok. Should I seek second opinion. Every time is light bleeding.

RitzC, Silsilly & MabelCherry, do continue to stay strong & positive! Take care & rest more k.. Jiayou!

Alicia, i also usually sleep ard 1130p-1230a.. reach home quite late after work.. find the nites so short.. dun even have enuff time to surf net to research on bb stuff.. now got additional task to do - eat bird nest at 11pm! hahaha..

Vanessa, my bb is also in breech position.. but gynae say nothing to worry at this pt in time.. only need to worry if the bb doesn't turn by week 36.. lets pray hard together..

Poisedon, how many weeks were u when your bb is 1kg? My boy is 855g at 25 weeks & gynae commented that he's on the heavier side (75th percentile)!!.. but she also commented that there's nothing to worry at this pt unless he hits 90th percentile then i need to test for diabetes liao.. jialat..

Vanessa & Alicia , thanks for the support. I plan to go office like every three or four days a week by taxi($40 cost every day as it fall on peak hrs). I can't be a full time housewife as I need to save for my delivery.

Jkids
My mum stay near me lo... So she will quit her job to look after my bb

Bird nest
Well....I try to take mine during day time....cos it's sweet and high in protein...prefer to take it while moving so lesser risk on sugar level!

Sleep deprive
I am having difficulties sleeping too... Cos seems like either side also not very comfy already and when I am having a good sleep,I always have to wake up and pee so can't have a sleep throughout night anymore

As for coaxing bb to sleep, try singing a lullaby...have been singing a lullaby since 2nd trim....so when bb hear the song that means it's bedtime!!

Ritzc
That's terrible lo! Haiz.....how come do detail check so late
your gynae is it woolsworth hur??

Mabel, the cervical scan is done by transvirginal ultrasound. I always tell the sonographer that I'm spotting so she will scan outside just outside the private part (labia). Need to clear bladder before that. Even though it is not exactly internal, I still tend to spot a bit each time after the cervical scan. Juz note that even today my gynae did not confirm my spotting is due to cervical shortening. My spotting is all along specks of brown discharge. Now that I'm on progesterone n duphaston n bedrest, I spot only after constipation. So I try not to force myself to move bowel when constipated. Maybe u can call up other gynae to seek second opinion. I didn't coz I'm burning near to $500 per month on weekly gynae visit since week 13 n so long as the gynae start doing things that I felt telly w my 'research' online I'll stick w her since she is already a top gynae w kkh so no point for me to change as I got to stick w kkh in case premmie.

Jingle, I'm just mad coz I walk in nearly every week since week 13 n both she n the 24 hrs gynae didn't think of cervical shortening as a possibility. N all along since she kept emphasizing that it is normal for some women to spot thru out pregnancy, both my hubby n I r convinced that I was too paranoid. So imagine my shock when she told me in week 20 that it is worrying that I'm still spotting n that after my cervical scan that if I gave birth too early my bb will not survive. If I'm getting another kid in future I will definitely not go to her again.

ritzc
i guess ur gynae is trying not to "cry wolf" too early..she is adopting the wait-and-see attitude and trying not to make you worry at the initial stage also...guess the timing of her executing the alarm bell comes a little late.

sleeping posture
hmm i heard putting a small folded towel or pillow at side of tummy will help us to sleep better as tummy is getting bigger. Anyone tried this?

Lush: my tummy also big...but bb of average only. Don't worry based on tummy size. My tummy also big for #1, but she is only 2.9kg at birth.

sleeping posture: i have a pillow at the side of my tummy but mainly to cushion my #1 kicks. She is co-sleeping with me on my bed. During #1, i will put the pillow in between my legs but this time seems not so comfortable.

low lying placenta: i also have low lying placenta. Initially quite paranoid..but my gynae not very concerned..during my last chkup at 24wks, he told me will move up..and will only check the position at Wk 32. So i also take it easy now.

nowadays i always have pain on my left side of pubic bone when i walk or stand, walk like penguin now..
Especially if i'm at home looking after #1...

i actually had a baby bjorn.
But it's really horrible. The baby is like dangling at the crotch. There is hardly any support and gets straining on the mum/dad back.

Other carriers like Ergo, Beco, provide much better support!

