(2011) TTC 2011 Mums!!!

Can someone share with me some online effective way to track our fertile moment or some ovulation calemder. We try hard last month in the sense that we BD for twice a week last month. tot quite a lot and easy to strike but disappointed my menses just came today after missing for 6 days! hiaz.

Perhaps, if do less but on more fertile moment can get preggie faster?

Anybody can share. Dissapointed men.. Hiaz. Not easy to plan to conceive men..

Babysee,

I agree tat faint line is confusing... For me, my trend is no line, faint line, faint line, dark line, v v v dark line then nxt day no line again. So faint line is act not ovulating leh.

Act I notice tat althou I hv v v v dark line,I do not necessary hv EWCM! Instead I hv v wet creamy cm, somewat like lotion? Read somewhere tat tis can still b fertile indication... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bibi81,

U referring to online ovulation calendar? But they r not v accurate unless ur af reports on e dot every month. Eg 31 days every time... No more no less. If yr cycle is like tat, ur day of ovulation should always be 14 days before yr Mens (ie 31 days - 14 = cd17)

Gynae always say hv it once every 2 days during the fertile period la. I know for 30 days, fertile window starts fr cd 12...

I find this online calendar interesting thou:

http://www.babyhopes.com/ovulation-calendar.html

today went to my gynae for my hsg results.. tubes are clear which means there's still no answer to why i can't conceive. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] secretly hoped it's blocked so at least something can be done ma..right? sigh...

then gynae looked at my bbt chart, says this month not ovulating... (cos of the mountains!).. end up gave me 5 more cycles of clomid. it's gonna mark 2 yrs of my ttc-ing if i finish it!! =((

sigh.... bad day today la... like see lecturer to submit homework (bbt chart).. gynae point point mark mark.. then tell me when i shd bd.. after that send me out without any examination...then bill me so much for 5 min of 'tutorial'!! =\

ylgoh

good morning! my gynae is john tee fr kkh. my chart this month is full of ups and downs... never reaching the 37 deg peak. no specific upward pattern. thus he said never ovulate.

Hi Joelle.

woow so coincident my gynae also John Tee...i see him is because of my fibroids...last 2 weeks went for follow up on the fibroids and he ask me try again for another 4 months and go back to see him again...that day he plan to give me ovulation pill but i told him that i did use OPK to test for ovulation and every month show +ve result so at the end he did not give me any medicine...just keep ask me to try 1st...maybe next visit i can show him my bbt chart as well..

ylgoh

oh! think quite a few of us here seeing him then! i think he's not so keen to try ivf on me leh... he is more pro natural... told me i'm still too young to try! i'm 33!! =( so back to taking clomid for me. but super funny la.. the way he told me to do it.. even the nurses were laughing at the side.. =S

snowger

that's what my gynae told me la...it's supposed to crawl up to 37deg during ovulation and stay there till ur AF comes... when i was on clomid, my temp did hit 37 and more...

Joelle/ snowger i never hit 37 before the most is 36.9..this month my temperature after ovulation was 36.8,36.9 and today drop to 36.6 not sure what happen also

Hi Ladies...

just came back from kkh.. DH's sperm test result is good.. no problem..

i have to test HSG during my next cycle..

and is also given Letrozole (dr say is another type of clomid).. any one know anything about this?

it is very expensive! $150 for 15 tablets!!! 3 cycle..

babysee, we got BD last nite! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Luckily loh, hopefully got hope, cos I getting more & more agitated during my fertile period. Anyway, on Tue night my +ve sign is very obvious and then Wed night it became a faint +ve line.

joelle, i also done the HSG last mth, also no blocked, but also havent tio bb till now. I quite agreed with what you wrote loh, if we found out got problem at least we know where the problem lies right? now it's like no solution loh, and we still so hardowrking to BD until so shagged for what loh.... kekekeke

Im just glad that my fertile period for this month is over... can mental rest until the "wait for AF to come" time....

jacy

wah! that's so expensive! i only paid $5+ for 5 cycles of clomid! :p ur's better work man!!! my gynae neva order sperm test leh... he keep saying my hb still young, not a prob... sigh.. meaning prob is on me n my hormonal imbalance lo... =\

joelle,

yeah.. both dh and i were shocked when told the price at the pharmacy.. dr say is a new type of clomid..

dr also say we both very young.. at first dont wanna do any test for us.. say try longer first.. but i told him we tried for more than 1yr liao..

then he see me so sad and determined and anxious then say do semen test, hsg and ..give me Letrozole say try 3 more cycles.. sian..

he also did v-scan for me and say everything is fine.

nurse also keep saying we young.. just try natural first.. irritating leh..

