(2012/01) Jan 2012

Hi gals..
I would like to recommend this website, which i use it as a guide during 1st pregnancy time. Thought this website is good as it shows the breakdown of our baby development. But please use as a guide only as individual baby's development maybe different.

http://www.baby2see.com/development/week7.html

PiggyB, u will be good

May, congrats!

Wow, all MTBs! So interesting that all of us eat less now we're pregnant than before. But we need to eat more meals now right?

JTML and PiggyB: You like to eat vegetables? Such nice cravings that get you to like healthy food. I feel really bloated when I take fruits (but I still take coz I think I need the roughage). I can feel the fruits working its way VERY SLOWLY at the upper end of my digestive system (making me feel bloated) while down below in the pits of my stomach, I feel hungry! It was not a comfortable feeling.

Also like Blue_Y and a couple of mothers, my mouth feel bland also...

Do we need to buy maternity wear now? I feel that right now at my size, I'm a little bit bigger than my current clothes, but still too small for maternity wear. For pants now right, a friend recommended me these pants zip expander. Basically it's hooks to connect to either the buttons or zippers of current pants with a piece of cloth to cover the bottom part that is normally zipped. I'm going to try it with my current pants soon, but in concept, it sounds really useful to me.

My friend is petite and she had said she had only start buying maternity clothes from her 3rd trimester. These zip expanders were what she had used with her current pants till then. I had bought these from Mothercare at $26, original price $29++, but currently there's a 15% discount +5% for members.

Adel: Congrats on your double happiness!

May: Congrats and welcome!

I've been thinking about kaya toast for a while...

chiffoncake - for cheaper milk powder/diapers, I order mine online from: http://luvbabies.kimsang.com.sg/
Check if they deliver to your area? There are a number of other online options like G-mart as well.

Baby expenses - yes, for baby #1, the govt matches the CDA account up to $6k, so remember to open & deposit to the max. We use this for vaccination expenses.

May - welcome & congrats! I think your cramps are just signs that the womb is expanding

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Birth order </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Carpe Diem</TD><TD>31-Dec-11</TD><TD>Dr Quek Swee Chong KKH</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny Bubu</TD><TD>4-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>#3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maddie</TD><TD>7-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>b_cup</TD><TD>8-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon SGH </TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CT (yoyoblue)</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Suzana, kkh</TD><TD>#4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut (Veronica Chau)</TD><TD>11-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua (TLC)</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tuetecotage </TD><TD>11-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Anita NUH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>(X) ttcx</TD><TD>15-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Cheng JP (Mt E)</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinko</TD><TD>15-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bunnymuffin </TD><TD>16-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coyote</TD><TD>18-Jan-12</TD><TD>Adrian Tan, TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly K</TD><TD>18-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Xie</TD><TD>19-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jowinbaby</TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Cheng LC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MayC</TD><TD>25-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan (TMC)</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>PiggyB</TD><TD>26-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jallo</TD><TD>end Jan 2012</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Steffy</TD><TD></TD><TD>dr koh cheng huat</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_Y</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie'sMum</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Echo</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SnowWhite</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chiffoncake (bigroundeyes)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ZhuZhu</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>May (zanie98) </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

i Mums-to-be! My EDD is 9th Jan 2012. Glad to gather here with all of you.

For me, I know nuts about what foods to avoid and what to eat more. I take cold drinks, ice-cream, snacks like chips, and soft drinks, but I heard from my friends that I should avoid. Is that true? o_O As my gynae didn't tell me, and these days a lot of food taste bland, so I take a lot of those... bo pian...

And, is it too early to buy breastpumps? I know Medela is supposed to be the best brand, so I bought it liao from US liao. Heheheh. A lot of good reviews, so read about it~

http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/products

I think breastfeeding is important, so it's good to ensure that I know how to use and get everything ready before that.

I also want to get BB clothes but dont know the gender! Hahah :p

Felicia: Welcome to this thread!

Actually I'm not sure about cold things, my guess is to monitor your own body's response? A friend of mine ate cold things quite consistently throughout her pregnancy and went on to deliver a healthy boy. For me, I just sip cold water, I feel a cramp on the side where I think my baby is. So I guess it differs for individuals in this case?

Welcome Felicia. I also heard the goodness of Medela pump. My colleague is passing me one but the instruction manual is missing. Hahaha, being a #1 mummy...I don't know how to use it.

Thanks X for the update.

Thanks MayC, I am sharing the link with all my SILs ;)

May C: Can clarify, when you say limit is up till $6k? Does it mean, we give $6k, govt will top up another $6k? Or we give $3k and govt will top up another $3k to make a total of $6k?

