(2011/11) Nov 2011

AWBB,

I think it's better that if you can, send your #1 before your baby is out so that your #1 will not feel neglected. You will be so busy and tired with the new baby that even if you want to pay attention with your #1 , you might not have the energy. I'm sure your boy will love the childcare. I sent my boy to childcare when he was 2 years old. For the 1st month, he kept crying but now he loves it so much and ask to go to nursery all the time. I think they have so much to learn in nursery and there are things that they need their peers to learn with that we can't teach them.

Jmo - can help me ask ur cleaning auntie if she got friends to recommend in punggol? Lookin for alternate weekend help o clean..thanks in advance!!!

happy mum &jim, i am 34 too! though thread is fast but nice to read about news frm u ladies. my first appmt tomo, super nervous yet excited!

Joy: ya, I think I will send my boy to CC. Am afraid that boy will feel neglected if I pay too much attention to baby. Hope he won't cry hehehe! N with the growing tummy, I dun think I got the energy to run with him during gym classes. Think I will start off with half day for now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pigy: so excited for u! When is your EDD?? Keep us updated!!! My 1st appt will be on Monday. Am having butterflies in my stomach hehe!

morning ladies

waiting to go for dr appt. having cramps. =(

leikela

u stay in punggol? mi stay near punggol plaza. hehe.

Re: CL

discussed wif hb laz nite. decided to do confinement on my own again. hehehe. he tinks i wun let d CL touch bb coz im trained in looking afta babies & kids. lolx. CL juz need to cook food for mi so no point. mayb go back to ordering tingkat from natal essentials. =p

Simp, I am actually a couch potatoe but with kids really no time for TV. This period mc so managed to catch up with TV shows again hee.

Pigy, do update us, it'l be exciting ;o)

Starry, you're so fortunate to have both your mum & grandma to help ;o)

J&K, hope u're okie, take care. I had cramps twice followed with spotting then I went for jab and bed rest.

finally back on track..

Jo's mummy, welcome & congrats!!

Went Gynae last sat.. 7weeks 5days.. saw my bb heartbeat.. so happy..

Having BAD MS for the last 2 days.. very jialat.. non-stop vomiting till throw out 胃酸(yellow thing).. Mc for 2 days.

Re Cl:

I have booked my CL 2 weeks ago, $2200 for 28 days.. some of my cousin book their CL after their 1st Tri already too late most of the CL taken liao.. That'y I am so kiasu.

Iemik0 - hope u r feeling ok..I also got sudden sharp cramps this morning but faded off quite fast..I realize after my jabs u always get cramps so attributing it to the jabs for now. But no spotting..heng! So will let it b for now..nxt appt is in a wk's time... Yes I stay near punggol plaza too..which blk r u at? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi awbb, i oso not much symptoms except cramps on and off.. not even MS (or havent started yet??) Sometimes I wondered if I am really preggie. I hope my bb still inside my tummy and well. I am in my 6th weeks. 2nd apptment next fri, hope can hear hb liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

On CL, dun know if need to book leh? Cos my MIL sure come over and look after cos its her 1st grand child.... If that's the case, dun know if CL will have conflict with MIL.... Also want to wait till bb stablised then start looking for CLs... hope not too late by then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Woah.. thread moving too fast.. i just finish reading it after about half hour... haha... Now i know only we chinese go for CL. But my cousins advice me to have a good confinment and get back ur health..

AW_BBGab, i do not have much MS. But i am always tired. Today more tired, coz last nite my hubby woke me up at 2.30am and ask me to adjust bow tie for him! (He has serious sleep toking habit)... Once wake up, i can only sleep at 4am.. so now very very tired...

Simp, I'm turning 30 this oct, right before baby arrives.

J&K,

Last night, I have a bit of cramps too. Like those I get before my period comes, slight. Now in the morning, also have occasional waves of this slight cramp. Got little bit of very light brown tint on panties. Is this ok? Should I go see my gynae earlier or wait till fri?

