(2012/01) Jan 2012

jingles: I know the name of the anaesthetician. Hopefully she's on duty the day I need her!

hkbaby: thanks for sharing the disadvantages of epi. Guess we'll have to weigh the pros and cons

Thanks for sharing mummies! I've a better idea on epi and laughing gas now
But kind of scared to go through labour. Hope our labour pain doesn't last long!

yes! hope all of us don't need to go through long labour pains! I've heard of people whose labour pains are over 10 hours...aiyo how to tahan? hehe~~

for my #1.. b4 EDD..gynae already asked if i wan epi..told him yes..on the day of admission..told nurse to get the anaesthetician to be on standby..i endure for 2 hrs after gynea break my waterbag..b4 i ask for epi....my epi was administered at 10am++ and i delivered closed to 5pm..no vomitting for me..only thing is after dat..i had difficulty sleeping on my back for quite some time

jingles,
Yup, nurses will usually know gyane's preference. For my #1, nurses told me my gynae prefers mothers to be able to feel some of the contractions and be able to push better. So they did not increase the epi dose when I requested for it at 8-9cm dilated.
For the episotomy, gynae injected local anethesic before cut and sew. So I didn't feel any pain, but I did have some sensation during the sewing part.
I didn't have any bad experience with the epi. The doc admistering it was great, came withing 10mins of my request for epidural, no pinch or pain during the administering, no shivering etc. But did puke once. I was sitting up cross legged and carrying my daughter once they got me to my room and walking as per normal they next day when catheter was removed

i had epi csec.
So far... so good. Did not suffer from any epi side effects.

Throughout the op, i was "scolding" my gynae. Say if baby is not boy, he have to get baby a set of pink clothes. Or if baby less than 4kg (i had to do csec coz gynae say baby too big, ask me dun hero try natural), i will not pay him coz he made me go thru csec etc.

But yes... really felt like meat on the operating table.

birdbrain
wah lao...feel some contractions lei..but gynae will also not know the threshold of our pain mar... :s
which hospital hur? TMC ah?
one thing good abt natural birth is after pushing can walk around and carry bb liao..heard c-sect will be diff story...

Jingles,
Yup, at tmc I did tell my gynae i wanted to try to go without epi. I didn't think the steriod jabs were painful, so my gynae's opinion was i havd a pretty good threshold for pain. But i ended up wit an induced birth. After 6 hrs of waiting ard for cont ractions to hit and 3 hrs of induced pain and only 1.5cm dilated, i threw in the towel.

Adeline; sent u the picture. Is right after birth. Doc will pass u the baby unclean. Is a bit slimy, (bloody fr mummy's due to tearing), I crop off the umbilical cord cos it's a bit scary to me. I was a bit shock when doc passed to me when unclean.

Birdbrain - they will still administer epi when 8-9cm dilated? I am v worried I can't rush to hospital in time.. Friends laugh when they realized I meant not in time for epi
they thot I meant not in time to deliver! Told hubby tis time once I feel contraction we will chiong to hospital though it's only 10mins car ride away! ;)

i am the one who din use epi but got a jab at my butt to help relax so that can dilate faster. sorry cant rem the name of the jab :p

serene
kekekek if they pass to me to cut i not sure if i still have the strength to cut or not :p

hkbaby
i guess the administer of epi will depends on alot of factor...if 8-9cm but if anaesthetician is expert and spinal is clear and ez for him to spot, administering and kicking in of epi effect is quite fast....so actually is depends on scenario tat day and how expert the anaesthetician is

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mommies, haven't been here in a while and you all have progressed to delivery! That's the part that I'm in absolute denial about! Just want to keep myself occupied with nice thoughts of the baby and shopping for his stuff..

jingles,
Hahaha, attempted to... but still end up with epi. The contraction pains were actually bearable (just grab hold of the bed rail and squeeze with all your might), but it's the fact that I know that got at least 5-6 hours more to go before can be fully dialted... that's when I decided to get epi... relaxed prob can dilate faster =p

<font color="aa00aa">It did cross my mind to keep e placenta and grind it into pills. Heard it's beneficial for us post delivery.. Only thing is I got no clue who to approach for processing..</font>

grind placenta into pills? sounds gross... i know placenta is very high in nutrition...but to take own placenta is a bit yucky leh...

so fast move onto delivery...

my gynae actually say, there is no real facts for the side effect of epi (eg. normally we might hv backaches, not only after epi)...
will be able to enjoy the labour process and hv more energy to do the pushing when its time...

i endure for 3 hrs, then i took the epi, and slept thru for like almost 8 to 9 hrs before i got dialated enof and the nurses woke me up to ask me to push... hee...

at the end of the day, really depend on your threshold of pain...

