(2012/01) Jan 2012

wahahhah peanut lucky indeed...hahhah chwee kuey can make us pregnant woman so happy.

Valteen my colleague wife also nose bleed during her pregannacy. It is part of pregnancy symptom. They also alarmed but actually their doc say it is normal pregnancy syptom. keke take care.

annie: congrats on the good results!

peanut: lucky lor..tonite i will go tpy central to ease my chwee kueh & koi cravings..haha

gingerleaf: Oh dear, take care, drink prune juice?

On another note, I'm glad I saw gingerleaf's post after lunch and had shared my chwee kuay with someone else, haha....

Good afternoon mummies! Been a while since i checked in. Im just plain lazy to log on my personal comp so each time i read through the iphone your posts.. Find very tedious but but to do.. Lazy... My ms getting better but every after meals, i will feel sick n can only lie down for an hour or so before i feel better... Smells also put me off.. Tomorrow will be my third month n im going to visit my gynae n see bb! Yipee! Been a long wait till cannot take it anymore.. Hehe...

Nose Bleed- i had nose bleeds in my 1st pregnancy. I rmembered i thought it was due to an accident i had before it all started. I sat in the car, after returning from Ikea with some baby furnitures in boxes. As the car turned, one box hit me on the head heavily... The thick wood kind. Think soon after i had nose bleed... Super bad, few tissues type. I thot, jialat.... Hit the brain got clit.. Hows my newborn gonna survive w/o mother etc... Told my mom.. Kena scold left right centre say dont prepare bb stuffs if think cannot now how... Blah blah.. Then until the day i gave birth, il have on off occasions of nose bleeds... Funny to say after give birth, no more liow... So i dunno wats da cause...

Hows u mommies coping..? Think my bump is growing lehh.. Although not yet visible before meal, can wear old clothes n shirts, but after meal, aiyohh.. Look big.. Haha... Hope u ladies r coping well.. Have i missed out on anything gd? Hehe... Have yet to read the past entries.. Will b doing it slowly...

Valteen,
no more flu already! had it 2-3 weeks back! Hope u get better soon too!

tulip7v,
hehehe, not poo poo la. I vomitted. It went in so yummie but came out so horrible. Think I will lay off Chwee Kueh for awhile.

hq,
thanks! No a fan of warm or hot drinks now. Everything I drink must be ice cold now.

ms carpe diem,
cant stomach prune juice.. but trying to take more dragonfruits. Not much effect on me, maybe I needa take more.

Oh yah, btw, anyone has a gd brand recommendation for car seats? My girl is 16mths.. I heard abt Britax Royale but seems ex... Any other gd ones? Thot i wana recce Baby Hypermart/Baby Kingdom but afraid il be swarmed with many models n lost for choice. Im clueless. And anyone with 1st child gonna put two car seats in future? Im new to car seats n hope can get gd advice...

Seems like alot of mummies are having chwee kway cravings after someone posted! I just had 4 pieces this morning too n got all bloated after that!! lol!

I just had my wedding photoshoot take 2 days ago. Fell soooo sick after lunch and felt so nauseous tat everyone had to take a break.. Really feel so tough to juggle pregnancy n preparing for wedding!! =(

luckily im not working now if not i think i will faintzzzz...

BTW, joyojoy, my EDD has been adjusted to 18 Jan 2011! But im hoping for dragon bb... hehe

Blue_y I am currently using Latido car seat for my #1 who is 21mths has been using it since he was 13mths or so this car seat can use till 3-4yrs old. I have a capella stroller that came w a car seat can use up to 6 months so yes I will eventually have 2 car seats in the car - very cramp - my poor helper squashed.

Blue_y,

We were using Britax Meridian(safe & sound series). Its true its more costly but they are very comfy n plushy. My gal used it for more than 2 years n switched to a Maxi Cosi Rodi coz she outgrew the age limit for Britax.
However, Im still using the Britax in my car, coz its quite big, so she still can seat in it comfortably, just the belts abit snug(released at max already.) Think the mileage for britax is quite worth it.

Hubby will definitely put 2 carseats in his car. We shld be sharing the 2 carseats btwn ourselves coz think its quite a waste of money to buy 2 more carseats to place in mine.

Blue_Y,
I'm using Britax Royal. Bad part is it is bulky, takes up more space compared to others. The fabric is suede like, so can be a bit too warm. My colleague using Britax safe and sound, smller and cheaper.

I intend to switch #1 to booster seat and use the existing car seat for #2. So hopefully no need for 2 huge car seats in the back

wooo I just finshed my lunch of mee hoon Kuay + alot of chilli padi - very very shiok sweat coming out from the scalp too - need a cold drink now

Just had my KOI also. I'm so full I'm going to explode. Sigh. Its so shiok to eat but the feeling after that is not so nice.