JJJ_Mummy> we also BD last nite just in case [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope last nite is a good "Full Moon" nite and we can have a +ve HCG... hee... my OPK is still faint line.. duno how long will it take to dark line.

Jacy, maybe they are trying to make u feel more relax and dun anxious for a baby... but I know how u feel... the gynae is like shoo-ing me away from his clinic... keep asking me to try naturally..

Jacy - is it becos u booked the appt without any polyclinic's referral letter? Is that why you don't have subsidy on your med?

We got a referral letter from polyclinic. Saw the doc last friday. Was told to come back on different days for blood tests and also for the sperm count test to check on our fertility.

Did you have the same procedure as well?

I don't know why all the docs like to say the same thing.

"still young mah. why so worry?"

Huh? I wonder what is their cut off age for "Young"?

ylgoh,

I went to do some research and it seems like not going abv 37 is of no concern lar... ;P

Quoted from http://www.womenfitness.net/bbt.htm

What is BBT?

Basal body temperature (or BBT) is the temperature of the body at rest. The BBT method requires charting your basal - think 'base' - body temperature when you're completely at rest. For most women, 96 to 98 degrees is considered normal prior to ovulation and 97 to 99 degrees after ovulation. By charting the differences - in one-tenth degree increments - you can determine when ovulation has taken place.

Changes in BBT

In an average 28-day menstrual cycle, with ovulation typically occurring around day 14, the BBT shows two phases. In the first phase, during the menstrual period and through to ovulation, the BBT is at its lowest level. Soon after ovulation, however, the BBT rises approximately 0.4°F (at least 0.2°c) and stays raised until menstruation starts; this is the second or post-ovulatory phase. The rise in temperature is due to the hormone progesterone, which is secreted by the corpus luteum after the ovum has been released, and is a sign that ovulation has already occurred.

Snowger, thanks for your advise then..

i think do not want to worry/think too much on this...let it be natural bah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babysee,

yes.. dr makes me feel like i am making a mountain out of a mole hill.. like 'you are still young, why so kan cheong?'.. haha..

pommes,

i am a private patient.. no letter from polyclinic..

but still evry expensive leh.. $1/cycle VS $50/cycle is a lot of difference..

I did my blood test on the 1st visit.. dh went back for semen test 1 week later.. cos have to 'abstain 3 days' ma..

pommes,

what age then is considered young?

i think, to doctors under 35 = young.

i am already in my mid 20s.. i have always wanted to give birth before 23.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jacy,

if have to abstain for 3 days... means... actually Hb should "clear stock" only every 3 days during our fertile period? *HHmmmmm...* somthing new learnt everyday! ;p

aiyoh Jacy,

mid 20s niah, my first pregnancy was when I was 27 yrs old... I think they consider old to be 35 and beyond (high risk pregnancy)... ;p

snowger,

from what i read from the instruction sheet, it says that for normal guys, need 3 days to replanish the sperm to maximum volume.

eg, clear stock on 4th oct.. 8th oct will have maximum volume..

snowger..

but it has always been my *dream* to be a young mummy ma..haha..

some more we ttc for alomst 1.5yrs liao.. so dont want to wait anymore..

I think the idea of "clearing" the "stock" every 3 days is to ensure the max amt of "stock" when it comes to fertile period. But in reality, I think is hard to really keep track. Cos ovulation comes +/- 1 or 2 days.

Jacy - I was told to come back for 2 blood tests on different cycle days and another day for u/s.

pommes,

what kind of blood test will you be doing? i only did beta cos that time suspect i may be preggy..

as for u/s.. dr only did the vaginal one.. quite briefly.. and say i go thick lining.. tats all..

Jacy, mid 20s really very young leh... but the fact u TTC for 1.5yr, I think it's time to seek help also... I saw somewhere that couples who TTC for a year should seek help from doc le.. so ignore him and be thick skinned like me! haaa..

jacy - i'm scheduled to do a progesterone test on cycle D21, then after which another blood test for FSH on cycle D2 or D3.

U/S scheduled according to their slot.

DH's sperm test like yours too, but up to us when we want to do it.

babysee,

i already very thick skin liao lo.. he ask me take clomid for another 3 mths.. then i say 'huh.. still but wait ya.. i try for 1.5yrs liao leh!' then he say.. ok, do hsg.. haha!

pommes,

i also have a few test to do after my 1cycle of clomid.. but i dont know the name of the test.. heehee..

Jacy,

I get what u mean lar... since u got married young might as well hv kids young oso! ;)

jia you orh... My ah ma always cook Ba Zhen Tang for me n sis to drink one week after mens... Suppose to help regulate mens n sustain female's reproduction health. U gals can try taking it...