Felixp: same here gal. I got no MS so don't feel preggy. Feel like buying hpt to reassure myself every single day haha! U went for 1st appt already??

Ssbaby: huh? Yr dh slptalk until ask u tue bowtie?!?! Hehe!!!

Yes AwBBGab, this is not the first time.. Sometime its fun when u are awake. Coz he can really reply funny stuff to u.. Like ask him wake up, he say he eating a cake. Then u can continue asking him what flavour, want any extra topping anot.. lol... But last nite really ridiculous coz he apparently wake me up by slapping on my arm!

hi mummies, it's mid-week! looking forward to the weekend. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my colleague who just gave birth few days ago text me this morning at 4am asking for help with bfing. the nurses at Mt E done NOTHING for her. didn't give her the chance to be hands-on and learn to latch baby during her hospital stay. now back home almost 24 hours, baby only pee/poo once so she was quite frantic. i asked her why she didn't learn at hospital she said the nurses helped her latch baby on and told her 'don't touch' even when she tried to reposition and learn to latch by herself.

anyway, i spent more than an hour at her place just now before work. at least she knows what to do now. what surprised me was that she's a csect mum but the nurses nv taught her how to football hold! showed her how to do it and she too was surprised it was actually so easy and comfortable lor. thought a private hospital like that will be very pro-bf, but seems otherwise.

mummies who are going to Mt E, please don't be put off by my comments. maybe she just happened to have those not so helpful nurses on her shift bah.

Actually the Malays also have their form of confinement. My massage lady told me when she did my post-natal massage. They have confinement food etc. So it's not just a Chinese thing.

Starry, it's so nice and kind of you ;o) Bf indeed needs alot of good support and encouragement. Really surprised with the Mt E nurse.

ptsmallbear, I also think it's better for u to just go see gynae.

Jmi, I love confinement Malay massage, I did mine for 7 days, find it effective in regaining shape & getting rid of wind. Just that the stomach bundling can be quite unbearable when weather is hot.

happymum, I enjoy the massage session then too. Except I didn't like the oil 'glued' on me. I did the massages in the morning and showered after dinner at 6:30pm in evening.

And yes, my boy was born Feb 2010, it's was SUPER HOT then, I swear I almost died in the hot weather!

indians have confinement too! i heard longer than chinese or malays.

happymum,

been thru the pain of bfing and i can fully understand that support is very important. i couldn't bear to turn her down also.

re: malay massage

i love it too! can be painful for the thigh area when getting rid of water retention though. but very shiok after the sessions. just didn't like the binding 'cos very very hot!

starry: You're so nice! And you're so experienced even though you've only got one and you're my age!! So impressed and so envious! :D

Jmi: I stay in the West! Near Clementi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Got lobang? Hehe!

ssbaby: My sister-in-law has a lobang for Malay massage - $800 for 10 sessions, and it happens during the confinement period. But I heard it's very very oily.

berrypie,

but my doc did warn me that like brown spotting is alright, so long as it is not fresh blood kind. He even say slight cramps are also normal. But seems like, over here, spotting is a cause of concern.

Last week, I noticed when I ate those herbal bah ku teh, had a very bitter taste to it which I never tasted before I was pregnant. After that got a bit of cramp feeling and noticed light brown stains on panties too.

So I should go see my doc earlier? Now I dun feel the cramps. It just comes and goes.

ent29,

i know "sesame & green beans" (zi ma lu dou) lah. she doesn't know anyone else who could help so i just taught what little i knew! initially i told her to get a private LC, but need to make appt. by the time the LC come don't when already.

ssbaby,

if have natural birth, can start anywhere from day 3 or day 4. if c-sect best wait till week 3-4. i tried origins jamu massage (can google) for my #1. think $700++ for 10 sessions. indeed very oily. need to prepare some kitchen towels to wipe off excess oil. oh, and cannot by shy 'cos need to bare all. only wear underwear. haha!

smallbear,

cramps may be the uterus expanding for the baby. it's especially noticeable for first timers. please see doc for spotting. my gynae was VERY concerned when i had brown spotting. not to scare you, just urging you to be careful and not take it lightly. most importantly, rest and lie in bed if you can. bed rest is often best for spotting cases.

