(2011/08) Aug 2011

bur, your zip down? that sounds so wrong..haha! but i find my clothes also not fitting so well but so far nobody has given up a seat for me in the mrt.

i moved in with my parents 5 months ago cos my mum said she'd take care of my girl but now she wants to go back to work so i have to put my girl in school. we have our own house which we rent out and give the money to my parents. now im trying to convince my hubby to move back home and get a maid. theres a childcare centre near our house there also (in punggol) so the plan is the maid will take care of #2 and send/pick up #1 from the childcare. at least she need not stay for so long at the school.

My gynae suggested Oscar test for me too, appt scheduled on tmrw. Doc said my age at 27 consider young for #1 but this is to play safe. Fingers crossed!

Carole you've booked CL right? What is the market rate now i wonder... Althou i stay with mil but she isn't really a good cooker so thinking to get one too =)

caramelle, my seat facing the wall so no1 will notice...hahaha..i regretted not wearing my bellaband this morning, my bloatedness will start after breakfast...think i am gg to wear maternity dress starting frm next wk..

my mom oso suppose to take care of my no.1 when she's born 2 yrs ago, she was at my house for 1 wk and quit! saying she wants to go back to work...it's not easy looking after grandkids unless they had been taking care of children all the while..

bur, you are so right! my hubby was commenting that nowadays many grandmas are working or have a leisurely life so not many can give that up to take care of grandkids. i envy those kids with grandmas taking care of them, somehow i find at such a young age, kids should be taken care of at home.

i still havent told my boss that im expecting cos im only 2 months plus into this new job, so still have to wear my work dress and heels. Argh!

bellering, for my #1 also my then gynae asked to do blood test and detailed scan to check for anomalies but i think it was much later...like 4th month i think.

caramelle,

get a maid. During my #1, my MIL was supposed to be my CL and 1 week before my delivery she was asking about CL .. I was like "aren't you helping me?" .... then when I delivered (at the hospital), she said she had major problems with her house renovation and it was difficult to travel down to my place to help. Ain't she supposed to stay over during confinement?

And yes, a major renovation when i was about to deliver which I thought was a big No No. But well ...

So i was so pissed that I said, since she is so troubled I will settle it myself.

can u imagine how stress I was? last min, we moved to my hubby's auntie's place after I checked out ... new environment, etc. vv stressful.

Better confirm everything cos last min when they can't live up to it, we will be the one who suffers.

leenea> I agree. Better settle while we can than to face last min difficulty esp when we're out of hands.

I'm fine with my mil so far, she's quite a friendly person but recently i figure she smhow have stubborn attitude. I also once suspecting if its bcos of my moodswings or emotional but truth is she decides things without discussing with us.. even my FIL nags abt her but she seems to heck care 0.o is this what pple says when getting older tends to be more stubborn?? I dunno. So in order not to conflict with her in Aug I'd better prepare my CL no matter how much I have to pay....

bellering: the last time she asked for 2k. i expecting her to go 2.1k or 2.2k. I m not bothered with the price tag, cos she knows what i expect of her. She too knows i m not those diligent mummies who is gng to llisten to nags or wear this wear that. She has taken care of my #1 & #2, and she has done a good job. My mum always got problem, so her comments i cant be bothered. :p if mum so smart, she will be a good cook and not fussing over what my CL does. :p

thanks carole.. so the range shd be arnd 2k - 2.2k yea =) im planning to check with my neighbour who had experience with confinements hoping lucky enuf to have smone like urs.. who's good in knwing our habits and experience enuf to take care of things for us.. My sis once had this exp which the CL so lazy, sis would have to give her order to get things done - alamak! worse is my sis couldn't tahan anymore n fired her CL halfway then do it herself, poor thing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bellering: really luck. this CL has been very nice to me and my 2 kids. she will call me once a while and ask to see them too. i no fuss in food she cooks. she cooks i eat, and she simply good in that. I din expect her to do housework, as i hv maid at home already. so she only wash her own clothes.

One thing abt CL, make sure u ask if she is pro Bfing... some CLs are really one kind.. always demand for Milk powder. I told her, as long as there isnt EBM (expressed breastmilk) she can feed milk powder. she is PRO Bfing, so i hv no problem.

sigh im not chinese so concept of CL not so common for us. im already thinking who's going to take care of me after i deliver. my hubby said bo chup, just get a CL who can take care of me. as long as it's an older person who's great with kids.

man, the govt should give a CL grant or subsidy since all grandmas wants to work and no one wants to take care of the poor mummy who just delivered. hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bellering/carole, i totally agreed that CL is based on luck, my previous was a godsend, we do not hv maid, she takes total care of my dotter, wakes up at nite every 3 hrs to cup-feed EBM to my dotter for the 1st 2 wks as she refuses to latch..and she spring cleaned my whole house! we jus have to keep our fingers cross that the new CL that she recommended to us would be as good...

oh no babysee then u'd better take care of yourself! but if really cannot tahan, take MC... don't stretch yourself too much!

Hi Mummies to be.. my first posting here =). Can I check for those going with Gyane Dr Heng from East Shore, how is her charges and how does her package works?

bur, i cant fit into my pants! my tummy is big! u mean u cld still wear? i wear dresses n pants w elastic bands. that day went to buy maternity pants but haven wear. its my first pregnancy, dun think im supposed to show so fast?

pooh, thanks for the welcome!

carole, i dun have my edd. or rather i forgot cos my gynae kept saying its not accurate as yet. but i know the date of conception was 18 nov... oh oh... what a special date! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bur, im gonna ask my girl friends for CL recommendation. hope to get one like yours. but seriously its not too early to book?

caramelle > can share how much is your gynae package? Does it include the scan at 5th mth?

