(2011/12) Dec 2011

Tangerine,

Do via online. Within one wk, ica will send u a card for collection, earliest to collect is a month, if din remember wrongly. Make appt. If u reach early, lagi fast. I went earlier than my appt time, within 10mins i'm out.

Tangerine: yes, like yoyosan said do online, v convenient and fast. Just take photo on yr own, I just put baby on white nappy cloth and used ICA's software to edit. Within 1 week tell u to collect. Make appt when do collection, super fast. Queue to get no. then before I can sit down called to counter already. But have to bring baby for collection.

Yoyo and yuet sim: thanks! We put baby in bumbo against white wall for his pp pic. He was slouching to one side but we edited the pic to straighten him!

Yunrui very aware of her surroundings, yesterday didn't sleep much at infant care, only 30min stretch each time. Then last night, didn't wake up for night feeds, I had to dream feed her cos I got engorgement. Today, she managed a 2hr stretch sleep in the afternoon. Still shorter compared to at home but I'm very relieved to see that!

Tangerine, sacred tea can be ordered from here:

http://www.originsjamumassage.com/Sacred-Tea.html

Quite 麻烦 to prepare, need to boil water, add the sacred tea, then simmered for 20 min, after that need to strain. I'll be starting the brown rice tea when I start work tomorrow, no time to wait for tea to simmer for 20min!

Bubbles, the brown rice tea u take how many serving per day?

KK, how come fillings for 4 teeth soooo expensive?

Passport collection at ICA, they wanted us to bring baby, but bring baby there, they didn't even take a look at the baby. U anyhow bring one baby there, they also don't care! :p

The LC didnt do warm compress or massage!! I was in so much agony. Today, a malay massage lady came just to massage the poor breast. I was desperate and went online to search. Her name is Mdm Aisah, quite exp at $40 for 30 minutes. But i think it's useful. Perhaps i should have gotten a massage instead of going to the lc first.

Oh, and she told me can use assam paste to put on the areola area to reduce swell. Im trying it out. Hope dun need to the extent of seeing a breast doc or going back to the lc.

Yi Chin, i ever wondered if my boy would be trained to sleep and drink better if i place him in infant care..hmmm

girltradester, assam paste? will make bm taste sour? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Is ur breast better now after the 2 massage session?

ur helper not bad, better to keep at home lah, go infantcare easier to fall sick. Send to childcare when gabriel is older and immunity level is better. Usually by 3 years old, they won't fall sick so easily.

Yi chin,

U more at ease go back work tmr liao. So she ok w rocker n cot already? That's fast adaptation. I wonder when I can break my bb's sarong habit. Dun hv really can't sleep.

So fast, one by one all go work, no one talk here w me liao. Must jio the sahms.. .yoohoo... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Girltradester,

Eh..assam paste on aerola..sorri but it sounds dubious. Hopefully the paste dun get into any open wound hor. Get well fast... So ur pump still produce any yellowish stuff?

Yoyosan, I can talk to you since I won't return to work so soon. However, my boy is keeping me busy as he seldom naps and his naps are not long. So, you are a sahm?

Hey, rdg my son's dental treatment.

We were recommende to bring him for a friendly visit and determine how high risk he is. Usually the first visit, the pedantic dentist will also look at the parents' teeth to see how the genetic factors will also affect the child's teeth. Anyhow, we were supposed to bring him in before my girl was born. Then after that, we were caught up with so many changes and even over looked the tooth brushing. As I was constantly tired, and dad is usually busy at work. And my son doesn't drink enough milk, so we add milk into his milo, so when this is in the night and no tooth brushing after, you can imagine the amount of sugar left in his mouth.

His teeth is very much like mine- straight and small but very deep grout on the molars.

I felt the urgency to bring him to the paediatric dentist when I started having problem cleaning his teeth, I still see plague on the front teeth and the light brown spot that can never be removed.

When hb took him in, dentist found a big brown hole at the back of the last molar, along with 3 other cavities on the 4 molars. But during the treatment, she found out actually all four molars are decayed.

It's costly also because we went to a specialist, a paediatric dentist. You can opt to go to a normal dentist but my concern is how well a general dentist treat a child. I just didn't want him to have fear going to the dentist in future.

