(2011/08) Aug 2011

Now I think I am lucky when I read tt all of you having trouble during confinement month. I hired a maid + CL (for confinement month). My PIL are very old le, in their 70s. My mum can pop by to check me out, but cannot help to take care of bb/me for entire month as she is working. Plus she recently has hand ache and has also hired a maid herself. All the mummies who doesn't have any helper, I take my hats off you. *serious* That's like the most "wei da" thing.

Let's keep FB and SMH ALIVE so that it can be our avenue for SOS during confinement month. I am also afraid that I will slip into depression when I cannot handle NB. *worried*

I stopped buying clothes for bb gal already cos I think no point keep buying and buying now. As long as she has enuff to wear and rotate, I think should be good enuff. I can still buy her clothes after she is out, and can better estimate her size too. (my cousin's bb boy of 4 mths cannot fit into 6 mths old Carter's clothes)

The weather is changing/very bad....many of us are sick. I just recovered. My advice, see a doctor, take your medication religiously, sleep alot, drink lottsa fluids (water, ribena, juices, etc) and eat a variety of fruits to prevent constipation + dose up your vit C. I am still having my sexy nasal voice but my cough is gone...

The GSS sounds so tempting and I wish I can walk like pre preg days...but now I feel much heavier and tired easily. Not sure if it's cos I am petite & not entirely recovered so used up more energy but when I climb stairs from L1-L2, I actually pant!!!

Btw if you ladies are doing confinement or taking NB yourself, pls remember not to tire yourself too much (ie: bend to carry baby), it's not good for your back. You might get backache post preg.

I am going for epidural for my natural birth cos I dun think I can take the pain. If there is a choice, I rather they knock me out, take out the baby, stitch my V up and ask me to wake up. I am still not mentally prepared. Every time I think about it, I tell my hubby. Then he will tell me, this is not something you can control, so dun think about it. Sounds soo true yet you can't really hide the worry wort in you.

Hi all, i'm back from gynae appt. My gal weighed at 950gm only, much smaller than standard, according to my gynae. Generally, i'm not a meat person, so eat not enough protein. So, i'm asked to eat more meat, nuts, and DURIAN!!!! to pump up my protein.

She also asked me to lie down more to ensure better blood flow to the baby so that she can grow. So, may be pipi take naps often, so bb is bigger... kekek... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Touch wood, no backache yet, just ache and sore at the bottom of the feet, and cramps at the calf. I gained 2 kgs in past 4 wks, baby gained less than 500 gm! Alamak! Means either water retention or fat grow on me.

We must bring this thread alive again... preparing for our labor and breastfeeding journey. Think many MTB / mum will prefer here than FB, just like us? Unless we are one that not keep up to FB's speed... hihi.. snail speed / tortoise speed... hihi...

Cutie, I also send out mails and pictures get my sis / colleagues to buy and send to my home after reaching certain purchase. So, it's quite handy and helpful of them, so most of the items i have prepared and washed. I can say 95% ready le bah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pipi, ya, forum will be my SOS for confinement month, coz i oways soooo lost in FB. Going for my dental polish now, so that can last at least 6 months later. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Talk again lo. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For my Week 30, Gynae said my baby is now 1.7 kg!!! I sweat, cause my #1 gal was born at 3.7 kg and a big head. Managed to do natural birth with epi. I didn't eat that much more than before preggy. Oh dear, looks like gonna be another big baby. It's ok, this baby boy is very active until i got probs sleeping at night..means healthy and happy, right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

For my #1, my MIL helped me with confinement. And I had a maid to do household chores. My parents are overseas, and anyways my mom doesn't like to help with baby/kids. My MIL said she's getting older, so quickly have your #2 while she still can help out :D

The exchange gift idea sounds fun!hee!!i just saw GP

Gave me amoxycillin bo bian sinus infection aloy green mucus between my nose n throatWow seems many r headg for the GSS!by the way r most of u gonna use avent bttles?I bght but wonder if shld stock up a NUK onr in case cse it seems if BF nuk teats like more alike hor?my no 1 uses Pigeon n lubs it till now already cominh 3.5yrs old still cant live without it!

i'm currently at wk27. last week checkup, baby is about 800g. gynae mentioned is of average weight.

can i check do you start monitor baby movement. sometimes i feel that my gal do not move alot and i will get paranoid and worried.

wen,

i also keep having block nose , usually at air con places. the mucus also green. my gynae gave me antibiotic.

