(2012/01) Jan 2012

haha.. i hope i dun get sick of ribena.. if not, i really dun know wat to drink.. Milo i cannot, puke. aiyo!! N i m so tempted to drink Gong Cha and bubble tea lor!!! ** sad**....

Barley is liang right.. i thought so too.

I wonder if this baby will be a fussy one. My #1 though i suffered MS too, not as fussy though. True enough, when she starts her solid at 6 months, she is also not a fussy girl and she loves to eat.. Gosh! Will #2 be fussy.. scare scare.. haha!!

There are so many times i wasd craving for cold cheng tng but dare not. Cos barley is liang, the 'seaweed' lookalike stuff in there also liang. Ha, I dreaming of KOI!

jowinbaby,
me same as u! dun like veg this time!

I love veg alot!!! But this pregnancy, somehow I just cannot handle veg! Tried so many times already. Everytime I eat veg, I will get very bad indigestion. Anyone same same? indigestion from veg?

I noticed rice and meat makes my stomach feel better. Craved for beef alot alot.
Im lacking of fibre too. Been making fresh fruit juice to drink daily but dun think it eases constipation much. Tried fybogel but puked badly with it.
Resorted to enema a few times...

Jowin: good to hear you had no discomfort. I find our body is amazing. There will always be signs to tell you that the body is unwell or need some medical attention. So when there is prolonged discomfort and/or pain, its usually a sign something is not right.

I drink cold drinks too. everyday. I have liking for apples and oranges. Oranges very 'liang' too. And curry puffs!! Somehow, curry puffs doesn't make me vomit. Why?

I take one teaspoon of chilled birdnest every morning. Wah... shiok lor. Coz its cold and slightly sweet. I need cold stuff to start my day. jia lat...

Valteen, i think i hack care.. ppl say once a cup of tea is ok. I dun drink daily. I steal sip on my HB's ice lemon tea.. haha. At times, i m feeling so hot and ordered a teh o peng, without ices.. Feel so good after drinking it. Bubble tea, perhaps i wait till end of 2nd trim, then i take a cup ba.. haha!! Anyway, dun think i can digest the 珍珠 now.

Yes, cheng teng too.. i want!!

gingerleaf, i like veg alot too. Now really cannot too. Yes, bad indigestion and when puke, came out the leafs.. ** ok, i leave out the details**

I cannot take beef,also indigest. But i can take chicken. I love chicken now.

Jowin: good to hear you had no discomfort. I find our body is amazing. There will always be signs to tell you that the body is unwell or need some medical attention. So when there is prolonged discomfort and/or pain, its usually a sign something is not right.

I drink cold drinks too. Jowin, we same lah... i vomit iced milo before. I have liking for apples and oranges. Oranges very 'liang' too. And curry puffs!! Somehow, curry puffs doesn't make me vomit. Why?

Bubble tea... I want it now!! but i limit myself to two per week. no pearls and less sugar. Slurp.

Valteen: I take one teaspoon of chilled birdnest every morning. Wah... shiok lor. Coz its cold and slightly sweet ( got the semi-sweet one). I need cold stuff to start my day. jia lat...

Ok, birdnest will come next. As for teh, i think dh will hammer me if i drink. hahaha...will hold it off till later.

Tulip, orange not liang right? btw, can eat banana? Last nite I had dragon fruit juice.

now i dun really want to eat veg for dinner oso..lunchtime..sometimes like order chicken rice..i will still eat the cucumber..

suddenly i feel like eat char kway tiao..
think i like all the fried and oily stuffs now..

Valteen: I dunno leh. I'm eating the 'ang moh' orange. they say its the mandarin oranges that are not liang right? If oranges are not 'liang' then its good news for me!

Banana, dragon fruit, watermelon, honey dew makes me vomit. Durian... i scared constipation.

Jowin: i understand what you mean when you vomit vege out. I had the same experiences with carrots before. *wink*

Oranges shouldnt be a prb.
Haha, yah actually after drinking the dragon fruit juice my mouth had the metallic taste. Went hm quickly brush teeth. I have never brush so many times in my life compared to this period!

