(2011/11) Nov 2011

koi,

yah! eat snake during office hours. :p

naturally,

tried before. no use on me. focusing on wriggling toes makes me feel worse only. my best solution is to sit down and place head between the knees and just keep breathing.

oh yah, wanna mention about birth registration..

Birth Registration

Births should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. (best get everything done one shot at hospital, they laminate the cert nicely for you to bring home and save trips to ICA.)

Delayed Registration

Delayed registration refers to births registered after 14 days and within 42 days. Delayed registration is strongly discouraged.

Late Registration

If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. Late registration cases can only be registered at ICA.

for more info: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=144

I've been following this thread for very long and would like to join in the discussion. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a girl who is currently 20 months old. Just like to check with all, I am still breastfeeding my girl (mostly during night before she sleeps) and my gynae has given me the deadline to stop bf by next week. Currently on hormone pills.

I have tried to stop but now my girl has been very attached to me and refused to stop bf. She would cry until very pathetic (as if we abandon her) and it is very heartbreaking. Anyone can advise what I should do? How to wean her off?

My parent-in-law have been suggesting Pacifier.. but my girl has never been on pacifier and to me it is absurd to put her on pacifier when others are trying to "wean" their babies off pacifier! I'm really stuck... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Can help me to update my details?

Nick: fptt

EDD: 13 Nov 2011

Gynae: Dr Christopher Chong

Hospital: MAH

Next Appt Date: 14 May 2011

BB#: 2

Boy/Girl: ?

Starry> Thanks for the infor, but we are planning on choosing the name base on fortune teller. We will choose a few names and let the Geomencer pick or change the writing of the chinese characters. Don't know how long it will take. This can only be done after the child is born cause need the date n timing of birth.

Mayb at the same time can help bb make passport when go register his/her name?

Hi fptt,

1 week is quite a short time to wean the girl.

Do you still have spare BF?

It seems like you're feeding her on milk bottles already right? FM or BM?

How about feeding her on BM with milk bottles in the night too but you still hug her close to you?

Can't advise much as my switch for my #1 was a little more gradual. So can only share wat I did for my girl. It happened after I have started work. Morning time, my parents will feed FM, alternate with BM. Then at night BM. After I have observed that she is suited for the brand of FM, I just increased the frequency.

TMC has breast-feeding consultants to advise mums. Maybe you can call in for their advice?

fptt,

welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] congrats too on your 2nd pregnancy. you are really a super mom to have bf-ed your girl till now! but it's also harder and more headache to wean off when they are older. a mummy friend from my previous birth thread went thru same thing as you did. she went totally cold turkey. sounds very cruel to her elder daughter who was almost 2yo that time. also cried till very very ke lian and she kept sniffing and touching her mommy's boobies. no choice, she also cannot bf when she was pregnant with #2. but it was ok, no harm done after going cold turkey for a week or so. just have to be "hard hearted" and go thru with it. then later get her a big present for being a good girl. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you!! if you can go thru 20mths of bfing, you can go thru 2 weeks of weaning too.

memorable,

also need date and timing of birth? some friends i know who went to master for names didn't wait till then. think they just counted their own birth dates and baby's horoscope or something. true, can do passport together. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] that time i only went to post office to get passport done when she was ard 2mths old. super hard to take photo!! cos she kept falling asleep.. (-_-)!!!

@starry: yea, so it's best not to comment too much[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby's names: actually it's so true, I will try but,well too many implications, lol. We'll play by ear~ but I love ur baby name 凯恩~so nice!!! I've got 恩,thus baby cannot use 恩~ lol.

Starry,

Oh in that case we have more than a mth to register, ha, cos we only need explanation letter after 42 days! I think for my boy we only went ICA after my confinement and after my boy's full mth, no questions asked at all at ICA, in fact we got priority queue since we were carrying an infant. But of cos, it's still most convenient to get the registration done at the hospital. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

has any mummies lost weight without vomitting?

i know im not looking smaller..in fact i tink i did grow bigger..but then since i came back from Aust..ive lost 1kg..n it fluctuates up n dwn..but this morning back to 1kg loss...n i dont even vomit..so i dunno wats wrong..issit normal? im using an app to plot what my ideal weight at 10wks shld be..n it seems to be slightly below wat my ideal weight shld be..

Thanks so much, Koi and Starry

Actually, my girl has always resisted bottle so she is now drinking FM from cup with straw.. she is so attached to only bm fresh from the breast that my mum had such difficult time feeding her my chilled BM and FM when I went back to work. Till now, she is only drinking 60ml of FM everytime and would rather not drink milk if she can, till i return home!