And bcos the pte clinic did not have an operating room to do the treatment, we have to go to a surgery centre. On top of that, he has to be treated under GA, and required a anesthesiologist. All in all and no subsidies from govt cos it's a pte clinic.

I could actually see the same doc at KKH, but I was told the wait is like at least 3mths, and my concern is to save the teeth. Cos I case decay is too deep, it can damage the root and cause problem to the adult teeth. Molars should last until the child turns 10, and my son started cutting teeth at 4.5mths. So it became tougher for parents to care for his teeth.

I pray that Emma will not be having teeth so soon!

Girltradester, are u better?

Tangerine, your symptoms seem like "rusty pipe syndrome". It will go off after a couple of day, so it's ok de.

I have blebs since feb, shooting pain! Then after that both nehs also have.. Almost gave up breast bleeding. Suffered for another 2mths finally had enough and went to see tmc LC. Kena slapped, squeezed, pressed for a good 1 hrs and cleared the clogging. Blebs is due to serious clog ducts.

My moo moo career is rocky.

Btw, u girls saw this?

http://sg.******************/mum-abuses-baby-on-video/

Video is very disturbing, first instant my limbs went jelly, then I forced myself to watched, even showed my hb. He said go report the police. Later I read that the mom had be sentenced to jail for 18mths. I think she deserved to be killed a million times!!

I looked at Emma sleeping next to me, felt so sorry for that baby in the video. My hb after watching went and told Emma, "you have a good mommy." so pleased with him.

Correction, dentist found cavities in all 8 molars.. Minor and major ones.

So now she apply fissure sealants on his teeth so the the grout is no longer so deep and it's easier to brush off the food residues.

Yoyosan, I was told night feed of milk is bad for the teeth, so you want to make sure u feed water to cleanse the mouth after the milk. One of our play dates mommies was very worried that her daughter will have more serious dental issues cos she still needs to have a bottle of milk at 2am. Recently she fell and after checked by the dentist, other than the incisors are a bit wobbly, the rest of the teeth as very healthy.

I was told when toddler hit 2yrs old, can start to go for half-yearly checkup. I did that for my #1, and his bb teeth still v. good. Also I wean him off from bottles by 2yrs old.

annie & KK: good reminder to start brushing baby's teeth once they start appearing. It's really not cheap to treat their cavities. No idea where to find pediatric dentist, where do you bring yr little ones?

Yuet sim,

Now I bring him to smileworks kids @ Paragon. I did try out another general dentist but my boy prefer smileworks kids - coz' he said got stickers n toys n can watch movie.

Snow,

Yup, I'm a ft-sahm. Lol.

U on no pay leave?

Other than yuet sim n u, anymore pt/ft sahm here?

Annie,

When u wean ur #1 off bottle, is there a drop in milk intake? Happened for some of my frens' kids, after weaning from bottle, no interest in milk anymore, hard to get them drink milk liao. For me, din wean my #1 yet, she says she likes her bottles. Ai..

Hi mummies, yes i am better, but still must work hard to express the lumps diligently using hands. The infected side still feels slightly painful.

When i visited the LC on tuesday, she told me no need to clean baby's mouth yet since his still on milk diet. She was concerned that using hanky to clean baby's mouth could cause more bacteria growth instead. hmmm..

Tangerine,

Sounds like u planning fora hol w bb soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

U could bathe bb in the hotel sink too, but wash the sink clean clean first.

Ejunko,

No sound no pict. No website of urs sent lei. Bz bz eh? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Girltradester,

I'll still clean bb's mouth daily. Otherwise when the milk stain accumulate on the tongue, would be a tougher cleaning time.

Yi chin,

How's yunrui getting along at ifc?

Have a superb mommies' day this sunday!

Tho most of u r 1st time mummy, honestly, I feel the most of this occasion only when my #1 started school n she brought back something she made in school. I'm like, my baby's all grown up!

Yoyosan: yah planning a trip in aug so not that soon lah. By that time baby shd be able to sit up already so maybe don't really need tub to bathe?

I don't clean his tongue now. Since he started producing more saliva his tongue actually looks quite clean leh.

Yoyosan, I am on no pay leave now. How is your schedule with your baby at home?

