(2012/01) Jan 2012

hkbaby, you are so considerate. The room mate my frd got, never even seek her opinions, just turn it up. heheh.

I never eat trotters for my #1, coz just dun really fancy that. But will make sure I eat it this time coz I read that the gelatinous bits is very good for our joints after delivery.

adeline
i also #1 lei...so tat's why also super kanchiong and dont really know wat to expect..I just hope my kampong will support me outside while i gave birth lo :p

gingerleaf
ya...i also gg to opt for 1 bedder if possible. Cos I dont like noisy relatives and ple keep playing with a/c. I heard my friend shared with another woman last time, not sure if her stitch hurts or wat lei...whole night groaning...so..better take private so can rest properly

Wah... faint ah?
Wonder how he went thru army.

Actually, is it very bloody? Mine was Csec. Hubby say quite gross, but lucky he's chef, so used to seeing blood and cut up meat, yes, he referred to me as MEAT! I also felt like i was a pig, on the slaugter table waiting my fate.

After baby born, hubby went off with baby to get baby cleaned up and measured. Leaving me on the table to be sewn up. Haiz...

Gingerleaf, ya tis time will eat more trotters too. It's suppose to be v gd for getting rid of wind n building back the body! We add more rock sugar inside our pig trotters think it will taste better! Heehee! ;)

Pig trotters with vinegar
Hahaha, I only like the vinegar and the eggs. Cos vinegar is sweet after all the cooking and simmering. My mum always add in lean pork cos she knows I don't like pig skin and trotters. I like all the deep fried shredded ginger with fish too. In fact, my mum fed me so well during confinement that I actually gained weight. This time round, i'm getting confinement tingkat... but will still be stocking up on yellow rice wine cos I love my yellow rice wine soup!

birdbrain,

is there a difference btwn yellow rice wine n rice wine? Which are the common one used for confinement? I never had that for confinement...

(x)
meat !?!?!!? wah lao blur tiao lei....

hkbaby/birdbrain
i love to eat pig trotters and the stewed eggs too
YUMZZZZ
oh ya...cannot put too much rock sugar ah..later glucose level will go up lei..also i read somewhere...sugar hinders recovery..incase u have any stitches.

Adeline: think I was complicated..haha..so mom had to C-sect me out..hahaha~~

gingerleaf: yah..and my friend is the big and tall type..go gym got muscles type, cannot imagine he faint in the delivery room lor..must have been a loud THUD! hahahaha~~

hkbaby: aiyo your MIL so pressing! force u to eat! hehe..well guess she wants to make sure you are really 'bu' so can give her 2nd grandchild..hehe..

cheerbear: oh dear they planned to overcharge you and hope to skip through it?! and $150 lesser is not acceptable leh hmph. i better check clearly during the tour lol. TMC like quite little rooms maybe that's why..but i like my gynae so oh wells haha. thanks for sharing!

adeline: maybe you can ask your hubby to concentrate on your face only and not peep anywhere downwards? lol. it's my 1st pregnancy too and i have low tolerance for pain so..i cant imagine myself in the delivery ward haha! it's a new experience for so many of us, let's encourage each other on the way!

jingles: wahaha you so funny la hope your kampong will support you from outside lol!!!

(X),
my hb looked over the green screen they put up over my tummy n said he can see a very thick white layer of fats. like fatty pork. He said not much blood too.

(X): hahaha your ways of description are hilarious la lol! first is being bitchy screaming for nurses, now you are a piece of meat haha.

vanessa: LOL the friend's wife must be laughing and screaming at the same time. i think if my hubby ever faints in the delivery ward, i will laugh like mad (provided i am still sane from the pain lol) and i will make sure he lives with it for the rest of his life =p wahaha!

Cheer Bear: Yep, I'll check with my gynae

Vanessa: Oh i see. Complicated ar.. Haha

Alicia: That's what I told him too! But he said the nurse is sure going to show him our baby once delivered and the baby will be covered with blood still. -.-

gingerleaf
layer of fats?? hmmmm...wat a way to describe lei.

adeline
sure got blood on baby de mar...but it will be like with some gooey stuff too....eh own child lei...why he so scared :p

adeline: i hear from my friends who have given birth, that when baby come out he / she is actually quite clean! not like tv shows or movies lol! of course got abit of blood but very little! keke and baby will be covered in this white layer of gluey thing to protect baby's skin from wrinkling when inside our womb. also hear that if you drink coconut juice / crysenthemum tea during your last month before giving birth, baby will come out cleaner too. anyway i think he will be so overjoyed to see baby that even though there are tinge of blood, he will forget his phobia
go google it or ask friends who have delivered before, i'm sure if he dun purposely peep down it should be fine hehe!

jingles: think will have a bit blood on the baby ba. I also don't know why he so scared leh. He said he see other people's blood he ok but not mine. He'll become jelly if he sees blood on me. So useless lo!

