(2011/11) Nov 2011

frenlop,

no prob! hope it works for you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] another trick which a mommy once shared was soaking feet and legs in a pail of warm sea salt water. she claimed it helped her a lot in reducing the cramps. 'cos her tummy was very big that time with uterus pressing on her nerves so her gynae or ML recommended her to do this.

jmi - i hope i dun gain too much too,coz i drop to 44kg from 48kg due to MS..

many have been telling me..i'll double coz i have double water bags etc.. o_O"

hubs oso scared i'll start buying ALOT!!

lucky i like to wear baggier clothings.

frenlop - np..perhaps too many msgs,ur qns kena left out.

starry - for those who love shopping,it's irresistible..sooner or ltr u'll start buying for 3...wahahahaha

erm...qns...wat are u mummies gg to do to your placentas?

Starry, is that an Ally Zabba blankie?

I customised 2 blankies from US for Jared, so will be doing the same for #2. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rainzz,

#3??!! goodness, i hope won't have any more surprise pregnancies after this baby. at least not for 2-3 yrs le. both my pregnancies were 'unplanned'. having the 1st one was exciting for both hubby and i, 2nd one was exciting for me, stressful for hubby. if got 3rd one, i think he will faint on the spot when i show him the BFP. lol!

jmi,

it's from Pat A Cake Baby. i think there is a BP going on, can customize with the fabric you want. i so LOVE customized baby things like blankies, rompers, wet bags, changing mat etc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: placenta

some mommies eat their placenta. there is actually a service in singapore that processes your placenta for you into capsules. i don't dare to eat 'cos it's like eating a human filter. >_<!!!

rainzz,

somehow sheep placenta doesn't feel so gross?? it's in hair products and even some cosmetics. human placenta sounds very 'er xin'!

starry - i joked with my hubby's aunt coz she's taking sheep placenta for her skin peeling and now her skin improves alot in condition n texture..

told her since i'll have 2 i can spare her one.wahaha..

she's totally grossed out.haha

starry - her expression priceless!!

haha..coz she kept raving abt the sheep placenta she was taking mah..

seriously her fingers stopped peeling and cracking ever since she took the sheep placenta and also is more "toing" and fairer...

hmmm...perhaps i shld consider taking my own after i pass the ick factor.wahaha

more links on human placenta usage

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/asian-postnatal-practices/placenta_consumption/

http://wedaretobare.multiply.com/photos/album/34/Laennec_Human_Placenta_Extract_For_Sale

http://singapore.sheryna.sg/Beauty-Biocell-Human-Placenta-Extract-16929

rainzz,

I don't think I will EVER pass the yucks/fear factor. :p

Finally on my way home. So tired. Gotta start packing for my KL trip either tonight or tmr otherwise no time liao. Leaving Thursday early in the morning. Damn 不舍得...

rainzz,

Saw the BP last year. But think different machine. Tempted to get cos I do love soya bean milk! Heard that it's good for mommies carrying girls. Think smooth, fair baby skin! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But old wives tales says mommies pregnant with boy shld not drink as soya milk will cancel out male hormones (??).

Lynzi,

First time I'm purchasing from ASOS. Hope it will be a good experience.

just got to know that the lingerie brand 'Young Hearts' is having promo now. Buy 2nd item at 50% off. JP has an outlet. Quite like their nightgowns, comfy and look cute also. Provided u like their kind of style lah! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, these are the 2 blankies I got for Jared. So will like be buying the same 2 for #2. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5536529.jpg]

Top: blankie printed with his name

bottom: Ally Zabba's CuddleZabba Personalized

On shopping at ASOS: I've always had good experience buying from ASOS. My colleague who didn't receive 1 of her orders, emailed them, they replied and gave her a credit and discount for her next purchase.

I come back from watching Kung Fu Panda and what do I get? More temptation to do online shopping!!! Hahahaa...Heng tmr will be on course, less time at home to browse...But I am so tempted to go ASOS now...ARGH! SOS! Heh. But thanks for the lobangs so far all! Love the customised stuff too...

Starry: Have a good trip! Do you and your hubby have iPhone 4? Can try to do video conferencing w your lil girl if have... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] How many days this time? Hope it's short and sweet then can quickly come back!

Oops, catching up slowly on all the posts...

