(2011/09) Sep 2011

I have also seen my gynae once at week 7 on 22 Jan. Next appt is also 1st Mar which needs to do blood test. I think will need to schedule for OSCAR as well around that time. I went to another doctor in Ipoh during the CNY holiday to get a 2nd opinion as the first scan detected "something" and I was worried. Doc just said don't worry, just need to monitor the size.

I am thinking of babymoon too around end Apr or May. Maybe short trip to Redang.

#2 - Penang Laksa is my all time fav especially the stall at KekLokSi. Ohhhh...feel like eating it now. Dont think hb will fly all the way just to pack it for me..haha.

PinkieDot - Thanks for the update! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

MZ, I'm so in love with Penang Laksa that we cook it around once a week!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babymoon : Would real love to go but we are shifting house in mid year. See whether can squeeze short trip if not just baby moon in new house hahaha. Hb always says he gets the best svce at home :p

Prenra : you r really an engineer. Excel spreadsheet. That's the first time my hb'll say.

Got licence since 21 and have been driving since..manual auto all ok.

i was the one who taught my hb reverse parking and his directions. but he doesnt need me already .has his gps :I

#2 ; your hb is sooooo sweet. fly to penang!!i'm sure when maids know you are good to them and really genuine as a person. They 'll respect you and be a better person as well. Mine is with us for 4 years..not the perfect one though . But who is perfect? cctv is something to think about but we doubt we'll ever install one.

Welcome MI: i'm also ccksian

Kyra : i settled on having cl so save everybody trouble. so they can enjoy and adapt having the baby around.

yum prenra : i love indian food. esp that powder called kautipuri..if i rem correctly.

I can eat just dahl/rice/potato chips

All indian ladies can cook very well. I wonder how they do it.

I put stomachs to everybody's faces lor.

didn't know we have such a long sept list!!

thanks pinkie dot

bunnz (bunnz) can teach me also leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] then i can pay you instead of the instructor he has the advance though ... :p

i wud luv to cook for you all one day ...

Kelly (rhicium) : dun panic the first thing u need to do is the moment u see any spotting go and see ur gynea if it is at odd hrs can go to KK 24 hr clinic or where ever ur registered if they hv a 24 hr clinic the doc will probably do a scan as long as can hear/see baby heartbeat its ok but need to rest the doc will probly give m/c

this is jus advice based on my experience tk care

Confinement - CL

Childcare - Infant care or MIL (have to wait for hb to confirm with MIL whether she wanna take care ornot. Heard from my colleagues infant care can be veri ex. $1300 - $1800??? We haven't check out any centres though.

Holiday - I wanna go Taiwan. Still persuading hb to plan the trip.. lol

Janice, based on what I know from other mummies, even if your parents/ILs promise to help look after, must hv mental prep that they may back out...

Infant care got cheap (usually by non-profit organisation) and exp type. So far the cheapest I heard is $600 after subsidy....

Hi prenra,thanks for your advice... My gynae had asked me to get bedrest and see her tomorrow or the day after o

If the spotting remains light...

#2-please ask her to write it down. I am very interested. Help me to thank her ya. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i just returned from the gyne. glad to see bb doing well.

Tot was ok..then had spotting and brownish discharge and followed by pinkish . so quickly went dwn to the doc at 10pm... tHnK God Doc was available to see me. Had the assaurance i need.

Had a stressful day w hub ydae .. that cld be one of the cause.

Kelly, u monitor ..if experience bad cramps then do try see yr gyne at soonest .. Will be praying That bb be ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] U can talk to bb to be strong.

#2: i had lasagna too!!! with thin crust pizza at Spizza....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] def feeling happy.

I surfed MCYS website but they didn't have an updated list of infant care. Guess will just try to goggle around.

Muffin

good to hear your bb is doing well :)

can't wait for my appt this Sat! counting down everyday!

SingYee

OMG, u make me very hungry now...i like spizza's pizza too !! i haven't tried their lasagna, is it good ??

Confinement: CL

When i return to work, will be infantcare/childcare like my #1 coz both my parents and PILs work and we have no domestic help.. will see if can manage when #2 is born!!

Good morning mummies,

Need some help here. What will be the essential items to buy for baby? Heard that there will be 2 baby fairs in March. Hope to get some good bargains.

Also, for baby car seat, is there such thing for infant all the way to when the child is about 2 years old? Or halfway, we have to change?

good morning mummies...

yeap heard of the coming up fair.. might be getting the stroller if the deal is good. And maybe the pump, sterilizer etc

What's for breakfast today? Am going out to see see look look... today's the last day of CNY... hoping to do some simple cooking for dinner + tang yuen...

Pommes, there are carseats that can be used from infant (back facing) till toddler (front facing). But usually they are the better brands/models that cost more.

Actually, there's a list of essential items needed. Takashimaya has a list of the items needed, usually available at their kid's dept or during baby fair. There's also another list circulating online but I don't have it anymore cos my old lappy broke down on me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm not sure about your family culture but you need not buy all the items as some will be passed down to you or given as gifts.

When my cousins delivered, they all had wishlists (brand/model/price stated) and we simply booked which item we want to buy for them. When I had my #1, we also did the same thing :D

One of my cousins ended up with 3 strollers, one bought by her MIL, one from her colleagues and one from her ex-boss.

For pump, you can purchase it AFTER delivery.

Can try out the different pumps at the hospital before deciding on the one you like (that was what I did with my #1). Also, the warranty will be affected, so don't buy it too early.