Ent/Starry: Thanks for sharing! Got lobang.. i dun mind oily, just wipe it off can liao. Most imptly mus stay back into shape.. haha...lol

ssbaby,

oily is small price to pay! i want back my figure lor. haha! the huge tummy after giving birth can be quite unsightly. so must 'get rid' of it asap!

2nd/3rd time mums, when did you start feeling your #2 or #3 moving in the womb? i am 9w3d and have been feeling some fluttering over the past 2 days, all at same spot, not like stomach gas at all. so early can feel baby?? for my #1 i started feeling the flutters when i was 12weeks plus.

ptsmallbear, did ur gynae gave you any hormones pills?U are gg to c ur gynae this Fri rite? By then ,if u still spotting,u hv to raise ur concern...Meanwhile rest well...

Starry,*pat*pat* good job!You so helpful, ur colleague must be vy touch..

Hi all, I've long didn't login as I was so busy w the house moving. It was a disaster! When we moved in 40% of the Reno works not done and thanks to my hb dear fried Id cum designer. Worst is he promised everything including kitchen cabinet will be up by today. Shocking us was he was in China enjoy his holiday and we dun know the sub contractor. On sun, we stayed in the hotel for 1 night. Now our living hall and kitchen are still not done yet.

Btw, I'm on sick leave since last Friday till this Friday. As I was have lots of brown discharge for continuos few days. Went for my 1st appt on last thursday and based on my cycle shld be 7 weeks. When Gynae did an external scan can't see heart beat then she suggest internal scan. After a few mins, then finally can see the heart beat. Phew! It's only 5wks half. My next appt is this sat to make sure is in proper progress. I was given few medicines and asked to rest as much as possible, not to carry my girl and less movement.

When hav time I will read thru all the posts. Btw, I'm 37! But I look like late 20s cos I'm petite. Haha.

Take care everyone! Will come in here again.

berrypie,

thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you are making me shy! i just felt that i couldn't turn her down. we are very close at work and she also helped me a lot in our work. besides, she's at her mil's place which is 5 mins away from my office.

my heart also went out to her 'cos her mil is very mean to her. her sil is there, has a 3mth old boy whom she's still bfing but seems like not very willing to teach her that kind. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] selfish family lah... how not to help her when she asks for it right?

starry & berrypie,

Yes, this is my first. No hormones pills given to me except anti-nausea meds, which I dun take very regularly. I'm at home for the past 2 weeks to nurse away the bad vomiting and nausea and I really stay at home and rest (on sofa either sit or lie down).

I dun dare to go out for fear of the vomiting or nausea while travelling. I can't walk much without feeling uncomfortable.

ssbaby,

i don't know how to describe the exact feeling to you. it's like having butterflies in the tummy. some call it 'quickening'. but i think fluttering is a better choice of word. quite similar to having gas in the tummy but this fluttering is in one position, and won't move to the butt like gas does. and no pain.

smallbear,

call gynae up and tell him/her about your spotting. i'm quite sure you will be given eutrogestan/duphaston for the spotting. they are also called "an tai yao".

Hi awbb, haha. I think during the 2-4 weeks, i have more cramping but now seemed to have stopped. And no MS at all (touchwood!). Yup, went for my 1st apptm on 23 Mar cos had spotting but had since stopped. Gynae say definitely preggie but no hb yet so dunno if healthy; gg back on 8 Apr for my 2nd apptmt. Since scanned definitely preggie so did not test using any HPT anymore .... How abt u? Went for 1st apptmt??

frenlop,

I duno if u r superstitous or not, but pregnant women and renovation dun go very well. Seen "live" cases before.