Ever heard some use placenta n made into pills to maintain youthfulness! Actually I did wonder what happened to my placenta af I delivered it.. Nobody asked me if i wish to keep it.. Did they throw or sell it to some rich pple to make into pills n stay young???

Jingles: actually for natural birth cutting of umbilical cord is optional for daddy. But my hb too chicken to cut.

Adeline ; so long yr hb not kapo to look in between yr legs it's ok. One of my guy friend peek down and he stay away fr sex for one yr.

hi mummies.. opps, am i the only one who've not booked my ward yet?? for those who've booked MAH, are we supposed to book thro' our gynae or booked with MAH directly? hopefully they still have single room.....

jingles:
coz i never expected i could go thro the pain until i tried. to me this is called a true natural delivery. people always said lab pain is the most painful on a scale of 10, so if i could go thro this pain, other pain should be easier.
but i will stil feel nervous to go thro the lab pain again.

serene:
i haven;t booked my ward! coz my gynae said wait till the 8th mth...
is it too late huh?

hope every one is warm and safe in office! its wet and slippery out there, so rem to walk in little steps

for mummies of KKH
i had asked the nurses already. Booking of labour ward only from week 32 onwards.

yes, what a nice day to zzz,argh.

due to the heavy rain, i wear t-short and slippers to work, very aunty but very comfortable. :p

re: seat
anyone has been offered a seat now that i suppose your tummy is obvious? in the morning, i realise usually alot of pp in the reserved seat are sleeping. only can wait for other kind pp in the same row to offer a seat. i think my tummy is getting more obvious so the gentleman in front of me gave me the seat even though i am wear a loose t-shirt.

jingle:
so do we book with our own clinic or hospital? i forgot, ...u deliver at mount a?

jkids
kekeke its better to be aunty and not get wet and sick

i think it depends on ur luck on ple giving up seat to you in the train. nowadays alot of act blur people around...

ermmm I am kkh patient lei..so its book in the hospital de..not sure abt MA patients, maybe u wan check with ur gynae in your next visit

i have not bk ward yet..need to bk soo early???? My gynea didnt mention anything about ward ley..hmmm..
Anyone delivering at TMC and has bk their ward already??

Ive also heard of converting the placenta to pills. 1 of my colleague did it, I will ask her for the contact details closer to Jan.
I heard it helps mothers recover faster.. so will try.. ;p

re: converting placenta to pills
I ever come across a blog on how this lady convert the placenta into pill...forgot the blog name liao..

Briefly remember she fried the placenta with some other ingredient..until like dry...then cut it into strip..b4 grinding it...then she bot those empty capsule and pour the powder into the capsule..

Poseidon: i haven book my TMC ward oso..probably around 8 mths o so..cos that is when i need to pay my gynea his delivery fees..

good morn mommies!
What a nice weather to nuah at home..hehe :p

hkbaby: studio shots ah..saw some but quite ex..my photography enthu friend says she will take photos for me..haha..so prob will let her take for fun

i'm with Mt.A and I ahvent book my ward either. The last time i asked my gynae, she say no need to book so early wor..so prob will ask again at my next appointment in Oct..

Vanessa - ya just take for memory cos dun think want to have #3.. I'm also at MA. Mayb my gynae staff KS lah. They asked me ard 16wk appt when I signed up their clinic package. So oredi bk the ward and MA has also sent me a confirmation SMS and mailed me the admission form to complete! when's ur EDD? Mine 30 Jan 2012. Who knows we may meet when we deliver!

hi mummies, i juz checked with MAH.. booking of the maternity ward/package is done thro' your own gynae.. will check with my gynae when i see her next week..

vanessa!
hey have u gone thru the list of things to pack to hospital? I was wondering why we got to bring the hospital past receipts for?