Blue_Y, my son's car seat was bought from Baby Kingdom. He has been using it from when he was 1+ till 5 now. It can be used from newborn(reverse position) to 18 kg. The brand is Venus. Not sure if they still have it but I find it durable. The other brand they recommend there is Britax, it feels v good and comfy but a few hundred dollars. I think Venus was only $100+

blue_y: we use ferrari car seat for my girl.. the back is adjustable.. but she doesnt like to sit in it aft she turned 9mths old. become white elephant in the house. =( i plan to train #2 to stay in car seat cuz i tink #1 hopeless liao. haha

zhuzhu, lebebe, blueydoo, i also start to love mcwings now. hahaa! 2 days this wk alr, i had mc wings meal w twister fries and either coke or ice tea. @_@

re: fb group
anymore other mummies to add? u can add me at [email protected] or add jowinbaby on fb, we both can invite u to the grp. =)

Blue_y: I am using Britax Boulvard. Got it 2nd hand though. Very good! Love it.
Actually the the salesman at the shop at paragon , *dun remember the name.. is it growing years* was very persuasive. We were convinced then that safety is the utmost importance. However, Britax Boulvard is too expensive and so i got it 2nd. Disadvantage - builky and take up a lot of space. Cannot have another britax in the car. So i think i will get my #1 another car seat and #2 will still use britax

re: pri registration
how to "plan"? my girl is only 2 yo la, but i was planning to move until i found out abt #2. so i tink we'll prob move when #1 is abt 4-5yo. how like that?!

After seeing all mommies here chatting aby chwee kuay, I also tempting to eat and manage to eat it this morning, 6 pcs of it and left me so bloated, haa..

For lunch, I just had pizza feast with all my colleagues..dun dare to eat much as I got diebetic..

I am living in Woodlands area..anyone near me?

Hi Jamie - Ya I love Macs too. Can't wait till my next mac meal.

About the FB group - Will it reflect in our own FB feed that we joined this group etc? Cos I haven't announced to most of the people in my FB list yet....

Hi Blue Y - My #1 is also using Britax Meridien (Aussie brand: safe & sound), love the velvety suede grey cover & yes, it is comfy. Seats up to 18kg (he is already 16+kg), & we are going to start looking for a new booster seat for him to upgrade & get used to before #2 comes along. Britax maybe abit more ex, but it is worth it

Mommies - any booster seat brand to recommend, or are they all about the same?

When can we start our little one on booster seat? My #1 is only 9.4 (at 22 mths) .. by the time #2 comes, she will probably be ard 10kg.. can sit booster seat? If not 2 car seats at the back v bulky...

babytum: same question!

my #1 now 9.8kg at 15 months using the britax royale. she is quite happy with it and loves it so far. initially wanted #2 to use cos can start from nb and buy another car seat for #1 but dunno which one to get.

we got the britax royale from taka baby fair for $200+ so still quite affordable. maybe can start shopping around the baby fairs. when see a good deal then just get.

Maddie>> yes, im also using britax royale now.. good.. but if buy 2 will be super bulky.. and I need 2 sets (the other for my parents' car)! So I'm thinking if my girl can start booster seat. Gosh your #1 1.5xs younger than my girl and she is heavier!!

Ginger: oh... yucks... I can't afford to vomit. I vomitted until got blood few days ago. But I'm still thinking of that food!!

zhuzhu: yah, agree, its just a moment of shiokness only. but better than nothing.

TPY... Hey, there's a very nice & crispy fried carrot cake in TPY!!

Baby seat vs. booster - the best would be to use the baby seat until the max weight (most are 18kg, some 20kg?), then upgrade to the booster. If anything happens (touch wood), they are safest strapped into the baby seat compared to being carried, or in the booster or just a normal seat belt.

gingerleaf - thanks! Will take note to check mxi cosi rodi out. Thinking of getting the booster soon & have #1 use it some days to get used to it before #2 arrives.

tulip: I know the one in lorong 1 rite...super crispy one and they only sell white fried carrot cake. My favourite for sunday breakfast..keke.

booster seat: There are two types, one with back rest & the other is just the base. My son started using the one with the back rest when he's 3, 10kg+. The one with the backrest, you can adjust the seat belt pass the loop so that it does not choke his neck if he does not reach a certain height (min height is 100cm or something). Its not really bulky. I got it from Taka fair too. Else, mothercare sells. cost wise, less than $150...

piggyB, i can't remember if it is at Lor 1. I remember the place that's all. Its name is "Cheng Sua" or something. On the 2nd level. Got makansutra review before.

we're into food chats again... ahhh...

