(2011/08) Aug 2011

Thks bbdream!

Mummies!

JTS robinsons sell the disposable cotton maternity ones so can wear aftr delivery cse our hips still big leithey wven hve normal low waist!my no 1 i bght fm there n tiz x i oso bght!v comfy!but tix c i stovked up

For 1 mth as in 2pvx a day!past experience didnt get enough!

Mrs lim:thks!no 1 has to cont her antibio n other medixine..sigh pray no 2 stronger!

Elin:i like yr idea of prepacked red dates tea thingy so cool!!

Hmm kotex no gd mah?i find v absorbent lei..i used the loop one laz x n gonna use tiz x oso loe.glen dun provide de hve ti bring my own

Oh ya first x mummies pls pls rembr bring nipple cream for yr delivery..u'll defintely need it!Medela gd eatable so safe!

By tge way if u gals knw where sell cheap kimono robes can tel me?i wanna get tt tiz x for delivery i tink is easier to bf!laz x i bght Karmy PJ dress (reco by 1 mummy in forum) but frnt buttons not open up enough in frnt as only few buttons ended struggling tryin to open big enough to bf!so troublesme!

So anyone started on gss shopping do share gd deals!

Morning MTBs, I realised most of us here are first time mummies, including me!!!

Wen: Cheap Kimono robes can get from Queen Street (opp Guan Yin Temple at Waterloo, there is a row of shops, the bb shop is beside the public toilet - you won't miss it) Half dozen was like $12-13 depending short/long sleeve. CHEAP right?

BDQ: What diaper brand did you buy from Msia? I am not familiar with driving up to Msia so nvr got the guts to go. Maybe next time I can follow you guys, by driving our own car!

Mrs Lim: I heard KKH provide ewither loop or stick on? I like stick on better....Loop one, I think I dunno how to wear. Some ppl say Kotex no good...like the top is very hard??? But for normal menses I like to use Kotex soft top. I dun like whisper!

Confinement Herbs:

Just sharing what my CL told me about confinement herbs. She told me not to get it too early cos she doesn't want me to refrigerate the stuff. My mum also agreed that it must be fresh and not refrigerate. I know most of us got quite a list to buy....

I plan to get it 1 week before EDD, if I still can make it out. Else, no choice I got to pass the list to my mum or siblings to helpt o purchase when I am delivering in the hospital.

My friend told me not to waste $$ to buy maternity pads. She told me to get normal overnight pads which is more than enuff...Seriously I oso not sure.

Hamtaro: I may be dropping by motherhood exhibition later to get 1 pk of Goon Diapers to try.

think for maternity pad, i find kotex is the best.

yes, agreed NO whisper..

the plastic surface easily tear off or burst when sit down too hard or so.. and the blood clog cant absorb properly and will cause itchiness.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

in fact i bought those overnight, super long kotex when is on promo.. good enuf [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Afternoon all, wow the thread moving real fast . Goon diapers also quite popular among colleagues. Me too me too 1st time mummy...

Maternity pad : I will buy pureen .. About 3packs.

Personally I felt laurier 35Cm pad quite absorbent I used during heavy flow ...

Maternity pads are much more thicker than normal pads so thats y a bit more expensive lo

Sharing the price of some products in the motherhood fair.

Pigeon liquid cleanser , 2 in 1 refill pack $18.90

Pigeon 6 in 1 wipes : $19.5

Avent bottle : 2x260ml :$28

Avent bottle : 2x125ml : $23

wow... the thread is moving faster as the days goes by...

wen: the prepacked red date idea is from cutie... i oso learnt from her.. hehe! Thks for sharing on packing nipple cream..

hamtaro: any other gd buys at the motherhood fair?

mrs lim: im worried i cant take care of bb like bathing. he so small and fragile. so scared hurt him. aiyo. lucky hubby say housework he do except washing clothes as he has no ideas how to wash. haha...you also must jiayou. we jiayou together [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babydreamyqueen - if you need help let me know, i live in buangkok, can meet up to talk talk relax relax. exchange some tips. haha. luckily my CL is my mum. more easy to communicate and more easy to ask her to help. don like the idea of having MIl as CL. nt use to her style. hehe...

