(2011/08) Aug 2011

pipi & Shint > u r making me a little worried... but then again, what will other gynae do if they have to delivery babies at around the same period? i scared C-Sect leh....

Carole,

I can't drive if I dun wear seat belt ... hhaha, i very safe one. Just feel something is wrong.

And if I drive, i have to ferry my 2 sons ... 4 lives leh ... so how can dun put seat belt.

Anyway, i gotta go source that clip, whoever finds it, please share.

Just checked the SS fb group ;)

Going to KKH to do my scan soon ... still in office! so on hor?

cac,

Dun worry la .. it will all be ok.

Depends on your comfort level lo ... In fact #2 I went back to him due to convenience cos he's at SK and I dun drive then .... and also his C-sect is good .... only until 1 month before due date, i switched cos he pissed me of with 1 incident.

I went to my new gynae and asked if he can deliver me in a months' time.

I stick to Woody until #2 almost delivered ... if not for that incident he would have delivered my #2 too.

Anyway, if he not good then i also wonder how come he has so many patients. He's vv popular ok.

Some mommies I know also under him but had not much problem with him .... me and him "crashed" lo .... so he not meant to continue to be my gynae.

cac, my no.1 was delivered by Dr Adrian Woody also.. but for my case at that time i told him by 12th Aug Bb not out den i induce... my edd for no.1 was 14th Aug... he is ok with it... but i had waterbag leakage on 9th Aug and was admitted ard 8am he came and see me and broke my waterbag ard 2pm and tthe nurse constantly came in to check on me till ard 10-11pm he came in to deliver me.. and he was smiley all over... the onli thing was after several pushes he told me that if bb still not out will have to c-sect... i duno is it cos he wan to end things fast or jus trying to motivate me... and within another 2 push my son was out...

good afternoon mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

shint n sakura, u can get the car seat belt stopper from hypermart like carrefour or giant or ntuc extra -- i got mine from the section that sells car accessories (comes in 2 pcs)... m using it now and makes driving more comfy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: kkh tps

muffingrl, meie n pauline, m seeing dr loh at tps... usually have to wait 1hr+... so now i arrive on time, do routine test, then go walk walk... the nurse will sms when it is almost my turn [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] he is also super busy -- usually operate from two rooms... the nurse will get the next patient ready in the other room while he sees one patient... then he run to/fro between the two rooms [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but he is always smiley and i feel comfy with him...

Sus: I agree with you, I don't like gynae who do C-section out of convenience. It sounds like they want to make it snappy rather than put patients' interest at heart.

Adv_sports: Dr Loh is good, I actually thought of going to him. But I know his expertise is IVF, and it will be selfish of me to occupy him when he can help other childless couples. (cos I used to be one of those childless couple)

PiPi: Yeah, esp when pushing out naturally is supposedly good for baby to breathe.. or something like that..

Shint/sakura: Petrol kiosks also usually sell the seat belt stopper. I love it

yes i heard some gynaes do encourage induced or csec for the convenience of their time. i'm sure no one likes to be waken in the middle of the nite at wee hrs on emergency calls... think it's quite unethical... hence have to choose gynaes properly lor...

Sus,

Some gynaes says it's ok to c-sect after week 37 but I read up n it seems that for elective then better wait till week 39, lesser lung, coughing n asthma problems.

But if baby decides to come out then means baby ready lo.

My second one was select date n I wanted to do it at a nice date then found all these info. Now I know, better wait till nearer Edd. But of course cannot until week 40, too risky.

Woody scare me that he scared my wound will burst n wNted me to do it at the dates he wants. The ones I want he gave alot of excuses. One was good date n he said hospital charging $1k more but I chEcked, hospital says no.

The later date I want he said scared womb burst.

With new Gynae, I waited till week 39.

Hmm.. actually i got one friend try to natural delivery baby for very long and cannot come out.. then until last resort, went to C-sect.. then her baby one side face got abit nerve prob due to being inside for too long (cos keep pushing cannot come out).. but in the end her baby recovered la.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so i abit worried if keep trying to push and cannot come out, but end up cause probs for baby even worse.. if C-sect can make sure baby healthy, although scared.. but situation requires also no choice mah...

Re: Gynae & routine c-sect

I don't know Dr Woody, but I have many friends who are doctors - they agree that some gynaes prefer to schedule their patients for induction or c-sect so that their golf programme or whatever they have planned will not be disturbed. These drs have very high c-sect rates!!!

C-sect is a very fast procedure - 20-30mins finish! But vaginal delivery can take a whole day in the labour ward with the dr checking in on you two or three times.