I should be buying avent bottles for my gal. I feel i still prefer avent over pigeon. own preference

pipilili: so you are working part time home base now, so will you be able to claim the full salary for the maternity leave?what do you mean the fengshui master dont have shop? freelance? will it be cheaper? how come you think u will be retrenceh? dont think too much, stay positive.

I think sometimes i have blocked nose too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

may i know how come need to prepare gifts for newborn or siblings?

so anyone have fengshui master to introduce?

i will be going for my check up next week, that includes diabetes test, scanning etc.

Think i will go Taka GSS next week to see what to grab.

re: gift exchange

it was a chinese believe/ old tales. Believe the siblings exchange gift will have good relationship, take good care of each other.

But if u dun believe is ok, my 1st time heard of this too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think is quite fun so I plan to let them exchange, sounds sweet [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Are there any shifu who dont need us to travel down to shop/home base? Just send sms/make phone call to give parents and bb ba zi? Pay thru internet banking transfer? Lazy to go down... :p

Anyway, my bb kept me awake on Wed night. Sleepless night for me as he kept kicking. Found out from another thread that bb might have been kicking throughout cos he was frightened by the thunder. Thought he was naughty and wanted Daddy to scold him... LOL

There was once 2 weeks ago he kept kicking until my tummy hurts. Daddy came up and said "STOP IT" Immediately he stopped. So funny. Poor boy not even out and get scolding from Daddy. BTW, my hubby is a teacher..

my no.1 was super active in my tummy last time, kept kicking non stop and sometimes the lanyard will fly up a bit. Sounds exaggerate but is truth haha. Sometimes, she really made me feel distracted and disturbed then i beat my tummy and told her to stop kicking. She did stop haha..

Now no.2 not kick as much as no.1 but still ok. I noticed he prefer to kick at night esp when I stay in 1 position for quite long

Wow, this thread is moving faster than I thought.

BDQ: Happy Dental polishing. I did mine when I hot 3 mths cos I keep feeling my mouth/teeth going to rot to the core. Once I took the pre-natal vit pills, the rotting feeling was gone. I guessed I was lack of some vits in my diet then. The dentist told me there is nothing wrong with my gums/teeth.

My bb gal was 982g at wk 27. I will be seeing gynae on 9 June (wk 31) to see how much she has grown. Dunno if the gynae will schedule fortnightly visit after my next appt. Btw, I am scheduled to go on Group B streptococcus in my next visit by gynae's order. Dun worrie if your gynae din ask you to go for it cos my gynae either KS, or think I super rich. But for me, I myself is kiasu & kiasee, so better go for it.

Sakura: You made a right choice to have #2 early. I wish I could have my kids earlier too but too bad I cannot turn back time. Luckily there are a few first time mum in their 30s like myself. Hee heee...very heart warming to encourage each other here. Hohohohooo..

Yufeng: I am using my HL/MC to clear the days which I am not working so I am fully paid now. But I will exhaust all my leave by mid July. My company will either make me activate no pay leave (which I dun mind) or ML (which I personally dun wan).

Tunis: My fengshui master see fengshui in his house type. He got no shop. Seriously, I myself also dunno exactly how good he is. What he says about me is totally correct!!!! But he always say my hubby got good life/good this/good that which I cannot see leh!!

Tunis: My hubby oso always v fierce to bb. Always tell bb, dun kick your mummy...(everyday). But every morning he will kiss my tummy and say bye bye to bb before he leaves to work. But you know the funny thing is bb will not kick or move when hubby touches my tummy.

Cutie: I think good idea to do gift xchg. Better do it so the siblings got good r/s with each other. Nothing to lose oso. Just do it k.

I need to ask mtbs in this forum a question. Who is taking 1 bedder?

Problem is just now I spoke to my mum and said I am taking 1 bedder, then she said you should take 2 bedder. I told her KKH dun have 2 bedder. Then she told me to take the 4 bedder. I ask her why...she say so that I will have ppl to talk to me.

Now I am getting abit worried. Is it b/c after delivery will have depression if no one talk to you???

Re: Milk bottles

My gynae(KKH) asked me to get either Avent or Pigeon for milk bottles. I bought Avent newborn set.

Then in antenatal class (KKH), lactation nurse told us to get Pigeon standard bottle with the latex treat. She says that is the closest to our nipple...