Ssbaby: Your itinerary sounds good! Where did you get this guide from? I'm quite interested in your first day tour leh. Not so much the temples, but the padi and the volcanoes! :p Wonder if it's suitable for us preggie women to walkabout? Would love to!

Jmi,

Very nice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Especially the first one with his name all over. Where did u get it done at?

Ent29,

Online shopping is super contagious and addictive! Once start it's hard to stop. I've been buying and buying since more than a year ago when I was pregnant with Jadelyn. And STILL buying. Maybe if she were a boy, I'd have stopped since boy stuffs are simpler and more fuss-free. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: KL trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'll be away for 5 whole days! was telling Jadelyn just now before her bedtime that I will be away for a few days and told her to be a good girl, stay with grandma and grandpa till I come pick her up next Tuesday. I also told her i'll really miss her loads and think of her everyday. She actually looked at me for a long time with all the wisdom of a 7mth old and seriously paid attention! She would usually fidget here and there but this time round it felt like she really understood what I was saying. How sweet right?

Jmi

The blanket is so sweet... How long does it takes to make?? Plus shipping take how long?? Coz my hubby say dun wan buy too early... Where u custom made the top one??

ASOS gives great service... My Sis n bro always buy fr there... Wat is the ex rate now huh?? If is more than 2.3 still a bit pricey leh... I vvv stingy when it cones to clothes de... Haha...

Huishan,

Exchange rate seems quite good now, £1 is approx SGD2 the last I checked this afternoon.

Okay, gonna turn in liao. Decided to pack tmr instead of tonight. Lazy... :p

Jmi,

oh yes i love allyzabba blankies.

Faiq got one for hm n another one for travel.

Where did u get them from?

My fren, Dawn, used to run bps here for allyzabba.

I got zoobie pets too in case he wants a change of blankie.

Starry,

asos very reliable.

Thumbs up for great service!

Starry: Awwww...So sweet!! I can imagine those big puppy eyes just looking into your face...Make your heart melt even more I'll bet. Heh. :p Sleep early these few nights! You need loads of rest!

starry - this time the BP is like for newer better machine.

and Jadelyn sooo cute like understand what u are saying...

ent29 - welcome to online shopping.mwahahaha

Hi everyone im just back from my phuket trip.At first worried that my terrible cough will affect my whole trip but luckily i only cough badly for the first day then better but bad cough come back on the last day at the airport.I stayed at karon beach Movenpick hotel,a quiet and relaxing hotel but this hotel is huge.At the hotel lobby,we need tuk tuk or buggy to drive us to our villa though we can actually walk but kind of tired after a day.We had free upgrade to villa suite,its great.The toilet bigger than my master bedroom.I had massage almost everyday,just told them pregnant and they will know what to do.For whole body massage we will have to lie down sideways.Swim almost everyday and now i felt rejuvenate.Had rented a car as the taxi and tuk tuk is exp.Overall had a wonderful babymoon and this trip had brought relationship closer with my husbabd.

little_one- You mentioned that preggy cannot take Sedilix DM Linctus cough syrup?? Omg i had finished the whole bottle!! Its prescibe by my gynae.When i showed the Sedilix cough syrup to the pharmicist,she said how can pregnant take this syrup,i was shocked and surprised and she recommend me duro tuss.I had no time to called up gyna as next morning im going phuket.I only drank twice the duro tuss cough syrup while at phuket as i am so afraid to take any medicine.I had actually coughed for 3weeks,my cough starts to be better after i took the chinese medicine presribe by a lady sinseh at Eu Yan Sang clinic,she is quite famous thats why i trusted her and took the powder chinese medicine.People telling me this cough is one of my pregnancy symptoms.I was thinking i did not drank cold drinks for a period of time,no take chicken,sweet stuffs,fried stuffs,very spicy stuffs but why am i still coughing?? Different ppl different pregnancy symptoms,we tot we are sick but actually its just one of the symptoms and will go away evenually but when will this be over??

Hello im new here. Anyone has bad skin breakouts after preggy? mine is bad but i dun dare to apply any medication cos dunno safe anot. anyone has any cream or remedy to recommend? thanks....

I am new here. I am due in November and don't have a confinement nanny yet!

Has anyone tried any of the agencies? Any good ones to recommend?

Thanks thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies,good morning!

Haven't been active for a while.

Congrats to all who know gender. I will know mine this saturday (i hope).