Actually, my gyane has already given me 3 weeks grace period since my first visit to him on 2 April. My bad actually. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I think I really have to be hard-hearted about it. My husband also says that I will never wean her off if I keep giving in to her. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Baby names - I love Xuan and En too! Kai En is really a nice name. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My girl got Xuan in her name and though alot of people say it's so common nowadays to have xuan, en, xi etc, we still chose it. :D

Have been vomiting on and off too! getting on my nerves and sick of it... but let's jia you together!

evelyn,

hahaha! some things better believe than don't huh? :p learnt my lesson.. thanks for the compliments on the name! love it everytime i call her En En. hee!

naturally,

ya can! gotta spend time make a trip down lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i live far far far away from ICA so everything do nice nice at hospital.

leikela,

i lost ard 1kg initially, no vomiting, purely from lack of appetite. then from there yoyo up and down till now 56kg, no change from 13 weeks ago before i got pregnant. it's normal to lose weight or have weight fluctuations now. but should steadily increase from 2nd tri onwards.

Leikela

What app are you using? I am now using 'BabyBump' and 'What to Expect'.

My weight has been the same as pre-pregnancy even though i've been vomiting on and off..

fptt - using babybump for tt graph i was talking abt..under the settings u can enter pre pregnancy weight n then in jouurnal ur weight gain etc..then they plot wat ur expected weight gain will be to 40 wks...go try..

im also using what to expect..hahah any app abt pregnancy tt provides gd info daily i also use..to occupy my time..lol

leikela: don't worry abt weight lose, cos' 2nd tri onwards, trust me...we will pile up like never before!!! Last preg i put on 15kg!! now still got that extra 3kg have not shed after 4yrs and now....hoping i won't pile up more than 10kg!

i read somewhere that the new regulations has it that the whole passport be changed shld the photo needs to be changed. no longer like last time when we can just affix the new photo in one of the pages. thus, need to check before making a passport too early for the kid.

i'm also same weight as pre-preg cos whatever goes in comes out. it seems to be worse these days.

lunch time!! what's for lunch? feeling so dont know what to eat and cannot tahan those oily smell. haiz....

I have never tried the graph for babybump, shall try now!

Me also, have been reading the info and hope that time flies faster cos have been reading the next few weeks stuff in advance! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Fptt,

I also stop breastfeeding my boy for 21mth once I know I m pregnant. At first, it is very hard time to wean off,my boy also cry n make fuss for my milk n very heart pain. He is very sticky to me also. He even told me that mummy milk become bad but he still wan to latch,once he latch he dun wan to let go n keep cry. I let him cry n feed him with FM n told him that mummy milk are bad,cannot drink anymore n he slowly accepted..

re: babybump

just dl it! used it for 1st pregnancy also. very informative and i really like looking at the weekly image of the baby in the womb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leikela,

i was a lot smaller. everyday kept looking at my wedding pic. the gown was absurdly small. boo hoo! hope after this baby can slim down FAST! my mum still can laugh at me and say after give birth i upgrade to aunty status le. what kinda mum is that??!!

tulips,

mee soto, mee siam, bee hoon soup (with a lot of shilli padi??), fish porridge?

talking about gowns and wedding. walked pass a few bridal shops at bugis yest and told hb that i'll never be able to wear those and yet have a flat tummy! he says, why am i so negative. i say it's true wat... unless u pay for me to go tummy tuck. lol

starry, wanted to take mee siam but no seats so settled with chee cheong fun and chwee kueh. chwee kueh is the food to eat for my pregnancies, duno why. now sipping teh-o (shhhhh)

i shall go d/l babybump as well!!

robinsons private sale:

someone told me that the last robinson member sale had avent going on 30%.

anyone interested can go get stuff.

thinking to get the babysafe mattress or not but like so early to buy things.....

I also use BabyBump app!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] like the journal where I can make notes on how I'm feeling etc. But I'm using the free version, any idea if the paid version would allow me to export the journal entries?? If not I should start journaling elsewhere, like a blog or something. I started a pte blog when I was 6 weeks preggie with my Nicholas, felt a lot of connection with my little unborn child then. This time round I'm afraid I haven't been giving this #2 as much attention, I hope I won't become a biased mummy!!