Up to you guys to judge but just sharing on the milk bottles portion.

tunis: i dont have anyone in mind too and searching for master now because its my #1 baby

Cutie: its ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] every baby is differnent and different pace ba

pipilili: errm is it because of the cost? cost 1bedder definitely more expensive, maybe your mum wants you to save more$$?

i don't think childbirth will cause depression because most of my colleagues have 2 or more kids .How many years gap is good to have #2?

my hubby wants me to have 1 bedder as he says he wants me to rest well and more privacy.. personally i have no preference.

Hi mummies am glad to find tiz thread!!actualli i usually c master Ng for fengshui n name but i tght of try someone else tiz time lor.Wow pipi yr bb v big lei!i had my chk last sat in wk 26 my bb only 800+gm nia average

Abt the bttles i agree avent is gd cse hor pigeon the cap if drop often on floor v noisy n crack easily.i dunno changes how many pigeon n the teats liao!but the teats r realli v soft easy to suck lar but dun last long need to change v often..i oso in a dilema cse avent teats like v hard wor!

I like tat gift xchange idea shall look for the items at Gss!!!

pipi,

Think ur mom want u to save $ haha.. Thoughtful mom even think abt ppl u can chat to but I was in 4 bedded, seriously, we all didn't talk. Either too tired or too many visitors tat time, everybody juz draw their curtain up. I was lying down, couldn't slp but watch tv. If 1 bedded, ur DH can stay there to keep u accompany

Oh ya, rem u mentioned abt epidural. Dun need anybody to knock u out. My experience for my no.1 aft the epi was I only feel like passing motion but in fact bb was coming out. No pain at all even aft discharge, only feel numb on the wound and feel discomfort if walk too much.

I like to ask mummies how much NB & S diapers you all stock up? I am thinking to let my gal be on diapers than cloth nappies.

Pipi: I bought Pigeon steriliser and the bottles came with it. I am thinking whether to get Avent bottles as back-up, in case my gal reject pigeon. I will be going down to Taka tmrw to get more items.

elin,

Hmm actually for my #1,I used newborn Huggies diaper.Because each time she drinks the bm,she will poo.Therefore she drinks every 2 hourly,and tend to poo again.So huggies newborn is "cheaper"..But for night time,I let her wear Pampers newborn.

As for newborn diaper,u can actually stock up 2/3pkts first,and can always buy the newborn size if say ur gal has not outgrown to wear size S yet.

For me,I stock up 2 pkts,but once she finishes using the 2 pkts,I will buy again.Try not too stock up too many pkts in case the baby can wear size S as well.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thks shrrl..

I'm thinking to get 2 packs of NB diapers and more S size diapers first cos i heard bb will outgrow NB diapers quite fast. Cold storage having discount for Huggies Ultra M size diapers. Mummies can go see see if you are interested.

Finally... I see some LIFE of this thread. I was so tempted to join July thread coz more discussion there. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Now, i can stick to my own thread to have discussion here, so NICE!!! Thanks all mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah... Sakura... your bb is 1.7kg ah!!! My eyes open big big like gold fish now! Envy ler... what did you eat ah? ~_~

For the gift exchange, what i hear is, pretend the present is brought together with baby when she/he comes. So, when the NB gives presents to the elder sibling, the mum can always remind the elder sibling, must love the mei mei / didi, so that there is less chance of jelousy.

Hamtoro, day time, i don't really feel her movement. Only at nite or when i lie down. May be i'm too focus and busy with my work, so I didn't really notice her existence. Bad mummy I am, right?

But gynae did say, from now on, must be more sensitive. I realise if i drink kopi or root beer, she will move more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So, when I worry, i will eat something sweet like ice-cream, then can feel she is kicking, or on the baby music. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pipi, how come is work part time? You can also take 16 wks maternity then? I oso worried kena retrenched. Coz this whole 5 months, I didnt really work seriously. Coz of hubby's condition, he was in ICU back then, and then hosp, then my own GA operation for cyst etc, I have been like on and off from work. So, no real achievement like last year. Boss already "say" me for not proactive. But well, I think I can only live with it since I will start to hand over my work early Aug.

Cutie, the checkup for diabetes etc is mandatory? My checkup today is only normal urine test with dip strip only ler.

Tunis, the "master" that i went at Kallang, also have to down personally to pay first. Then when the baby is out, i can just call and give the date and timing, then they will propose the best stroke for the baby's chinese name.

For baby move at nite, if i'm too tired, I don't really feel. But if i have worries and can't sleep, I will always feel she is nite owl, keep awake whole nite long. So, I think more of if i tired enough or not bah.

