(2012/01) Jan 2012

Kelly, yes. Bintan i also went a few times. sian la.. But then this round planning to go with friends, bringing our #1. So shd be quite fun.

Msia also a good idea.. But Tioman, i afraid of sea sick, cos need to take more than 2 hrs of boat ride from Mersing. Redang too far already. Port Dickson sea not nice.. hahaha.. dun know la.. =P

zhuzhu: I suffer from MS & motion sickness for all my pregnancies. And when I take cab, i puke big time. No choice, drive everywhere myself.

Jowin: can go club med bintan? Park the kids a the kids club and you can enjoy the rest of the day!!

Jamie, tulip, mommies: On travelling - I think the cap is 28 weeks? I remembered travelling around then to S Korea for #1, and the SIA check in counter staff kept reading my gyne's letter & checking out the size of my belly. Was so worried she wouldn't allow me on board. I think they still have the right to make the decision on a case-by-case basis.

But I have my gyne appnt today, let me reconfirm...hopefully I would still be able to travel for a couple of weeks more into early Nov! I have a work trip to Bali & 2 to India in Nov...so wasted if I miss the Bali one especially...but then again, I doubt hubby would let me travel to India alone being 7-8 months preggy!

Kelly - pineapples should be fine in moderation. Maybe just not before we are due, suppose to have some enzyme that can trigger contractions or something like that?

jowin - Make a road trip to Desaru in Johor? Quite easy to drive up from the causeway (about 1 hour) & you don't have to take any boat ride. We brought #1 there a few months back. Also went to Batam last month, but Batam has no decent beach. The beach in Bintan is still passable.

Alternatively, you can consider Langkawi? We went up in December with #1 - easy journey cos its just 1 hour flight away & they have more decent beaches/hotels!

Tulip: Hi, seen your posting you were at KKH yesterday for the Oscar. We were there too, around 2pm at ADC. If you seen couple with a noisy toddler, that's us... hahaha

gd morning

Has anyone signed up the child-birth course?
The stated recommend date is wk20 when 1st lesson start. Wonder if this is too early, cos we only wk 24 by end of course. Concern of forgetting the lessons when EDD
advice?? thanks!!

Hi dh74, i think i know who you are!! your husband's with you and you're wearing a black blouse?

I'm sitting two seats away from you. Stripe pink sleeveless. How was your OSCAR?

Hi MayC, Desaru still ok. Ya.. quite easy to go.
Batam can only enjoy in the resort. The beach quite dirty. Langkawi, we went before. HB do not really like it there. We overall prefer Thailand beaches but hor, i m sure HB do not wan to go now lor.. SIAN.. Boring MAN!

Jowin: I am now thinking of Batam. Just saw this resort, Tempat Senang. Quite nice but ex for a trip to Batam. Can't go for massages leh... so wondering if I should really spend the money to go to resorts.. he *fickle*

Tulip, Hee we were so close, but actually I'm the hubby lah...hehe. Wifey oscar was okay. 1:5000. EDD at 11Jan12.

Today super backache. Can't sleep well at all.

jowin: my hb oso like urs, nw dat i preggie he wants to shelf the plan for a vacation. Going for a staycation instead. I tell him go Bintan, he say dun wan...sianz. So most likely end up staycation at sentosa lor.

Anyway one here using tingkat for dinner? I am planning to try tingkat. Deciding between kim's kitchen & first cusine.

Do you all feel very tired in your pregnancy. I feel so drain in this second pregnancy until i feel like quitting my job to stay home to rest & sleep.

But also due to the fact that #1 is not a good sleeper, he is super prone to night terror since young till now. Then now add on pregnancy plus sleep deprive, feel so totally exhausted!

Thanks ladies.. Wah tulip, u drove to hospital urself? Thts really something.. I scare myself by imagining tht while driving at last stage, waterbag broke or sudden sharp pain tht can cause me to ram the accelerator.. Choi! Choi! But is there a discomfort feeling while driving with a huge tummy? Ive not tried driving in my 1st pregnancy but hope to do so cos i buay tahan the cost of travelling daily by cabs.. Used to travel by bus n train... Cant stand the smell for now bcos of ms...
Kelly : im craving for pineapple tarts but im not sure can or not leh... Anyone knows?

Piggy - im having backache too... When no one looking, i always hunch.. A short term relief but soo nice... Then when pple c, i straighten up agn.. Haha... Paiseh look so ugly...n on staycation, i like sentosa too.. Esp rws... Feels like holiday atmosphere all ard...;)

Chrysalis: You are not alone! I am very tired and drained. Having the same thoughts as you! #1 has very bad sleeping patterns too. I tried to get as much help as I could.Fortunately, my hb realised that I am very tired, not like my first preg. He tried to help out as much as possible though #1 still sticks to me. Sigh. That's why I really admire those with 3 and 4 kids in this forum.

kelly, yah i also try to get help, but even now i preggie, every morning i'm the one who has to send kid to childcare as hubby starts work way too early, and sometimes evening if he OT, I have to go fetch kid also..... and mine is a super lazy kid that expects us to carry him one, damn tiring. so by the time i reach home, almost knock out but yet has to cook his dinner, bath him & etc, almost wanna faint le.

