(2011/09) Sep 2011

pooh, hope you feel better soon. gaggle some salt water for your sore throat and yeah, see doc if not well k.

blossomsbb, did you try applying some aloe vera gel? i had bad itch and rashes, whole tummy was red with rashes, after applying stretch mark cream for my #1 and it subsides after i apply aloe vera gel. can try?

good morn to all the mummies!

woke early today as i kept having a tummyache from constipation again. got up to drown water and finally poo, phew! haha nowadays, must cheer whenever i poo successfully [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, any mummies have a mim bb sling here? can comment on how it is? easy to sling newborns? i'm thinking of getting one for the first few mths when bb can't use my ergo carrier and i need to bring my #1 out.

good morning mummies

seem like its gg to be a rainy day... waiting for time to pass... a day to meet lil baby today..

Yeap am interested to know which kind of sling is better for newborn till certain age as well.. Hb is so interested in those ang mo brand carries dat look so stiff.. but i felt sling is better for newborn.. any recommendation that is easy for new mother to use alone..

Morning Mummies!!

bunnz: yep. Thx! i will cfm heed your advice de.

kyra: i did 40 days with CL. i still bath on the baby full mth that day. go out eat ar? lol. i practically eat confinement food and drink the red date + ginger water until day 36, where my body tells mi, "HeY!!! Too heaty le!!".. LOL! on day 36, when i drink and eat as per normal confinement days, i can feel tat my body's is heating up, after the meals. Hence, i stop the food and the drink le.

Can still go out and eat during baby full mth de. most of my friends did. i also go out and eat, but retrain from seafood until 100th day.

Muffin, depends on what you want to buy. Certain items I will buy online from US and ship in, way cheaper than SG (breastmilk bags, baby's toiletries, clothes, BPA free milk bottles).

Others, we normally get at sale.

Sung, I used the MIM sling for my boy from newborn till ard 11mth old. After that he could walk, so we rather let him walk.

It takes a while to get used to how to adjust it. Initially, my maid taught me how to use it (they also use something similar in kampung but they use a simple pc of fabric and tie knot. & they normally sling baby on their backs while they cook/do housework).

BlossomBB and sung, throat still pain when i woke up.. Dunno is it heaty or due to my sneezing ytd.. haiz..

sung, i drank the salt water at 4am.. no use lei..

Blossomsbb,

Which brand of stretch mark cream did u use? During my first preggie, a lot of my colleagues and friends developed rashes when they use palmers stretch mark cream. So if it is this brand, do remember to do a spot test before applying.

Hi Sung and Gina, thanks for the advice on the aloe vera gel..., I will check with my gynae first as he had advised me against applying anything on them for a few days...

Super sianz... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

RE: Slings

It is best to buy when ur bb is out. Bring bb along when u test. I bought slings and carrier, just too clumsy when i use it, bb dont like it or keep waking up whenever i take bb out from the sling, so never use much.

Hi Asura,

I am using the Palmers brand. BUT I doubt its due to it as I had used it for 3 weeks and it was ok, just yday then the sudden outbreak! Grrr..., Anyhow I have stopped using it and to monitor the rashes for now. Its very hard to not go to the toilet and look in the mirror to see if they have gotten worse..., Just when I was about to enjoy the second trimester without much MS, yday puking blood incident and the rashes really ruined my mood!!!

BlossomsBB,

I got that feedback from my friends too so when i got palmers sample, i din dare to use. Dont know why the rashes din come up immediately.

#2, your mim sling, us it the cotton one or sateen cotton? I hear sateen cooler n easier to use?

Re. Sling

Haha this time I'm scared of wasting $ so am starting to look out for a 2nd hand pc from WTS, cheaper. Anyway can soak n wash [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pooh, do go c doc if still not feeling good k. Dun drag.

Ok, going prep lunch for myself n ny little boy now. Chat later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pooh - Hi 5! I'm also down already. Sore throat aggravated to fever and blocked nose by dinner time. Went to nearby GP at 9pm. He refused to give me antibiotics so it was a very tough night yday. Hb and dogs slept outside while I shivered in bed with the fan on lowest power. I used to be able to sleep in airconditioned room even when I was sick. On 2 days MC [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Palmer - I think there was a minor recall few yrs back. My friend who is a pharmacy manager told me NOT to use Palmer pdts upon learning about my preg.