Pipi, what is Group B streptococcus ah? I didn't hear of it ler.. My next appt is 3 wks later. According to nurse, after next visit, will be every 3 weekly.

My hubby is 43 le ler... even tougher right? also scared of retrenchment mah... then how? Aiya, i tell myself don't worry so much, but sometime will still worry de la.

Pipi...mine also same. When hubby put hands on tummy, bb will stop kicking ler... why ah? which before she kicks so vigorously, once he lays his hands on, bb stop woh! Why ah...

I'm taking 2 bedder. Mt E too expensive for 1 bedder, can't risk! If I can afford, i will want 1 bedder coz hubby can stay throughout with you. If 2 bedder, hb will kena kick out once after visting hours i think.

I also buying all Avents bottles so far!

Elin2201, so far, I stocked up Mamy poko - 1 pack of NB, 3 packs of S and 2 packs of Huggies Ultra M size, since now cold storage got promo, and most of my friends said, this is the top range of Huggies, and in fact, much better than Mamy Poko. So, since it's cheaper, I just buy 2 packs M (80 pcs) at 21.85.

Nite nite!

Morning all mummies ,

Just had my Mac breakfast . Feeling content now

Elin: for me I stocked up 3packs of newborn and 3packs of s size .. Not intending to use nappy. Babyfair at expo coming up[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's shopping time

hi yufeng! lucky you! my hubby totally ban me from macs. :sobs:

what is the quantity of 3 packs? 1 pack has 24 or 12? if newborn use up to 7-8 per day, means 80 pieces in 10 days! gonna use mid-year bonus for diapers le. heehee. dunnoe to stock up now or not...brands leh? Pampers, anyone?

i'm in week 31, last check-up bb's about 1.1kg. my total weight gain since start is 10kg. that's 2 bags of rice at sheng siong. i'm so worried about stepping on the weighing scale each time i go gynae. think most weight gathered at my thighs. yikes.

Queen, Group B strep is a virus that is not harmful to carrier, but something that may be passed to baby during his/her journey thru the birth canal. think it's a routine check-up at week 34-36 for us. if bb infected, has to be given antibiotics at birth. something like that lah.

BabyDreamy Queen: I went to stock up 2 pack of NB, 3 pack of S and 4 packs of M diapers this morning. I went Taka to get some bb items also. bb items quite comprehensive liao.. hehe! left with the washing to do.. u gotta think of yourself and bb first leh. some bosses are not empathetic even if they know about your predicament.. so no point talking much cos they don't feel for you.

yufeng: I think I'm late in stocking up diapers lo. or mayb i too kiasu liao... scared the things are not there by the time my gal arrives. hehe! I will also go down to motherhood fair at Expo next week to see see.

mrs lim: i self declare no fast food during pregnancy period but my hubby will persuade me to eat sometimes.. But hor, i will sometimes take sips of soft drinks cos weather really too hot already. pampers is cheaper at giant, carrefour or sheng shiong? so far these are the places my frens compare prices.

I'm in week 28. I had my checkup 2 wks ago.. bb is 800g and my weight gain is 10 kg. I almost fainted when i saw the number on the scale.

elin: stock up so much diapers? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyways, taka is having sale this weekend i suppose? I will pop down tomorrow bah. go walk off some of the fats accumulated in my elephant thighs!

When does motherhood expo start? I went to Baby expo in April, kinda disappointed with it as compared to Taka Baby Fair ler.

First-time mummy, super excited! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah seems all of u nt gg to use nappy cloth!Wont tt b v xiong mah?diapers so ex lei!!!i gonna use nappy day then night use diapers.

mrs lim: haha.. I just stock up some first and see whether the supermarts have any sale later on. Taka sale ending tmrw, additional 10% for Taka card holders. Motherhood fair at Expo starts on 2 Jun. Mi first time mum also... that's why a lot of things I read then ask and ask... haha...

Kris: The electrical dept have a lot of gd bargains. I went to get Tiger air port in case I need to store red date water during confinement. The Tiger food jar comes with FOC thermal flask and I saw a few preggie mums bought that. I got my food jar at Isetan sale earlier this yr. I went to get baby lotion, Pigeon breast pads and Pigeon wet wipes. Pigeon wipes pricing are controlled. I just took advantage of the additional discount. Saw a lot of pretty bb clothings on discount but I just skip that area. Once I start, I cannot stop. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wen: using nappy also quite siong esp the washing part. haha! just afraid bb genna nappy rash then no choice have to use cloth nappy. hubby said maybe use nappy in the day then at night use diaper to minimise damage to our pockets.. have to see how the situation goes...