Blue_Y: i can't stand the smell of cabs too! Won't ram into accelerator, don't worry if you have been driving daily. Not to worry about big tummy. Can always adjust the seat higher or back rest more upright. parking wise, adjust side mirror/back view mirror. can one lah. hv confidence.

dh74: wow... Such dedicated papa! My Edd was changed to 7 Jan. Baby's ratio... i forgot!! but safe. How old was your boy?

piggyB - I used this tingkat company - Mum's Cooking - during my maternity leave after #1 was delivered. I tried a couple, but theirs is the healthiest (less oil, no MSG, better quality fish/meats). Plan to use them again this time round.

Hi tulip, miss out ur post.
Club Med ah.. over budget le. hee hee..

Congrats on ur good oscar result.

Kellyk, ohh. actually i dun really like Batam. I felt abit messy there.. but resorts shd be fine. Ya, now cannot opt for massage, especially in bintan, batam, thailand, not sure those ladies are trained in massaging for pregnant ladies.

PiggyB, sian hor.. just opt for staycation lor.. haha.. better than nothing.. keke

MayC: mum's cooking is the sister com of natal essential right? Check them out too but their price is on the high side.

jowin: like wat u say lor..sian is sian but betta than nothing at all..haha

just a side track, anyone of u heard if preggy can attend wedding dinners? from wad i heard is not advisable to prevent clashing with the bride.

but does it affect the wedding couple if preggys attend their wedding?

piggyB - yes, I think so. I am planning to order confinement from Natal Essentials, then switch to Mum's Cooking for the following months of maternity. Pricing is abit on the high side, but the food quality is better - like they give you proper steamed fish rather than fried fish with more flour than fish.

Valteen - am going for my OSCAR this afternoon too! I can't wait, really hope baby is doing ok!

pinko - I attended a wedding dinner a couple of weeks back. Didn't inform the couple before hand though cos it was still early stages of pregnancy & I haven't even gone for my 1st gyne appnt then. They just found out recently that I am preggy. Don't think most people will be that pantang, but maybe u might want to check with them?

First 3mths not advisable to attend wedding dinners. You can check with the couple whether they are pantang or not. If they are, better not. My mum did say after first trimester is over n the wedding couple is fine, then can go lor.

Hi all mummies here..

I need more advises on, if I shld go to pray my mum at 'JU SHI LIN' temple for my mum's death anniversay?? My brothers had arrange all of us to go tomorrow morning, and I am really at a lost..to go? or don't go?

I duno if the temple i go consider a 'good' place to enter? I haven inform any of my relatives or family members that I am preggy..so it is really hard for me to ask advise from my close aunties (relatives)...

Can anyone help me ask your mum or experienced aunties on this issue?

Thank all the help, realli apppreciate...

Valteen: Indeed it is. Can consider. 189++ include breakfast We have booked 30Jul for NDP rehearsal. See fireworks. : >

Hi mummies, can anyone share how you broke the news of your pregnancy to your boss? I feel embarassed and I can't imagine myself walking into his office out of the blue and blurting out the news. Haha!

pinko: I attend a colleague wedding when i was preggy..think i was abt 3mth++ then..i just ask the bride if she is OK o not lor..

vanniety: the last time, i just walk into my boss office early morning..n tell him..i am preggy..when i am due..then come out liao..nothing much to say..

Vanniety,
I smsed him abt the pregnancy. Cos was put on 5 days MC. For my #1, I just told him outright how many weeks I'm pregnant. His first response was "Accident?".

Linda,
People also go temples to go pray for baby safety etc, so I don't think temple is a taboo place for pregnant women. I think you are uncomfortable with going to the halls with ancestral tablets. I still went for my grandma's funeral etc when I was pregnant. As one of the mummy posted before, I believe my decreased relative will look out for me.
But eventually it still depends on how comfortable you are with it. If you are not, then just tell your brothers and explain your pregnancy to them.

Linda, personally, I really think it's individual belief. Would you yourself be comfortable, thats most impt. But if you are truly not comfortable, then perhaps you can tell them you arent feeling well? I am sure there are differing views. You must feel comfy yourself. Tats my two cents worth.

dh74, I cant really read the brochure clearly, is there an expiry to this? And px for ntuc members yah? Its really tempting leh. The sentosa ones $300+, wif discount still $200+ I heard.

MayC, things will be fine. Enjoy meeting your bb!!! And dun forget to say hi to him/her!

Birdbrain/Linda
In fact, I went to Shuang lin shi last weekend too. And yah I think Linda is more concerned abt visiting temples with other ancestral tablets ba.

