(2012/01) Jan 2012

steffy, can request to talk to gynae over the phone?

carpe diem, i cannot take pregnancy milk. Tried anmum & friso mum, bad tummy ache and laosai. Normal milk ok for me.

If anyone can think of what questions I can be asking gynae later, that'll be good. I'm hoping to as much as possible capitalize on the consultation with the gynae.

Coyote: yikes. Yupz, normal milk is good enough.

MayC: I don't know the weight I've gained, but I definitely have a tummy now. Heh

mayC- talking abt twins, i think i wld faint if i were to discover im carrying twins....hehe

ms carp- im using enfamama. think some brands got choc or vanilla flavour bah....can try.... for now, im also finishing up anlene calcium milk..the small packets.... mindset is lots of calcium but in small pack which i loike! lol

and me got tummy too..esp after meals...the buldge so prominent...look fat in tummy area...hehe

steffy - dont think so much into it yet..stay positive and go for check ups to clear all your doubts....wish you all best and health you need to carry this tiny one till its ready to see the world..

Carpe diem, let's see:
1) Is the vit that I am taking sufficient?
2) Can tell the gender now? :p
3) 1 only hor? Not twins ah? :p
4) Is there any symptoms that I shld look out for and call for immediate medical attn?
5) Any change in EDD?
6) The package price and when to sign? If sign later can the previous bills be offset?
7) Anything to look out for?

To add on:
1. What are the tests to be done? Optional or complusory? (NT, OSCAR, Detailed scan etc)
2. Any foods to avoid?
3. Any food to eat more?
4. In case of emergency, after normal clinic hours, what number to call
5. other charges, eg delivery fee, attendance fee etc.

carpediem
depending on what your current lifestyle is, can also ask if it is safe to do activities like go on holiday, exercise, have sex, etc.

pregnancy milk
i have a few samples from my gynae but i don't like to drink such milk. does anyone want? i can mail it to you.

Thanks coyote, (X) and echo! Those are great questions, some of which I've not thought of. Appreciate your inputs

Dh74: Thanks for the list of sites for free samples, I'll probably request for free samples from a number of them.

Oh... of coz... ask abt the foetus grow.
Is it ok? Which percentile.

Any abnormal growth like cyst, fibroids etc.

Any if you have not heard the bb heartbeat (HB), ask to hear it. Normally by week 6 or 7 shd be able to detect and hear HB.

Just thought to add a couple more questions which I had thought of also should you be seeing your gynae too:

- ingredients or any other things to look out for in buying vitamins/multi-vits . What may be some things/ingredients we may avoid or should take mire of
- any particular vit/minerals we should take more of at different periods of pregnancy (e.g more iron during 2nd trimester, more calcium at 3rd trimester etc)

Just thought to add to the knowledge that we have on this forum

Ms Carpe Diem,
Sometimes... we too kan cheong or too lost to know what to ask. See the U/S, baby inside, we forget everything else liao.

Some gynaes also very lax kind, will not go into much details. Unless we ask, or something's not right, then they will say more. So really depends on how comfy you are. No harm asking more.

I m very agitated by my gyna's nurses.
I told them right from the start, if the gynae is busy to take my call now. Pls ask him to return call. His nurses said cannot ask him to return call. I must call back. When i call back, they kept asking me to repeat my name and story. They kept pushing my call to one another. Then they add in their own stories saying that i said that i had a fall and my vagina is swollen.

I raise my voice at them and said 'I have enough of your nonsence asking me to repeat my name and my plight. Just ask the doc to call me back'. I m already unwell and have to bear with their nonsence.

steffy
doctors are always like that, hard to reach them via phone. they want to encourage you to go down and see them, so that they can earn their consultation fee. not to be mean towards them, i understand that they are just trying to make a living. but this has been my experience with specialist doctors. if you are really in need of medical attention, you should bite the bullet and pay for the consultation fee. if money is a concern, maybe you can try subsidised healthcare (like polyclinic). but maybe someone can advise you better on that. take care!

echo: I dont think dr koh cheng huat is that type of person. He always return call.
It is his nurses. All his nurses are so young and so new. They are not listening properly.