1st case: My fren is doing some minor reno works in the living room and his wife got a bad cramp the same day he started and some was plagued by many problems regarding the baby's health later on.

2nd case: My fren just received their HDB and they were monitoring the reno works by visiting it. Some time later, she got into some problems and had to be in bed rest in hospital from her 5th or 6th month of her pregnancy.

Of cos, I dun mean scare u, but, just so u know, these "old wife's tales" are sometimes, er, not so far from us. Just take care and try to avoid if possible.

felixp n aw, me also no symptoms at all only feel tired . so i am not d only one wonderg if baby still ok esp i supposedly 2 to 8weeks liao. .ya. will keep u ppl Posted. reallz hope everythg ok

Starry, I think normally for #2 pregnancy, can feel the movement earlier ;o) I remembered mine was like that also, around 10 weeks I could feel. Love the feeling...

As for the massage, seems like price raised. When I did mine was $50 per session. Looks like i really need to catch up with the market hee.

Smallbear, calling up your gynae to check is a good suggestion. My gynae did tell me brown discharge okie but I had jab and on pills. Try not to move much and raise your legs when u lie down, it'l help.

Frenlop, do take care and rest well.

Jmi, on the massage, I left the stomach bundle with me overnite and only took off in the afternoon when I shower, too vain hee.

frenlop, u shld rest well, 1st trimester is the most unstable period...fm the way u describe, the reno needs to take another 3 weeks to finish up, leave it to your hb.

happymum,

thanks for sharing! feeling happy now. at least can start feeling movements then won't be so worried. but still have a tiny doubt abt whether i am feeling 'correct' or not. haha! siao mummy lah. anyway, i love those tiny little kicks too. think you can also look forward to those movements very soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: massage

i think prices increase by a lot also. even heard got $40 per session last time. now is like minimum $70-$80 for most.

Masssage: i guess mine is the cheapest-$35/session but that was 18mth ago. Perhaps price increased, check with her again after 1st trim

starry, happymum

yes I already started feeling gases moving abt since a few weeks ago. can recognise it' bb movement. Think we experienced with our previous child so can detect. It' funny we can already feel it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now i know im not the only one.

frenlop

Hope u can bed rest as much as possible. I can imagine just moving into ur new home then can be quite unsettled. Just leave the things to hb and look at other happy things so it is better for u and bb.

30s

We have many mommies in this group yeah. Taking the lead is now currently frenlop. If there someone having #1 at ur 30s? My friend abt 37, just given birth to a 3.9kg bb. Power mama and bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ptsmallbear

yes i heard stories before. Moms who have home reno ongoing just make sure u r not ard. I wd be doing minor stuff in my flat too, like grilles, kitchen, bedroom, bathroom etc. Not sure yet, got to see how much funds we have.

For me, i wd pray for God' blessing upon the family and bb with His protection. I believe the timing of bb is blessed and given by God but i m not taking chances. For those with no faith, just prob need to use broom to sweep the area for a peace of mind. Im just relying on God to ensure all is safe though im sure my mom and mil wd be worried :p

happymum, I did mine for $50/session and that was only last February/March.

You wore it to sleep and took off next day afternoon? Wow?!??!

hehe, i am 32 (lost count.. for a moment, i forget how old... ;p) and this is my first time!

i don't have much MS also... last two days, stomach did feel bloated and feel like burping a lot... but today things seems to be okay... i hope everything is fine... o ya, i have a lot of dreams at night... last night i went to bed angry and throughout the whole night, i was having angry dreams!

Starry & Simp, I really look forward to feeling this one soon ;o)

Jmi, yeah, I wore it during bf bb also cos the massage lady said more effective to leave it longer. For my #1, I also wore overnite. My stomach always look like 5 mths pregnant even after giving birth, very gassy so the stomach wrap helps so much. After one week, I even wear the elastic stomach band for the whole mth.

haha..aabunny, that's always happen to me..always forget/lost count my age..Y so angry?

starry, not sure abt mine but i felt there's heartbeat in my tummy.