(2011/08) Aug 2011

babydreamqueen,

Let me chk with gynae this Fri, then I let you know about the swimming. Recently my lower back is aching like hell, when I lie down and get up, its very pain. I think I need to ask gynae.

joyjoy, i m seeing dr loh this fri [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can't wait to see bb and hopefully can see gender!

shane, *wave*, taking care of ur girl is oledi an exercise :p i used to be active in sports so felt lethargic if i dun exercise... plus MS so bad -- need to exercise to take my mind off :p

tiggi, yah, her studio is in the west. remember another mtb mentioned abt yoga class in simei??

i m wearing my 2pc swim suit (wore it during #1) -- now the top covers 3/4 of my tummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

changni, hope our MS will go away soon! ,

I also want to start swimming too! Need to ask gynae for permission?

My MS came back today.. feeling so green... literally..

Yvonne: Welcome!

Hi all mommies. I'm super new here. My EDD is 25th aug. I read afew posts just now & I really cried! Being preg have so many symptoms & I'm 1 that is suffering from 2mth till now. From abdominal pain to gastric to vomiting everyday & not just am. When gastric, eat something then puke. Dun eat pain. I was like WTH. What bb wants? So frustrating till I cried almost everyday.

hi adv_sports, wonder if I can get details of the prenatal yoga class in the west fr u?

Need help!! Wonder if anyone knows and can recommend part time maid / transfer maid that can work for short period? My helper will be leaving for a 2-3 weeks break before returning for another 2 yr contract. For that period, I'll need help with my son who is currently at a very active stage and so active that at times, I fear that he may kicked me in the tummy. Quite a monkey as he's climbing every chair, couch and table he can find. Frankly speaking, without help, looking after him is a little overwhelming for me. A bit paiseh as many mummies I know are coping really well by themselves. Any mothers have similar experience and can share with me?

I was on 1mth unpaid leave & went bk wrk for a day & admitted to KK due to dehydration so need to be on drip. Given 2weeks mc but I hope to extend so emailed. Waiting for their reply. I hope I can go bk to wrk when I'm stable

stefy: *pat pat* look forward to the days that MS will be reduced... mayb towards mid 2nd trim, the MS will totally disappear.. just hang on for a while more.. in the mean time, take as much rest as possible. just pay all attention to baby and ur body and nothing else.. dun think about going back to work.. once u r all well, u definately can go back to work....

Think my ms is coming back after a few weeks break again.. I'm already in my 16th week now! Sigh.

Carole: can help me update my bb's gender? My gynae says my bb high chance to be a boy! Have to wait till detailed scan to be confirm though. =p

Stephanie,

Dun worry, I am also suffering from bad ms, like 7-8 times per day. Everything goes in everything comes out. Terrible feeling but it got better already.

Now like 3-4 times a day, puke badly also but it will feel better. Join us n u know u are not alone. U'll feel better.

Dun cry ok? Hugs. Quite a few of us also bad mS.

Try eat whatever u can eat n then puke out later.

For me I dun even have appetite. I just eat n puke, puke n eat .... Good la, wun gain weight. Free detox for me, haha.

Think positively.

Hi Carole,

Guess you've missed my post earlier.

kindly pls update as I've changed my gynae.

Baby #1, EDD 15 aug, Dr Adrian Woodworth.

adv_sports - is there?? i'm bad at this. i only remember you mentioning abt the yoga. Let me dig back previous posts..

Shane,

Dunno how he is but I believe he is very busy.

My previous Gynae, Dr woody is even more chop chop - 5 mins .. Hahha, I changed him at almost before delivery of my second child due to his indifference, cos either character or business.

Now I am with dr Adrian tan from TMC, he is very nice, chats with u n jokes with u, puts u at ease.

I dun mind that I pay more to be have a happy visit. More exp than woody but I feel it's worth it. Else everytime see the gynae not happy will affect our mood n may worry more.

Get one u comfortable with his style. I stuck to woody cos he was cheaper but dun expecf much from him. Some pple loves him but not me.

Base on your own comfort level n get one u r happy with. Afterall, u are paying good money too.

Dunno why I will auto wake up at 5ish every morning, later when it's time to go to work, I will be very sleepy ....

Anyone having this symptom? Even if I sleep at 2am, still auto alarm . ..... Haha.

Carole,

I haven't joined the fb group yet cos so busy , dunno later will flood my fb cos got so many things to followup Liao.

When I join means all the personal posts by every member in the ss will appear on my fb news feed too?