Anyone booked Jamu massage already? Any mummies going to store bb's cordblood?

Elin:ya my no 1 had rash easily so we used nappy cloth realli heals instantly.So i shld use for tiz no 2 ba cse intend get maid to wash  i tink liner impt prob pigeon brand is good quality mre comfy n absorbent.frankly i like pigeon brand for many of its stuff except its pacifier,milk bottles.

1st x mummy sure excited haa enjoy!

My no 1 just went pd todae sigh need to b on nebuliser n me taking medicine till drowsy my bb oso nvr kick much today

elin- ooOoOoo.. I wanna get some of the pigeon wipes too then! I'm storing with Cordlife. They had a fair 2 weeks back at marina square. Went down and got it settled and received an Avent newborn starter kit. (yay! More bottles!)

If u wan some personal opinion on stem cord vs cordlife, pm me.

Wen- I definitely not getting CL and mum's working. So probably no one to help me much thru confinement and therefore diapers is the ONLY SANE way to go. Would love to have nappies if only me or hubby can bother to do laundry very few hours. Hai....

anyone leaking clear slightly sticky to touch discharge from ur nipples when squeezed? It's definately not milky. Like spots of white blood oozing out like that. Normal?? Experienced mummies can help answer me? Thankssss in advance!

Just had a bowl of instant laksa by Prima Deli... wah seh... yummy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs_Lim, my friend told me, NB can easily use up to 12 pcs a day. Some even once you change, before you "glue" up the diaper, bb poo again. So, you say la, change or not change ler? I bought Mamy Poko so far for NB size and S size. Thanks Mrs_lim, for explaning Group B strep. Will check with my gynae in next visit see what she says. For the Cordlife, do you know when they have another fair? Or if you refer, will you get something or will there be free starter kit as well? How much you pay for? Can PM me the opinion for stem cord vs cordlife? For the white stuff out from nipple, it could be the Colostrum? I read some prenancy and breastfeeding books, it says from 3rd trimester onwards, some ppl will have that (transparent or white discharge) and if can collect like 1 spoonful, can store in freezer to feed baby. I'm hoping to collect some, but till now, I yet to see any discharge.

elin2201, must also think about the boss, since they are the one to decide whether to kip us or sack us. So, very much in dilema as wanted to put ourself and bb as 1st priority, but bb nid milk and diaper, so got to be "nice" to boss oso. Sigh... I'm not born rich, not marry rich and can't make myself rich. So, can only try my best to juggle between all parties lo. ~_~ I will store cord blood. Which one you have decided? I have most likely decided on Cordlife. Have you decided yet?

Wen, I'm going to use the nappy clothes, coz i want to save on the diapers. Imagine each piece is 30 cents cheapest... so, if each day is 10 pcs, it's $3.00 daily, 30 days will be $90 bucks for non-consumables ler. Not yet add the rest... so, since it's "green" towards environment, I will try with nappy cloth. Unless weather no good, then will use diapers instead. So, will take each step as it comes la.. don't want to stress myself out.

I went to City Square at Farrer Park today. At Metro, many bb items discount at 20%, including Pigeon vegetable wash, round cotton ball, Pigeon disposable breast pad, Madela parts etc (15% disc)... you may want to consider to get some as it's really save a lot. 20% ler... so, just buy lo. ;) or just excuse to spend ah? ~_~

Babydream:ya i agree!if use diapers i tink v xiong for my hub cse i nt wkg lei!n really nb every few hrs change though diaper suppose to last few urine hor bt bb poo alot n oso skin canr tahan de!tt wat happen to my no 1 lor!

Mrs lim:ya if u no one help then bo bian use diaper if nt u b worn out!

I am sweatin profusely every moment man wanna sleep

Aircon bt cant cse my gal runng nose..

queen- cord life going to be at motherhood fair coming weekend at expo. (see the advert banner at top of screen) Usually when u sign up at fair, they will give u some freebies. But depending on which companies they tie up with at the fair. The price is creeping up slowly but surely by the months! My sis-in-law paid 150 lesser when she signed 6 months back! My advice is if already made up mind to bank cord blood, do at a fair! Will pm u in a while..

Wen- how's ur girl? Flu bug ah? These days the weather super crazy..hopefully august is cooler...imagine when we do confinement in this kind of heat! But! My mum said although cannot "chui" fan, aircon is ok! dunnoe the rationale behind it. Electricity bills sure shoot up in august. Hee.