Jac: yup let's prya together baby guai guai turn when he/she is supposed to!

mabel cherry: yah just try to minimise walking. is itpossible for you to work from home? if it's an option then prob you can discuss with your manager about it
maybe it's a good idea to go for second opinion if there's constant light spotting and your current gynae keeps telling you it's ok...

moscato: i'm walking like a penguin too! tummy bigger and heavier le..haha

(X): thanks for the review on baby bjorn! will check out the other brands as well

jingles: i don't drink aot of water at night thus don't wake up to go to the toilet yet..maybe you reduce your water intake at night so don't need to wake up? singing lullaby to baby is a good idea..i shall go learn a lullaby and try..haha..tell you if it's working

jingles: Where u bought ur bird's nest from? Eu Yan Sang has non-sweet, reduced sugar and with rock sugar type. So if u're afraid of taking too sweet, u can buy the reduced sugar one. But don't ever buy the non-sweet one though coz my friend told me it's basically tasteless.

vanessa
kekekeke eh try not to walk like a penguin..remember i share the right way to walk - that should be the right way..if u waddle like a penguin tat means u are walking the wrong way..tat's wat a physio told me lah...3 cents worth of input

kekeke but if i dont wake up and drink water, my throat will b rather dry and if dont pee cos of tummy pressing against bladder, will get UTI also :p so got to do all these for the time being bah.

adeline
kekeke i cant drink bird nest ah :p cos i am allergic to it. But I am drinking hashima which is the equivalent....but I still drink at night lo...cos sometimes when i do my routine test, there is a hint of sugar in my pee....so better not load on sugar too much.

vanessa: whao you sleep at 10.30pm! that's early! i'm still busy with i-dunno-what at that time lol..can never sleep anytime before 11.30pm
anyway my hunger pangs is here to stay i guess..lol. even if i eat dinner at 8 i will be hungry by 10+ zzz.

jac: haha you're so funny..additional task to do lol! yah lor the nights are so short..while the days are so long. snores. sleepy max!!

mabel: like vanessa mentioned, is working from home possible? if not, maybe you can consider taking unpaid leave for 1 month? you get to rest more, and you still can benefit from ML

moscato: me is walking like a penguin too..like vanessa my tum tum getting bigger and i need to walk more "widely" to balance myself wahaha.

jingles: what is the right way to walk? I waddle like a penguin too now leh.. Hehe.. maybe u can add some water into ur hashima to dilute it so it won't be so sweet?

jingles: huh really walk like penguin is wrong?? lol then should walk like how neh. not exactly penguin walk la haha but just walking more "widely" keke.

(X): hehe so cute!
how many weeks are you at now?

adeline/alicia/moscato
the right way to walk is tummy tucked in, and arch of the back should not be too arch...if not, u will suffer from back aches or tummy ligaments ache at the end of the day.
Best way is to imagine urself as a puppet being pulled by a string....correct ur posture....if u are waddling, opening legs too wide is wrong lei.. :p

adeline/alicia/moscato
also must ensure chin tucked in, and shoulders should not slouch...physio did say if u sit properly and walk properly, even though our tummy are big, aches and all can be prevented if we sit, walk and wear the right shoes

(x)
no la..that means all muscles should be relax and not strain up...cos if we waddle, tend to push legs and hands forward and chin also forward..this will cause muscle at jaws to ache.

baby carrier
I agree with X that babybjorn carriers are not the best, for both mummy and baby. you should look for a carrier where, when baby is upright in it, he is in a sitting position with knees higher than bum. Ergo, Beco are good brands. Ring slings or pouch slings are also good.

Ritzc & vaneassa , me too,my whole 17 weeks , I spent more than2.5 k already. Everytime spotting go to a&e gleneagles. I don't want to spend more. Every month visits more than $500 cost. I am the frequent visitors to gynae. I just SMS to my gynae whether it could be low placenta or cervix length problem. My next appointment with him is next four weeks after detail scan. I will try to be positive and try to carry until full term.I need to strong n positive. Just need to be more cautious than normal pregnant mom. Then I think should b fine. I will talk with my BB inside often. So we can keep in touch. Thank u all. All these are fate and we plan to meet in this life. I will try my best care for my little fetus.

echo
thanks for the tip...am now looking into pupsik instead...also as carrying a princess around...i wonder it may not be too good posture for bb, to be carried around with her legs apart and all...

mabelcherry
keep strong positive fate...dont worry too much. Try talking to your hub, its good to share your worries and load.

jingles: am trying hard to "be pulled like a puppet"..somehow will sway to become waddling like penguin..so have to constantly remind myself..hahaha..

hear alot of mommies strating to wake up at night to pee le..but i never leh..cham ah..normal or not? :p