The list is so long! So many pole delivering in aug or cos its rabbit year? After the tiger year, hahha.

Some more so many princes Liao , keeping mine crossed. I wan a princess.... Praying hard.

Hi Joan,

Just to share regarding your active boy. My 2nd boy is 2 yrs 7 mths and he's super active too. Very different from 1st son who is so well-behaved. My 2nd son will jump around and is not scared even when I scold him. I dun dare to bring him out all by myself, unlike 1st one whom I can bring to town single-handedly.

Recently I brought no2 out to meet some friends. One of my friends asked me why I didnt get him assessed for ADHD/hyperactivity etc, which actually hurt me when I heard that. But after consulting other friends and family members, they assured me that kids at this age are very active, just that some are luckier to have more well-behaved kids.

What I wanna say is do not feel that you're any less capable of looking after him. He's just going thru a very active phase [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Joan: Are you looking for a part time maid, like once a week kind or a stay in maid? I got part time maid from agency, comes once a week.

Shint: Me me! I also got auto alarm, wake up myself early every morning unless I take medicine.

Shane: I told my gynae I had tummy ache and bloating, as well as headache too. He also din give me any medicine, say its a pregnancy symptom, will go away by itself later in 2nd trimester, so 'ren' for the time being. So maybe Dr John Tee isnt that different?

~mommies,

thanks for the adv and sharing, i m not alone..

i know this phase will pass, trying to cope wf my tireness now..

i will spend precious time wf #1 whenver i could, in the bus on the way home, on the way to work etc [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

~Shane,

ur child is learning to walk, maybe u can try this.. need to bend that low to hurt ur back..

use the nappy, fold into big triangle, place the nappy on ur child's chest and both end go below her arms, u juz need to the both ends of the triangle from the back.. HOld tight then let her walk.. few China aunties taught me this and works for my #1, she learnt to walk fast by using this method [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shane,

That is the common reply from gynae about tummy. bloatedness. Cos I told my gynae that and he said its normal and there is nothing you can do about it. It will be reduced in the morning.

One way to make it less bloated is to walk more in the evening (tea time 4-5pm the best) When I walk alot the other day, I realised my tummy not so big. I hope this helps.

good morning mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shane and joyjoy, aqua aerobics is fun -- i did that prior to being pregnant. exercising in the water with the help of water bouyancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tiggi, i also cannot remember who is the mtb who mentioned yoga in the east...

joan, i hv PM the info on prenatal yoga to u...

shint, i m so tired from waking up numerous times in the nite -- to pee or auto wake up... guess this is bb's way to prep us for nite feeding :p

re: weak bladder

haiz, with bad MS, i will leak every time when i puke -- even though i try to clear before puking... put on panty liner also need to change... remember one mtb said abt kiap legs to prevent leaks -- i hv to do that, too! hubby secretly laughs when i stop walking suddenly and cross my legs :p so mtbs, do practise pelvic floor exercise regularly!

Envy and good to you for those who go to swimming and gathering..

Poor me can only stay at home.I got no courage to go out for more than 1 hour.

Even go ta bao food downstair of my block will cause me puking on the way back home, lousy me.

PinkDaisy, My boy is 2yrs 5mos and very active too. I was worried that he is hyperactive baby.But hubby assured me that child tend to like that, if he is "gong gong" and sit down to play by himself quietly then you must worry.

Now I got no more worry. ACTIVE BABY = CLEVER BABY..hahahaha

shane> u also with KKH right, u can email to [email protected] to request for the application form & the course structure... some mommies here i think they have registered for the Mar'11 intake which commence on 12th March [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

adv_sports> wow how nice u be able to see bb gender this week, i think i need to wait for another 1 month cos i am approaching 14 weeks soon... for weak bladder no med to cure??? recently i been going to the toilet quite often but sometimes nothing to pee just feel my bladder is full [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Re: Remedy for MS

I have got a remedy from my mother to cure the MS cos i told her that i had very bad MS for the past 2 months... This is what she cook for me - kampong chicken stuffed with red dates & wolfberries steam for 2.5 hours (no need to add water & soya sauce or salt), been feeling better these few days though i still have dizzy spell in the evening [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mama,

Yes, it's true that active babies are smarter. My son can pick things up very fast. I mention a word to him once and he can remember even after many weeks. I'm impressed. Just have to be more active to catch up with him lor.