Collect one spoonful of my breast juice? Sure not? I will have to squeeze till my breast burst leh!!!! Hahahahahaha. Baby hasnt got to latch my breasts gone Liao... Hahahahaha. So funny!!! Will check with my gynae at next check up then.

Stretch marks, girls?? How's baby movement tonight? Any karate kicks and kungfu punches? Queen, I craving for laksa too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yums!

wow, the thread is moving fast!

re: bb weight

wow, seems like bb weight is a wide range... anyway, no worry, bb weight will shoot up in 3rd tri... juz stay happy and bb will grow...

sakura, wow, urs will be a big baby!

re: bb movement

tunis, ur hubby very fierce hor... wait till bb is out -- bb will tekan him :p

my boy is really contorting my tummy with his kicks and stretching... if i m really tired, i bo chap him and zzz... he likes to hear my #1 voice -- will always kicks when hearing jie jie singing/talking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: cord blood

like i did for #1, i will doing it for #2 with cordlife... btw, during my #1, a number of the mtbs refer one another to get $50 off and then split amt... for example, when u sign up, add in the referral's info and that mummy will get $50 off... if 5 mtbs sign up, will get $250... split $250 among 6 mtbs or go for pig out session [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

planning to drop by motherhood fair next weekend to check if there is a good deal...

re: stretch mark

mrs_lim, yup, my stretchmark is getting worse ard my belly button area! strangely, i always apply the anti-stretch mark cream on that area first [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re: bottles

for #1, i used pigeon glass bottles with nuk teats... later stage then switch to avent bottles... will be doing the same for #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: nappy cloth or diaper

for #1, i thot of using nappy cloth and bought loads of them... in the end, used more diapers as dun wanna my mum to wash so many... only when baby has diaper rash then we used cloth diaper... so, will be using diapers this time.. oops, yet to stock up on diapers! my #1 is using nepia -- will probably order online and they will deliver to my place...

re: KKH 1 or 4 bedder

for #1, i took 1-bedder as hubby wanna stay with me. for #2, will be taking 1-bedder as well...

i only stayed one nite though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] gynae helped me to save $ -- asked me to walk in to labour suite at 6am... managed to get into a delivery room ard 7am+... clear bowels and settle in.. burst water bag and wait for "action" ard 9am+... gave birth @ 2pm.. check out next day noon after bb cleared all the tests [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wen: i wanna avoid rash as much as popssible ah.. i dun have maid so i have to wash if i going on cloth nappies. i bought lotsa pigeon products including the nappy liner.. hehe! the weather these days getting worse. 1 day it will rain and the next day super hot.. i perspire so much that keep on changing clothes.

mrs lim: I went to Cordlife talk at TMC. but i didn't sign up. They said they will have roadshow at motherhood fair. so likely to sign up with them next week. i heard the air from the fan will make ur body ache cos direct into the skin. aircon will not hv that effect. as for stretch marks, i can't see much leh. I ask my hubby to keep a lookout for areas i can't see. bb stretching quite a lot and will kick for food..

BabyDreamyqueen: i agree that the boss decides whether to keep or kick us.. but saying no EQ things to a pregnant woman is a no-no for a boss. my boss is like that also but heng her direct bosses are supportive ones lo. so not that bad. btw, how to store the colostrum ah?

adv_sports:i heard from frens that whether we have stretch marks depends on our genes. i just apply every morning and at nite. if really got the marks then next one maybe will not be so hardworking liao. I got 1 vertical line that run from belly to navel and continue after that. anyone has that? what's the difference between glass and normal bottle? Is nepia better than the other diapers in the market? I heard goon is another brand that can consider. Yesterday I went NTUC, there's a promoter for Huggies. She kept on pushing huggies ultra NB 24 ($6.95) to me. said it's very gd and very value for $. haha...

Morning MTBs,

Wow you guys are very active on weekends as well. Hahaha...good lah, at least this thread is more ALIVE now.

Cordblood:

I was very pro signing up for my bb with cordlife but decided to ask gynae after hearing mixed comments. In the end, gynae also pro SCBB, so I will be donating my baby's cord blood. Anyway donating is also like doing good deed. But it's really up to individual. (I just trust what my gynae says) But if I really need to sign up, will sign with Cordlife cos they are more reputable.

Milk Bottle:

I bought Avent newborn kit and will can stand by the Pigeon standard bottle with latex treat after hearing what lactation nurse from KKH says.

