(2012/01) Jan 2012

Jamie - the part time cleaner ok leh... Clean is clean lor but don expect to be super2 one lar.. Haha. Accoding to mil, hardworking.. Working almost non stop for 4hrs. Asked her do kitchen, stove, top, floor, sink, hood, windows... Toilets.. And she w/o prompting cleaned my other windows, wipe dust off every surface.. So far ok lor.... Most prob il use her agn soon... If u wan, i can give u her no to sms. She speaks simple english. Where u stay? She stay west area but i think she no prob go anywhere.

jkids
danzen shd be safe for pregnancy. I was also prescribed by my doctor before. most doctors will say things like 'take at your own risk' or 'research has not proven that it is safe' to cover their own a** so that you can't sue them if anything goes wrong.

gastric
yes! i've been suffering from more frequent gastric attacks than before. once, i was eating and still getting a gastric attack. but for me, it is stress-induced, rather than by hunger. if i am nervous or angry, i will get gastric. so try to stay calm lor. good for bb also.

My second appointment today okie 10 weeks 3 days... I book oscars 2 weeks later at TMC. Have decided to take FBI. Nurses tell me to I can hand in application on actual day. Then I should be 12 weeks... We can see movement .. Very relieved and happy...keke.

Haha CT how is your nausea... Keke don't take risk. I got someone I know rainy day car skid and spin. Spouse was not wearing seatbelt and flew out din survive . Kids in car seat buckled so okay. We were so sad.

Blue_y: HO SAY! I stay jur west! Whoots~ u pm me her contact can? Thx sooooo muchie!
btw, is she local/ wat nationality?

Wen: that day I had thai express tom yam soup, so #*@?! Spicy I downed a whole glass of ice water at 1 go. @_@". Dun tink I'm gg to do that again la. Somehow had a nagging feeling that that's not really e rite thing to do. :p ya, I stock up my snack basket, and bot sara lee pound cake. Sinful, bt gd. Heck it la! Hahaa!

Echo: my temper is much much better this pregnancy. At least no short temper n nt as easily irritated. Hopefully this #2 has better temper than #1.

I jus vomitted. Sigh have been feelin nauseous for past 4 wks but no vomit. But yday and today, can jus suddenly throw up for no reason. Luckily im at home, what happens if we are outside? Gosh, i better carry a plastic bag in my bag fr now on.. Im in my 10 wks goin on 11.. Am hoping it gets better soon.. Argh.. We poor mummies..

WEN you vomiting very often drink water dun dehydrate.. My nausea peaked at 8-9 weeks now better. Those 2 , 3 weeks I nearly did not eat much just potatoes bread bicults yogurt bananas kiwi etc . There was one dinner I only eat breadtalk the butter sugar bun and drink teh.. I found out I lost 2 kg Today and I was underweight in the first place. Imagine I managed full meals 1 week ago so I guess that time I could be thinner.

Jaime talk about temper. My husband say my fuse is become shorter. As in he say I very very very short fuse. I say him if half the time you are trying not to vomit and trying to work normally ... How patient can u be... Haha then he diam dism because one time he got stomach flu and was felt like vomiting and he could not even get out of bed.

lush: same thing happened to me when i was preg with #1. all along jus nausea and no vomiting. one fine day, after a wonderful meal of bak kut teh, we were in the car traveling ard tanjong pagar area. i had the sudden but very strong urge to throw up. my uncle had to stop the car somewhere n i ran out to puke. when i was done and i looked up, i saw a bangalah staring at me. wahahaa! quite paisay but damn shiok. hahaa!

JTML: ya #1 i also like that. easily flare up. even for the smallest things and very sensitive. =( my mum said i was very difficult to live with. =/

jamie
yeah i also think i was very kanchiong in my #1 preg, which is why my girl is so high spirited. hoping to get a chill baby this time!

jiayou to all mummies with MS and vomiting. 1st trim is almost over! hang in there.

btw anyone here noticed that tummy is getting bigger even though weight gain is little? i have not gained any weight at all (9W1D now) but tummy already starting to stick out a bit. anybody else like me?

echo: my tummy is sticking out in unison with urs.haha! my gynae says its not the weight gain (yet). it's jus that our tummy's muscles got looser! cuz of the first preg and we are easily bloated now, the combination is not very appealing la. hahahaa

Echo me also me is because of the bloating because bump goes down in the morning. In the evening it is big!!

Ya let's aim for second trimester .. It will be coming ... Counting down.