Linda
agree that it is up to your own comfort level. if you are really concerned, then you should bite the bullet to tell your relatives and ask their advice. anyway, you are nearly into 2nd trimester already, so no harm to tell them. for me, I am not pantang. Even recently, my uncle passed away, I still went for the funeral, and my relatives did not 'scold' me for going.

vanniety
i told my boss when i tested positive because i was scheduled to travel that next week. he was not in town at that time, so I just smsed to tell him. is there a more immediate supervisor that you are more comfortable talking to, instead of talking directly to your big boss?

chrysalis
oh dear, xin ku ni le. try not to carry your boy so much, not good for you. now, i have already trained my girl not to ask to be carried. so she accepts. i don't really say that it's because of bb (in case she gets jealous), i just say that mummy is very tired, you are a big girl now, too heavy to carry, etc. initially, it was difficult, but after a while she accepted it. now no more problem.

blue_y
pineapple tarts should be fine la. my gynae said that pineapple is actually fine to eat (in moderation, of course). but i think the enzyme loses its effect once the pineapple is cooked in the oven, so should be fine to ahead and enjoy.

echo,
yah i also try not to carry him but he will have lots of stunts, cry, squat on the floor and etc,....once we are at shopping center, he just lie on the floor to throw tantrums...we scolded him and ask him to get up but he refused. So me & hubby walk off and hide in a corner to observe him. he totally ignore us and just lie on the floor and look up at the lights for some time super naughty. And when we walk back to him, he still stare at us lying down, headache.

Sorry for the blurr pic. Please check out this link. Its clearer. Basic infor: 1 night weekend stay (fri,sat,sun), with breakfast and complimentary extra bed for child below 12. Free parking. Black out date applies. Valid till 31Aug11. Please call hotel direct to enquire and book. My wifey who does the booking mentioned strictly no cancellation. FYI.
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150228734963683&set=a.10150227349388683.317476.333834053682&type=1&pid=7478740&id=333834053682

zhuzhu, I think I'll have to do the same thing.

birdbrain, wow, your boss' reply was very tactless. I wouldn't know how to answer if I was asked that way.

echo, I'm in between managers now so I report directly to the big boss. Guess I don't really have much of a choice.

Thanks for your suggestions!

birdbrain,
Why ur boss answer like that one?? Super insensitive! Shows that he/she is definately not ready to be a parent!

I'm so full from lunch... i can't take my pre-natal vits.

birdbrain: ur boss seriously very $%^ leh. When i was having my #1, my boss was very nice and congratulated me and even gt me tips on wat to eat & stuffs. Is ur boss a male?

Vanniety,X, piggyB,
Paisay, I prob need to explain myself better. I know my boss for a really long time, familiar and comfortable enough to talk to each other in "rougher", more spontaeous manner. I guess he was shocked as he never saw it coming. I was forever going trekking and scuba diving, so he the last thing he expected was baby news =)

He's a very nice understanding boss. Never pressured me during my pregnancy, keep telling me to just go see doc & get MC if I don't feel well, and helped me "hide" the 2 weeks hospitalization leave for my miscarriage from my colleagues (only he know about the pregnancy then and I told him I am not emotionally ready to deal with questions about the miscarriage).

birdbrain: If that is the case, i guess it's not so bad bah.

Die..recently keep eating junk food..i just finished a chocolate bar and now I feel like eating chips..oh no

7min to the weekend. Yay... so looking forward to my gynae visit tmr!

Will bring #1 along with us this time. Hope he'll behave and not feel intimidated upon seeing the U/S of his sibling.

X,

I brought my girl for a scan earlier this week, she saw the baby and she started running around the room screaming "monster! monster!"

Hi mommies, so I went for my OSCAR scan today - was v quick, done in 30 minutes cos baby was cooperative
Was sleeping initially, then we woke it up & it started doing somersaults! hehe...also waved at us. Anyway, the scans are all normal, just have to wait for the blood & urine test results next week. Baby is 5.7cm at about 12 weeks. Its amazing to see it has grown so much in my belly cos I have been saying that I don't feel preggers at all
Just relieved that everything is well!

Btw, I did ask my gyne some qtns:
1) Air travel - she said its OK to travel up to 32 or max 34 weeks for trips <6 hours if the pregnancy is a low risk one.
2) Targeted weight gain should be about 12-15kg.
3) I asked if cold drink would lead to the baby developing coughs next time &amp; she said NO, cos anything cold would have warmed up by the time it reaches baby in the belly. So no restrictions on cold drinks

gingerleaf - hah, your girl is so cute! We brought #1 for the 1st scan as well, he reacted like it was the most normal thing to have something growing in my belly :p Then again, we have been telling him for weeks &amp; showing him photos from online sites.

Eating pineapple tarts should be fine cos the pineapple is ultra cooked to make the paste &amp; alot of sugar is added

Breaking the news to my boss - He is on my facebook, so he knew quite early. Anyway, my immediate colleagues have always been assuming that we were planning for #2, so it was not a big deal.