Diapers:

I think good to standby cloth diapers as well, in case your bb got nappy rash. Dun think you want to put on pampers afer bb got rash cos their skin so delicate. I will move to cloth if bb kanna diaper rash.

For diapers, will standby 2 pks of NB and 2 pks of S too. The diff b/w NB and S is NB got a cut for the cord so won't "hurt" the bb.

Btw, I am using the diaper cloth as blanket to wrap bb up at home, cum pillow. Cos thta's what my mum did to the 4 of us and she says the material is not thick, it's cheap and economical and bb likes to be wrapped up to feel secure. So will be using those diaper cloth to wrap bb instead of bb blanket. (So cheapo horr)

Stretch marks:

I got stretch marks at my buttocks preg preg cos nvr do warm up before running. Hahaha...Around my tummy I cannot see anything...The stretch marks you guys are talking about is it the red types??

KKH 1 bedder or 4 bedder:

I am taking KKH 1 bedder too, I just hope there is a dedicated burse there to help me. My gynae at TPS didn't push me to get the 1 bedder, but he says 1 bedder, hubby can accompany me overnight.

BB kicking:

My bb gal is more active if I drink KOPI O that day...that's what I noticed. My hubby v happy when bb kick, but I feel uncomfy sometimes when bb kick cos she is like a little kungfu kiddo - kick everywhr and anywhr w/o warning, esp when I am sitting down enjoying TV session.

Massage:

I am signing up with Jamu massage. The price is in their website.

Work:

My boss is not married so dun think she will understand what I am going thru. But so far I am quite lucky cos though she dun understand, she dun put pressure on me to go back to work when I can't. For that, I am v appreciative.

Things I haven't buy:

- Thermal Flask - (1L) and (1.5L)

- Pigeon Wipes

- Cotton bud (for cleaning cord)

- Cotton pad (for cleaning eyes)

- Dettol Soap + soap container (for washing hands before handling bb. During antenatal class (KKH) nuse said better to use soap+water than handwash(lotion type) cos handwash may not be able to kill e-coli batceria. My hse is using lotion handwash now so I gotto buy the soap container and put it in our bathroom/kitchen sink/laundry area to prepare for bb's arrival.Just sharing.

- Diapers 2xNB, 2xS

- Bathtub

- A mobile table big enuff for bath tub + bb to dress up. (cos nurse say not ideal to bath bb in the bathroom. Better to do everything on a table whr MTB do not need to bend.) I may use majong table. Just sharing.

I should be getting most of my items from NTUC @ Nex. So am waiting for good offers. Hee hee.

I was antenatal class (KKH) and I find that KKH antenatals class is actually teaches us how to save $$$ when a NB arrives. Ie: Johnson bath wash only need a few drops into water and they verified this w J&J.

Nuse also said no need to buy cord spirit cos I was searching everywhr for it...she said we can use boiled water to clean bb cord which will drop off after 1 week or the most 2 weeks.

Nurse also dun encourage powder on bb cos bb may suffer from pneumonia. She mention the lesser chemicals(lotion, oil, moisturiser on bb, the better. But if your bb got those type of dry skin on their head, then yes you need to put oil on bb and oil in the bath water.

So far, I think I dun regret signing up with KKH cos I think their teaching is more economical + try to help new mummies to save + teach you how to take care of NB. ***GOOD***

adv: ur gynae's KIND! some others just heck care, in middle of the night will still ask to charge for emergency charges. :eek:

pipi: my stretch marks have gone from light pink to deep purple streaks across my lower tummy, below the belly button. getting more and more obvious. even though I've started using clarins stretch marks control cream since week 12. sians. my mum had it too. can't be helped. it's in the genes. I read on my SIL's FB something sweet...like "every time you have a dream..each time you move your fist..i have something to remember you by..." so next time boy boy naughty, i pull up my shirt and show him "SEE! because of you, i have these permanent scars! still don't behave!" heehee.

Ladies, I've been trotting to major supermarkets... this is what I've found...

PAMPERS NB(~5kg) (24s):

1. NTUC: $8.45

2. Cold Storage: $9.10

3. Carrefour: $8.36

-didn't see any at sheng siong near my place, so no comparison-

Anyway, if you've posb everyday card, can get rebate at carrefour too! Bought 2 packs of Pampers NB there yesterday.

