(2012/01) Jan 2012

Kelly k: mind sharing some key info from the Oscar test brochure? I didn't receive any, had just shared what my gynae had mentioned verbatim.

Coyote: Based on my acquaintances' experience with Dr Adrian Tan, they had shared that he is someone who will only recommend tests which he thinks is necessary for the particular mother's case, he doesn't believe in tests which don't "value-add". Based on what they had shared, they trust in his recommendation of tests to take for themselves. So my take is you may want to ask him if it's good for you to test, and make your decision then.

Thanks carpe diem, I have no doubt in him. I know I am in good hands

Logging off soon. Enjoy your weekend folks!

i think the OSCAR screening is a thing that gynae's are pushing for it to be done, regardless of age of mother.

Think so as my gynae said DS can happen to mother of any age, just that >35, the probability is higher.

Carpe: The test comprised of a blood test to measure two proteins and a scan to measure the nuchal thickness - the thickness of the fluid accumulated in the back of the neck of the fetus. If too thick, then probability of DS is higher

During my scan yesterday gynae found tat my baby has stopped growing & heartbeat has stopped.
I juz went for d/c to wash out this morning. It's really heart-aching for me since this is e 1st time i was pregnant but i guess things juz arn't meant to be.

Wish all of MTB great health & enjoy ur pregnancy. I will try my best to recover fast so that i can try again =)

Dreamy gal,
HUGS!!!!
It's just not meant to be. Nature has their unique way of dealing with such. Dun brood over it. Take care and jiayou again!

hi mummies, am in Batam now, waiting for #1 to nap first before we head to town. Takes him forever to fall asleep in the day, haiyah. Luckily there is free wifi in the room!
oscar test - thinks its usually recommended for all pregnancies, regardless of age. As for older mommies, there is now a blood test for down syndrome. Safer option than amniosentecis.

MayC,
Enjoy Batam. Take more photos and post!
Which resort u staying?

I went niwarna gardens late last year and #1 had loads of fun in the sea, sun, sand and pool.

Unable to con'd this thread. Preg ended at wk 7 cos bb not growing : (
Pls remove me from the list.
Wish mummies all the best and take care!

careberry, oh no, take care. I guess its not meant to be this time. Hugs!

Sigh, so many cases of MC, like 5 already? Scary & kinda unnerving. Really hope the rest of us mommies have successful pregnancies!

X - niwarna is at bintan rite? Is there one in batam too? We stayed in the bintan one once. Am at Harris Hotel, since its one of the better recommendations on trip advisor. Now waiting for Kieran to wake up from his nap.

MayC,
Oh ya...Nirwana is at Bintan. haha...

Carebeary,
Sorry to hear that. Pls take care!

1st tri is really tough... keeping fingers crossed.

Hugs to mummies tat Mc. I have 2 mc before the 3rd bb. Dont worry just gain back your health.. eat folic acid within 3 moths can concieve again.

hi all, this tread moves so fast. I'm back at office after 2 days of rest at home. the rest does us good. Rest more if we can.

hear some many cases of MC really scares me also. I hope i get morning sickness at least it tells me bb is ok. So far, my sickness has becomes from evening sickness to morning sickness. Whole day. Even my colleagues start to suspect me cos' I had the action of vomitting but nothing comes out. And very bad appetite. No food seem to be able to attract me.

*Crossed fingers* and *pray hard* for all of us here to move smoothly to Tri2 soon. TGIF!

hi gals, only can get on the thread till now. Looking after my coughing gal and trying to bed rest as much as possible. shack..

carebeary and dreamy_gal.
Oh dear. please take care.

Aiyo.. i saw MC and scare.. Mine also very unstable. need weekly hormone jab. Gynae assure me that baby has a stable heartbeat..
so Baby, please hang on!!

Veronica, congrats!! So cute hor.. the heartbeat.

MayC, enjoy your holiday

X, i not ready to announce yet to anyone or brave enough to put my name up on the table you created. I wait when it is more stable. Meanwhile, can i join you gals here for the journey? 1st MTB but got MC last Dec so every week is a worrying week for me. But i keep telling myself what is mine is mine. I can only treat myself well and keep a positive mind and hope bb progress well also.

Hugs for those who MC....really rest well and bu yourself well....you are not to blame...remember that...

CaRebeary and Dreamy_gal: Really sorry to hear about your m/c. Take care and rest well!

To all other MTBs: Let's eat well, live well and think positive. Let's all make the best of our situations.

Tuete-cottage and (x): Thanks for your explanations and links to resources of info on Oscar. May everything go well.

Jowinbaby: The first gynae I had gone to had mentioned that if you can hear a hb, the chances are very good. A website I had visited puts the chance to 74% for hb heard in 6th week. So rest well and just try to enjoy in your situation. You'll be ok!

I've the following items for sale. 

1. Babysafe sling (used only once) dark blue colour
2. Baby Bjorn carrier synergy (dark blue) seldom use

Selling both items for $300.
Interested can PM me. 

Carebeary n dreamy gal- take gd care and try again when u r ready. Jia you!!!

Just came back from my sinseh side - now very tired, don't want to move an inch. From today onwards I have to start brewing the awful bitter Chinese medicine....arrrrggghhhh. My sinseh reminded me not to Jin bu.