Hello to all,

This is my second pregnancy, in 12 weeks today.
Also like most of u who enjoys ice water during this hot season. Very bad morning sickness too.
Just try on the sea band which helps to relief the nausea & the morning sickness.
It's drug free and there's no side effect to worry about.

i wan to cry liao.. I am in my week 13 2nd day... and I'm still having terrible ms..

Many say it's hereditary... and my mum had MS for the whole pregnancy.. worried...

tulip - That's great! We have booked out flight & more or less confirmed our initerary for the Perth trip
The last time I was in Perth was maybe 20 years ago, I am sure everything is different now. Am looking forward to a break away from work too!

Valteen- I am about 12wks 2 days now, based on my own calculation. EDD 20/01 at the last appnt at week 9+, but going for my OSCAR tomorrow & will see if my EDD has changed.

gingerleaf - With your craving for meat, sounds like u are expecting a boy!

Cravings - I don't seem to crave anything really. Just preferences for some stuff - e.g. peanut butter, chocs & ice-cream! Love banana & peanut butter sandwiches. And I don't like maple syrup or parsley anymore :p Otherwise, anything goes!

So my colleague was just asking me to travel for work to India & Shanghai in Nov. No choice, had to tell him i was preggers! I guess very soon everyone else in office besides my team would know....was hoping to keep it a secret for longer.

TMC called me to follow up on my results for my Oscars ytd. Everything is normal n im in 12w now, bb measuring at 5.5cm.

For those who gonna take Oscars soon, u will have alot of fun and the moment of seeing your bb waves at u is priceless!!!

Hi annie, my friend ask me to get the seaband too. It really works??

peanut , pat pat.. hope it is not hereditary. But i experience for #1, 5 months of MS and came back at my last month of pregnancy. My mum also suffered 5 months plus of MS while pregnant with me.
But then, everyone body is different, there are always likewise cases

Valteen, old folks warn me about taking oranges will caused baby to be phegmy next time. Not sure true anot, but i thought, still can take it moderately la.

Pinko, congrats on the good resily for ur Oscar!!

MayC, perth not bad. I been there sometime ago.. Still like it there.. relax place. Aiyo, me sian.. I just postpone my Hard Rock Staycation cos i book at 1st week of Aug. My mum nag n nag to ask me postpone to sept. Saying its 7th month, dun go n stay hotel la.. No wonder its so easy to book at RWS during aug weekend.

Mayc,
So envious!! My plans for melb at the end of this mth was scrapped coz Im not sure when this MS is gg to end.. am actually very very disappointed.

Jowinbaby,
Staycation can la! HardRock quite a new hotel, shld be clean clean!

gingerleaf - oh no, that is a disappointment
I hope you at least managed to get refunds for everything that was paid for?

Linkage btwn cold drinks & baby having coughs. I have to ask my gyne tomorrow! Wondering if there is indeed a link, cos my #1 gets coughs whenever he takes cold stuff nowadays...not sure if me taking cold stuff during pregnancy affected his body constitution?

pinko - Great news on your OSCAR! I can't wait for mine, think I won't be able to sleep well tonite.Thought I would be less kanchong since this is #2, but hah..not really! Think I was more clueless & hence less kancheong for #1.

jowin, yes i have heard abt the phlegm thingy also. In moderation lah. But at least for MS cases can eat some.

MayC, enjoy your oscar tomolo. I am pretty sure EDD will change again. Mine has changed 4 times already. Latest is 5 Jan.

Peanut, i know it's really difficult. I am freaking out with MS. Just keep reminding yourself it will go away one ok?

Pinko, glad your oscar has gone well. I did mine on Tue too. Didnt really see bb move, but at the end of it, dr say bb moving but I still cldnt see. Hahaha...cant wait to see it again in my next review 2+ weeks time.

gingerleaf, actually i heard many stories.. especially consider " casino" hotels.. haha.. lets see how ba.. Rather sian when holidays and staycation are scrapped. I forego my plans for Perth ot taiwan trip in July. too.

thanks all..! everyone of us will get good results too!!!

my weight drop though i have been eating alot. so much that my hb keeps reminding is small but many meals not big and many meals! LOL

i have no ms all along just occassional feel like puking when i seems to eat too much.

hope i dun put on too much weight at the end of 9mths! haha

Blue_Y, ya lor, really gain 3-4kg, my bump really can see now, am in my 12weeks.
i do have MS, but i still feel hungry so i eat and vomit aft that but nothing comes out.

i know laugh alot during preg is good, but i really can laugh alot and is whole tummy vibrate kind. lolx! and my colleagues are real jokers! full of funny stuff to laugh about! i can laugh until i tear, so i do not know whether laughing so much is good or harmful to the little one.