Kristine,

not too worry, where r u giving birth? u can hv a express class to learn how to bath bb aft u give birth.. like KKH they do provide. take abt 15-30mins only.. juz make sure u hold the neck area.. or when r u giving birth.. i believe there r a lot of kind mommies here willing to show u how if u dun hv anybody to help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cutie - i giving birth at TMC. already went for a class on parenting, breastfeeding, taking care of bb. the instructor make it sound easy as we are using doll to try. but real life babies wor...very fragile...

i sure will come here to seek help if i need any.

thank u mummies

I am a Feb Mum. I have a head snuggler to let go, blue in colour. Only let my baby tried once at home willing to let go at SGD20. Self Collect at Tampines or Choa Chu Kang. If interested, pls sms me at 96960320

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5546915.jpg]

Hi hamtaro: thanks for sharing the price

I think the price of the detergent Is the same at kiddy palace

For the avent bottles I have not done the comparison yet ...

I just came back from Motherhood Expo 2011. Those of you who are interested in getting Goon NB diapers - its $14/pkt. (I bought 1 pkt) Nepia NB, S - its $14/pkt. (I bought 1 NB and 2 S)

I am just trying it out, if bb got rash then I will chg to another brand.

The sales person at Nepia was v good. As I was alone, he helped to carry my purchase to the car. He also told me that they only participate in Motherhood Expo which is once a yr.

Hi mummies,i am from the nov thread..Will like to ask mummies here whether anyone encounter coughing badly for nearly a month? I had been coughing for nearly a month. and currently i am in my week 16.At first it starts with only cough during the night when i lay down to sleep then it became day and night cough with some white phelgm.At night i cannot lay down and cough as my lower tummy will be very painful so i have to sit up and cough till i breathless,my cough is like barking cough.Throat always so itchy so have to cough it out.Now i am so afraid to sleep at night.Had drank Sedilix DM Linctus cough syrup prescribe by my gynae and had taken some chinese power medicine from a chinese sinseh and currently taking Duro Tuss cough linctus.Heard that its one of pregnancy symptoms and will go away after week 20.Please kindly advise if anyone exoerience that.Thanks..

Morning mummies! Haven't logged in for one day and see thread moving so fast. heartening to see so much support and love from one another. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pipi, yufeng, queen, elin, kristine: (anyone i left out?) we can exchange contact numbers/msn details. first time mums tend to make booboos, and i'm just going to do what my heart and head tells me to do with the baby. hubbies can only take up to 5 days leave, leaving pathetic us to fend for ourselves emotionally.

i've heard from colleague how she "hated" the child so much and felt so helpless the first few months that she really wanted to give up. she cried alongside the baby whenever the baby cried. almost at brink of post-natal depression. thankfully, her hubby knew what to expect and took over each time baby cried when he's home.

i think we all have to prepare ourselves mentally that we're not going to be perfect mothers at the start and that at some point in time, we may even feel like giving up. BUT! ultimately, this gift of love only has us as his/her world, he/she probably going to feel as exasperated as us when he/she is unable to tell us what he/she wants/needs.

Have a good talk with hubby tonight and let him know that "eh, i may break down ah. you need to be strong when i break down hor. please don't scold or say i'm not doing my job. sometimes, i would just need a break." better still if your hubby can pick up those parenting books/magazines you've been STRATEGICALLY post-it-ing and placing all over the place. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

queen, my heart goes out to you and your hubby. do sound out and we'll see how we can help out k?

good morning mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

was working from home for the past 2 weeks and now back at work in new office -- dun have much time to log on to forum now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

first time mummies, no worry, u will get the hang of taking care of new born [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's maternal instinct... hubby n me watched my mum bath #1 and learn from there... football hold for the initial weeks when baby's neck is week... there r some videos on asian parent site on FB that u can watch, too...

re : post natal massage

i forgot the price... let me find the contact and check with her again... will update later...

i dun recall she used a lot of oil -- juz enough to make smooth contact for massage...

i usually wrap for 8 hours... massage n wrap in the morning and unwrap at nite...

re: cord life @ expo

is there any freebies if sign up at expo? their office is juz across the street from my office... m a bit lazy to drive from far west to expo...

re: maternity pad and undies

prefer to use sofy/laurier extra long type instead of maternity pad...

bought those maternity undies from OG/metro -- best to get 1 month supply as will easily stained due to lochia...

to prevent staining the bed, put underpads (like in hospital) on ur bed... can get the underpads from guardian...

adv: I'll check it out for you later for the cordlife promo.

Will be going EXPO later, ladies! anyone wants me to check on anything else????

I'm going to look at the Bumwear prefolds per se. others just see see look look. Not enough booties too!

adv: told my hubby i need those underpads, he burst out laughing saying those are for those elderly as they are usually placed next to the adult diapers. asked if i wanted to get the diapers too. so evil. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_angry.gif]

mrs_lim, thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ur hubby very humourous :p actually, the underpads will come in handy -- for #1, we put some in the hospital bag in the car -- in case water bag burst, dun wanna flood the car seat :p

let us know any good buys @ expo... i can only go on sunday -- last day of the fair...