Alicia: Ya good idea. I'll ask my friends who gave birth before. Anyway, as my EDD draws near, I'll give him another chance and ask if he's willing to go in with me. Hehe

adeline
guess its from you
cos he loves u mar
hehehee

2nd time mummies
wonder when u deliver via natural, will you feel anything when gynae made the cut? i heard from one mummy it hurts like hell when she was being cut and then the gynae administer some form of anesthetic

adeline: you should start talking to him now lol! let him get use to the idea ma
i am trying to talk my hubby into cutting the cord wahaha..he's like "nooo it's so painful!" LOL. and yup i think he loves you so much that he cannot stand seeing blood on you. quite sweet la hehe

jingles: *gulps* cut..what?! LOL!

alicia
its call episiotomy. cut at V area for bb to go through...normally asians will have a small cut to prevent a really bad tear.

jingles and alicia: Hehe. Ya, quite sweet indeed lah. But if he loves me, all the more he should follow me into the delivery suite and give me all the support I need mah. Going into labour 1st time leh... It is when I need him the most. I'll start psycho-ing him every night from tonight onwards!
Hope he'll change his mind!

adeline
kekekekekekke ya i also agree la..got to give u support esp for #1 and you will not know what to expect also.
Maybe you should expressively let him know u really need his presence lo!

jingles: orr cut the V huh..i got hear before. but they say often the childbearing pain is sooo extreme, cutting of the V is nothing compared to it. :X sounds horribly scary lor lol!

adeline: HUH tear to the anus?! ouch poor thing!!!!
my friends say, to ask the doctor to cut instead of letting it tear..cos easier to stitch and heal and it looks "nicer" too. though i dunno how nice it can look..dun make sense. -_-|| LOL.

vanessa: haha me too! low tolerance for pain! i've got crazy friends who went to youtube the scene and wanted me to watch to get "prepared" haha but i run away. dun think so much la huh things will be fine

alicia
i think if u are gg to prenatal classes, you will get to see the video also :p

vanessa
my threshold also not v high...but if u are opting for C-sect, guess its not a prob....but if natural better opt for epi, so once effect kick in, you will not be able to feel it.

Alicia: Ya, till anus -.- I cannot imagine how painful it will be. Guess will be too painful until numb...

serene123: Think u can upload by clicking on "upload attachment" - beside the "post message" button

Jingles n Vanessa - mine was natural w epi so dun feel anything for contraction, pushing, episotomy, delivery, stitching.. If gynae did a gd job suppose scar is v neat n not as visible. For first one, more advisable to go w epi so u have a gd experience w delivery n not scare u off to give birth another time! Second time can go try out the all natural way! But for me still choosing epi cos threshold not as high too! Now worry not in time to reach hospital for epi!!!

Didnt know abt not advisable for too much sugar in pig trotters.. No wonder my mil just cooked w 4 bottles of vinegar n didn't put sugar at all!

I was still thinking if i should be brave and not take epi so can experience real natural birth..but now hearing this and imagining the cut and stitch and what have you.. i think i'll just guai guai opt for epi..*gulps*

jingles: lol i am not going for prenatal classes kekeke so i will skip it! :D hahaha.

hkbaby: usually it will take awhile before the real pain to kick in right? my friends told me epi injection is very important..cannot too early cannot too late lol. in pain already still must stress about timing haha.

vanessa: please go for epi!! haha. so far everyone i know of opt for epi.

adeline: yup there is laughing gas too but i heard it's not as good. you will get kinda "high" and it's very hard for you to push. my friend's sister used laughing gas, she couldnt control at all and in the end doctor had to vaccumm the baby out

Yes, Adeline. There's the laughing gas option but it meant more like a distraction fr the pain n may make u dowrsy n have no strength to push. During antenatal class, they will explain the different pain relief options available, their pros n cons. If want to go natural, best avoid too big bb for easier delivery, 'smaller' tear n faster recovery. Also ask gynae to prescribe tablets to soften the stools after delivery so not as straining to go toilet.