Thanks girls. Carpe, thanks for the assurance! I really need the sugar from those foods anyway. Always feel dizzy. :p

Coyote, no need manual. Go to YouTube and there are videos that will show you how to use those pumps. I checked out that video for the freestyle and it seems quite easy to use. U gotta buy the spare parts too, due to hygiene purposes. Maybe the tubes have to be changed too. Ytd I went to mothercare, they do carry Medela products, so you can give it a try. I'm waiting for my breastpump to arrive from US. Will give it a try, thou no breastmilk yet. Haha!

Hi Felicia - welcome to the forum
I ate cold stuff throughout my 1st pregnancy as well, no side effects. Just have everything in moderation &amp; you should be ok. As for Medela - I would highly recommend that too - used the Medela PIS advanced &amp; another smaller portable version with a battery compartment for trips...but best not to buy so early if you haven't already done so, or try to borrow from someone incase the milk is insufficient? - The PIS is not cheap ($700+) &amp; I see a number of mommies ending up selling new pumps cos they couldn't BF. Btw, I think Medela rents pumps too, so maybe start by renting, then buy when the supply has been established?

mscarpediem - the govt will match the CDA funds up to a max of $6k. So yes, if you open one with $6k they will top up another $6k (total $12k). I think you can put in whatever lesser amount as well &amp; they would match dollar for dollar, but not sure how they would know to match additional top ups up to $6k. Check the CDA site?

Felicia,
U better dun try the pump on yourself now.
Try on hubby (haha... practical joke) or on a balloon to check if the motor is working. U shd see the tugging action.

MayC,
There are letters send to us from MCYS abt how much we have left (if you have not maxed the $6k govt top up).

I top #1 CDA account via giro, $100/mth. Hee...

Hey X, that's a great idea!! I'll try on him... (not a joke) he should share my experience too. I'll trick him and tell him it's just a ticklish effect :D

Hey MayC, thanks for the advice. Initially I thought of renting, but in that case, also gotta buy a set of the add-ons for $65 so I thought I'll just buy the US set from the merchant on Amazon. And now I end up having multiple sets of different models because I did multiple biddings. >.< Too kiasu. It's very cheap. ;)

And as for the insufficient milk, should be ok, just massage the breasts everyday ;) the more you pump, the more milk (and perhaps also blood from cracked nipples.... o_O) you'll get!

Good to hear more new mummies joining us on this thread..!

Adel - Actually im same as u.. A mummy and bride to be! Totally stress up now actually.. And the nausea, hunger pangs every few hours yet not much appetite, fatique and insomnia is killing me.. =(

Carpe Diem: Yup that's the one that i bought from spring. It a belt expander, it comes with buttons &amp; hooks. I bought for $29.90. Now that you mention Kaya toast..suddenly feel like eating Yakun..=P

X: thanks for the update! But this bb will be my #2. =)

Felicia: Congrats! yup..that's what the chinese sinseh say lah..dun take cold food &amp; drinks. Esp unripe papaya, she says it's the worse.

Previously I have bought a Ameda pump not too bad. But have been in my storeroom for 3 years liao..dun still working anot..heehee. If ok, will be using it.

Anyway if you are interested, you can sign up for email newsletter on progress of ur bb on this webby: www.babycenter.com.sg

Hi MayC, where did u stay?? At Pasir Ris, there is a medical hall, name Ren Tai Tang,is selling cheaper. I am buying GainIQ immunity at $57.80. If you bring back the used tin, rebate another $1. Mamy Poka about $14.20 for normal pack.I m going to pasir ris almost every weekend, always go there to stock FM.

Felicia, which Medela pump did you buy? I used Freestyle. It is light and good, especially if you are a working mum and need to carry the pump to &amp; forth office.

Yes, dun try on urself 1st la.. u can prepare a balloon and feel with water... then insert on the shield and u can see the suction action

Yes, i bought my pump from amazon spree too. Just that it has no warranty. Singapore selling too ex already.

MayC is right. Alot of mother try to sell their breastpump which is only a few months old. Can try to see if can get 1 too.

I have 2 sets of freestyle and one Pump in style advance. Haven't received it as I just bought. I was telling the rest that I did multiple biddings too (on eBay as well). Was afraid I couldn't get it. :p

Hmm.. Once I have received I'll try to sell it. Anyway it's new with seal, so should be easier to sell as compared to the used ones.

Had thought about renting or getting those 2nd hand ones but after some thoughts, new ones r always better mah, more efficient, brand new motor... Breastmilk is priceless, so I think it's very important.

I still can't help but think I'm over kiasu.. I must calm down... Haha..