My son is still using the carseat now. He's almost reaching the limit - 18 kg. But I find its safer plus when he falls asleep in the car, he can rest his head on the side of the car seat.

I ever tried using the booster seat (the base type) but it keeps slipping from under him. I don't know if it is because I didn't strap the seat correctly to hold it in place.

I won't mind to get a booster seat (with back rest) for him if there is one that has a side support so that when he falls asleep his head can still lean against it. I've had friends whose kids knocked their head against the car door when they fall asleep. Anyone has seen one like that?

tulip7v: Thanks. Are there adjustable positions for the booster seat? My son likes it in a lying down position. like 45 degree angle. I'm afraid he won't get used to the booster.

For the one you're using, seems like there isn't alot of side support? Does your son fall asleep and lean against it?

Gingerleaf, birbrain - r u both any chance using the same model? Perhaps il look for britax safe sound or meridian then...how much is the cost range? Safe sound got various model or the model name is safe sound? Hehe. Paiseh ask so much qn..

Hq - is latido gd? Is it safe, well padded etc?
Aniwae if got two car seats/boosters, ul be seated in the centre between both right?

blue_Y: it's not too bad - http://www.babys.com.sg/co/products/?CategoryID=8

Model FB837 cost ard $100+ def can recline to a craddle position esp good when #1 wants to drink milk in the car - he has been sitting in infant car seat since newb... i think w/o recline will be difficult for him.

Model FB200 with booster seat but cant recline( if I am not wrong) that is why we didnt get, I suppose by 18kg or so can use booster seat.

It's sufficiently snuck and it quite heavy so it doesnt shift ard in the car.

Blue_Y : yes will be stuck inbwteen a car seat or booster and an infant seat.
That's why my hb go and start looking for a car with a more spacious interior. Now our current car is more like for dating time not very family.

MayC britax meridian n royale whats the diff? Do u know?

Hq - we just got ourselves a car n now doing some recce for baby seats... Been searching up n britax royale n safe n sound came up often with most positive reviews. But i dunno wat to look out for n stuff so hoping to learn a thing or two b4 buying...

Maddie - my girl is 1yr 5mths too.. Hehe. Her weight ard 10kg..hoping she'll learn to stay still in seat cos she just cant kip still.. Will b an uphill task i foresee...

Hq - thtz.. Il check that reclining model out too.. Anyway anyone knows when taka baby fair will be in town?

Blue_Y : i was told by my friend to start putting bb in car seat as early as possbile to "train" so when older dont have problem to get them to sit down. It seems to work, my boy auto will climb in.

maybe you can try w your girl after you get seat at home first-everyday sit for 5 mins then slowly intor into car. make it fun. SIt down means go "kai-kai"

Blue Y - We considered both royale & meridian but picked meridian for superficial reasons. Liked the feel of the material & the dark grey matched the seats of our car
I think they are both about the same?

And yes, have to start them young so that they get used to it. We started #1 right after the confinement month, once he started going out.

Ya my friend just leave her baby inside as they offered to drop me. Although baby make some noise, my friend say must train baby stay inside. I don't get why babies hate the car seat.

blue_Y,

You shld look under safe n sound. Think Britax royal is under the safe n sound range(australian). I've seen it selling for $200++ at babyfairs too.

As for why I choose meridien, think there is a function call active head retrain..which is.. hmmm.. something like an adjustable head rest to acomodate growth, so the baby's head dun swing so much. Its much more expensive, paid around $500++ for it then. And partly also same reason as MayC. Hb thinks the color and the pebbled look of the material is nicer.

if you wanna compare more, do run a search online for it. Alot of comparisons site around. Or google "Safe N Sound"

Yes yes! I strongly avocate car seats! Its very impt. For those who refused to sit in it, maybe mummy can sit next to them initially till they are used to being strapped in, then slowly move back to sit infront.

JTML,

I used to sit behind with her because as a 1st time mum, n her being a NB, the instinct is there to wanna be next to her. Then after a year of sitting behind, hb complained he felt like ahmad, so asked me to sit next to him. Daughter was not happy abt it initially, so I had to kept turning back to assure her that Im still there.

Its really good to train them from young, coz even as young as 3mths old, my daughter is able to sit behind the car by herself(backfacing)while hb is driving to work. If she cries, which is very seldom, hb will ignore. They will know how to entertain themselves.

Wahaha yeah I was think poor daddy would feel like Ahmed..
Signz all the sacrifices... Women and men side but I think women sacrifice more... Our complexion our body go ballooning etc. Our career ... Now strangely I don't feel worry although big presentation or something go wrong... I just very happy got baby.