Haha bangalah must be counting his blessing u never vomit on him. Ya vomiting is sudden. Nausea is constant. Vomit is no warning. It just comes suddenly.

Jaime haha my mum say me also.

I also want cool baby.keke. I am worried i am 33 cannot run so much after baby. When this baby can run I am 35 36 can imagine... If I want second baby I would be 37 high aged mama.

Ya my vomiting seems to peaked these few days. Am gg into my 11th week. Hope to subside.

And yes, I too have gastric.. My Gynae mentioned that at off the shelf antacid is harmless to the fetus. So if u girls are too bloated, can have them.

My vomits are no warning too. I can be burping, the next moment, my mouth is full with puke. Yikes.

I can't stand even the smell of colgate. Have to change to sensodyne. Less minty.

Can't wait for this peak to taper down. Jiayou mummies. We are almost there.

Jamie: hmmm. Also notice I have better mood this pregnancy. Never cry for no reason. Hope this easy baby. My gal very headstrong. Feel in general this pregnant less kankor than first. Hope will be same for bb.

Echo: yup I also no weight gain n protruding tummy. Mainly at night. In morning lie flat in bed tummy is flat. Think protruding all wind n fats. Oops.

Jtml: my first baby also 33/34. Now am 35 with second. Still got energy.

Re: contraceptive
I will be 34 yrs old when I give birth to #4. I swear this will be my last pregnancy. Will be doing some kind of contraceptive after this one. Anyone thinking of doing? Which contraceptive are u thinking of?
I'm thinking of the Mirena iud.

Morning mtbs! My ms is getting worse too. Just entered 8 weeks. Another 4 weeks to endure. Urgh!! Am I the only one with zero appetite??
I decided to turn my diet to fruits diet. Other food make me vomit to no end!!!

MayC: Glad your child is doing well! And thanks for sharing information as a result of your conversations with your gynae.

Stella: I hope you can find some way to communicate your love for your 8-month old! And hope you'll prevent heavy lifting while caring for the unborn child.

RitzC: I'm tasked to call 24h emergency in case of emergency, and to call the usual appt hotline for an appt for the dr directly if it's not an emergency. I'm a private patient w KKH. Is this the same case for you?

Peanut: I hv similar symptoms. I hv only a couple of stools most days and had managed only normal (but black) stools on Sun after a vegetarian Father's day meal.

Currently, I'm a little worried. My MS symptoms have gone way down. I no longer feel perpetually hungry, I no longer feel like peeing all the time. The only symptoms I feel now are a slight aversion to food on my tongue even if my tummy feel a little hungry, constipation and my still big tummy.

I wonder whether I am still pregnant?

Don't know luckily or unluckily, I'm going for my OSCAR tomorrow which includes an NT scan, so I guess I'll know then. Still I'm concerned... Praying that everything is ok...

zhuzhu: I'm in 12w+, haven't reached 13w yet. The symptoms left quite suddenly yesterday. The only symptoms I hv left is also consistent with just a bloated stomach?

May it be just as you say, thanks for responding.

<font color="660000">Jamie
Ya it's impt to snack throughout e day coz preggie ladies sugar levels can suddenly dip n u can feel sick too. But eh... Think u shd replace Sara lee w fruits instead?? Hehe..

Ms. Carpe Diem,
Thanks, I try to spend as much time as I can playing w my boy but during this first tri, my ms plus the tiredness makes me very lethargic.
My gynea told me that ms will peak ard 10 weeks n then go away so mayb that's y u feel better? I'm 11 weeks n I dun puke so often anymore, jus feel nausea so I think the worst is over. Dun think too much k? Everything is perfectly fine for your baby!

So far no MS for me. Just a bit of the itchy throat bloated feel. Appetite is coming back. Tummy is definately showing! My neighbour tot i was already half way thru my pregancy. Haiz... dunno what to say.

I'm now 11+ weeks and feeling slightly more energetic too. Previous weeks were just horrible. All i wanted to do was lie in bed. Have also lost the bitter taste in mouth as well..
I need my energy back cos I have 3 other kids. I hope the worst is over for me too.

Ms Carpe: I'm like that since last Friday, MS subside, no more frequent visits to toilet, can skip a meal somemore. Sat dr visit everything is okay. So i guess maybe the placenta is taking over the homos production to BB, so our homos is back to normal.

gd to hear danzen should not have harmful effects on the baby.