Hi Steffy, sorry to ask again, do you know which week r u now? The nurses will push you off saying that you are too early to see. blah blah blah. I second Echo suggestion, just book an appt , insist that you really need to see the gynae asap.

When i had pinky discharge, i just walk in. Despite the nurse told me that i had no appt and need to wait for the gynae to see EVERYONE. Meaning i m last on the list. No choice la.. for the sake.

I was given utrogestan too to insert into the vaginal. It has to insert deep in. If really can't get your own gynae, you can try another recommended one. No point waiting since the vaginal already swollen.

Hi MayC, wah, i can see from your weight you are a petite mummy
I had my 1st weight taken at 51kg. Not sure increase weight anot. I gained 9.5kg at 1st pregnancy. Hope this time round, its the same.

Ms cape, great idea. Perhaps i shd put a drop or so. But cannot take too sweet too. Scare GD will come back this pregnancy. I gotten it at last trimester for #1.

Hi (X), haha.. i agree. i always forget what to ask last time when i see baby. I remembered i wrote down on paper and throw the list to my gynae to one by one reply.. kekeke..

Today i felt hungry.. till the extend i wanna puke. Ate a biscuit.. felt much better.

Hi Snowwhite, i saw my sac through abdonmen scan at around end of Week 4 or Week 5. The gynae cannot even confirm my week.

Weight gain - I think I am beginning to have what looks like a tummy too! Sigh...I guess the womb is starting to expand.

jowinbaby - yah am quite petite (short!). My #1 at 2.5 years old, is already >1/3 of my weight! 9.5kg is a good weight gain
I hope to keep to 10-12kg this time round too.

Pre-natal milk: I took enfamama the last time round, will most prob just stick to that. Have yet to start & am still drinking my regular Meiji though.

Asking gyne qtns - really depends on the gyne. Some are not v thorough in explaining & you can very well get more detailed answers from googling. Can't fault them though, cos there is always a long Q at the clinic & as one of the patients in the Q, you would want to have your turn sooner rather than later. From my experience, Dr WK Tan doesn't explain at length, & I know to only ask her the really impt questions (e.g. any abnormality with the scan, if there is a fibroid/cyst) & go online for all the minor stuff.

Buying preggy clothes - I told myself no more shopping for preggy clothes cos I have tons of babydoll dresses from the last pregnancy, but heck..went out & bought 4 more dresses last evening. Argh!

was online checking out babycentre due date calculator.... it shows im only coming to 2weeks pregnant...if i were to use my 1st day of my last supposedly menses due date cycle.... but the digital pregnancy stick says 2-3 wks...think which one more accurate eh? i wont b going gynae so soon cos afraid nothinh much to see n i hate vaginal scan..so scared! sound painful...is it?

jowin: my vagina is not swollen. It is the nurses who added in the story.

Anyway the doc said i can choose to go for a jab and rest. Nothing else that he can do.

Blue - its the last date of your last menses, not the supposed one. Should be a date in April...which would make you 5-6 weeks preggers. The digital pregnancy stick counts from the last ovulation date, which is typically 14 days after the 1st day of the last menses.

MayC, shouldn't it be 1st day of last menses?

Blue, vaginal scan is not scary & painful. Just like inserting a tampon. Suggest you wait till week 6 which is what the clinic nurse told me.

Steffy, if really worry just grab a date and go down asap.

My next scan is next Sat, wanted to bring forward to this weekend also cannot. Appts full
Tummy abit uncomfy again but I didn't drink milk today, now I am wondering could it be due to 100plus that I am been drinking these few days.

bluey
yup you should use the first day of your last menses to calculate your due date. vaginal scan is a bit uncomfortable but not painful. but if you go in with a full bladder, at 5-6 weeks, you might be able to just have a tummy scan.

sorry - typo! yah, 1st day of last menses is your 1st day of pregnancy as per how the gynes would calculate it.

