(2011/08) Aug 2011

Hi babysee...

I think I am able to differentiate gas movement and baby movement. Coz sometimes there's bubbling esp when we have ms, but this one i feel like the baby "bouncing" around inside. For 5mth onwards we'll be able to feel kicks.

i sign up for Mrs Wong class too, from 28 Apr onwards.. seems like we have different date, cant meet u all. I have not pay for the class yet, will wait for the detailed scan then i make payment at the same time.

Btw, those who join Mrs Wong “childbirth education course”, is TMC hospital tour included? Thanks!

I am from Feb 2011 thread. I have some baby gift sets to let go cheap! All brand new!

Great for your newborn or as gifts =)

[Refer below for photos]

Set 1 - $12 (Winnie the Pooh 6 pcs set)

Pls note: Set 1's Box is slightly dented. Good for own use though.

Set 2 - $12 (Benbeni 5 pcs set)

Set 3 - $10 (Wonderchild 4 pcs set)

Set 4 - $15 (Max Cool 7 pcs set)

Set 5 - $15 (Pureen 7 pcs set)

Set 6 - $2 (Mt A mittens, booties, bibs, towel set)

Set 7 - $2 (Enfapro cloths, socks, towel set)

FREE Set 6 OR 7 for purchases of 2 sets & above! While stock last!

Self collection at Choa Chu Kang Street 62.

PM me if keen!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169627.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169628.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169629.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169630.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169631.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169632.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5169633.jpg]

crystal > i think Mrs Wong's class is not held at TMC itself.. so if you want to join the hosp tour, u will need to go on a separate trip / during ur detailed scan...

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm

Hospital Tours

To familiarise yourself with our services and facilities before your delivery, you may wish to join our hospital tours conducted daily

at 11am and 2pm, except on Sundays and Public Holidays.

The itinerary includes visits to the labour wards, rooms, nursery, Thomson ParentCraft and Patient Service Centre. Do sign-up at the Information Desk or call 6250 2222.

I'm trying not to buy stuff now - cos it's only 15weeks. I will wait until after the 20th week detailed scan where it is a detailed check on baby's organs and hopefully a more confirmed check on gender. Anything still can happen.

For baby diaper - some brands of diaper cutting is smaller eg Huggies, others have larger cutting eg Nepia, Mamy Poko, Pampers. I had 3 packs of nb size & 5 packs of S size Huggies diapers free with a goody bag when I signed up for Cordlife at a motherhood fair at Expo.

Diaper will use up very fast - will change 10-12 times daily especially if baby is on total breasmilk cos poopoo many times. Better to change more than change less of diaper rash is no joke.

I used Huggies nb at the start, good quality. Moved on to Huggies S size then pampers nb size, then pampers S size. I think after that I tried almost every brand!

My son was born at 40weeks + 3days at 3.6kg (large baby) and he was consistently at 97th percentile. Pampers nb size was too big at the start - can pull until armpits lol!

Would advise getting a mix of diapers so you can see what you and baby prefer. Now I use petpet for daytime cos it's cheap & gd, but I won't use it for nb - texture is slightly rougher. I use Mamy Poko for night cos it's absorbent & can last thru the night

Correction - he was about one inch over the 97th percentile in baby health booklet consistently from first visit to paed!! For both height & weight.

Morning,

How big is your bump now?

I tot mine still small but suddenly yesterday it expanded cos my MS reduced n I put on some weight.

To my horror it is already 36" ... Is that big for now?

Cham, though I have history of big tummy but this is so big already ...

MuffinGirl,

My #2 came out 3.65kg at early week 39.

He's tallest in class n heaviest at 30 months n now using XXL diaper though I am short, not skinny though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Easy to care for but they outgrow baby cuteness atage very fast cos of their size n I often unknowingly expect he should be more mature than his age ...

Big but kenna bully by smaller size ones ... Cos mommy teach him cannot fight. He only cry n complains.

Gender Updates anyone??

===============================

9 April - Gathering @ Queens Condo, Function Rm

Please join the Facebook Secret Group for details. :p

Add [email protected] - pls state your nick in SMH for me to add into the group.

No I mean when I wan to post on fb, they dun provide a button to comment cos I using safari , ao how to activate the posting? When I press return it gives me a new line in the textbox.