Regarding pumps, i was using medela freestyle. Easy to use and i bought it from a spree in smh overseas purchase under tan leng leng.. Very popular too... Can chck tht out.. On other hand, i also use normal manual pump by Avent which is good when ur just starting out. Diff is manual pump can squeeze out to the max unlike motor pump which u wont b able to really feel n squeeze out fully.. So even after i pump using freestyle n seems to pump finish, when i use the manual avent, it can still pump to the last bit. So rationale is if u just started out, use hand pump.. When milk is coming in steadily, can use the motor pump.. N if ur slowly losing milk, pump using hand pump works best to regain d supply..

Oh ya.. And Jowin, why I want someone to try is because I wanna know if it will be painful/uncomfortable. Won't be able to tell if I use balloon. I'll get my hubby to be my guinea pig :D

I just got back from my 2nd gynae visit and everything is going well. I am 7W4D today. Baby's heartbeat is very strong! Feel so relieved.

(X)
Please help me to update the chart
echo - 21 Jan - Dr Paul Tseng - #2

HI LADIES. IM NEW HERE! Im invited to join tis MTB thread? am i on de right track ladies? M gona b a 1st time mummy!

Hi echo, yeah!!!!!!!!congrats

Hi Felicia, haha.. at certain extend, it will feel painful n uncomfortable. Imagine a machine kept on sucking your aerola. Have to apply layers of nipple cream. You can buy avent or medela one. Of course, with pump, you can control the strength of the power till you are comfortable with it.

wahha.. so many sets of pumps.keke. i suggest you can choose 1 and sell off another 2 brand new. Can command a higher price than pre-loved.

Hi Blue, oic.. for me, i m different. I tried 3 brands. Avent manual, Ameda and Medela freestyle. Both manual and Avent no milk out.I was staring at the pumps for 30mins until i give up. Only freestyle. Maybe the my breasts are accustom to freestyle 2 phrase pump pattern already.. keke..

Ya, true that freestyle dun really feel that the breast is emptied. For me, i pump till my breasts are real soft and presume its done.
But this time, i hope i dun over-pump. Last time, i was producing so much extra that i have to freeze and donate or even throw away the milk. Weekly baby get to do milk spa etc.. which i feel so wasted. I consulted the lactation nurse. She said usually i can just pump till slightly over what the baby had enough and stop. Our brain will re-adjust the the amount the baby need and produce the necessary. Excessive pump = excessive milk

Or this time, maybe #1 also can drink the breastmilk?

Echho,
Ur baby EDD is my birthday. Haha...

Wah Felicia,
U bought so many ah? Cannot try on urself. I read that breast stimulation may lead to contractions! So.. pls be careful. If want... erm... maybe try on other fleshy parts of body like butt. Keke...

Hello Idali.

Hahah... X, you are very creative to be able to think of such an idea.. Ya, I think I will keep one freestyle for myself (hearing from Jowin it's good), and the other two I will sell it. I won't be working after delivery, so I guess the extra sets are of no use to me.

If you girls happen to hear from other people on this thread wanting to buy, please let me know. Hehe. ^^

Anyway, what are contractions? What causes it? o_O

Jowin, I was thinking that more milk is better than insufficient milk. In this way, you lose weight faster too, and can also give away the milk to those who need. Win-win situation leh! ;)

Jowin - hehe..maybe.. Cos my 1st time, i took out the freestyle, i tried all level, still not used to the continuous sucking feeling.. So i used manual to get the feel n the pumping going at my own pace. Then when im more used to it n the milk comes in, i changed to freestyle.. Then can relax abit.. The time when i started work n suddenly find my milk supply drop drastically. Use freestyle, cant get the amt my baby needs. Then i change back to manual, i manage to sorely squeeze whats left of my milk for her.. So from then my freestyle no use already.. Cos my milk supply was not constant... I hope to go fully bf w/o bottle for this one... Hope i can do it. Previously my girl likes to bite with gum n already it was sore n chapped, i almost cry n at times feel like mouthing the 'f' word when she latched.. This time im braving myself to go through it like a real bf militant.. Haha...

zhuzhu: oops..sorry!

Echo: Congrats!

Idali: Welcome! When ur EDD?

I m so sleepy after lunch..wanna sleep but can't drink coffee..sighz..me used to drink 2 cups a day. Now force myself to stop drinking, body is not used to it manz..sooo sleepy.

Blue_Y
Previously i am also the same..when my boy start teething..he likes to pull my nipple..until it bleed..sometimes can see him sucking the milk till he zzzz..then a strain of bloody milk will flow out from his mouth..

I wanted to ask anyone of you using PT maid? I am looking for one..let me know if u had recommendation

Hi (X)
Can you update my EDD: 25 Jan 2012. Gynae Dr SP TEo..thanks!

Felicia,
Contraction pains are labour pain. Erm... think of the need to go poo. Haha...

I heard most positive reviews for PIS. But i myself using Ameda. Cheap and effective for me. I'm happy. Now... must go dig and pray that it's still in working condition. It's stored in storeroom for a year already.

