(2012/01) Jan 2012

morning ladies,

strollers: have a combi stroller for #1, no complaints, like that i can carry baby and take stroller out of the boot with one hand, open with one hand etc. only that when rolling on road, not as smooth as the bigger ones. so far, zoo, we use combi is still ok cos the zoo road is quite smooth. am wondering if need to get another stroller for #2, cos #1 will be 21 months when bb out. not sure if can share... my car dunno can fit so many stroller or not.

cloth diapering: i have been using bumwear for my #1 since she was 2 months old, in the day, night use diapers. cloth diapers are less likely to keep baby dry, in fact they feel wet easily and apparently helps with toilet training that way. yes we have to wash inserts and diapers each time they are soiled. just when u want to wash them. bumwear recommends rinsing and then later then put in washing machine. i really can't bear to leave it lying around for so long so my helper handwashes it daily. also, need to rinse properly before putting it in washing machine with other clothes so end up might as well just handwash. cons to handwashing is that my helper was too vigorous with the washing and spoilt the waterproof liner so it leaked everytime she got wet. we bought another batch, wash properly, but feel some are slightly leaky also. end up don't think we have much cost savings since my girl's backside is ok with cheap diaper (pet pet). now wondering if shd get more cloth diapers for #2... don't think will get bumwear, cos it is quite pricey and didn't last as long as they said it would, even tho we tried with 2 batches.

jingles: hard to keep so many pails cos we will have pails for bb clothes as well, puke and all.

weight gain: have gained 4.5kg so far, at 22+ weeks. waiting for the avalanche to come.

ermm i got this funny moments this past 2 days. When I am sitting on the chair, slightly hunch, then suddenly sit up, I felt some slight abrasions inside tummy.

Anyone felt this way?

cloth diapering
yes will have to wash every time. best to soak the diapers before washing, esp if they are poopy. for me, main reason for using cloth diapers is not to save money but to be more environmentally friendly. I also found bumwear to be a bit leaky, which is why I stopped using at toddler age, as my girl's volume of pee was more than what the diaper could handle, even with 2 inserts, especially over nap time. So we switched to using disposables.

Morn mommies!!

achy feet : I prop my feet up whenever i can..esp when watching tv or on the bed.. it helps to relieve the achyness. I also bought 2 pairs of flats from Pazzion.. quite good and the more u wear the more it expands so it's more comfy for our swelling feet

stroller: Thanks hkbaby for your pointers. I'll base on these to look for a stroller that suits my needs
Combi sounds like a popular choice so will check that out. Peg Perego I guess it's too heavy though I like the sturdiness but think i cant handle on my own. If i had the budget, I would go for 2 strollers... alas.. no $$$

cloth diapers: though better for bb skin, i think it's super troublesome leh..waste more water also..so in the end prob not much savings. so will stick to diapers

mommy fashion: I am so growing out of my clothes. Since my wardrobe already had some loose blouse, I only got 1 pants, 1 skirt, 2 berms and a long tee when i was in my 2nd month of pregnancy. Didnt wanna spend so much on maternity shopping. Now as my tummy is growing, all my tops cannot wear le,..haizz guess no choice have to go shopping. But nice maternity wear is sooooo expensive!

Cloth diaper too much hassle.
I just use disposables. Haha...

Cheap maternity wear
I agree with ASOS.com. Check out the clearance for maternity. And it's free shipping. But waiting time is abt 3 weeks. Better order NOW!
I got my hands on 4 dresses and a pair of jeans. Loving it!

1.anyone has confirmed your maternility leave with your boss already?

2.is your co engaging someone to cover for u, or your colleague will help u?

3. do you have nice colleagues who help you with initiative at work due to your current stage?

my boss asks me to send him a confirmation now. he will find a coverer for me but he only allows temp to come a week b4 i go on leave and handover to be done within a week wen i am back. i begin to feel the stress oredi...

quite afraid the temp staff will mess up my work when i return workforce...
i never like to be on ML during peak, but what to do...

colleagues wise, they are average, not very helpful. cannot depend on them to help, they will just delay things...

Hi (X), thanks for the heads-up on ASOS. Regarding their sizing, should I take my pre-pregnancy size? I suppose it should be similar to Dorothy Perkins sizing, right? Lastly, do they accept Sg cards or only Paypal?