Oh dear, juz rec SMS fm my hb that japan cfm radiation leak [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Vick, u be careful there!

sung, I bought the sateen MIM sling and honestly I only used it once and the rest of the time...is in storeroom. Honestly, some babies dun like to be wrapped in sling for long and if u bring the sling out, I am sure u will have seen some mummies wearing the sling over them when not in use. Otherwise, u have to fold and stuff the sling into your diaper bag, meaning extra thing in the bag.

Give it a thought if u really keen to buy or u want to buy 2nd hand from me (ha ha). ...i seriously used it once only.

good morning!

been a while since I last login. work is hectic.

pooh and kyle, oh dear. do take care. take tons of water and vitamic c. it sucks to be sick esp when pregnant coz alot of medication not safe to take. now flu virus spreading around so must take care.

now i'm in the beginning of 12th week and going for oscar scan on this thu. feeling very jittery and scared about it. praying hard that all will be well. i always feel jittery when i need to see gynae and go for scan soon.

can i ask if there is a need to get a sling and a stroller? was thinking of just getting a stroller.

stretch mark oil - can try this brand called earth mama angel baby. their products are organic and some of my friends used it for their pregnancy had good reviews about it. can buy from iherb.com i just started using for about 1 week, so far so good, no rashes and my skin belongs to the sensitive skin category.

another explosion again in Japan? oh no! Japan is one of my fav countries and really sad this is happening.

thanks sung and mareike..

kyra, u down with fever?? oh dear.. u rest well.. i'm drowning with lots of water now..

My colleague experienced rashes when using the palmers stretch mark cream.

During my 1st P, i use clarins oil which receive quite a no of good feedback from colleague n forummers.

Tis time i am trying Mustela brand.

Sling:

Mine is the cotton one, my couz gave it to me.

Actually, there's a technique on how to put baby in and take baby out without causing them to wake up...

but requires some practice :D

For infant before 4 months, we can only use sling right?

For the Ergo carrier, or any other carrier, can we use when bb is 4 mths old?

Cos i tink i will only need to use sling/carrier after maternity leave end around 3 mths so bb will be 3mths old then.. so dunno can use carrier when 3 mths old. Cos sling is really hard to use, i tried my MIM before and completely no use and give to my fren ored. so buy a new sling now is like wasted.

Wow most mummies are able to know their babies length at wk 13 or 14! Went for my appt yesterday at 14w1d and my gynae said because baby is curled up, won’t be able to measure the length, so in the end we only measured the femur length for future comparison. =( My gynae also refuses to switch on the sound to hear heartbeat from the beginning because she says the sound is actually very loud for baby so not too good at this stage. Anyway, baby was sitting kiao ka1 and gynae kept saying that baby was very cheeky…

Muffin: I was at Taka baby fair yesterday and saw the prenatal Doppler that can register baby’s heartbeat from wk12…u can check it out! Not sure if it works though…it’s located around the centre of the fair area…

Pooh & Kyra: Do take good care! One of the best things to take that is natural and safe is really vitamin C…I’m taking them daily now to help absorption of my Iron pills but I’ll increase dosage when I’m feeling a little under the weather or when people around me are not well!

#2 : wah..i have not eaten frogs' legs for a decade lor.. even venison.both nice. but now i simply cant bear the thought of eating them. also avoiding pork whenever i can. just cant resist din tai fung xiao long bao and pork chop.

beef also no no for me.

i also use palmers since 7 weeks. so far no issue .. i also use their sample nursing cream on nipples for moisterise.

but i am now using another oil for stretch mark on my tummy .bb seems to like it too as the first time i used it ,bb nudged and for several times when i use the oil.hehe

still cont to use palmers on my lower back /butt and thighs though.

been sneezin away this morning. went for a 10 min swim when sun was out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sling: when mummies use use it, looks very nice and comfy lor. Personally i ll not buy it but may try it if someone passes down to me.