Following elin's shopping advices, I went to Taka today to grab the fast-diminishing pigeon products. Great buys i found there:

- Pigeon baby wipes (3 packs of 82): $10.50 (before 10% for Taka members)

- Pigeon steriliser tablets (32): $6.70 (before 10%)

- Pigeon breast pads (60+12 free): $13.90 (before less)

All in all, good values! happy! Thanks elin for the great advice!

pipi: go to Ikea for some of the furniture there, some of the changing units are both functional and pretty. I've bought one set which doubles up as drawers and changing unit. The top portion can be removed when baby's older and it becomes a chest of drawers. You can find no-frills bath tub there too. If you don't wanna bend, can get those plastic stool to sit on when baby's slightly older. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

elin shared that thermal flasks were going on sale at Taka too. If you have time after reading this, pop down before they close! U may find good buys there if you're not too tired or far from town.

NEX Isetan has a section selling Pigeon items at their baby section. If you have Isetan card, 10% off too! as NTUC's usually not stocked up in wide range of Pigeon stuff.

hahhahaha. by now, you ladies may think i'm a crazy shopaholic. I go around comparing prices and whatnot. I'll be going on 0.5 year of no-pay leave after 4mth ML, so got to save save save! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wen: me popping down giant sembawang soon! to get my Kotex maternity pads and disposable undies. will share my buy soon! hee! I need to get huggies NB diapers following what my SIL said. She said that huggies NB is smaller than Pampers NB. Pampers NB more like huggies S size. TMC (where i'm gonna deliver) is using huggies as well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks Mrs_lim. ;) Will decide soonest. But i'm a person who didn't like to go to fair, coz too crowded. So, most likely will sign up at the gynae's office only. Will see how, too heavy to walk around these days.

elin2201, which NTUC u went that got promoter for Huggies? If Huggies Ultra in purple packaging, that should be good. 6.95 considered cheap for Huggies Ultra i think. But if other range of Huggies, i heard some friends said not as good.

Pipi, I also use the nappy cloth to wrap baby. This is what my mum did to my nephew / niece. But can only last till like 1 week after birth, coz after 1 wk, they will get use to without wrap, and they will expose their hand and feet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Let's observe.

i got the Naval lines, which is getting darker day by days. I read from baby center, it's absolutely normal. Yet to see strech mark yet... hope it didn't hit me. Keep fingers crossed.

Wen, how much is the offer for Mamy Poko at Giant for 72 pcs?

Wah...Mrs_lim, u got many good buy yah. ;) Share share after you compare the price yah.... ~_~

was hse keeping my clothes tdy and packing bb items. very tired now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] now i gan chiong cos my antenatal class only going to start next wk. by the time i finish the classes, i will be popping liao.. was late in registering for the class.. haiz...

pipi: I'm thinking to use the cotton pad i used to remove my makeup for bb. don't know whether it's gd enough. I'm not getting bath tub. Mt A will give and if they don't, i have 1 given by my mum when I got married. I will be booking my Jamu massage this week. Hee! at least ur boss is gd not to stress u up.. my boss is married but no kid.. wkdays will sms mi late at nite, wkends also will do that also.. mental stress even during resting times..

mrs lim: wahh... lotsa gd buy tdy siah.. hehe! the pigeon wipes is a steal.. i wanted to get more but we have too many items liao.. so end up just bought 6 packs. Tollyjoy wipes (3 packs, 70 pcs) cost $7.90. I bought that at NTUC. I wanted to go on no-pay leave so that I can look after my bb longer but financially not viable. So i envy leh...

BabyDreamy Queen: the Huggies Ultra promo seem to be at all supermarts. I din see the packaging but it says huggies ultra. ;p Mamy poko S 72 is more than $21.90 at NTUC leh... can go and buy.. I bought swaddler so will be using that.

Queen: You're welcome! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wen: Really arh? Cutting too small? Then I'll hold on to buying it then, since TMC will give one packet for bb when he comes home. If really needed then, will get hubby to run to NTUC to buy bah. heehee.

elin: me packing my delivery bag this coming week too! My EDD's on 2nd Aug, but probably going to pop earlier, since my mum had me and my brothers at around week 38. She said this will run in the family. Good gauge to speak to your mum. AND! my colleague popped at 34th week! totally unexpected! Lucky she was at home then. So she kept urging me to pack my stuff early.

I signed up for course late too! starting on 7 Jul with TMC for 4 weeks. June hols I'm more free (working in education service) therefore can only make it for this month's classes.

NPL is a hard decision, cos all mums/grandmas/aunts all not available to take care of baby and i reluctant to send my bb to infant care at such young age. me and hubby got to save all money possible.

Anyway, where do u ladies live around??