I ended up investing in a $800 pump. Worth every cent cos bf for 18mths and loaned to many friends, now I can still use it for #2 :D

MI>> i had the corn soup last night for dinner! and that was the only thing i could and managed to stomach for dinner, and nothing else.. quite pathetic ah.. no appetite for anything else.. i do wish im eating heartily!

Confinement -- Talked to hb in the car last evening. Think we'll go for one. Like bunnz, I think this will save alot of trouble on my mum/mil. Given that I'm someone who cannot function w/o proper sleep, CL may just be the solution for the night feeds during confinement. Dont wish to tire the mothers out or get into any conflicts with them.

Maid -- We are still undecided on this. Perhaps will try out p/t helper first. The feminist side of me isnt keen on CCTV, it's invading the maid's privacy. Hb thinks if the maid should neglect/abuse baby or dogs, damage is already done even if we capture it on screen. Haiz. See how first. Will properly discuss with mum/mil in 2nd trimester. Who knows they may not want to look after grandchild even? Then I'll need to relook at maid/IFC.

Cravings -- I have different cravings every week. After my Korea trip in Dec, I was addicted to chicken rice! Ate a total of 8 times in 1 week. We thought it was because I was sick of korean food, who knows it's due to a little someone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] After that, I had episodes of craving for chwee kueh, penang laksa, macdonalds, steak, porridge, pizza, soya bean drink, chee cheong fun and salad. And throughout the CNY, I was constantly craving for oranges. On some days, I downed 3 mandarin oranges. If I'm not peeling orange, I'll be ordering orange juice.

Maybe we should all get together someday for a potluck party. Satisfy our tastebuds before delivery :p Janice, TW is nice! Ok, now I'm thinking of 卤肉饭. OH NO!

Spotting -- Kelly, do get alot of bedrest. I was bleeding during W5 & 6. Silly me, at first I thought I was having menses. Given 2 weeks MC and gynae advised total bedrest. Dont walk/stand/sit/squat for too long. At W8, I experienced a "dropping womb" feeling. Decided to go for a PAP smear and again I bled for 2 days after that. It was CNY and I made sure I sat at every opportunity during visits and at night, I was in bed by 9pm. Rest rest rest. Take care!

the thread is moving soo fast!!

#2 - thanks for the advice. will go search ard for prenatal aqua aerobics nearer my place.

& i cant believe ur hb is sooo sweet lo! tot we only see it in tv shows. haha

#2>> ive never tried a double pump.. only used single electric.. ive tried avent single electric and the medela swing.. i tink both are not bad, just that my milk supply not good.. im determined to make this time a success though! hehe

pooh>> soup doesnt make me full though, i eat coz i know i need to eat.. but swallowing the few mouthfuls of rice is a torture to me.. never felt more terrible.. and i think im having gastric now due to the irregular meal intakes.. cham.. gonna get nagged at by my hubby le..

had sandwich and went to the toilet 10min later :s

sianz... my gf was telling me at wk 20.. she still experience dat... PRAY hard i won't be like her...

juz now went supermarket.. bought chicken to make chicken congee for dinner and tang yuen.. cannot decided which to cook so bought 2 flavour ( peanut & black seseme)

Mum gave me abacus seeds to cook but dun feel like cooking it.. maybe will left it for tml's dinner.

Hopefully can survive in the kitchen today...

pinkiedot: yeap it happened to my aunty as well.. i really peifu her lo.. she can merlion den work @ the same time..

i still remembered she will want to drink coke everyday and i have to buy it for her den become merlion after dat...

pinkiedot -- Yes, I'm thankful for my healthy appetite too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And strangely, I lost 3kg last few weeks and havent piled back on.

But my mum/hb arent too happy because they said I'm not controlling my diet. Throughout CNY, think I had almost 10 sessions of loh-hei with family, friends, colleagues etc. And I ate the sashimi as long as I think they look fresh. My team-lead who is also pregnant stared at me yesterday during our office CNY luncheon =X

#2 - Thanks for the tips on the baby list. Will look out for the list when I go Taka.

I have no more craving and losing my appetite. I wonder why. Now, have to think so hard what to eat for lunch and dinner. Very tiring ~_~

Oh today is the 15th day, time to eat tang yuan again. Ok good, I can clear my stock.

Yeah, thanks #2 for the tips on baby list. I'll go look for that too.

Is there any pregnancy list ah? Eg which month we should prepare what. This morning I was thinking, if I really need a maid, should engage by 7th or 8th month, so that I'll have time to train her. And must remember to service aircon before delivery.

SimBaoBao>> ya, my fren too! she was a merlion and could still continue working!

kyra>> its good to eat, but dun overeat also la.. at least can eat is better than not eating right? hehe

Pinkiedot -- Yup yup. I forgot to add that while I crave for food and still can stomach them well, I take special care to only eat normal portions. So definitely not eating for two :p

Also during my 2 weeks MC at home, I was skipping lunch most of the time as I dont know how to cook and was tired/bleeding. So I slept my days away.

My advise for pumps is to go for dual pump instead of single. More efficient and saves time. But of course also more exp lah..

Dual pump really saves a lot of time and energy.

There are cheaper version like Ameda and Medela Swing. I've tried Ameda and it's not too bad (but Avent could pump more milk out). Good thing abt Ameda is it's battery operated if you need. I've used it to pump in the car (on the way home from work) and it's good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I only managed to squeeze in 1 slice of garlic bread this morning. But now very hungry: Slurping up a bowl of Penang Laksa first :D

Chocolate: Thanks for the link. I found 2 infant care nearest to my place, will prob only check it out during 2nd or 3rd trimester.

Dear all MTMs, have u all started looking for CL already? How should we go about sourcing for one? What are CL's scope of work?