Alicia: yup will opt for epi.. the problem is 99% of the people around me doesnt use epi so that gave me some confidence..now I'll def opt for epi..make my life easier..hahaha
vacuum the baby out? oh dear..poor baby..kena sucked out...hahaha~~~

vanessa: whao your friends are all brave people lol! for my case is 99% will go for epi. but i also heard that some nurses who are not too pro, when they inject the epi into your spine, it can get really painful too. -_-|| lol. yah the baby quite poor thing..the little scalp was red at first but of course overtime everything was good

hkbaby: from your experience and classes which do you think are the best?
so far everyone tells me epi!

Alicia - when I was admitted at 2+am oredi 3cm dilated n was administered epi at 3am then delivered 7+am. Think if only 1cm dilate they will not administer cos may take awhile to open more. My gynae said second one will b delivered in half the time
n suppose if abt 7-8cm dilate they may not administer too cos bb can come anytime! V scare cos dun think I can go thru wo epi think I will faint first!

Taggies Toys and Blankies -- a "must have" nursery item for little. For well over a decade now, babies and children have been comforted by their tactile, soothing and safe taggies. Little ones love to rub and twiddle the satin tags on clothing, blankets and toys as a calming and reassuring comforter.

6057845.jpg

PM me for details.

re: episiotomy
ask your doc to do a slant cut so that the wound wun be so "near" to the anus? that was what some doc do.

i could feel my doc cut me, slight pain coz the lab pain was more painful, lol.

wow..talking about delivery already.

My #1 was natural with epi. Before that kept telling my hb i want to try w/o epi but i gave in to epi when the nurse came to ask me if i want. Was not prepared for the contractions. #1 was only half engaged when i went for check up that morning. Surprisingly they gave me epi cos i was alraedy 6cm dilated when i was admitted.

Wonder if i can reach in time for epi for #2 since 2nd delivery is usually faster.

Btw the laughing gas really made me drowsy. No more energy to push and i was almost dozing off. I didnt even realise bb is out. :p

I m stopping breast feeding and selling my breast pump.
Philips Avent Twin Electronic Breast Pump 
Local set with warranty till Mar 2013

Include manual pump conversion kit
Cd on guide to breast feeding
Bag for the pump including ice packsx4 n insulator bagsx2
A set of nipple protectors
Honey color 260ml avent bottle x2 used only to contain milk when pumping. Bpa free 
Honey color 125ml avent bottle x2 inclusive of teats. Brand new bpa free 
Translucent 125ml avent bottle x 1 inclusive of teats. Brand new. 
2x avent pacifier 3-6 mths bpa free

Got it at $599. Willing to let go at $450 as it is still under warranty. Will provide receipt. Warranty can change for brand new set in case of breakdown. But it is very new.

Self collect at Bedok area. Pls pm me if keen. Tnx

Alicia - I wld say go for epidural if u r 1st timer n intend to have another bb cos at least u experience a 'more pleasant' delivery. Some may feel that's it dun want to do it again if done the natural way!

Administration of epidural is done by an anaesthetist who is a specialist not any nurse. They normally travel between various hospitals upon request. If I recalled correctly, my gynae requested one for me as I opted for epidural way b4 admission.

morning mummies

adeline
laughing gas its not v effective and it has its cons. It acts more like a distraction and thru what i know, you must learn how to breathe in the right method to have the delusion effect. Also, sometimes if its not the right way for you, you may also tend to puke and feel worse after breathing in the mouthful of gas.

hkbaby
agree with hkbaby. Epi is only administer by an anaesthetist. For KK patients, not to worry, they have their own inhouse team

moscato
good lei...dont even know bb its out that means your delivery is not painful

yes agree that laughing gas doesnt reduce pain and only make you drowsy and *blur*. but it works for me coz it distracts me from the lab pain.

about using epi, alot also depends on your doc's style. if your doc is not pro, he will tell his nurse not to offer epi. so the nurses never suggest epi to me, only offer the rest which are not useful at all to curb pain. if your lab pain is going to be long, its very difficult to *tong* throughout.

jingles:
haha. i know my doc's style. so i was mentally prepared to go thro it :p yes, tmc! luckily my lab was not so longm else i will faint man! but never regretted going thro the pain.