Re: MS
my appetite is still poor. when i force myself to eat, it also take a while to swallow food down. but unlike week 5/6, i can now eat now little without worry about being still hungey and having gastric pain. my constant worry now " what should i eat today"? i love fried food, but coz of them, i fall sick now, sore throat, cough, etc.... haizz.... phobia about what to eat everyday...

Re: contraceptive
i am considering tubal ligation....anyone else?

RE: contraceptive
most likely will stick to traditional methods. Don't like the idea of putting things in me or also worry side effects of the pills.

Thanks Stella, Stef, (X) and anns! Bery reassuring to know experiencing common lessening symptoms with you all and doubly glad that Anns' child is ok!

Kind of anticipating my OSCAR test tmr then, may all results turn out ok!

Morning mtbs! Wahh.. Seems many of u have slowly passed the stage of food aversions... So gd.. Im still struggling to cope with it. I can b super hungry one minute but after meal, i will feel super sick and want to just puke out but cant...

StefSean - wow.. How do u cope with 3 and upcoming 4? I really peifu mummies who have more than two children cos its not easy.... N ur still so young...

For mummies whos moving on to being able to eat more, think must take note of sugar intake n also food cravings/intakes.. Cos one can suffer gestational diabetes from our consumption. Touchvwood.. Hope none of us will kana it...

Ms Carpe Diem,
The result will be good. Dun worry

Look forward for your news on scan. I think thru oscar, maybe able to see gender already. If is boy, its faster

Mine schedule on 12 July.

On the opposite, my MS has worsen and i m so tired especially at night. Lesser time with my girl, so guilty as i often just lie there , looking dead.. sianz....

Wow, so many cases of MS &amp; puking. Hugs to all the mommies suffering, but its all worth it when you see your little ones

mscarpediem - Since your are in week 12+, the MS is getting better cos our hCG levels start to subside by week 11-12. MS is usually linked with high hCG levels. I also have no pregnancy symptoms throughout (other than being hungry) - same with #1 - and baby is perfectly healthy, so don't worry!

contraceptive - wow, mommies thinking ahead! As long as we are nursing, that should be good enough contraceptive (then again, some mommies from our earlier #1 batch who were nursing did get preggers - the earliest was 4 months after delivery!). After that, my plan for #2 is to just go back to the pill. I was on Diane 35, no side effects, but am thinking of switching to Yasmine.

Thks jowinbb! Heh, hope I'll know the gender through this scan then

How many weeks r u into your pregnancy? My MS got worse in my 9th week...

jamie: Me same as you when preggy with #1 temper very bad. #1 now has very bad temper, my mil &amp; hb keep saying it must be coz i preggy with her very bad temper..=P My temper this time round is much betta, so hopeful #2 is not the same.

Maddie &amp; Echo: Me too! At nite will look like 3-4 mths, morning wake up flat.

Ms carpe diem: I think for your case, most likely is bcoz you are reaching 2nd tri so the symptoms go away? Dun worry so much k~ I am oso feeling much betta, nausea still ard but nt as bad. Bloating seems to be much betta too.

<font color="660000">jkids:
Me me! I'm considering ligation as well. My 2 pregnancies happened too fast for comfort, i got pregnant within a month! dun wana take e risk of number 3 so soon.

Ms Carpe Diem,
Your Oscar results will by fine! Look forward to ur gd news.

MayC,
Nursing is not a reliable contraceptive method because I got preggers this time while breastfeeding. Even though u dun get ur menses, still can ovulate monthly.</font>

stella- wow, you got preggy within a month of delivery?? Hmmm...but how soon after delivery can you actually go for tubal ligation?

I know that nursing is not reliable at all. We will most prob would have to rely on the withdrawal mthd &amp; condoms cos I can't go back on the pill as long as I am nursing....but honestly, with 2 kids, no domestic help &amp; working full time, i doubt we would be thinking about sex too much! :p

Hello everyone !

Great to read some of you getting better and bb doing fine. We are all getting there just a bit more - JIA YOU!

I brought forward my gynae appt to Monday and bb look ok at 9weeks. Was very excited and exciting. Gynae was trying to see the neck thickness but bb refuse to turn was facing us all the time despite gynae was pressing my tummy to make bb turn. BB just bop ard.

MS today is better can eat a sandwhich, maybe becos off utogesten for the day and only one before sleep.

Nursing seemed to be an effective contraceptive for me. But I'm not taking any chances. Want to go for those 99.9% safe method. Will probably go for the mirena iud once my menses comes back. Usually menses comes back only when I stop bf.
I'm also scared of side effects of pills but also do not want to go for permanent methods such as the ligation.