Tangerine, where are you planning to go? I am also thinking of going on a trip but can't decide where is good for all of us. Baby needs a clean place. Mummy needs to shop. Daddy needs to relax. Haha... Any suggestions from anyone?

Snow: planning to go Langkawi with a big group of friends in august. Then in sep I want to go sydney for the marathon. Hubby can join a shorter run with baby in stroller too. Will prob stay for a week or so to drive around. We like self drive holidays but dunno if baby will like too...so we'll see!

Snowy: Australia is a good place to go with baby. Heard shopping in Melbourne not too bad. Chill out places quite a few v scenic spots. And I heard it's quite baby friendly. Self drive is easy cause same side of the road and all signs in English.

Tangerine: langkawi and sydney sounds like fun. U shd start training baby to sit in car seat and take longer drives around s'pore or drive to Malaysia once his passport is ready. My boy slept more in his car seat on journey up to kl then he ever slept at home. Sleep till pass feeding time.

Yoyosan: LOL paisei forgot about it, later i'll mass pm everyone lol

And im considered semi SAHM what, you can talk to me ah!

I also wanna travel, but am gonna wait till all my fats are gone first! God knows when lol

Anyway, heard that we cant bring milk powder to Australia, mummies bringing baby there dont waste a can by bringing to the airport oh~. Happy travelling!

Girltradester, good to hear that u are better! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoyosan, she doesn't cry that much at IFC, cos few babies, so teacher can carry her promptly when she is not happy. Drinking milk well also. Only thing is doesn't fall asleep easily and even when she sleeps, cannot sleep for long. I think she still doesn't feel familiar with the environment yet, and so doesn't go into deep sleep.

My girl also brought back mother's day present. But I think make by teacher one.

Snowyotaru, if u like short trip, malacca is good. Only 4 hours away, good food. I've stayed in holiday inn and equatorial hotel, both are very nice! We went KL with the kids before also. More shopping but need to tahan 6 hours on the bus.

Ejunko, cannot bring milk powder to Australia? So 麻烦! If go Australia, better go now then, cos still breast feeding. But I cannot tahan long flights.

ejunko,

I did bring a brand new sealed infant formula to Australia before with my #1 when he was ard 1.5yrs old. I declared during the inspection.

"Milk based foods (including infant formula & cereal) for infants may be imported from any country provided the products are commercially prepared and packaged, and are for the consumption of the accompanied infant. A single opened can/tin of milk-based foods for infants is permitted when accompanying an infant, however all other cans/tins must be unopened. You may bring up to 3 months supply of formula.

Once you arrive in Australia, you will be required to complete an Incoming

passenger Card (IPC). On the IPC, you will need to declare any food items

(Question 6 - food), as well as any other articles that are covered on the card

(e.g. medicines, wooden articles) - please remember that these items are only

examples to prompt the passenger about what types of items fall under each

category, so remember to declare anything you think may be of interest to

Australian Quarantine and Customs inspectors.

Annie: My friend declared too on a BN formula but was taken away, so i guess very hard to say ah. Perhaps brands also matters? lol

Yi Chin: I think aust have alot of FM leh, so perhaps not bringing over is not a bad idea - consider the fact that we already have tons of stuff to bring lol! And yes - me too dreaded long flights *sulks*

Happy Moms Day minna-san! Have fun and enjoy waahooo!

Re: australia

I rmber I was told they allow made in Malaysia milk products but not those fr Indonesia. And I am sure no China Mede ones as well.

If really not allowed, try to ask if they can "bond" the item FOC, cos u can collect when u leave the country. Don't waste.

Everyone had a good day?

Tangerine, thanks for sharing the video. She's a very courageous mom, I would be crushed to have a baby like that, not that I discriminate sub-normal children, but that I'm a lot older and I would be worried who would care for the children if my hb n I left this world.

I'm a Christian and I always believe God gives us what we can handle. When I was expecting my #1, I had wished for multiples bcos of my age, then when I knew I was expecting a singleton, I asked Him to give me a girl. I didn't get what I asked but He was great, he gave me a son who is a gentle giant. There were tough days but I still believe He gave me what I can handle. Two years five months later, I received my girl, and I fully understand why He gave me a singleton boy first. Compared to the mother in the video, the problems on the toughest day of my life as a mom seems so insignificantly small. I will continue to pray for her and Christian.