#2 : still got technique for sling! :D

Mareike :my mum told me for me and sister, she didnt get any stroller nor sling nor sterilizer!clothes also pass down. i asked her how she idi it..she say just carry everywhere. she really saved a lot on us. so now when i tell her got special blanket to wrap bb ( swaddle : am tempted to get) she was commenting now the bb very good life(costs lots $$$) :p

kyra ; rest well and drink lots of water!!

b.isforbb : ur bb is so cute! haha when i went for oscar yest.also saw bb cross leg. put his hands up also.

then the lady got to keep using the scanner to nudge bb cos moved to an unfavourable position.

and my bladder is bursting at the same time. feel ticklish but dare not laugh also. very xin ku.

= Rice Wine =

Hi, I have 10 bottles of rice wine left from my confinement and willing to let go at $10 per bottle (negotiable if buy all 10 bottles). Taste sweet and yellow colour.

Collect between redhill mrt to clementi mrt. If you are interested pls pm me or e-mail me at [email protected].

Just to share, my friend just posted a picture of a SPONGE inside her confinement catering food!!!

But I dunno which company she order from...

& the company only gonna refund her for today's meal... -_-"

Re: Sling

Personally used MIM sateen sling when my #1 was newborn till around 8months. Cos he likes to be carried, so will sling him even at home so can free my hands! Haha. He liked it very much, always sleep inside but it does get very hot. Even till now, I can't say I really know how to use the sling...sometimes I feel I adjusted correctly, sometimes feel abit loose.

For those of you who want the bonding of a sling, but don't want the hassle...perhaps you can consider getting a pouch instead? Don't need to adjust!

Agree with Yuuri on the pouch. Only prob with the pouch is you need to try it cos of the size. & when baby grows bigger, you might need a bigger one.

If you know how to sew, you can sew the pouch. Very simple :D But must choose good fabric and good thread :D

@bisforbb, thks! I ll try n check it out.

Yep , though I hv need using the palmers cream (sample) last 1-2 weeks. It seems there was slight rashes on my thigh last nite. Could also be I applied too much.

I'll be switching to j&j after the samples are used up. For now I ll apply thinly.

Blossombb, like wat the ladies says aloe Vera will prob be helpful. U can try. Oh ya, u mean for us, we can do the detailed scan at dr poon? That's nice[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Do u hv any idea how much is it at dr poon's?

Kyra, tk care n drink more water!

Annie, hee can ask what colour is your sling? Haha this time I very low budget, planning to spend only abt $15 on the sling. Yours is in good condition, can keep for #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ellysia, ergo carrier on it's own can only use from abt 4mths when Bb head n neck is steady n support itself. Else must use together with it's infant insert for Bb to lie down but the insert is really thick n warm, not useful in our weather.

#2, yeah I noticed that the maids seem better at using the slings than mummies hee. Must try to master the technique if I get one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] oh gosh, your post on the confinement food is yucky! Just imagine what else goes in but is not seen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My cousin posted this on FB and I wanna share here...

If your hubby disagrees with you... remind him...

"Don't ever question your wife's judgment, after all, she married YOU." TF Tenney

Sung... cos in kampung, they got no fanciful baby carriers. & they still need to look after the family/farm/loads of children with the newborn... so they are very good at using the sling for convenience...

One of the maids we had looking after my boy when he was younger used my thin blanket (meant for hot nights) to tie my boy on her back while she cooked and did housework!

And yeah... the confinement food thing is disgusting... some more my friend eat almost finish already then discovered it...

@Bunnz

Causeway point one i think close liao, think for westerners can try sun plaza at sembawang or west mall? http://www.e2lingerie.com/outlet.php

For me, i think my size increased by 1 cup... Chest-wise din really increase yet, but the lady advise that when tummy gets bigger, chest will also increase, so then will need to get extension liao.

@Virgo

Things seem to be fine, getting more energetic on good days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] What about u?