Induction also has it's risks. If your cervix has not dilated - there is a 50% chance that you will end up with a c-sect. This I learnt from a friend whose gynae advised her to either induce or c-sect due to medical reasons, she checked with her dad who is a gynae (but she paiseh to see him as gynae) who advised her to just c-sect for that reason.

I like my gynae. My 2 friends who see her too, recommended her to me cos they said she has "no life", will be there anytime except if she is on holiday or taking part in marathon or giving a talk. Then she will ask her gynae buddy to cover her. She encourages vaginal birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: driving with seatbelt

One taxi driver told me that pregnant backseat passengers are not required by law to belt up. In any case, I belted up (whether I'm driving or sitting in the backseat) all the way. I drove almost daily until 40weeks (I popped 40weeks 3days), no discomfort with seatbelt. When belly is big, the lap part of the belt naturally goes underthe belly.

Safety is more important. If you are sitting in front and don't belt up and get into an accident (touchwood), the possible injuries from bashing your head into the windscreen or severe whiplash from whacking into the airbag without seatbelt restraint is not worth it, especially when we are carrying our precious baby inside.

You can control the way you drive (drive safely), you cannot control the way the other roadusers drive!!!

Cac,

There is no standard on how long is long lo .... I only barely started pushing, maybe less than ten times ?

I hear pple push for hours ... So I did wonder why so fast la.

Also if danger then when hubby says wan me to push more, he said u push some more lo. means not really need to go csect yet rite. And he gave black face n was not ard to go thru the delivery , kept walking in n out.

I hear some very nice n encouraging .. I first time some more. Worried n lost! So had to follow hs advice rite?

Carole: can get those car seat belt clips from hypermarts like Giant & Carrefour. only cost a couple of dollars. i use it as the seat belt keeps rubbing my collar bone (very painful after a while)

anybody still taking folic acid?

i forgot to ask my gynae when to stop but i m still taking wf obimin every morning

cutie > i'm still taking folic acid at week 16.. the nurse told me i can stop already cos folic acid in the multi vit should be enough.. but i can still complete whatever folic acid i have left. my supply is until end of this week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cutie> i am still taking folic acid until doc ask me stop and taken with obimin too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I have also bought DHA pills from GNC to be taken together with the rest...

adv_sports> I can see Dr Loh is always running around - TPS, Clinic D & IVF Centre... he is always busy but with smily face and tat's something i feel comfortable [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My gynae told me if we are taking obimin, can stop folic acid tablets already. She told told me to keep the remaining folic acid tablets to use when I try to have the next baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This time around, I used the old folic acid tablets for the first 3 months, still have extra!! And haven't expired!

Re: C-sect

Gynaes earn more for c-sect too!

I think I spent about an hour pushing my baby after reaching full dilation of 10cm.

My gynae went home after clinic at 9pm (after checking on me) and returned at 11+pm (and checked on me again) in a comfy t-shirt and tights to sleep in the hospital while waiting for me to give birth. I finally gave birth at 2.28am!

Towards the end, she told me 'last 2 pushes, if cannot come out, gotta c-sect', cos baby heart rate dropped whenever I had a contraction & pushed. Cord was wound around his neck, thankfully he came out!!

After that she said she was going to sleep and go to gym in the morning lol!

i took this from http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/Driving_in_Singapore/information_misc_seatbelt.htm#pregnant

Are pregnant women required to use seat belts?

The law does not exempt pregnant women from the seat belt rules. The public might wish to note that it is safer for a pregnant woman to be belted up as it protects the fetus. For those in advanced stages of pregnancy, they are advised to tuck the lap belt just below their stomach area for comfort and safer use. However, if one wishes to be exempted from the rule one will need to submit a medical certification to Traffic Police for consideration.

I'm under Dr Loh at TPS too and when I asked him about whether I should do c-section (cos I have twins), he told me he just delivered a lady with twins via vaginal birth! Amazing. I always read horror stories about one baby coming out and the other one choosing to stay on longer inside...

But I'm relieved Dr Loh still believes I can do it naturally when you all are discussing c-section out of convenience for some unethical docs. I think it's wrong... C-sect should be an option but natural birth should always be priority?

my freelance confinement lady just called me and told me her price is SGD2.2K and she will be visiting my pl tomr, to collect deposit and to tell me what to buy to prepare for confinement.

Hi Shint n Mei

Do you get the cardiac scan result immediately? How much do you have to pay? Due to some complications in my last pregnancy, my gynae mentioned may hv to do when I reached 20 weeks.