QiQi, you have to wait for another week for ur ms to subside. mine really slowly reduce and i do not have much craving now compare to the first 11 weeks. that was so horrible! nausea and vomit, feel sick all the time! impossible to work! you may want to suck on sweets so u wont think of the nausea.
congras on ur ROM! double happiness!

Jamie, i have really funny colleagues, they always make me laugh then they tell me dun laugh so much and command i can only laugh 'ha ha' twice and then have to stop! one of jus share a riddle with me "what is transformers parent called?" hehe!!

in fact, i've booked my hk trip before im preg, and though dr heng clinic nurse mentioned its fine as i'll be in my 2nd trimester but do not eat streets food. but i do not know whether to go or cancel.

tulip, me too! always have to drink cold stuffs in the morning. i drink cold milk to prevent nausea. cant drink too much of plain water. will vomit. sigh. and i cant milo too. duno why. sighz...

Mayc,

luckily I have not paid for anything! So no loses.. just disappointed.. coz melb is a very special place for me n hb =p... n also becoz we promised to bring my gal to make snowman. Even renewed her passport for this.

Jowinbaby,
coz ppl loses money so death rates are higher? =p
My hb also suggested a taiwan or HK trip in my 2nd trim.

chiffon,

lol. transparent!

jowinbaby,
I have started using it for a few days, so far i feel better. Ever at times, when i"m feeling nause and wanted to vomit but nothing came out.
I'm also eating better now. I guess it depends on individual.

gingerleaf.. hahaha.. ya. maybe?

Yes, shd go for a trip la.. after baby delivered, we will be grounded for sometime already.

Annietoh, i see. perhaps can try it out..

pat pat chiffoncake, u are not alone

Travelling - by all means, if mommies are up to it, the next 3 months would be the only chance to travel

Trimester 2 is when the MS would usually have eased & tummy is not too big yet! After week 28, we won't be allowed on board a plane anymore...and after baby comes, its quite difficult if you are nursing (bring baby along = have to carry baby & sightsee & nurse all the time. Leave at home only possible if you are not nursing, else would be engorged every 2-3 hours. Plus would miss baby).

ginger - that sucks
But I guess if your MS is v bad, then no point...would be sick too much to enjoy the trip.

travelling
actually when I saw my gynae at 7W, he gave me green light to travel. So I took a holiday to Phuket at 11W and will be going to Tokyo next week (12W). but of course if your pregnancy is high-risk or has complications, then better to check with your gynae.

chiffoncake
it's good that you are laughing! laughing is de-stressing, releases happy hormones into your body. so don't worry, go ahead and laugh to your heart's content. just take care not to fall out of your chair when you laugh. hehe..

jowin
so you are not planning to take a holiday this year? last chance to go liao, you know...

re Sea band,

I used it few weeks back, wore it 24/7 and initially did felt it was working for me. One day I forgot to wear it after shower n totally forgot abt it the next few days and noticed no much differences too. Dunno if the initial comfort was just a placebo effect, but no harm trying!

Echo: tokyo! I sooo wanna go there again! Went w my girl in jan. Nw w #2 coming up, duno when can go again..

Chiffoncake: transparent!!!!! Correct or nt!!! Rofl!!!! Ask u, how do u tickle a rich girl?

Re: travelling
I went to hk when preg 7wks for shopping!
tt time nt so nauseas as now. Hehee! When I was preg w #1 I went for my honeymoon in europe when I was 5mths preg. I feel its nt as tiring as gg in tri 1. Tri 1 always slpy n drowsy. Tri 2 every nite slp late. Hahaa.

i find that it is easier to holiday with baby <6 months (before solids) than after. i did a staycation when #1 was 5 months, it was quite relaxed. don't have to worry about much, just bring milk (in my boobs) and diapers. just that have to keep to a relaxed schedule, cannot plan for too many things. we did a holiday when bb was 9 months, and that was more complicated. packed jar food, but my girl didn't like it. ended up only eating biscuits and fruit the whole trip (and drink milk, of course). once she started eating table food, it became easier to travel.

jamie
i think it depends on individual airline and destination. but generally, once you are in 3rd trimester (which is 28W onwards), may be harder to travel.