Hi Carole,

Added you in FB. Nick: Lehcar. email: [email protected]

Oh I'm in my 17 wks and I'm starting to feel BB moving. Though this is my #2, it's still amazing. Can't wait to see bb on sat and hopefully can see the gender then. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i jus felt the first movements this morning. its really like a butterfly fluttering inside! i'm coming to 18 wks

good morning mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: multivitamin n fish oil

juz to check, do u take them in the morning or at nite?

i have been taking them in the morning after my breakfast -- but will feel nauseous and puke after 1-2 hour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] somehow, i feel i m puking the fish oil(some weird after taste)... puking may be due to my MS but m thinking should i take it before i sleep so that my baby can absorb all...

adv_sports> I take them near the noon time instead. coz like u, I puke once with my bf... the taste of the fishoil makes me puke more so I wait till my bf is digested. my gf mentioned to take at nite but am worried of water retention if I take them at nite...

i'm gg gynae today... hopefully can find the gender so that I can CHIONG my shopping at taka baby fair... haa...

I dreamt that it's a baby girl again... and my hb seems disappointed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] although in reality he's ok with any gender...

bbPotato & babysee, thanks for sharing...

will switch to taking at nite and hope my MS will be better in the day time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babysee, hope u can see gender today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] baby girl is very fun -- can dress up and get many cute accessories! I hv so much fun dolling my #1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

adv: i take all my med in the night before bed... cal and multi-vit 3 hours apart tho cos i think will affect absorption. so calcium at 7pm and fish oil + multivit at 10pm then sleep to avoid feeling nauseous

I am selling away my brand new Brest Friend pillow - brestfeeding purposes which I bought 2 weeks ago from TMC.

The original price tag of $81 and plastic cover is still intact.

Please pm me or email to me at [email protected] if you are interested. I am willingly to let go at a cheaper price and pickup at raffles place [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5172180.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5172181.jpg]

http://www.mybrestfriend.com/products/original-pillow

Those who had #1 before, may I check with you if we are not supposed to drink hot plain water after birth? I heard it will cause water retention???? True/False?

I heard we had to drink Milo or Red Dates Water?

Anyone know how to boil red dates water? (Just red dates + rock sugar??)

Those who had #1 before, may I check with you if we are not supposed to drink hot plain water after birth? I heard it will cause water retention???? True/False?

chinese theory cannot drink water.. Angmoh is not hue.. simi also can.

I heard we had to drink Milo or Red Dates Water?

yes the above and incl. Annum's milk for bf-ing mothers.

Anyone know how to boil red dates water? (Just red dates + rock sugar??)

add black dates and longan too. rock sugar can omit if the tea is already sweeten by red dates. :p

~PiPi,

NO plain water coz chinese believe is liang and will cause wind, so strongly recommend red date + dried longan + dried wolfberries + ginger slice(optional)

no need to cook or boil, u can just add all the ingredient together then pour in hot water until the flavour is out and drink while is warm not COLD

no need rock sugar coz all the ingredient r giving the sweetness (except ginger)

Anyone taking fish oil prescribe from KKH? My doc gave me Dhaxtra softgel (contain Arachidonic acid and equiv Oleic Acid) Wanted to see whether pharmacy is selling cheaper but the pharmacist told me usually doc don't prescribe med with acid... now abit worried...

pipi

no drinking of plain water is just old folks tales lah... no such thing.. but of cos mum will nag nag nag... i was so thirsty during confinement lor.. i stole a few sips lah after i got sick of drinking only milo and longan drink.

My mum boiled teh longan drink for me.. it's very sweet without rock sugar. just red date, black dates, dried longan, ginger slice. suppose to get rid of wind with ginger slice lah.. she didnt put alot of ginger at my request. haha.. We need a lot of liquid during breastfeeding!

lehcar

i'm taking Dhaxtra softgel too... errmm took it for #1 as well and now #2 also given the same thing. should be safe ba. But no idea where to get it cheaper. i just pay whatever i kanna charged by gynae. lazy to source around as most likely i will end up not eating it. haha

Hi Milkyway, thanks. Haha, trying to save $ and see whether outside is selling cheaper and then the pharmacist made me worried by saying that. The gynae charge me $50 bf gst...