BlueY, my Hubby helps alot. And #1 is 7, #2 is 6 so they arr easier to handle. Difficult one is #3 who is coming 3 this sept. She's ultra naughty!

Stella,
Ligation cannot be reversed leh. U sure u dun want #3?

I'm not too sure as yet. So... i guess i'll be opting for iud.

Ms carp diem, u must be looking forward to your Oscar tmr
hopefully will be able to see baby's gender. I'll be doing mine next Monday. Exactly 12 weeks then. Also hoping to be able to spot baby's gender.

StefSeanSharbabes,
Ur #3 is same age as my #1. He's a Sep08 baby.
I'm active on Oct'08 thread. Have we met??

I also got pregnant (twice) while breastfeeding. Don't use it as a contraceptive method!

Ms Carpe Diem: my MS and preg symptomes also better this week (11+). much less nausea and tiredness. occ think if bb still surviving then tell myself shd be ok. my oscar appt only next week.

Good to know that I am not the only mummy who is beginning to 'show'. It's a bit annoying for me cos I was hoping to still wear some of my normal clothes, since I have not put on weight. But I already asked my husband to take down my old maternity clothes from the storeroom. Will probably have to start wearing them soon...

From what I read, breastfeeding is only effective as a contraceptive in the first 6 months, if baby is 100% nursing from you with no artificial nipples or other types of supplemental milk. For me, though, my period did not return until 9 months, once I stopped pumping at work.

<font color="660000">MayC,
No la I got preggies 6 months after delivery but only started sexual activity that month n only did it once! Next month tested positive le. First pregnancy tried for a month to get preggies n following month tested positive. I think I'm super fertile so not taking any more chances.

(x)
Yeah my ideal number is 2. Three wld be financially tight plus my mil already complaining with jus 1.</font>

Echo : so coincidental this moring i also asked my helper to take down my maternity clothing from storage. I cant wear many of my usual clothes seems to be uncomfortable already. looks like #2 tummy stretch faster, #1 I didnt wear till after 4th month

ya, everyday i wonder when to start wearing my maternity stuff. its still hanging in my cupboard from the last pregnancy. sigh.

mmm maybe start wearing higher chance to get seat in MRT whhahahaa

but not true also lah last time tum big big poke in the face under reserve seat also never up give seat, until I ask for it :p

Today i am 11th week.... Due date on the 10th i think got few mummies same with me ..

I can eat but small meals and i noticed that to eased the indigestion i have to eat light meals.

After 5pm no rice to be safe i will eat bread if hungry. Lunch i will try to eat half bowl mixture of brown rice with white rice cause it really help to eased my constipation.

Yesterday my throat wants to eat Beef Rendang soooo much than after cooking i eat at 5pm, around 7pm the urge to PUKE was soooo strong. Feeling sooooo sick. I try to chop ginger and soak with Hot Tea. Still no use. After 3am than the puke feeling gone..

Hope can endure till 4th July 2011 for next gynae visit.

CT: mmm... i want to eat beef rendang now!

hq: yeah, nowadays think even if look like in labour also people may not give up the reserve seat lor.

Hq: Glad your bb is ok!

Thanks Stella! *cross fingers*

Stef: Yes, and you are too? All thebest for both our OSCAR results!

Maddie: Thks for sharing!

Btw, any of you reading bb care, child care book? Alot of my friends swear by Gina Ford who also seemed to hv well-behaved bbs and I did take a look at the system too but wonder whether I can ignore my bb's cries for 10min?

Currently, I'm quite taken with Tracy Hogg's system...

For Christians or those who want to raise children by Christian principles, can take a look at Tedd Tripp's "Shepherding the child's heart". It is probably more suitable from toddler onwards when we discern children have some level of cognitive understanding. I'm really taken with his concept of going beyond behaviour correction but going into dianosing the motivations of the child's heart and working to correct that although this will probably make parenting a little harder in the beginning.

Ms carpe diem
I m in my Week9+ this week. Yes, it got worsen instead of better.

CT, i love beef but i cannot take. Its not digestive for me. I puke out 2 hrs later after having it. Feeling very sick too. Yesterday my mum fried garlic veg with oyster sauce. Normally, i am ok. But last night, i puke twice out.. everything out until the gut juice too.. Terrible.. stood at the toilet bowl n start tearing.. :S