Brought my #1 to dentist today. Finally! Lucky she has no cavity, just minor cleaning needed. Heng no tears or fear. Dentist was nice knowing it's her first time sitting on dentist chair.

My #2 has eczema, on her hands n legs. Sigh. Seem its genetic. #1 has it when younger so bb now also has. Need to moisturize n put steroid cream. Any bbs has eczema but no need steroid cream? I not comfy to put the cream lei.

Hi Yoyosan,

I'm at 1st time mum n my 5 months daughter has eczema too. i've been advised to just moisturize her.. is dat enough? is steroid cream bait too harsh for the skin?

Wawonie,

Hi. Gp says apply sparingly, by 2-3days shd see improvement. If cleared, then can stop. Max 14days then gotta stop a while. Moisturizer can use daily.

With my #1 experience, the eczema will be back even after its ok. So got to keep using till one day, it suddenly just din come back. But that happened after months tho.

Steroid cream will thin the skin, so not advisable constant use or use too much.

Your bb after moisturizing, does the eczema goes down?

Oh mommies, my bb din poo for 3 days n since I brought her to gp, I asked doc how? He used the cotton bud method! Apply ky jelly, push in a little n turn a bit. I asked him wat happened if the cotton bud came out n stay inside bum. He said it will come out together when bb poo! Went home 20mins later, poo came. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoyosan: my baby didn't poo for one week (but his usual is 4 to 5 days poo once). Brought him to GP, after examining tummy, he said it'll still be ok if he didn't poo for another few days. He said could feed some lactulose (to soften stool) to help baby poo. Baby finally did a stinky one after 9 days of no poo. Sigh.

By the way, recently received free sample of milk powder fr Dumex and together with it came a v nice weaning food list. It has colorful photos of diff food gps and I was surprised to find brown rice shd only be introduced after baby turns 9 months. There are so many diff vege that we can let baby try fr 6 months.

hi, my baby if go my ah kim hse, he will poo every day when he sit on the potty seat and simulate him tats y i bought one and its work... maybe u can try...

Yuet sim,

Brown rice only at 9 mos? Hmm.. I lost touch liao. Tot can intro earlier. Must read up again. Thx for sharing.

Lay leng,

Ur bb can sit on potty now?! Amazing. Mine in bumbo chair still slump to side.

Yunrui also didn't poo for 3 days. Must be the hot weather, making babies to don't feel like pooing!

Cerelac brown rice can start at 6 months leh. But my 2 older girls didn't take much of the Cerelac brown rice compared to rice cereal, don't know if Yunrui will be like her sisters.

Yoyosan, that exactly what I told the mommies to do when baby doesn't poo and all give me a "yikes, poke my baby's backside?!?!" look!!! I leaned from my #1 time.. Then they all sent their baby to pd, and still ken poked! Worse, kena pay some more!!

I'm so happy, Emma is finally drinking 4oz each feed and no spit ups, and can stretch to 2 hours before next feed.

This is a great achievement for her. I'm very happy I have to share!

eczema

Both my sons has mild eczema once a while. I didn't use steriod cream, just apply cream, recently just bot physiogel to try too.

*yawnz*... 3:15am.... Hugging Tessa while she zzz & sitting on my bed writing post...

Cos for e last 4 hrs+, Tessa's been kicking, tossing & turning wif her eyes closed... I duno if she's hving a nitemare or feeling hungry or feeling hot fr e horrendous weather these days...

I tried to zzz ignoring all her tossing & turning noise but buay sai, i stil cant bear to c her zzz like tat... So decide to hold her close to my heart & hopefully she can zzz soundly!

Any mommies hving their bb zzz in e nite like my Tessa?

Also, my mens came!!! Omg.. Tot bf wil delay mens!? Y mine here so fast!? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Any mommies oso hving early mens?????

Btw Tessa pooed last nite 11:30pm... N its dark green!! Duno is it she kena scared or signs of teething??? I heard green poo is a sign of teething.... Yes or no, mummies????

*yawn*.... so tired!!!!!!