Dunno what to have for lunch either... Btw same here I haven't been puttin on weight in fact lost a kg, probably cos I can hardly eat dinners these days. So got to try harder to tell myself to eat more during the day!!

tulips,

just realized i typed 'shilli' instead of chilli. :p cannot drink teh-o meh?? i've been drinking tea and coffee daily. cannot stop!

naturally, i had a blog too for my #1 but too lazy to upkeep. :p

naturally, i have a personal blog so it contains everything but been to lazy to update. hb also started a blog for no1 but also lazy to update. so it's just lots and lotsa of photos and videos now.....

starry, some say cannot drink too much cos teh is liang. but i need my daily dose. :p

tulips,

me too, need daily dose. sometimes morning drink coffee, evening/afternoon drink tea. until my hubby fed up stopped complaining le. bad bad..

starry,

some say cos it's no2 syndrome. not so bothered already.

half of it is true. for no1, i manage to stay off for first tri. for this, i drink more tea and coke than i drink plain water.

my hb shakes his head and tell me, watch out for my sugar level cos all sweet stuff.

over the weekend, i sastified my crave for mee soto/mee rebus, haahaaa. Now still bloated but the nausea feeling is lesser now, this is 12 wks now...hopefully next week in 3rd Tri will feel better.

wa, already thinking of names! for boy, we do have a name, but it would be a combi of both hb and my name. the pronounciation is the same but character different. wonder whether the elders will mind...

for those mummies in their 11 weeks or so... do you still have much MS huh? are you starting to eat more?

Tiny voice! U are making me salivate!!! I got craving for nasi briyani!!! Congrats on passing the 1st tri Liao! I just vomited this morning after eating coco crunch w milk! My 1st time vomiting in 9 weeks' time, hope the only n last time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starry

yea. i hope can c-sect on 01. den the dates nice nice. hehe.

leikela

i have been losing wt too. onli nausea with loss of appetite.

Anyone knows if we should go to our gynae or GP

and get a one day mc if we are really not well to go work?

My gynae is at tmc and GP is at my neighborhood estate market.

I had a pretty rough night of vomiting and this morning as well when I m preparing to go for work. In the end, I succumbed to my tiredness and decided to stay at home instead. Monday blues and morning sickness combo is a real turn-off..slept the whole morning away in the end..

I just reached 11 wks.. Want to eat more and I crave for food also but my stomach still can't digest the food properly yet.. Been vomitting more this past few days. My hb said he felt like vomitting after catching a whiff of my vomit too... Haa...There's still an aftertaste in my mouth even after a couple of hours of the meal. Yucks...

Jasmine, I feel sad too hearing what your boy said about your milk.. U must have been very strong to be able to wean him off.. really cannot imagine how I can really be hard-hearted about it. Feel very guilty towards my girl, but I know if I don't stop, I'm not being fair to the little one inside me too. sigh..

elyn:

Was also on MC for 2 days last week due to my rashes and nauseaness.. din have the strength to go to my gynae, just went to normal GP to get the MC actually.. works well too.

@ Starry : yeah, i've tried it too many times.. and hell yeah that i'm so going to keep my lips tight =D

So lovely, en en ~ do u know the gender yet? hmmm....

Btw, all MTBs, can i check on is anyone of u going or preparing to go for the antenatal class?

tulips,

yes! the #2 syndrome... for my girl, i stayed away from coffee totally during 1st tri. also avoided sashimi thru out and had medium rare steak only 2x during 3rd tri when really cannot control it. this time round, anything and everything i fancy. :p

aabunny,

i'm 13week le. still feeling nauseous on and off. not very true about being in 2nd tri then all MS will go away.

elyn,

just go GP can le. i took a lot of MC from my GP instead of gynae also. he knows that i'm pregnant and gave MC quite generously. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope your MS eases up soon then you can enjoy food more.

tiny voice,

i just had mee soto again. with ice cold root beer! very satisfying. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i had nasi padang for lunch..not very spicy stuff..but now nausea..n i bought sour plums but tink now eat the flavour not nice..sianssss!!! we are starting our tingkat meals tonight so hopefully tt forces me to eat n hope its nice..if not i will be damn sad..altho not like i eat much now also...

i tink take MC from GP can alrdy...easier also coz GP normally nearby..i very low energy too n nausea..u guys go to GP then what u all tell ur GP to get ur MC? sigh....

elyn, can just go GP. they normally quite generous towards preg ladies.

starry, thinking of eating salmon sashimi! hb and i are fan of jap food and it's so hard to not eat sashimi and just eat those don and noodles.

leikela, nasi padang sounds yummy. i like the cuttlefish, assam fish, petai etc. kekeke

sour plums - i like this particular one from umeya. but it costs 7.80 per 100gm.