For those mummies still having MS and all other pregnancies related symptoms, take care. We are almost at half way point.

Anyway, I also one of those still having MS on and off [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. So a bit lethargic.

Just shortlisted my recent trigger to be due to chocolate-flavoured stuff e.g. choc milk and choc ice cream.

How I envy those mums who went or going on hols!!! Me not going so hubby and I will be taking 1 day leave to go high tea.

For my #1, we just booked a hotel room locally and stay like tourists.

Good morning ladies.

Starry & Huishan, I got the printed blankie from here: http://www.etsy.com/shop/PETUNIAS?ref=top_trail

The product name is Petunia's Name Game Minky Blanket (http://www.etsy.com/listing/75105159/petunias-name-game-minky-blanket). Customisation takes about 5 - 6 weeks and shipping will take another 2 - 3 weeks. (I used Vpost).

For #2, I'll most likely be getting the Typewriter Name Quilt by Petunias (http://www.etsy.com/listing/74203954/typewriter-name-quilt-by-petunias) since it's more girly ;).

Lynzi, I got the Allyzabba direct from US. They ship to SGP.

Hi moms

Im just back to sg last night. Going for checkup later. Shd be going to wk 15 and dun know if we will know the gender. My inlaws and moms r expecting a boy, i kinda prepare them to be a girl. More importantly i told them it doesn matter what is the gender as long as my bb is healthy. I will go for amnio test next wed so by end june, i will then know the results. Starting to feel a little nervous as days r nearer.

This time i have quite a bit of pimples on my forehead, dun rem i had that last time. In fact when i had my #1, i was well and healthy and look good., This time round, i had outbreaks and keep falling sick. Im sick again i suspect, with runny nose and slight cough just barely weeks of recovery. My dd as well. Everytime we are back to sg, we are sick. Now my mom and im sure my bro and sil wont be happy again if my dd spreads to their girl. Going to put her at inlaws' place during these 2 weeks in sg.

Seems like a lot of moms here going for holidays. Told hb if my amnio results is cleared, we shd go for a break which i never did when i had #1. I prefer to stay back as im quite a timid mom when it comes to pregnancy.

Anyway, regarding placenta, my gynae never mentioned to me last time when i had csec.. Is it really suitable for all moms? If yes, i dun mind taking.

Cold and cough

Moms, what are the off the shelves medication effective for runny nose, blocked nose and cough for us? Trying to avoid seeing my gp so soon again in less than 3 weeks. I used to take strepsils for throat to prevent cough at night. My last dose of medication consists of cold, cough and antibiotics.

Cold, cough - Kids

What about recommendations for medication off the shelves for kids? DD has finished all her cold and cough medication in sg. Need to get some to help her sleep better at night else wd cry cough and scream and i am disturbed. Wd go pharmacy to get some cold, cough effective for night sleep and those for day consumption. Any recommendations wd be helpful. I used actified overseas, they have 2 types (yellow and green), 1 is for blocked and runny nose, drowsy. The other is for chesty cough etc. Not sure if i can get these in sg

good morning ladies! yiaks... soya bean milk not good for mummies having boys? have been drinking soya bean milk almost every day. Found this write-up in someone's blog

http://antgelnich.blogspot.com/2010/01/is-soya-bean-good-for-pregnancy.html

welcome nov_etoile and alvernia! i have been having outbreaks around my chin area so bad... i apply a pimple cream my doctor (from Niks Maple Clinic) recommend.. but only sparingly... cos the product write-up says only tested on rats but not on humans... so not sure abt the effects on humans... but my pimples are super red and angry type with pus...

welcome back simp and little_bb!

talking abt placenta, my mom called me this morning to ask me to eat my own placenta after birth!!??? yiaks!!!

Rainzz, I will nvr eat my own placenta. So gross!

Jmi, u r such a thoughtful mum. My girl never had nothing that was customized one cos I am a blur mum! Maybe I shld arrange for my #2. Btw, thanks for sharing the links.

