(2011/09) Sep 2011

@gina, I also turn to my side before slowly pushing myself up. I find that it usually hurts a little if I try to get up from my back. easier to get up from the side.

Wahahaha penra! Anyone's hubby still wanna do it with u?

now sometimes wish to do it, but hubby refuse leh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hahaha.. gina & #2 : cant help laughing when i read stomach crunches/ squeezing baby

never occured to me in that way.

coincidentally hb just told me this mornin to get up from my side when he saw how i got up, asked me to sit on stool if i need to squat ..

think he's more kan chiong..the other night i was reading with the book resting on my tummy..he immed ask me to hold the book higher, says will squash bb.alamak!

kyra : meat is very acidic as well. mb can cut down meat portions.. esp pork and beef

there must be a reason why malays avoid pork n buddhists /hindus avoid beef

Hahaha, it sounded funny when I typed too but I'm sure many mummies would be able to relate to it. Not just getting up from bed, even when I sneeze too hard, I feel sorry for the baby inside. Must be rocking. Haha

Daddysbao - Is it safe? He has been asking and I have been ignoring.

prenra: u shd be proud of your assets [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

may i ask how do you girls sleep? like what position?

I usually sleep upright now.

but 2 days ago i turned on my side for a while, tot i felt something in my stomach bobbling .. felt funny but interesting.

then sometimes i put big cushion under my legs .

daddysbao: me too.. :p hb keep saying wait for a while longer

kyra>> aiya no worries la! im ok with Diana knowing.. hehehe..i tink she checked into our thread and discovered my nick.. hehehehe

daddysbao>> me and hubby still do it leh, but frequency very little already.. maybe your hubby not comfy knowing there's a precious life inside la.. when we had our first, we din BD for the whole 9 months! hehehehe

oh yes ..sneezing is funny. i always imagine the bb vibrating inside.

i think it's safe(gentle one la :p)..unless one has spotting then better wait.

but also limit to 2x a week. read it from somewhere

re getting up after lying down>> the best is to turn to your side and use your hands to support yourself up, minimise the use of our stomach muscles..

Hahaha, thanks.

PinkieMie - I had the same intention, to abstain for the whole 9 months but I think my hb will cry foul. Haha. He's alr looking fwd to end of Trim 1.

Prenra : u can register soon for your classes then [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] seems to be commencing soon

Hihi mummies:

Waiting for my 2nd gynae appt hope everything is ok coz my cramps are getting worse. can't help joining in your chat with so many interesting topics.

Simbaobao:

Read that you are better now? Jia you!

Squatting:

For my #1 pregnancy, I had low lying placenta so I avoided squatting, including yoga poses with those positions. Don't know whether it helps but the placenta did went higher in the end so I can go for natural birth.

Sleeping:

I sleep on my tummy! Haha while my bump is not out I want to enjoy this more. When I sleep on my back I will wake up with chest pains and abdominals pain I think I subconsciously tense my stomach muscles.

hi mummies to be

i have a playpen from a friend but i have bought my own.

Brand new, unopened, still in the original package.

Far east floral selling at $139, letting go at $99. self collection

Please PM me if interested

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5135063.jpg]

I have been experiencing this pain on my lower left. It happened when I squat and stand up. Is it because I am squashing the baby, hence the pain?

Then how come sleeping on the left is better for preggie mum?

trying to catch up the posts here..

drowsy after taking the medi.. come in and kpo kpo awhile...

yeap after paying $$$ for the medi.. much better.. if not, i tink baby will start to protest soon tat my coughing is shaking baby till baby is seeing stars already.

Wan Chuen : welcome! If there's sharp pain, pls go see gynae immediately.

how old is your older one?

First one for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw how did you know you have low lying placenta?

Pommes : I have a little bit cramping feeling last 2 days at my sides. but not pain nor sharp.

i put it to uterus expanding.

mb u stand up too quick?

mb pressure on the uterus?

bunnz, i usually now sleep on my left side. heard that this is a better position when pregnant. anyway, b4 pregnancy i had always preferred to sleep on either sides. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

aiyah.. why hbs dun dare to do it? a bit frustrating at times. wahahaha

This passage is lifted from my book:

"Mummies should start to learn to sleep on your side. Lying on your back puts pressure on your vena cava (largest blood vessel returning blood to your heart).

This pressure can cause a decrease in your heart pressure which then causes dizziness. Lying on your back also can increase back pain, making it more difficult to digest food and more difficult to breathe.

Your left side is the best side to sleep on but either side is better than lying flat on your back. As your belly grows larger, you can try supporting it with a pillow to make side-lying more comfortable."

Hope it helps! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i usually sleep on my left pre pre pregnancy.

thanks gina :gd to know i can safely sleep on my side. a bit conscious

Thanks Gina for the info!

Bunnz - I realised that now sitting on my chair and standing up, also feel the pain. Okay, I think I will slow down my movement to see if it helps.

Pommes, should be your muscles stretching out due to growing uterus.

Gina & Daddysbao, I got no mood for ML during first pregnancy. Plus hubby was very scared of hurting baby. We only did in week 37 onwards when gynae said that ML will cause the cervix to dilate faster (higher chance of natural birth). :p

This round, we are playing safe. No hanky panky till after first tri though I do not have spotting.