I just checked out the maternity clearance section and you are so right, there are so many choices! I'm already eyeing 5 dresses. Uh-oh...:p

(X): Will check out ASOS! 3 weeks delivery very long hor... the size chart that they use is accurate? Cos I have done some web shopping but sometimes the size chart they use not accurate and end up i have clothes that doesnt fit...

jkids: I just briefly mentioned to my boss that I'll most likely work till end Dec. Then I decide if I wanna take leave till I give birth or will work until my water bag break..haha..
My colleague will be covering me. I really wonder they are going to cope! well that's my boss' problem i guess..haha..
my colleagues are very nice. When they learnt I am preggie, they will help me with stuff and buy stuff for me to eat.. guess I'm really lucky and that's also the reason why I ahve been with my co for 8 years though the salary sucks...
you don't stress ok...chuan2 dao4 qiao2 tou2 zi4 ran2 zhi2.. no point stressing over something that you cannot control. I guess the best that you can do is to try your best to train her as much as you can, and prepare notes for your handover so the temp can refer to when you are on maternity leave. Cheer up yah! everything will be fine!

morning mummies! hope everyone's feeling great today!

i was rushing to work this morning and NEARLY missed a step of stairs. gosh i swear my heart stopped for a moment. something to note: rather be very late for work than to risk my lovely baby!
felt so guilty.

strollers: thanks to all who shared info on this! time to start looking out yay. anyway my friend told me that there will be a baby fair in expo in october..is it so? if yes then i may wait for the fair!

diapers: i cant imagine having to wash cloth diapers!! not that i will find it disgusting or what but i rather take the time to rest lol.

sweetchocz: hope you had a better sleep last night!!

jingles: that must be baby squirming against your tummy! :D

jkids: my office quite cui lol. cos we are a branch out from Msia main office and we're doing mainly support and operational work. right now there's only me and this other temp staff working in the office. the manager vacancy has been empty since April and i got no idea when they wanna hire. my other colleague left in late August and i dunno when they will hire too. so now i am like doing all the work. from finance to marketing to customer service. gosh. very messy huh?

but in my case i already told my HR my due date and told her i may start going on leave 2 weeks before that. she is very nice and supportive
my colleagues from Msia are really nice too..they will call me on and off to check that i am okay. the temp staff, well he will help me with all the manly work haha. so overall it aint too bad
just very tired from doing all the paperwork!

i really hope they will hire a manager and replacement for my colleague soon..if not i got no idea how to do my handover in such a short period of time. my side is so messy but i also cant be bothered haha. so you dont worry or think too much about your work..right now most important thing is baby yah
cheer up. so long as you have done your best in doing the handover, the rest is up to your colleagues and boss.

Alicia: Aiyo, be careful! don't rush..preggies have the excuse to walk slower, and occasionally be late for work! so take your time yah.. don't rush...

jkids- my boss out right say no one covers me during ML. I have 4 staffs under me, the 1 accounts payable although is junior but old (50 yrs old) quite bo chap. and another most senior one also 50 yrs old in accounts for a long time, but technically cannot make it. so i wonder how they cope during the 4 months.

wonder, he wants me to work from home. my previous job, i also work throughout my ML till HR sent email to stop cos its against MOM rule. but my boss is v nice, so help out as much as possible.

this time round, don think can work from home cos i have 1 big one to look after.

so all the best to my this new boss.

Alicia: thanks! yes better night rest last night.

Sometimes, I forget that I'm pregnant. Even my friends says I behave as if I'm not. So yes, walking, running for the bus, walking down the stairs must be extra extra careful!

wow..i see mommies doing serious window shopping now. So happy to see all the info on diapers, strollers, etc...when is the exact time we should really go buy these stuffs. Is now too early? Heard there's a baby fair in end Sept too.

Have any mommies gone for any antenatal classes? Are they useful?

<font color="aa00aa">Afternoon ladies! So nice to see e forum so alive!

<font color="0077aa">Sweetchocz</font><font color="aa00aa">I totally know what u mean! I quite frequently forget that I'm preggie, especially when I'm at work or engrossed in my thoughts.. My frens find it quite funny and keep asking me to slow down..</font>

<font color="0077aa">Alicia</font><font color="aa00aa">, really glad to hear that it's a near miss and that u n bb r okie!</font>

<font color="0077aa">jingles</font><font color="aa00aa">: thinking of 2 strollers cause I'm still blissfully unaware of how much they cost.. :p May hyperventilate when I find out..

Re. Diapers: I hear some supporters n detractors.. think I'll end up trying a mix of both cloth ans disposables n see how it goes..