Now can finally start planning wat to get in the empty room for bb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just went to Ikea on sunday to get an idea

Re peanut butter

Wah, I've been spreading my bread in the mornings only with peanut butter and nutella every day :s

i can't stand ham and cheese now, so means i gotta change to eat jams ah? ><

Re lunch

Recently at lunch, I realise I'll always go for rice with the same type of vegetables, 1 meat, 1 egg/tofu and potato. I think my baby takes after daddy, cuz daddy always have the same thing for lunch, and I can't tahan to eat anything other than rice for lunch now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I'm bored but baby loves it

@#2

u mean nurses will shave down there if there's hair when u give birth? :S

@Christine

Why do we need to avoid seafood for 100 days after giving birth?

Thanks ladies! I just woke up for med. Symptoms seem to have gotten worse [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] And the mild med that I've gotten from GP only provide short hrs of relief.

Pooh - think you having fever le. Have u seen a doc? Do take care. My deg only 37.2 and I'm already feverish/giddy. But it's more of the sore throat and blocked nose that are killing me.

No appetite too. My friend (insurance agent) is visiting my parents' place tonight to discuss savings plan with my dad and pru1stgift with me but I'm giving it a pass. Dun feel like having dinner and dun wanna pass germs to them.

#2 - omg! Can chk with ur fren which caterer? I'm planning to order for 2 weeks after CL leaves. There are only a handful who do confinement catering here yah?

pooh,

37.5 is low grade fever i think. Are u having a fever? Better drink more water, take some vit C and rest well.

Daddysbao, yes... they will shave down there for you if got hair before delivery...

Kyra, she dun wanna say until she confirm get the cheque for the refund first... she now asking for half refund...

You can ask the agent to meet you another day when you are feeling better? I'm sure he/she won't mind... :D

hmmm... i'm now confused between carrier and sling. can someone kindly explain? i thot use stroller is good enough to bring bb out? *lost*

previously, when I had m/c, i tried ihostfood.com and i had LS the whole week. they refunded me the whole week's meals price after i complained about my LS. i heard pretty good reviews for new baby food catering though.

gd afternoon to all. i'm new here. Currently in my 14 weeks.

p00h would need ur help to update my datails & thanks in advance!

EDD:11 sep, BB #2, Dr Beh ST, TMC, FTWM, AMK.

#2 - Agree with your cousin, that's a good comeback line in times of desperation during quarrels. Hehe

Anyway, can I check with mummies if we can eat coconut, more specifically nasi lemak? Today, when I ate it for lunch, a colleague (who knows about the pregger) reminded me cautiously, 'It has coconut right?'.

Should I add this to the do-not eat list?

daddysbao: my mum said seafood is poisonous, scare the wound if not heal completely, then if happen to take seafood, will coz infection ... so avoid lor.. even ppl who undergo operation so avoid seafood for 100 days.. so i jus avoid lor..

gina: i was told to avoid coconut until later week, coz coconut milk will cause wind and then will puke more... i happen to take nasi lemak once a couple weeks ago. and i puke 3 times severity than normal.. and end up, i took 2 days to recover...

then cannot drink coconut, coz coconut is cooling.. will cause miscarriage very easily if the womb is weak..

RE: Seafood

Was told that those who have C-sec should avoid for 100 days. Natural birth only need to avoid during the confinement period.

RE: Coconut drink

Supposedly now not good to drink too much. But the last trimester can drink liao.. i drink 3 coconuts every week in my last trimester.. yumz..

RE: Seafood

My mum only told me to avoid prawns during first 2 weeks (for natural birth). But I avoided for whole confinement period.

But during my boy's full month, I whack on the prawns and crabs :p

RE: Coconut

Old folks say it's 'liang'. But my mum say if not spotting and feeling heaty, can drink a bit.

Er... so I just drink and take coconut whenever I like...

Gd afternoon ladies

Today is my 13th week!!! Yipee but still have ms! Haiz.

I have been eating laksa mainly bcos I need the coconut milk to help me with my constipation. But sad to say, it doesn't help .

I mentioned in My previous posts that I'm not revealing n my tummy v flat . But it's only 1 week, my tummy seems big ! I feel so bloated due to constipation .

Abt bra, og they sell maternity bra. I bought 2 at $19.90 each . 10% discount with og card. N i regretted buying at spring maternity , expensive n not much variety .