Little bb: I was coughing badly till the pee will come out type...but the cough syrup given to me by KKH is Mesophan. I also accompanied it with Pi Pa Gao Orange Sweets. I think you need to sleep/rest, drink lots of fluids, take lots of fruits for cough to recover. I recovered after 1-2 days dose.(as in no more cough)

Mrs Lim: My hubby cannot even be bothered to read any of the guidebooks. He claimed that he has changed diapers for his nephew before so he can do it!! I see how he turn into action when bb is out but I think I cannot depend on him. If I am down, I think I rather tok to a gf than him.

Yeah, there is this FB group where all the EDD Aug mums are in. The response there is v fast if you need any SOS.

I also added one mummy where we have the same gynae cos I had too many questions about whether my gynae can stitch well, C-section well...blahx3. Alot of contacts in FB to help me when I need it.

If you guys are planning to get the maternity panty (cotton type) I got it from OG - maternity and normal type (can wear later in the month when tummy shrink*hopefully*) Cost ard $4.50 and $5.50 per pack of 5.

adv: yES! ur idea is good! he ADORES his car, so better buy the underpad in case water bag burst. YES YES! good excuse to get it! Thanks for that! hahahahhaha.

Anyone has bought baby monitor? Recommendation? hmm...I'm thinking during confinement, need to wake hubby up in the middle of the night when he sleeps in next room. I'm toying of idea of getting walkie talkie or baby monitor. Pros? Cons?

Morning mummies, my colleagues told me theres a diapers brand Eq dry also not bad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] think I will just buy a pack of ebry brand too try and stock up the one suitable for my boy after using .

Baby monitor : not a bad idea

Cons: expenses

Pro: convenient n useful

Pipilili: the disposable unDies you bought is maternity size or free size? Lookinh forward for lunch time. Feeling so hungry now

I went to OG to see manual pumps...any idea why Medela manual breastpump $50.90 is much cheaper than Avent manual $109 ??

I've the following items for sale. 

1. Babysafe sling (used only once) dark blue colour

2. Baby Bjorn carrier synergy (dark blue) seldom use

Selling both items for $300.

Interested can PM me. 

Hi all! Back from walking around Expo for Motherhood Fair and JOhn Little sale. Tired!

Hmm, fair wise, better than Baby Expo. Pampers are good buy there! ($15 for two packs of NB) Huggies, Dryers, Mamapoko and Nepia are stocked there too! All prices are more competitive as compared to our supermarkets. Good value to get there!

Queen: the current promotion is $5190+gst ($5555) for one time upfront payment for 21 years. inclusive of one goodie bag for mums, think not much. It's a standard sign-up package goodie bag. I've gotten a foc avent newborn bottle set though at the Marina Sq cordlife fair.

I've bought the bumwear package too. for babies from 5kg on. it's mainly cloth diapers. and savings in the long run. it's one size fit all, can use up to baby is 18kg. so will try cloth diapers after baby's 2 month old. can find more details here: http://www.bumwear.com/

John Little sale - bought button-down night wear there, for nursing and hospital stay. cheap and good. disposable COTTON undies (normal and maternity types) going for $4.50 and $5.50 respectively. Do stock up since it's under one roof.

demongal: I was advised to use electric pump for the sake of my sanity. apparently, medela electric pumps has this massaging function which stimulates your breasts to express milk (2-phase expression) in less time. my colleagues told me how painful and how her hands end up in spasm each time she uses her manual pump. i suppose manual ones you have to experiment with the speed you pump at. if you're mostly going for latching on, then i suppose manual ones will work for you.

hmm, go to the Expo and compare the prices there? I saw both Medela and Philips Avent booths there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wen & queen: i called up Master Jin today, wanted to go down and make deposit. Apparently, the guy over the phone said it's not necessary. Just have to call up and tell them the date and time of birth, pay up when hubby makes an appointment to pick up the booklet they would prepare for us. usually takes about two days.

tired..now going to try the confinement dinner trial meal from richfood. yums! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mrs lim: wow... tat's a thorough report of the happenings at expo.. keke! for the bumwear package.. is there any promo price? looks like u enjoyed urself tdy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and yes.. i will pm u my contacts and we can support each other as much as possible. I'm short of the front button night wear. will go shopping for it this wkend!

btw, i bought the underpads at guardian. 10pcs for $3.95..

Elin, haha! I just checked out what I need anyway too. Hee. No worries. Bumwear as stated on website 4pcs cloth diaper plus 12 liners $169. Go strg to booth n friendly ladies there will explain thoroughly to u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nightwear can get cheap at Chinatown smith street market too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies JTS i called JZLong it costs 120dlr to calculate auspicious date n time for caeserianhope u gals hve a great weekend!Me gg to reckie maid agencies today hopefully a gd one!