Lehcar, just to share my findings as I did a mini research on fish oil with some help of mummies' sharing here.

i bot mine from Unity Pharmacy, brand is NeurograinPB+. Contents:-

320mg DHA

40mg EPA

35mg AA (Arachidonic acid )

2.5mg mixed tovopherol

Prior to that, I went Nature Farm, a few Guardians, Watson pharmacy, GNC and everyone give me different versions... so I pieced the info and got this conclusion:-

- Look for fish oil with min 300mg DHA

- Apparently, it is common to find the acid u mentioned in fish oil specifically for prenatal consumption. It's related to Omega 6. so I suppose it's ok. Anyway it's a small amount. Even the brand my gynae is recommending also carries a small amount of the acids u mentioned.

- GNC was pushing for this "pure" fish oil with 500mg DHA (no EPA) only. It's above my budget anyway...

- Nature Farm shared that for prenatal fish oil, mums should take the ratio 5 DHA: 1 EPA

- From my readings online and comparing all fish oil specifically for preggy/bf-ing mums, it is indeed more than 5 DHA: 1 EPA

clause: above are purely my understand... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm new in this thread. EDD in early Aug. I already have a 3 1/2 year old boy in nursery this year. Hope to chat with you ladies often [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lehcar - most of the fish oils we take are made of all those acids cos fish oil is DHA, AA mah. Pharmacist must be new at KKH and has no experience with pregnant women, either that or she is not a pharmacist but a salesperson who is jut talking rubbish! Don't worry!

Thanks babysee and Muffingirl, thats very informative. Gd, now more at ease aft confirmation from you gals.. will get more from gynae this sat as mine finishing soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Carole, no such thing! As long as you avoid alcohol, excessive caffeine and dangerous medicaions - you can drink all the water etc that you like!

Drink more water (or other drinks) - make more breastmilk!

My nanny told me can only drink the red dates tea - she make, I drink (when it is cold, weather so hot how to drink hot drinks in August??)

red dates tea can cause some staining of teeth ah - dentist advice - but just do a cleaning with dentist can clear the stains.

I also drink bubble tea daily, remember!

I don't pee much volume but I produce heck of a lot of milk!! More than my son could consume - and he was a fat guzzler in the early months!

Muffin Girl, you mean when you were doing confinement, you drank bubble tea?!?!?! You serious???

This is my #1, so CL told me cannot drink cold drinks....(I mean I met my CL to give her deposit) then she chit chat with me. I told her I dunno anything and abit worried. She's quite nice, told me to be happy, not to worry too much...She says she will take care of everything once baby is out...*I hope so*

hi all...

hows everyone!!!

now me having headache.. coz arrival of bb 2 in aug.. and now bb 1 is only 13months.. thinking of where to put her? as in which school [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

any mummies have any suggestions? i live around kallang.....

Celia,

Have a maid? Can take care of 13 mths old, can clean the hse for you.

Send to childcare? But it will only be for a few hrs right?

Ask mum/mil to help?

muffin: darling girl, see properly lehz.... i was answering PIPI, that even Angmoh drink water..i added SIMI ALSO CAN. and i know they drink coke during confinement. I m the most modern considering among all mummies and i m not bounded with any of this old wives tale at all. You dont need to tell me.

just to add on... i ate WHOLE 1 recipe of Secret Recipe cake during confinement.. so what is all these wives tale to me? :p

LATEST NEWS on YAHOO:

Newborn left to die at staircase landing

I wonder who are the parents...maybe out of wedlock? But the baby is soo innocent. If I got no baby, I sure take this baby.

Lol. Need to change specs!

Yes I drink bubble tea daily during confinement.

I bathe everyday and wash my hair everyday - I give face to my confinement nanny and I dried my hair most of the time with hairdryer. I also bathe at night cos I cannot tahan going to sleep all sweaty and yucky!

(in confinement, you feel very hot and keep sweating and feeling sticky! How not to bathe??!)

I sleep in aircon room 25degrees with my baby who is swaddled up.

I don't eat anything herbal or with wine.

I'm in healthcare line, these confinement rules are ok for if you are living in cold rural China but excuse me this is Singapore, hot and humid, especially August!!!

Confinement rules are not justified lol. My doctor friends also sama sama lol!!!

For me, I also quite naughty.. slept in air con, bathe and wash hair every day.. also go out sometimes secretly hehe

But for food wise, I just follow whatever my confinement ILs cook or make for me, so just drank lotsa red date longan tea. Dun mind lah.. its so sweet and nice and I got sweet tooth. Drank lotsa soup. Also happy and produce lotsa milk =)

I read somewhere that the confinement practices came from China, in winter when its really cold so they need a lot of warming stuff after losing so much blood. Singapore really so hot and humid lah =)