i cant take mc no matter how tired i am!! sian

thanks starry and evelyn... i was hoping that miraculous my appetite will return and my bloatedness will go away once I hit 11 weeks so that i will have a nice and easy trip.. *sigh* guess that's not going to be the case...

i like teochew porridge a lot! have been eating it for lunch (and sometimes dinner too!) almost every day... hb says bb cheap to upkeep! ha ha... let's see whether i will crave for expensive stuffs in the second tri

tulips - u very adventurous..i eat only like egg..mutton redang..begedel..hotdogs tt kinda stuff..lol

i also bought from umeya but dunno why i tried n then bought still horrid..arghh shld haf gone w the first choice..

aabunny - teochew porridge sounds gd!!!

@aabunny: actually me at 12wks preggy.. MS getting lesser, appetite got a bit better but still encountering nausea, and vomiting. Tot passed 1st tri, MS will subside~ sobs. Food stills turns me off~ sigh. Weighs the same ard 51-52kg. Actually during my initial stage I put on 2-3kg, having extreme gd appetite. Till I reached 7wks. That's when MS HIT me badly~ zzz

wa, leikela, tulips, you have very adventurous appetite. I have not taken any form of curry for a long time... cannot stand the oiliness and richness.... but i like roti prata and the sourish type of curry that goes with it!

re: sour plums

I also cannot take sour plums...there is this weird aftertaste that last a long time and my lips become very wrinkly.. i find that sweets help a lot. Was taking Ricola lemon mint but realized that they use aspartame... so now switch to Halls lemon flavor... helps me get rid of food after-taste that lingers in my mouth..

evelyn, at least MS getting lesser... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

guess what, i'm now craving for peking duck and century eggs and ham. not the best food to think of though.....

aabunny, i've been craving for roti prata for very long and had my craving satisfied on sat. paper prata is so yummy.

apart from sour plums, there is this natural gums from the natural confectionary. i eat those also. now i am like a small kid.

aabunny - actually i not much appetite..just wanted to eat rice just now but they didnt have a normal rice n dishes stall so went w nasi padang..i can barely eat anything man..its all force myself to eat one...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: BabyBump

Yay, thanks for the recommendation, ladies. Looks like many iPhone users these days. And the iPhone is just so useful. :p

Tulips: I also like chee cheong fun and chwee kway! Feels lighter and more appetizing!! :D

And strangely, the cheap red bean buns from those neighbourhood bakeries I used to not like, now I like! Hehe!

Week 12 this week! Hope the MS is fadinggggg...

ent29: ^5, we're same week!

tulips: wow...expensive craving...peking duck, haahaa!

anyone working in tg pagar area? mebbie can meet for lunch. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ent29, i found a partner! i can eat chwee kuey every week.

tiny voice, happen to see a photo of it and thought it's yummy. been ages since i had peking duck i tink. kekeke

not tg pagar, i work in raffles place though.

not sure if anyone of u felt like this b4.. i woke up this morning wif vvv funny stomach... a bit like stomach cramp.. i not sure how to discribe... just tt my stomach feels vv funny.. than keep one wanting to vomit.. like worse than MS like tt.. then back also a bit pain.. stomach pain is on n off.. i dunno y suddenly feel like tt.. vvvvv worried if these are signs of MC... T.T

hi huishan, could it just be stomachache? I had pain in my stomach like those when i need to go to the toilet, this is especially so when i am having constipation...

Ent29: yeh! Currently trainee... Finishing my practicum... Lucky!!! Today went to see doc and he wanted me to take a week MC... I dont darelo... Only took 3 days... But i think i'm going bk to work on Wed... Pupils' work are all with me.... :p

Huishan:

For my case, my stomach is always v funny throughout the day n night, 24/7.. Recently started back ache... Always vomit n then giddy n headache. But I juz went for scsnning... Everything is fine... If u not sure, go visit ur gynae lo... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

To all:

For those whohad done OSCAR scan, pain???? I scared... Pain.... What they do?? Poke needle into tummy???

aabunny & fynn

thanks.. i dunno how to describe this kinda feeling.. it's like MS but like getting worse.. i am 10 wks now.. i tot will get better.. but how come become worse... my stomach pain is like those where the stomach feels like a lot got gas inside.. as long as let gas out will feel better.. but dunno u the gas not coming out.. other things come out ok.. so not consitpation ba... feel so horrible n whole day no appettide... plus.. next appointment is on 12 May.. still long... dun feel like going A&E leh... T.T