Re. Asos: Bought 2 shipments from them recently. Shipping time between 1.5- 2 weeks.. They accept SG credit cards.. Would advise you guys to buy ur usual size.. I was quite ks and bought a size up and ended up with clothes that r rather big on me..

Re. Maternity leave: Boss says 4 months too long for me to be away.. Wants me to start working part time from 3rd mth onwards..

Re. Diapers: thi

sweetchocz, I attended antenatal classes for my 1st baby (4yrs ago). I found it very informative but the breathing exercises were not of much use to me during labor because I have low pain threshold and quickly asked for epidural. Haha! But still, it's a good time to spend with your DH in preparation for the little one.

Appleseed, thanks for the info on ASOS. I will stick to my current size then. Is the size comparable to DP?

<font color="aa00aa">Glad to be of help!
Asos carries quite a few brands.. I feel Asos maternity n mamalicious sizing is pretty similar to Dorothy Perkins.. FCUK generally has larger cutting.. Try to split ur purchases such that they dont exceed 400 sgd yah? If not it'll attract GST here</font>

<font color="0077aa">sweetchoz</font><font color="aa00aa">: I'm trying to buy most of my stuff a now while I'm feeling fairly energetic.. Was so super tired during 1st trimester I couldn't do anything at all, scared that last trimester would be just as bad.. Don't want to end up scambling at e last minute.. Worse still who noes if e babe will decide to come out early.. Better to be prepare than sorry, ESP since I'm a rather clueless 1st time mom-to-be.. </font>

DPW- if temp covers you than good to go for 4 mths. if not when u are back still have to make up for those days u not around.
if planning to breastfeed, good to stay away from office. work stress will cause milk supply to drop.

During sleeping time do you expererience more interrrupted sleep and waking up more often to stretch and which will lead to cramps? Mine starts already
and so far had very bad cramp 1 night woking up screaming at my hubby then he blur blur...

Asos sizing is like Dorothy Perkins. Maternity is slightly bigger. Can get 1 size smaller if u did not put on much weight. If size is s, m, l, pls size down. I'm a UK12. Bought a L dress and its way too big!

cyy- no cramps yet but insomnia at night from 2-5am. not enough of sleep.

i am experiencing achy legs cos still in heels till few days back.

Cyy: This morning I woke up with cramps in my left calf. Last week, one night I woke up twice due to leg cramps too. So painful that I screamed and nudged my hb to help me

cyy, you need your hubby's help to flex your foot towards your shin in order to alleviate the cramp. My hubby is well-trained on this because I had cramps frequently for the first one. :D
One more tip is to consciously flex your feet towards the shins everytime you stretch your body if you happen to wake up in the middle of the night. It takes some getting used to because our normal reflex is to "tiptoe" our feet when we stretch our body while lying down. I have recently mastered this "skill" so I have less cramps lately.

serene, you are still on heels?? I salute you..

Jen, same spot as me

Vanniety, by time he woke up from my screaming the cramp is gone but I will try that method from tonight onwards

i just went to take a look at ASOS and waaa really alot of nice clothes! hehe so happy! :D thanks all for sharing!

vanessa &amp; appleseed: thank you
yah will not rush anymore. once bitten twice shy!

sweetchocz: you ought to be careful too yah! i think for 1st time mummies we often "forgot" about things and go "uh-oh" after that haha.

cyy: i woke up with my calf cramping once so far. it was such a sudden sharp pain it caught me by surprise and like you, i scream out loud and my hubby thought he kicked me hahaha. was like "what happen?!?!?!?!" with the messy hair lol. our poor hubbys =p my friend said that it MAY get worse when in the 3rd tri..so she suggested to massage the calves with some cream to relax the muscles first before going to sleep. havent tried so i dunno if it works!

maternity shopping: I just ordered some basic stuff from Old Navy. They are having 25% off all items just for TODAY! so for those interested can check out their website.