I can't wait for my appt on 7th March. Hopefully can see gender. For both my elder children, can only see during detailed scan. Maybe my tummy too thick [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

MS

I'm so relieved that my MS not that bad anymore. I dun feel so sluggish, so using this opportunity to catch up with my backdated marking etc. My colleague in same dept went for ivf and im the only permanent teacher in the dept. Luckily 2nd tri has been kind to me. Those still having ms, be positive, it'll be okay soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi! First time I'm posting here in Aug mummies thread.

I'm expecting my #2, EDD 22 August, my gynae is Dr Yeap ML at TMC

My #1 is a boy who is almost 19months old

Carole, I will add you on fb to join the secret group for discussions lol.

Hello to all newcomers and WOW the thread really moves fast!

I'm getting MCs for all my discomfort.... My lady boss is not at all happy with me.... hope all MTB will "ESCAPE" black face from their bosses too....

Hello MuffinGirl,

From which mth thread of 2009? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Care to teach me how to join facebook or even have an account too???

pinkdaisy...

Hope you'll have a girl this time.... And a active and healthy one!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink Daisy - Tks for that. Am glad I'm not alone in handling active tods. Just that at this stage, it's esp tiring. I normally wouldn't go out with him alone either. My mum had asked if it's possible he's got ADHD - hv to concede, it did cross my mind too. But funny thing is he can sit quietly to watch Special Agent Oso for the entire 30 mins. My PIL don't even dare to carry my boy. During cny when MS+tiredness was at its peak, I just completely gave up and got my maid to take over. My MIL wld dig at me saying I can't even manage my 1st one, how am I going to take care of my 2nd baby. Kind of hurts but I've now resigned to getting external help ... sigh :S

sus: Actually, wanted a full time maid for 2-3 weeks. Need someone to help me share the load of keeping an eye on my active tod. Does your agency provides that? Wld be good if you can recommend. Tks heaps in adv [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shane - I am with John Tee too. You're right in saying he's always smiley. My prev Gynae at KKH doesn't smile at all and also provide no solution to my preg symptoms. Worse, he wld say "U asked for it!". Gynae at private practice wld be more empathic. Had seen Dr Kowa at Mt Elizabeth and he was so friendly and helpful. But in the end still choose KKH over its specialist women and children expertise. Re bloatedness, not sure if you'll want to try ginger tea? They are very good with expelling wind and my mum always ask me to suck on ginger during 1st tri to cope with MS.

Adv_sports - received the p/yoga info. Tks.

Cutie - that's a brilliant idea to use nappy help them walk. Wished I know it earlier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Carole, can you pls add me to the SS group?

Hi all mommies! Long time no see. Hope everyone is fine and well. =)

joy joy and shane:

Are u both going for the aqua-aerobics at KKH?? I didn't even know there was such a programme! I'd love to join you ladies if you're going. But maybe in a couple of weeks' time when I hit the middle of my 4th month or so. Now I'm still a little cautious when it comes to activities. Do let me know if you're on for it and when! =)

soulvacation> long time nv hear from u, hope u are coping well with your work... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have u done your OSCAR scan already?

Shane> can add me @ [email protected] to your FB, am chking the schedule for April'11 intake aqua-aerobics when i go my nxt doc visit so can share with u all once i have the details [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cheuk Ling,

Thank you so much for the well wishes. Yes, I really really hope to have a girl. Only god knows how I long for a girl. Looking at those pretty pink dresses and hairpins only make me yearn more [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And of coz, more importantly, a healthy baby...

Joan,

Just over a few hours, I actually did some reading on the internet on ADHD, and I have decided to get him assessed. I'm going to James Cook University Psychology Clinic for his assessment to be done by interns. I think it wont be of any use if i keep denying it, but on the other hand, i will definitely have a peace of mind if he's not ADHD after all. Just hoping for the best. I made this decision coz I read that it's better to get it diagnosed as early as possible. And being a teacher myself, I know how difficult it is handling students with ADHD esp those undiagnosed ones coz parents refuse to acknowledge. At least if i know he is really ADHD, I can handle him better with professional advice.

Working Environment

My heart goes out to mummies with unsympathetic colleagues/bosses. So far I'm blessed to be in a school which is pro-family. My P is very concerned abt my well-being and will advise me to take MC if I'm not well. Yesterday, my VP asked if I'm ok, and if I need to be relieved from any duties. But I think shouldnt take advantage lah hor. I just hope I can do my work as much as possible b4 going off for maternity.

Hey joyjoy!