(X): envious leh!! i want my baby to move more! very reassuring..but think my boy prefers to sleep leh..how to make him more active ah?

echo: thanks for the tip
will look into these carriers

mabel cherry: jiayou! we are all rooting for you
like you say just be extra careful and you shld be fine
like what jingles say, stay positive and talk it out with you hubby or you can just rant here

vanessa,
must constantly remind yourself
its the little things that u do throughout the day which will prevent immense fatigue at night. Oh ya...if your job is deskbounded like mine, also must rem to sit till the back end of the chair and rest back as much as possible on back of chair. Rest foot a little bit higher...I am using the top cover of A4 box to rest my legs

errr.. i duno lei. i just got to pee....if not i find i will be controlling my bladder. maybe you have yet to hit the stage yet

How many weeks already Vanessa?

Jingles: thanks for posture tip.. Will keep in mind.. I'm in week 24.. Quite worried now cos I just went to the LOO and saw that I hv some brown discharge.. It's freaking me out now.. Going to see gynae tonight.. Really worried now

vanessa
err...brown d/c may be cos due to expanding of uterus or shed of old blood in the uterus...dont worry too much. When I was in early week 20, I also have slight brown d/c but it disappear after 1 day.

its mid week mummy!!
another 2 days before we are off to weekend

vanessa
errrr....i think if its worrying you, you better go check tonight bah
to have peace of mind. for me, i decide to monitor cos it is just a slight d/c. But what the nurses told me what we should be alarm is red d/c esp bloody red....

jingles
it is just old wives tales that you should not carry a girl with her legs apart. This is in fact the posture that is best for spinal development, to be sitting, bum lower than knees, legs slightly spread. carriers like bjorn have babies dangling from their crotch, which is actually not meant to be a weight bearing area (unlike the bum), which is bad for them.

Vanessa, you have low lying placenta right? If so, better go to your gynae & check. Maybe you can give his/ her clinic & check if there is a need for u go down or monitor 1st?

My gynae told me to let him know immediately if bleeding. Didn't mention abt brown d/c.

jingles: whao thanks for sharing! abit hard though! i tried during lunch and somehow i will do my penguin-walk again haha! will try harder!

mabel: yes please be more careful and do not carry heavy things or bend /squat down too much yah! like what jingles mentioned, talk and share with your hubby..you will feel better. dun keep everything to yourself yah. stay positive, and i wish you all the best!!!
jia you!!

vanessa: please take care of yourself! if in doubt, just call up your gynae and go down yah!!

i just had mac for lunch..and i wonder if it's the food that's too oily or it's cos i drank a medium cup of coke, my tummy is having cramping-like feelings now. -_-|| baby must be protesting! boohoo.

alicia
AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH u make me drool!! I also wan eat macdonald lei....any mummies playing their monopoly???

echo
errmmm actually i have yet to spot the difference lei..is there is a difference between bjorn and rest of carriers?

uh-oh i am bad influence! *runs away and hide* haha. jingles, i collected the monopoly stickers from my friend during lunch..shall go see if got so lucky or not keke! or maybe got free apple pie also not bad hee.

adeline go eat! but maybe dun finish the meal? i ate half of everything cos quite sinful but my craving was too strong to be subdued lol!

then end up stomach cramp. :x LOL.

Alicia: Cannt eat half leh.. Coz too tempting already. Cannt control. Cfm will finish everything! My appetite has been increasing ever since i got pregnant. Don't drink coke, I always change the drink to fresh milk when I eat mac and mos burger.. Hehe

yaahhh coke is no no ....i will change to evian lo..its been along time since i drink aerated cold drinks :p

ohh for mummies going for their routine test....dont try to eat junk....cos I ever ate once before my routine test and that's when my OGTT nightmares started...

jingles: lol ambitious! haha. i just opened the stickers and i got a free ice milo!! :D hehe. anyway what is OGTT? routine test meaning the monthly gynae checkups?

adeline: why cannot drink coke ah..cos of caffaine? hmm change to fresh milk..good idea. i shall start doing that! haha my appetite has been increasing too..i guess that's normal! teehee.

I am selling away my breastpump.
It is a Hygeia Enjoye Bundle with the Hands-free set sold by mumsfairy.
http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=25&Itemid=31&productid=137

Retail price is $650, selling at only $500.
Only used 1 month, about 5 times. Condition is 9.8 / 10

This pump has many good reviews. It can be found at http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=15&Itemid=30

Please sms me at 92980177 if you are interested.