Just finished my check up, baby is ok according to doc but seem a bit small in measurement compared to the size I read in websites. How big( or rather long) are your bb now?

Bad news is that I have a blood clot the same size as the baby. It may be the cause of my cramps. So really need to be careful not to over exert.

Hihi bunnz:

How are u? My #1 is almost 2.5 yrs now. The placenta is one of the standard things in the detailed scan that they will check later on in the pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wan Chuen, usually asian babies will seem smaller in measurement compared to what we read on websites. As long as gynae did not say that it's too small, should be ok.

Wan Chuen - Mine measured 1.46cm as at Week 8.. The latest at Week 10 have not been measured cos next appt only in March. How is yours growing along?

mine is 1.99cm as at Week 8 Day 3.

i always laugh when i see the measurement as i wld try to measure it with my fingers.

mb size also depends on genes..

my hb is taller n bigger than average asian men.

but then his parents are normal size

what about the length of other ladies's bb ?now i'm curious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wan chuen: better take extra care..no walking too much..no carrying of stuff bending here and there.

thanks for the info.

gynae never mentioned anything so i just presume everything normal.

#2 on the way: thanks for your assurance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] how are you and how old is ur #1?

Gina: mine was 2 cm at week 8. And I put on 2 kg already! *shake head*.

@bunnz yup yup! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this should be week 11. doing the oscars next week. i hope and cross fingers everything will be normal..

simbaobao: u are also joinin trim 2! so exciting!

I cant wait.

wanchuen: are you a STHM? or working? who takes care of your child?

WAH! Your babies are all so long..! My baby must also jia you.. Hahaha.

I put on 800g between the 1st and 2nd visit, so maybe that's why? But I'm already considered to be eating a lot. But Hb and I are smaller in built.

I attended Mrs Wong's Class for my #1. Highly recommended but her classes are always packed so if interested try book a slot in advance. But classes usually start later around 2nd Trim.

At the class she will also recommend some products she thinks is good and will sell it at the class at a discount.

Even if not giving birth at TMC can also join but the fee is bit higher for non-TMC members.

On FBI, I called if your FBI is still valid, still can use for #2. Same benefits!

Bunnz - agree just a cute way of measuring babies since all are in cm. Hahah. cute.

Hungry too. Just down-ed one cake and having yoghurt now. Already thinking what to have for dinner.

i'm having chicken rice (rice only) w regular dishes at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

found an instant chicken rice pack(2-3 person). tot i gv it a try. comes with rice . just put in rice cooker and cook.

bunnz: yummy... i love chicken rice too.. hehe always play cheat using the premix too den cook like rice pot chicken "claypot" rice

instant chicken rice pack? wat's that and where to get? i also love chicken rice now. :D

i'm having white porridge tonight, soupy type ones...

My last scan was at 7wk4d, my BB then is at 1.1cm

My next appt is next Tues, I should be at my 11wk +, hope BB is growing well.

So fast talk about dinner, my hubby is packing porridge for me.

Bunnz, if you like chicken rice (rice only), you should buy Kee's bottled Hainanese Chicken Rice mix. Add 2 tbsp to 2 cups of rice, add a pandan leave and cook in rice cooker with usual amt of water. Yum yum!!

RE: BabyPlus

I did not use it for my #1 (that was 4+yrs ago).

But I did read to him daily, sing songs daily, sayang and chat with him daily while he was still inside me. I also played classical music to him daily (I play the cello and was still playing during pregnancy).

I really think it depends on each child's temprement. My boy was a very easy-going infant.

Slept through the night at 3 weeks old. Does not cry unnecessarily. No colic, no juandice, no health problems. Loves routine and adjusted very well.

But as he grew older, the horns started to come out. HAHAHA! Now, he's bouncing off the walls, playing non-stop, talking non-stop and irritating me everyday. :p

My frend just delivered in Jan, she used BabyPlus religiously. But her girl is a high-need baby. Cry all the time, need people to carry/rock all the time, etc. Cannot adjust to routine and even the CL commented that she's tough to look after.

I think it boils down more to how much time you spend interacting with your unborn child and how happy you are during your pregnancy plus the baby's temprement.

But if budget permits for the BabyPlus, then I guess it's no harm?

RE: Size...

My last scan was at 6wk+, bb was partially hiding behind yolk sac, so measured only 0.34cm. Gynae says might be a small bb like me & my boy (I'm very small sized, wear local XS). But size of the sac was good, so he's looking forward to seeing me next week at week 8 :D

i just saw it today at ntuc finest.

2.95 per pack. buy 2 packs get 1 free.

there's other flavours like claypot/nasi lemak/yam

all comes packed with rice . just pour in to rice cooker.

"Yamie" brand.

will try it out and update whether nice a not.

#2 : Kee's bottle hainanese rice mix.. okok will look for it next time! thanks!

I really miss home cooked chicken rice.

Hainanese also ;p

wow u play the cello!!!

I have the exact same thoughts.

I'll play piano to my bb plus sing,read & meditate (which is the best thing I can ever do, my personal feel) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Strong believer in meditation.

Also i cant sit with something attached to my tummy..

But i agree no harm trying for other mummies..

Pommes : Yum Yum.

Velo : will check out Mrs Wong's classes. Thanks!