Veronica - very excited to see the heartbeat hor?!

Hi mummies. Took 2 home kits last night, positive. Decided to visit the gynae today but only Dr Lawrence Ang of TMC accepted walk-ins. Confirmed pregnancy (~5 weeks) but he says no heartbeat yet.. Gotta go back 2 weeks later for the scan. Fiance's really excited though the baby came early.
Hope baby's okay!! I'm thinking of going to another gynae cos Dr Ang's appointments are very rushed..

Coyote: good for u! Six years is a long wait.

Overthemoon: yup just take care of yourself. What happens next is nature. As long as u do nothing that u will blame yourself for should be ok.

I also miscarried last dec. Bb didn't grow at week 7, readjusted edd then no heartbeat at week 8+. Wasn't too upset cos Gynae said it was likely an abnormal bb. That can happen to anyone n it will naturally not survive. So I was relieved that I didn have a surviving abnormal baby. More headache for me. That's why this preg I didn't go gynae the moment I test positive. Just waited for next avail appt. Go later I find not so anxiety provoking. Every week wonder if will have heartbeat etc. This time by the time I see bb grow Liao, 11.9mm.

Mayc: enjoy yr hols!

Blue Y: thanks. Will try that if I get. So far, cross fingers. :)

X: thanks for updating list. I also haven't decide which gynae I will deliver. Update u when more confirm.

JTML: yup, mine is almost every night. Sigh. Sometime cos my #1 wake up then I cannot sleep back.

Coyote: I went for Oscar tho less than 35 for first preg. Guess it depends on whether u want to know or not if yr baby has DS. If u don't mind not knowing n even if have won't terminate then can don do.

I'm seriously having insomnia ever since I'm preggy! So wide awake even at this hour! Gosh.. N I did not nap in the day at all!! Help!! Anyone like me too?

It's so sad to see some gals leaving this forum. Can't help but feel paranoid.
will it be harder to conceive after a MS? Will gynae prescribe some extra vits if one had MS b4?

I jus had japanese buffet today n felt so guitly now for eating those sashimi n salmon sushi! But they were my fave n I hadn't ate it for so long!! But I'm feeling so guilty n worried for eating it now!! Sobs..

X: thanks for doing the list but Pinko n Amanda Ou is the same person! Hehe

Pinko : don't feel guilty lah my gynae it still safe safe to eat sashimi if the restauant is reputable. Unless the fish is not fresh and therefore contain e bacteria then it will affect baby. After ge say that then I still right hor.. How can those Japanese ladies skip 9 months of sashimi?

Jtml: u r also a sleepless MTB? I've been having bad insomnia lately. Can be lying on bed for hours n can't get to slp? Btw I had jap buffet so I'm starting to worry if the sashimi may not be as fresh as from jap restaurant. Sigh.. Gluttony me!!!

I got up to pee and felt nauseous. Then end up stare at ceiling...not as bad as u guys... Tonight first night. Haha you think good thoughts , don't worry la... Mind too active cannot sleep one. I still burping my dinner- 1 pop piah....

morning mummies, am awake too cos #1 woke up early...its only 6+am in batam.

Redqueen, u had one popiah for dinner? Wow. I must be the only one eating lots & gaining weight!

MC- sigh, looks like MCs are quite common. Its heartbreaking, but have to think of it as nature's way of filtering out abnormal cases earlier rather than find out later
lets all keep positive, our pregnancies should be alot safer in 2-3 weeks' time!

JTML: Haha, that happened to me also a few nights ago for a few nights! I woke up to pee and couldn't go back to sleep. Thankfully that phase is over so I believe it'll pass for you too!

Coyote: How did your appt with the sinseh go?

Pinko: Since you've eaten already, don't worry about it. Just live well and eat well from this moment.

After having pasteurized goat's milk a couple of days ago, my nausea increased to the point of wanting to vomit and I feel a dull ache on my left lower abdominal area (this is frightening as I believe that's where my bb is located right now)

I had wondered whether I was having food poisoning and was very scared. Thank goodness my hubby plays the role of an objective partner and he thinks (which I agree) it may just be an increase in my pregnancy symptoms since I lack other symptoms of food poisoning (super loose stools, fever etc) We just carry on and trust that the pregnancy is continuing and doing well until our checkups prove otherwise. I no longer drank goat's milk though after that!

P.S That's also the time coyote posts a link on a baby's growth stage and symptoms. It had helped me relief my concerns

Ya carpe diem, keke... I hope it will pass. Especially the bloated ness and nausea . Eh I also have tightness feeling around lower tummy where baby .... Sometimes when very bloated it's pain.I thought Is it because it really trying to expand and no space?

MayC yeah Lo 1 popiah only. With half cup soya bean milk. Keke I look at husband dinner but only can look.

JTML: Yah, it most probably is the expanding of the uterus!

Sometimes the annoying thing is websites describe the symptoms of uterus expanding as a cramp, they also describe m/c as being accompanied by cramps. So when it cramps, I am sometimes fearful it signifies the worst, then I will get my hubby to be an objective observer of my symptoms also and we try to come to a reasonable discernment.

MayC: You are not the only one!

I do eat less per meal now (but not to the point of 1 popiah, I may leave some noodles or rice aside when previously before pregnancy I will polish off my whole plate) but I eat more meals now