X, thanks for the info. So as of now, won't be feeling any of those contractions. =/

Hope your set is working fine, else you can buy my extra set of PIS! Hehehe.

Felicia,
U better pray u dun feel any! Will send u to panic mode. Keke...

Now abit too early to start shopping. Will only start at last tri or after baby born. Haha... #2 liao. So slack.

Felicia, yes.. more supply is better than none. But tat oversupply scares me.. So this time shall monitor and see how. Yup, its a good way to loose weight. I drop quite alot though.. kekeke..

Blue, i think bcos you start with manual and use to it already. Just like i started with freestyle and use to the pumping sensation. I tried manual and Ameda, totally no let down. hee hee.

I also thought of total latch on. But i heard from friends that milk supply need to build up thru pumping especially when we are returning to work. I saw my friends trying up to increase the supply by pumping all out so that their baby gets to have total EBM. I am not sure, cos all the way, i pump and latch together, so by the time i return to work, i had enough supply for baby. Its definitely not easy to pump n latch. Very tiring.

Talk about Latch, i remembered my gal teething n bite me hard.. i bleed.. ouch and almost drop her on the floor.. cos its so painful
Each time i latch, each time she bite until i gave up and change to total pumping after 6 months.

(X), Ameda is really cheap and good. I saw my cousins use Ameda and works wonder.

Hi mommies, just back from lunch - had yummy Thai at Thanying, and so stuffed now.

jowinbaby - does your medicinal hall at Pasir Ris deliver to the house? I am at Upper Serangoon area. I have been ordering from luvbabies for quite sometime now - Kieran goes through his milk like no one's business - &amp; love that I can order online &amp; they deliver within 1-2 days on weekday evenings. V convenient. Too bad they don't have milk for pregnancy mommies too.

echo- congrats! I still have 2 more weeks to go before I get to see my baby for the 1st time! Meanwhile, Kieran is convinced that #2 is gonna be a boy. He has even predicted my actual delivery date to be 6th Jan instead.

On pumps - my vote still goes to Medela PIS. I think it is ultra efficient, so you don't have to waste too much time pumping - and seriously, you would be spending alot of time pumping, especially at nite &amp; when you return to work. The other one I was using was the Medela mini electric. This one is good cos it is small &amp; light &amp; has a battery option so you can even pump when you are outside.

idali - welcome to the forum

Girls, only need to breastfeed for first 6 months right? I read online that 6 months is a good duration, and afterwhich you could stop if you want. Is that true?

And i was thinking, since latching is painful, why not do away with it and do 100% pumping?

Sorry, asking a lot of questions.. hehe.

I am so tired now, was q-ing for subway and it was a long wait. Now my eyes are closing and back aching.

I have yet to check out the medela pump, hopefully no mould yet. My colleague passed to me years ago and I placed inside office storeroom. Waiting for it to see the daylight...hahaha... Need to ask my colleague to teach me how to use when I break the news to her. Btw do we need to buy steraliser for pump?

Welcom Idali

echo - That's fabulous!!! Can see the size? Our pregnancy dates are near, I am 7w5d today but my EDD is 18 Jan.

Both my SILs are commenting that my gynae fee is very expensive. One was pregnant abt 2.5yrs ago and she said she spent around $80 for a KK gynae check (incl ultrasound). My another SIL from Gleneagle also mentioned that my $200 visit is too expensive. Hers 3 yrs ago not so expensive. Is it because the gynae fee has increase a lot over these 2 yrs or mine is really too expensive?

Coyote, I think steriliser is for the bottles and the teat.. I got one from mothercare liao. And next need to buy milk bottle warmer :D **Kiasu**

My EDD is 9th Jan, so I guess im about 9 weeks now.

Felicia, I must say u r more kiasu than me...wahaha...bought so many things already!!!! I only bought some rompers and a belt expander.

jowinbaby - got extra breastmilk don't throw away, give me give me in case I got no milk..wahahaha....

Raw vegetables can lah, fruits also raw mah. Raw meats cannot loh. Anyway not for me, I ta-bao for my colleague. Now I am glued to my chair, I don't want to walk...haiz...

Unlike most of you who do not have much appetite, I am constantly feeling hungry. For example, I can have my full lunch at 12pm, I will be hungry at 2pm again! And a cup of anmum milk is never enough to satisfy the little one inside me!

Hope he/she don't grow to be too big! The gynae I saw today only gave me 10kgs to put on throughout my pregnancy as I am overweight already to start with. =(

Btw, my EDD is 28 Jan. We've yet to fix on our gynae yet. Still shopping around. But did a scan with a gynae just below my flat today and saw the little heart pumping at 6W1D. Cute! (^_^)