Travelling.. Jowin, go lah. Last chance before being grounded for at least some time. My MS started then but because we promise our kids and we're going with friends, so really no choice but go.

Actually, my gynea prescribed me this anti-nauseas medication. Non-drowsy type. I took it during my previous pregnancy because of my work. Now #3 again. take only when needed. like travelling or work-related. 4 years ago, it costs me $10 per pill. Now price dropped, $4 per pill. haha.. the only thing that is against inflation. I can only say, it works for my #2. But #3, MS is so terrible, it only lessens. Still, better than nothing.

MayC: i thought nowadays the airlines don't have restrictions on pregnant passengers anymore? Its "travel at your own risk". But I know insurance does not cover pregnancy until certain weeks. My #2, SIA &amp; Cathay didn't check my pregnancy weeks nor questioned me when I board the plane (neither did i need to declare when I book my tix). But my insurer told me they cannot insure me if anything happens. so my gynea wrote a one page report of the gestation details and two pictures of the scan. In case anything happens and there's a language barrier, i can show the doctors these.

Hi mommies.. Juz wana ask u ladies something... Until what month is a comfortable month for pregnant lady drivers to drive? Anyone has any experience? Will a tummy somehow affect our driving skills? Cos i guess once u know wheres ur pedals, theres no need to look right? Cos i hope to b driving to work but i do not know when is the limit thts unsafe for me to drive.

On travelling, i agree that when bb is on total liquid diet its easier; especially if bb if fully latching... I rmembered travelling to states last yr end with my then 8 mth girl n her travelling preparation takes super long time n hers was like 2/3 of whole baggages.. We didnt compromise her stuffs as we know it might not b easy getting stuffs for a young bb overseas... This yr will b a challenge i guess.. Il b travelling with my future 18 mth old mobile girl n a tum tum.. Most prob to states for a long vacation.. Hope i can make it.. I have to judge as the month gets nearer cos only then il know if im ok to travel long haul flight or not..cross my fingers..

Blue_Y: can drive as long as you are comfortable with driving? Can always adjust the seat's position.

For my previous two pregnancies, I drove everyday and all the way till i pop. For my #1, i felt the start of contractions at 11am and i drove myself to the hospital. My husband met me there.

Mummies, Aiyo, my HB is tat type who is more cautious than me. Do not prefer me to travel when I pregnant. He said, i have all years to travel, why must choose pregnancy time. :S

Instead, he is more willing to travel when our baby is out. #1 we travelled a few places. Quite ok. Just quite alot of things to pack bcos of all her food and diaper. Lucky now she potty trained, only bring a few pieces of diapers out.

This morning i just mentioned abt a short trip to bintan, very near only.. He asked me if i dun go travel, my butt itch?? I replied him , " yes, whole body itch and baby protest, kicking me hard if we dun go" ... ARGH... lol!!!

Hi Blue
I am still driving daily now. Shd be ok. Usually, we dun look at pedals when we drive ma. Its just that i afraid my feet will cramp thats all. Lucky is auto car, no need to do half clutch technique..

Hi echo
ya lor... i enforcing the staycation at HRC and the bintan trip.. haha.. HB quite persistent that he dun wan to travel far when i pregnant. Thats why the taiwan trip and perth trip, cannot go lor.. ARGH!!!!!

Blue: I am also driving everyday to work. For #1, I drove till the last month when I would be very tired. Too tired to drive. Then I would take cabs.

Jowin: I am also thinking of staycation at HRC and bintan trip.. Staycation with #1. Bintan.. just with hub. But i have been to bintan so many times. a little sian. maybe m'sia...some resorts..

my gynae kept on urging me to go on a holiday before #2 comes.. He's like Dr Adrian Woodworth. Everything also can. Fruits also can.. Cold drinks also can.. Even pineapple. He would laugh and say that unless you eat the whole plantation, a slice won't hurt.