Simp, welcome back to sg! Where were u residing previously? I oso had pimples but on my back and chest area [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

nov_etoile, not sure what kind skin breakout you are referring to. For me, I had very serious acnes breakout (big red acne and pulse) at my jaws during confinement due to hormones change. I went for facial during my confinement but no help at all until a friend of mine recommended this skin clinic at toa payoh, Kin Mun Clinic Blk 66 Toa Payoh Lorong 4 #01-319. Tel 62566353. I think almost 99.9% of the patients consulted him for skin problem and the clinic is always crowded with patients. The doctor did injection for each single big acne on my face and followed by red/blue infra light treatment. Within a week, my skin problem has tremendously improved. If I dun remember wrongly, I only went for 3 treatments. Of course the price doesn’t come cheap as each treatment cost abt S$500 to $800 with the red/blue infra light treatment. If cost is a concern to you, you can opt out the red/blue infra treatment as this treatment will give immediate result. You can always tell the doctor your concern and budget and he will recommend you other treatments that you can afford.

placenta?? oh gosh.... i'll nv eat that as well!!! i think need some good processing to make sure it's really edible and not sure if singapore has such facilities....

simp - there is this cough syrup rhinatoniol (spelling mite be wrong) that can be bought from pharmarchy. my son who is 2 yo was prescribed that. not sure if u'll want to see a pd for chesty cough instead of taking too much med.

skin outbreak - some pple get outbreaks whether at the face or body. should u not see a doc and wana get off the shelf medication, please ensure that there are no steriods. i have eczema ear. and it's this time that it gets worse. haven really seen a doc cos even before preg, those creams etc given by gp only works on and off and they tell me that's no cure. best is i only had it before i had no1. totally a turn off cos it flares up when the weather's hot.

ent, rainzz,

yeah, totally melted my heart... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] makes me more bu she de to leave her lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

little bb,

your holiday sounds like fun! glad you you had an enjoyable babymoon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mine was very packed with activities. we went for elephant show, phuket fantasea, phi phi island (i skipped this), birdnest factory, cashew nut factory, resort spa etc. not very rejuvenating. haha! did you buy anything? i find it quite hard to buy things there. a lot singapore's bugis street also have. only splurged on wacoal bras and undies.

jmi,

thanks for sharing! looks so lovely. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] is it big enough for jared to cover up? i saw it here (http://www.etsy.com/listing/75105159/petunias-name-game-minky-blanket) but looks like very small wrapped ard the tiny baby. wanna get it for jadelyn. if too small then no point le.

nov etoile, alvernia,

welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nov etoile,

breakouts are common. just wash with normal cleanser and water and try not to pick on them bah. can't do much also since caused by hormones. you can try those organic creams like california baby's calendular or aloe vera cream.

koi,

i didn't go anywhere for #1 'cos got pregnant during honeymoon in taiwan! no point travelling again just for the sake of it. in fact didn't intend to go anywhere for #2 also but this company trip came out so hubby decided to come along, treat it as a babymoon.

simp,

i'll be praying hard for you for good amnio results! very soon it will be over and you will be able to relax and enjoy the pregnancy.

Morning ladies!!

Nov etoile, alvernia,

Jmi,

oooh etsy..i can go crazy over there..lol

very nice blankies there.

Little bb,

sounds like a nice vacation.

Im also having bad breakouts on my face n my skin is very dry too.

Unlike with no 1, my skin was so clear.

Now im at the gp.

My right eye has been red since yesterday.

Its not itchy or anything so wonder what is wrong.

Haiz..this pregnancy so many problems.

aabunny,

maybe those old wives tales are true then?? just don't overdo on anything. moderation is key. btw, your mum is so cute! called you up just to tell you this?? haha!

re: placenta

i asked my mom about it during previous pregnancy. she said she didn't eat hers and it is not really proven will help and it's so 'dirty', 'cos it's like a huge filter in the womb filtering out all the toxins from our blood before transferring to the baby. of course got a lot of vitamins, minerals, hormones etc. but also a lot of toxins and stuff?? her explanation makes sense to me so i will definitely not eat mine. :D

frenlop: thanks, I'm crazy in customisation. I also customised a set of clips to be used as blankie clips or beanie clips for Jared to be used on the stroller.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5539035.jpg]

Starry, Name Game Minky Blanket is 34" x 34" (approx 86cm x 86cm). Definitely big enough for Jared to cover up.

Typewritter Quilt is 32" x 33" (approx 81cm x 83cm) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynzi, yes etsy is a 'dangerous' place. :p

leikela, the 1st one is me!

starry, i thought u alrdy at KL liao. i bet u'll miss ur girl terribly. she is so cute understand wat u said to her

little bb, u made me feel like going for a beach holiday again!