Hamtaro,

I did mine at kkh, quite cheap.$30 plus only.

The scan is focus more on the heart, see the blood flow, etc.

Thank God my results turned ok.

After that a doc came to expain the results.

20th week still have the mandatory detailed scan.

My scan was due to the thinkness of neck. Babys nose is actually very sharp, can see clearly from scan.

Very simple scan but focused on the heart activities.

good morning mtbs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i hv friday phobia as i always start with puking my breakfast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

joyjoy n soul, dr loh is pro natural -- never mention c-sect to me during #1. that's y i m going back to him for #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

enjoy the gathering tonite -- share pics in fb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm seeing Dr KT Tan at KKH, she is also very pro-natural. I had difficulty pushing my #1 out but she kept encouraging me, she'll try her best not to do c-sect unless absolutely necessary.

Seat belt, I personally feel better to belt up, just slip the belt below your tummy. Anyway, I can't drive while unbelted, my car will beep like siao! Lol.

Shint

Glad the scan turned out well. It's also good, for peace of mind. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

~Shint,

do u still go for the amnio test?

is glad that ur result is ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i m worry abt mine, going to do amnio test next mth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sus, Mei,

so far, the scan for cardiac is ok but still pending results for CVS on 8 March.

Hopefully that is alright.

cutie,

I did CVS so dun need to go for amnio ...

the tests are the same, just that CVS is done earlier.

Shint

Great to know the cardiac scan is ok. Everything should be fine for your CVS result too. Is the scan done by a cardiologist? Your gynae referred you to KK as i see from the table that your gynae is Dr Adrian. I am afraid of the high cost invoived.

Just came back from KKH-TPS. I can't believe I was panting, with ear blocked, nose blocked while walking around L1. By the time I reach home, I just sat on the sofa to catch my breathe and slurping down my ribena.

Gynae gave me the go ahead for aqua aerobics...and I bought a 1 piece swimming costume at SGD37. Good deal? Will be signing up for aqua aerobics.

Today gynae scanned the baby, I saw the bb's head, very big. Then I ask the gynae:"bb's head very big hor..., and his reply:"that's normal." He couldn't see the gender yet...then I ask him :"why huh". His reply:" This machine only 50K, very cheap." I was like laughing away. he told me I will see it next mth.

Everything was ok, and I bid my gynae goodbye and wish him all the best till I see him next mth.

Hamtaro,

Actually no. I went to Polyclinic first n they refer me cos since it's my third, I thought dun need to go private gynae so soon as I plan to sign up from month 5 onwards cos they have package from then on. Save money oso.

So all the scans, blood tests can have subsidy. Oscar so exp n I wouldn't know how much for any additional tests cos of my age .. End up I have to do CVS ard $600+, private is almost 1k. All these tests I paid about 40-50% lesser cos I subsidized patient. Save money cos that can be put into better use.

Of course u see different doc at different time, no consistent one. U get good ones too.

For me ok la since #3. I pay good money oso dun mean I get good service, haha. I can live with that.

Also all the tests would prob be better at kkh? Cos they are so experienced.

I guess my most impt concern is until baby stabilized. N fun need all these extra tests. Can never predict what you need.

Shint,

I think subsidized patient doesn't mean you get bad service. My cousin also a subsidised patient cos both of them dun earn much. (and its her first baby at age 42) I think the good thing about having diff gynaes is they will pass you diff knowledge/share diff experience with you. (just like taking driving from comfrot driving sch like tt, I nvr get the same teacher & I learn alot thru the many teachers)

Back to my cousin, 1 mth b4 she is due, she went for checkup and they kept her in hospital cos bb position "sala" so she c-section take out the bb. I asked her which doc did her c-section, she say she didn't even see the doc's face....so funny right? The C-section was well done...she recovered pretty fast. Also, they discovered she has fibroid during one of her checkup....so actually I don't think the service provided to subsidized patients are worse off.

cac> nw abit worried under Dr Woody liao, too many patients.. so far experienced with him so so.. average lor.. but hope no c-sect for me.. but if he ask to go induce also no choice right

I have 4 bottles of home made confinement red rice wine to let go at $12 each bottle.

750ml

no preservatives added

best for confinement, blood circulation and remove wind "qu fong"

pm me if interested

Crystaljc,

There is no control. Think u can sound out to him u want natural.

Also other Gynae who are pro natural might give u more time n encouragement but if it's dangerous then they might have to go for c-sect too.

U have to trust your Gynae , otherwise u get worried it's not good for u or baby ya?