B cup - normal baby doll dresses. I don't own a single maternity dress cos alot of these are really mumsy!

coyote - i brought the extender too, very useful..

mayc - where to buy babydoll dresses? I also wanna buy!

coyote - the pants extender is a good idea. I didn't know Kiddy Palace has it! Thanks for sharing.
I bought a couple of maternity skirts the last time round, but other than that, lived in babydoll dresses most times.

B cup - mainly from random dress shops at the mall. Anything with a roomy waist area would be fine & these are cheaper than proper maternity wear as well. Anyway, I took week by week belly photos in these babydoll dresses when I was preggers with Kieran - you can see them on my FB site.

mayC - ouh..in that case, the date makes more sense...im about 4wks into it... cos simply don make sense if im one week pregnant..

echo, coyote - ive nvr tried tampons b4..hehe but the only time i had vaginal check is week 37 or 38 to see if everything ok for delivery n on the day of delivery for dilation.. hate the feeling thou...

coyote - during my 1st, i was also advised not to really empty the bladder so they can see the scan clearer....this was in the early stage.. but u mentioned u empty your bladder but how come gynae say u hav too much water?

b cup - me too...nvr bought any maternity wear..nowadays has fashionable baggy shirts, dresses etc... i wore the same pants before and during pregnancy only with a pants extender...very useful....;)

MayC-Kiddy palace having sale now.

Blue-maybe bcoz I really drank alot of water. At wk 5 I was practically like a thirsty hippo. Now better.

I also bot a baby doll dress 2 wks ago from Cotton On. So comfortable :D Btw I saw a pregnant salelady (3rd trimester) at Osmore wearing a black long dress, so beautiful (is body-hugging).

Blue_Y
Vaginal scan (VS) is different from vaginal examination (VE).

Heard that VE is more painful. VS is ok, just slight discomfort.

I will go down next week.
This is a nightmare. I can see the blood dripping when i urine.

The gynae said i overexert myself liao.

x - oh is it? but i guess its partly true what my gynae told me before; that if ur tense, it will feel painful n very uncomfortable.. but if ur relaxed, it will feel ok... so i derived that im very tensed up during the examinations...

I already bought a big claypot to cook for no.2 too. Bought 2 bottles of stretchmark oil.

If something happens to no.2 i will be very sad.

Hi Steffy, Oh. so sorry dear. I mis-read it.
Yeah, just go and see gynae, take a jab and rest la. At least feel more 心安 too

Hi MayC,i did not meant you r short la
I mean you must be slim slim type. Ya, where to buy the baby doll dress. I dun like maternity too unless buying pants/ short, cos no choice.

hi Coyote, perhaps 100plus too gassy already. Thats why u feel bloated now and uncomfy.

The Extender looks good. U know what.. i unbutton my pants now.. cos its too tight to button and wear a long top to cover.. kekeke..

coyote: I m a homemaker taking care of a 1 year 9 mths boy.

jowin: I will not take the jab for the next 3 mths. Just let nature take it's course. Leave it to god.

BUT ladies, i lie down for 20mins just now. The bleeding really reduce alot. It Works!!

I see, steffy. Then try to rest as much as possible. Every evening when I stand inside MRT for 1 hr, I feel very tired and need to lie down. After lying down I feel much better. So is impt to rest.

Wah... today my appetite very good.
Morning i had a packet of carrot cake, extra chilli. Lunch i actually finish my beef noodles and had a cup of gong cha (i know suppose to avoid sweet stuff in case GD comes back). But hack lah... now only week 7. My colleagues queueing and they know i love my dessert, if i dun take, maybe fishy.

Feels good to finish my food. I have a very full and happy belly now.

Anyone start to apply the stretch mark cream/oil?
I thought of buying the clarins oil. Used a bottle last pregnancy, but still got stretch marks leh.