Yup, did my OSCAR 3 weeks ago. All is well. The photos were very detailed also! Went to see Dr Loh last week at week 15 but can't tell the genders yet. He said still early. My next detailed scan is on 18th March. Can't wait! What about yours?? Do you know your babies' genders yet??

April intake sounds good. But we'll be in our 5th-6th month then? Will we still be able to do aqua aerobics? I already feel and look like a whale! hahaha

pink daisy:

You're very lucky then. My collague has been threatened with a D grade cos of her very severe morning sickness and MCs... My school is super terok. Seems they have a habit of liberally awarding people with the D grade. Dynamic!

Soulvacation,

That was like my previous sch. Once pregnant, confirm D-grader [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nvm, hang in there. Look fwd for maternity leave and your adorable babies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i was catching my breath when talking on the phone juz now..

cant breath properly..

my boss finally asked if i m preggy yesterday, think now she is bothering by the 4mths maternity

Hi all, i am new in here. I'm expecting my first and my EDD is 15th Aug. just wondering if any of you started to look out for confinment lady? what does the confinment lady do for you? are there any short term like 2 weeks type?

I am still lost not sure if my MIL will be helping us out or should be looking for one.. i am thinking of doing it myself but seem like most experienced mums insist that we must engage one. And hearing alot of stories that if you have your MIL to help you with it usually might create more conflicts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

~Elaine,

have u told ur MIL abt that?

if u and ur MIL are in good term then no need to worry so much bah..

normally engage CL for 28days, some even extend, y do u only need 2 weeks? must rest well during CL presence coz once they left, u hv to take care of bb on ur own le..

i hv booked my CL, a frd of mine EDD in July and we had a hard time to find her CL coz most of the CL r not available le..

pink daisy:

I have no maternity benefits because my contract (I'm contract adjt) not likely to be renewed since I won't be returning in Term 3. Heck care. My health and sanity more important. They can take their sh*t and shove it. I resigned from service as full-time tchr but as contract, it seems I'm still as busy as when I was drawing full salary. Crazy right. Lucky you! Your P must be very nice and impartial.

Elaine:

I'm also a first time mom and I already engaged a CL. Many of them are already taken so perhaps you can try agencies that advertise online? I heard Thomson Medical has CL services but they are only there in the day and don't stay in.

Many of my friends who had MIL and their own moms to help all complained they fought and quarrelled etc. So I guess best to engage a neutral 3rd party and someone who is experienced. MILs and our own moms are not 'trained' to wake up every few hours for night feeds. They are also not young and will need rest, so best to get a CL. That's my opinion lah. =)

elaine,

ask yr hubby first lor...

The truth is can't visualize how my MIL can help me during my confinement... and if I need help.. I guess i'm more hesitant to approach her.

hence, getting a CL better.

haa... shane you are not alone. I'm also blur... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Can I try to add you?

Cheuk Ling,

My MIL seems to want to help me...but she is very old le (70s) and I also dun wan her to help cos later quarrel, my hubby chia lat.

So I rather spend a little $$$ to get a CL. At least you can tell CL what you want or etc...if MIL, abit hard. I think your own mother also hard. My friend actually quarrelled w her own mother.

Ah?! Better get yr own CL then you can set yr expectation across to her and she'll will not rebuke you or add on to your worries/troubles...

When quarrel with relatives.... very difficult when meet together... if quarrel with CL... just change her!

how to have FB? HELP!!!

carole,

can't see "add to friends". [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

without CL and with mum/mil's help

i was without a CL for my #1. Mum agreed to cook for me and help me with baby. but of cos i also paiseh to make her work so much so i tried to take care of baby on my own. so as a 1st time mum, i was quite handson with diaper changing etc.. only bathing, my mum dont allow as she said no contact with water. Of cos with my mum, i have more freedom. I went against her and bathe and she gave up... anywhere i do not have backache or anything till now though she said when i'm old i will know :p

nite time, i will be the one mainly taking care of bb as well.. only when bb keeps crying then my mum came over. hubby wasnt around most wkdays as he needs to work so he didnt stay with me at my mum's place. I shifted back to my mum's place for the confinement month. Moreover i'm fully breastfeeding so easier if i take care at nite as well. how i can rest then? when bb sleeps in the day, i try to sleep too. I tries to get as much rest as i can if there is someone else to help out. And i survived the confinement month as a 1st time mum. thank god...

For #2, arrangement is the same as well... i will be moving back to my mum's place as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dont worry so much for the 1st time mums here... u can do it!