Sorry to disturb.

Just wondering if any mummies are keen in baby wraps and bean sprout pillows

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5553751.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5553752.jpg]

PM me if interested

Have a nice day!

Agree that Chinatown sells more cheaper PJ. I got it for like $8-9 PJ dress. But there is limited variety. The shop owner told me there are more variety in Dec.

The other day I went to Waterloo area. I can't remember the building which is opp Fortune Centre, where there is a NTUC. There is a pasar malam under the flats and they sells more variety of PJs and infant wear.

Pipi:thks 4 the kimono lobang.I happen to go into a shop at Beauty world today the kimono each at 16.90!so happy bght 2pcs!comes with a slip on spaghetti dress somemore!so great can pack my bag liao!the cheap bb clths at opp temple i knw bt i find quality v hot.beauty world got sell much cooler quality 3 for $10 nia!v gd buy!

For thse keen on choose c section date by JZL i called up

Todae charges $88.

By the way i am sellg BN mothercare bb rompers 3-6m n 6-9 mths if u gals keen can take a look ba Add Ma Petit to FB!

Pipi, i bought Mamy Poko only from JB. I asked my friend who stay in JB to buy. I dare not drive out also. This colleague of mine, always go JB on Fri and back on Sun as he got family there. So, ask him to tumpang to buy if he see got sales at Giantt near his place.

Krstine, thanks... which block you staying in BKK? I stay in 268D. Can PM me your contact? I have hp # of adv_sports. Let's exchange ours. I'm very sure I will need lots of help on breastfeeding. No one in my family knows about this. So stress over this topic. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mrs_lim, ya ya... let's PM to exchange contact. i think sms will be faster yah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks, stil need to go hospital for checkup next week for my hubby. No root cause found yet. Hope soon everything will be fine lo.

For the master Jin, no nid go down to make payment if you hubby can go down to pick up the book - book for the name selected with explanation etc. But for my hubby, he didn't believe, so don't think he will go and pick up. So, what I plan for is go down pay first, then they prepare the book and name, then over the phone, i can get the name for birth cert registration. That's why need to go down before I deliver. Coz in laws gave few name, hard to write de chinese name, so, may be go and write down for them is better.

Wen: he charges differently for name picking and choosing of c section date is it? Or is 120 a package of c sect date PLUS name picking? hee.

Queen, yea yea. During confinement sure lesser time to log on one, phone faster.hee. Keep us posted on ur hubby's checkup. Will pray for u. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Looks like I'll pop down at beauty world too! Hee.

I'm super tempted to go to JB to the FOS outlet for baby clothes. Hahaha.

Mrs lim@ya seems so lei.just for caeserian date hor is 120 wonder why mre ex than name.. i called my usual fengshui master ng today even worse!$288!then i enwuire at kx master neo wah lau oso ex 188!my stupid ah lao say no need c jusy c thse calender with date n time choosr can liao bt i believe ba zi is v impt lor affects whole life lei.he tinks name mre impt!

Ya got x go beauty world there 1 big toy stall the wagon

Sells the 3 for 10dlr saw some preggy mums buying.itz gd the brand got i tink is called ILuvMum last x my daughter oso wear gd can even wear for hot nights! Tink 3rd floor or 2 floor cant recall got 1 corner shpp sell just bb clthes many many bt today no open!the highest floor hawker there oso 1 stall sell bb items n clthes n many towels handketchiefs!i tink my nest buy was the kimono realli cheap!hee!!the shop is called carrano if u go can c.

Hi everyone , i just came back from my mum's place.Having a mini gathering..

my aunt they all do gan chiong now asking me plan for baby 1st moonth party? have decided baby name???

making me more nervous because i have no idea at all... oh my god , really going to plan with hubby soon.

Yufeng, this is what I'm doing. While still have energy and mood, I'm putting together a list of caterers and confectionaries for the man yue celebrations. Then, writing down a list of things for hubby to do when I'm in confinement. Including getting my fav food!! He's sweet enough to comply and know that I've not had them for a long while. Hee. First is Auntie Anne's Cinnamon Sugar pretzel. *salivate at thought of it*

Start planning early esp if u guys want it at a club/function room/hotel. Call them and pre-warn them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

BDQ: I think Mammy Poko is good too. My hubby wanted to get that if Nepia and Goon are out for us.

Hiah, I think I need to master driving to Msia (at least JB) soon so that I can go there and spree sometimes...save $$$.