Since I got married nvr drink that soup liao... maybe that's why my mens oso bcome different length every month... ;p

just wanna share something on OPK testing, there is an interesting chart which shows when u ovulate after the surge in the website (can check it out):

Ovulation Prediction Kits (OPK)

Luteinizing hormone (LH) is the last hormone to peak before ovulation and is the hormone responsible for triggering the rupture of the ovarian sac that releases the egg for ovulation. This hormone can be measured by ovulation prediction kits (OPKs) that use chemicals to identify its presence in your urine.

The presence of increased amounts of LH in your urine, as detected by OPKs, usually means that you will ovulate within 12-24 hours but this can vary slightly depending on your own hormonal profile. LH is not released all at once, but rather it rises and falls for about 24-48 hours. The LH rise usually begins in the early morning while you are sleeping and it takes 4-6 hours for it to appear in your urine after that. For this reason, first morning urine may not give the best result. Testing mid-day is usually recommended. It is important to follow the instructions of your OPK for maximum results.

Luteinizing hormone is the last hormone to peak before ovulation. For this reason, many women like ovulation prediction kits, though they are not able to confirm or pinpoint ovulation precisely. Because you may already be fertile before your OPK turns positive, it is important not to rely exclusively on OPKs for timing intercourse and identifying your most fertile time. You may like to use them, however, to cross-check your other fertility signs and to offer additional clues about impending ovulation. They may be especially useful if you have ambiguous charts, irregular cycles or multiple patches of fertile cervical fluid before ovulation.

extracted from "http://www.fertilityfriend.com/HelpCenter/FFBook/ff_hormones_and_signs.html"

Found! Difference between clomid and letrozole...

For many years the standard first-line treatment for ovulatory problems was clomiphene .Letrozole has significant advantages over clomiphene. Clomiphene is associated with significant side effects, including hot flashes, vaginal dryness, headaches, and mood swings. Letrozole is essentially side-effect free. While clomiphene use results in ovulation in 80 – 90% of patients, pregnancy rates are much lower. This seems to be due to the fact that clomiphene results in depletion of estrogen receptors. Clomiphene has a half-life of up to two weeks, and depletion of estrogen receptors results in the side-effects of clomiphene, including the adverse metabolic effects such as decreased cervical mucus production and poor development of the lining of the uterus (endometrium). Letrozole has a half-life of about 40 hours, with minimal effects on the cervical mucus and lining of the uterus.

Hey Jacy,

I did read in the internet that thin uterus linings are associated with the taking of clomid... :p most prob clomid has became generic so it's cheaper to buy. ;p

Seems like ur expensive med is worth every cent! Hopefully can hear good news from u soon!

jacy

wah! so letrozole is worth the money leh!! okok! after this i'm gonna get john tee to prescribe that to me liao!! =D

hi, has anyone here got a BFN, no AF, just spotting? I'm usually 30-38 days but this is CD43 - two BFNs, no AF, just light spotting these two days.. Blur already *.*

snowger,

yes, i read abt that too.. letrozole doesnt cause thin lining..

also, letrozole gets cleared out of your body very fast.. within 2 weeks i think.

but clomid stay in your body for as long as 3 mths.. and if you get preggy, it is not good for the baby..

joelle,

thats what i think so too.. at first very heart pain.. after reading, think it is worth it..

latrozole has lower percentage of miscarriage than clomid too.

maybe you can ask john tee then see what he say lo.. maybe he give you clomid for a reason?

gals, today is my Cd 28 le... e waiting game is going to end soon...

BBT: CD 26 36.7, CD 27 37, CD 28 36.7

today temp drop Oo... i guess no hope le.. but hor i keep feeling nausea, i vomited 2 time today lioa... donno where don feel right.

Haiz making me feel so uneasy...

For me tis mtgs wait shld b over soon. I'm experiencing e extreme sweatiness before af reports!

Summerpeh,

Did yr temp drop below the coverline? As in u check the temp of yr cd 1 to cd4 when af reported. As long as it's e high range still got hope!

Snowger> really. i just reach hm to see my CD 1 to CD 4 it was from 36.4~36.1...

Hope still got hope... wait for 2molo morning BBT^^ lolx

i thought i saw blood when i pee...go back and bath also see..but like one 'strand' only..

haiz...got to wait till tomorrow to see is it AF...*crossing my finger*

just curious..when they say will experience 'metal' taste in the mouth, what exactly does it mean? like some bitter taste at the end of the throat?

Hey girls..i went to watson, guardian..there's a few kind of OPK.. which are the one that is recommended? Currently i saw clearblue digital seems like its okay but pricing wise abit expensive.