Same with me, sometimes I forgot that I'm pregnant and walked very fast. My colleagues will scold and remind me.
I try to consciously flex my myslef, instead of away. But sometimes I just forgot.
I can't really wear my jeans now, but my work pants still ok. But I need to get maternity pants soon. Got to check out the websites that u all mention. Tks

vanniety: thanks for the info on antenatal class, i need to do more research before i decide to enrol in one...wonder if i'm a bit kiasu hahah

appleseed: yes i agree with you. i will sloowwly do some shopping. my 1st tri was bad too. so i think as long as i have energy now, i should try to at least window shop. btw, mothercare having a 50% sale for mth of sept. not sure if its good, might want to take a look.

serene123: i know what you mean! i envy my hubby who sleeps so soundly when here i am trying to force myself to sleep. nowadays i find switching on the aircon helps with my sleep.

today, i thought to myself whether i should get a crib or a cot...hmmm any suggestions?

gd night mummies, may baby's kick tonight keeps you smiling!

sweetchocz, I had both and my daughter preferred to sleep on the cot during daytime when I went back to work after my ML. Even during playtime, she didn't want to stay in the crib, I don't know why. At night, we co-slept with her because I was breastfeeding her and it was more convenient especially for middle-of-the-night feedings.

sweetchoz
yes i also turn on a/c now to sleep as it helps me to sleep better. but it makes the air dry, so my nose tends to bleed when i woke up and sneeze...

any mummies feel pulling of muscles at tummy area?

jingles &amp; sweetchocz: If oyu sleep in aircon rooms, prob can put a humidifier or a glass of water. This way the air around you will not be too dry. It works for me so hope it does for u too!

morning mummies! hope everyone had a good sleep last night

are any of you ladies going for a holiday before baby's arrival? my hubby and i are planning to go Bali in early Oct..i will be about 24 weeks then. is it okay?

jingles: yup i do feel it too. i believe that so long as the pain does not get too bad ie. cannot tolerate, it's normal
have checked with my gynae before. but if it gets worse or it's persistent even after resting, do call your gynae yah. just to be on the safe side!

vanniety
thanks v much for the info
now i know wat it is...though my pain is above the tummy area

vanessa
kekeke think i will bring my mini humidifier back home. I have one in the office, at my desk..

alicia
i have read in books its best to go in 2nd trim for so call last honeymoon before bb pops
so its safe...but i guess before u go check with gynae first and recce in that side if hotel in bali have good medical assistant

snowwhite...
wahhh....engage CL and MIL can cook ah? then CL will be pretty free...only look after bb and wash its clothes...

I am having number 3 leh...mil have to look after 2 rascals...n CL look after 3rd one....
Thats y asking got ppl engage like that or not?somemore ours is during CNY....supposed to be very bz for old ppl....N i dun have maid to help leh...

Gotten flu and sore throat just after i came back from gynae...haiz..
anyone can recommend off the shelf ,medication safe for pregnancy?

jingles: doctor told me to "please go ahead" lol but 24 weeks is like nearing 3rd tri right? aiyo i think i am worrying too much haha..also quite worried about the medical assistance in bali. my hubby was like "want to bring you go holi also so hard" haha. do you know when does the 3rd tri start?

SnowWhite80: oh dear hope you arent feeling too bad! i think it's best to check with a GP or your gynae? also, drink more juice and water! take care~

snowwhite
ohhh like tis u will need to have extra help...can consider getting a maid or CL lo....bt if u wan get a CL better get one soon....drink more water and rest early

alicia
guess both of us same period. Popping first week jan right? hub also suggested to go overseas ...but i told him no lah..i not tat adventurous during this period.. :p

thanks all, i will not think too much into the temp who will look after my work

alice:
i juz came back fr holiday last week. in 3rd trim, depending on individual, u may be heavier already... best is to go in 2nd trim like now

showwhite:
if u engage CL, then she should cook for you. if she doesnt mind, pay her more to cook for your whole family? your MIL should juz look after your 2 kids, and do housework.

my cl will only take care of me and bb, cook for me only. my 2 kids will be in sch whole day and i have stressed to CL she doesnt need to cook for the rest in the family. my kids eat at mil place before coming home on weekday. weekend, they settle own meals.

jingles: i'm popping end Jan!
today exactly 20 weeks. so by 1st week of oct, if i do travel, i will be 24 weeks. actually i am not that adventurous too but i really wanna go cos i dun think i can bear to leave baby at home for at least a year after giving birth! lol. maybe you should go somewhere relaxing? if not no chance le! haha.

jkids: yah that's what the doctor suggests too
i think i may just go ahead! hee. mind sharing where you went?

(X): WHAO. YAY! NICE!! keke.

SnowWhite80: I'm taking Neurogain fish oil.

ttcx: We can eat ice cream ar? I don't dare to eat cold stuffs leh. I've been craving for ice cream but don't dare to eat. Even water i also drink non-chilled ones