You know if he adopts the First Born Incentive scheme?

As my gynae does not adopt the FBI scheme, I'm still contemplating if I shd cfm her as my gynae and forgo the FBI.. She's quite good la and comfortable with her..but i heard that can have some savings if we take up the FBI scheme.

Any advice from MTBs?

babysee, Iam also wholeday sickness

when expecting #1 also like that

That's why I went to hired a maid once I confirmed my pregnancy, I knew I will super miserable....plus my super active 28mos old boy

My mum will do confimenent for me, she is super experience.. so I have no worries at all

My mum got a friend who helping do confiment in Indonesia (Batam).. charging like 1.8-1.9k only. If any of you keen, can PM me.

she came to Singapore very often to help do confimenet, quite experience.. she in her 40+

Think details scan is more accurate and reliable but only can be done at around 20wks...

leenea,i think the reason why we cant take is scared never wash clean, then got bacteria. but if eat at home and u wash really clean, i think its ok. i still take my cherry tomatoes!!

Hi pink poppy,

for 1st timers, consultation is $90 and scanning is $80 or $100, I forgot le. If u take on package is $600 (i think) and it includes subsequent consultation and scanning until yur EDD. Other tests like down syndrome etc are optional. Natural birth delivery w/o epidural is 1k plus, natural birth w/ epidural is around $1.8k, C sec is 2k or 3k plus. She delivers in East Shore only if not wrong. 2 bed ward is about 2k plus for 4days. This is what I remember in 2009. For pte doctors, her charges are quite reasonable. All the prices are agaration based on my memory. U can call the medical office in Bedok to give u the price list, more accurate.

leenea,

not too sure but can check with your gynae. My gynae told me its not advisable to take during my #1 pregnancy. However, some other gynaes of my friend's said its ok to take. Raw vegetables is fine, just make sure they are cleaned throughly before taking.

Hi mummies, hv been too busy to post. Can help me update? This is my #2 and based on last visit, edd changed to 10aug. Dr sim LN at tmc. I got craving for rojak and Maggie mee. All unhealthy stuff. This morning, someone just commented that I'm growing fat and I'm only in my 9 wks. Haiz.

ochamilo, first born incentive is if you sign up your delivery package with TMC, onie TMC offers this...

bunnymummy: i chk via internet, ur EDD likely on 11 aug. i update it in first.. if not correct, just let me know :p

Carole,

28th afternoon, @ e same time do FTS, hopefully don't c xiao ji ji [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw my edd is 12th instead of 11th, both Dr Thong and Dr Tan give e same :p

wahahahahaahahhaha u so ke ai! if see hw?? whahahahaha... mine 14 jan. then must go back next week for FTS! duhz.....

mine 8th still!!! i wanna change! whahahahhaaha. to 9th can? i m pretty sure she will glare at me! wahahhaaha

Carole,

if c liao, no choice, can't do shopping for pinkie stuff. haiz

most probably, will pop earlier, cos both my boys 3days earlier than EDD, so most probably 9th

u talk to yr bb dun come out earlier lor

actually 8th nice mah 8811

wahahahahaha.. tell bb come out slower! whahaa mine #1 & #2 came earlier... cos #1 was not feeding well by placenta, so out by 38weeks via induced. #2 noti wanna see girls.. so sitting there (breech) so must Csec. since Csec, i can choose to have same English bday as my #1 but tt day is sunday, i m sure she will glare at me. whahahaha.. so i went to choose same Lunar Bday as my girl :p

now.. this one.. i will wanna wait unless underweight.. whahah but i doubt!

my #1 is via c sec in feb 2009... I think i will go for c sec again for #2... Didnt want 2 wounds at 2 different place! Any VBAC after C sec mummies here?? I really had horrors after my C sec!!!

she will have to tell me lor.. i wont know.. whahhaha.. but my bad hb said... your tummy outbeat mine.. this one.. later again CSEC for being so big. i glare at him.. whahaha. i had a bad Csec.. a bad bad one. dont get me wrong, she is damn good, but my nerve lines just din go numb after being cut. lol she said 1 out of 5 gets tt.. so.. i was that HENG one whahaha

hey carole, u had CSEC before? any VBAC after that? I feel like trying it because my 1st one left me a 20cm wound and took me over 6mths to recover from the pain.

ehcar & bunny mummy 82 : I am also growing fat! All my colleagues can see my tummy liao (even in dresses!) even though mine is only 7-8 weeks.

leenea: I still take salad leh.. because my MIL tends to overcook all her vege in order to make it soft enough for them to eat. Hence, in order to enjoy crunchy veg, I try to eat salads.

p00h: Update us on your bb status when you are back k? =)

Sam: so you are also 1 out of the 5 tt has bad pain.. i was hit badly by it till i did not carry my boy for 2 days. i was really mad as the pain was far too much for me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

VBAC or not will be very dependant on your gynae. 20 cm is far too much.. i dont see much of the scars though.. but i m super duper worried abt the pain. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Carole: u mean there shouldnt be bad pain after CSEC? Wah... then I must be as unlucky as u previously lo... my boy was born 4kg and his head cir is 38cm. I didnt know why my wound is so long too but it shocked many pple out when I show them photo of my wound. My pain was horrible... I do still feel twitches whenever I sneezed once in a while. =(

So u had 2 previous CSEC?

Sam: no.. my #1 is natural w epidural. #2 breech so kena Csec. I pain like shit! i kept asking for pain killer!

gynae said 1 out 5 will hv this pain. csec cuts onto 2 nerve lines. usually after cutting these nerve lines it should be dead n numb. but i indeed was that lucky one who experience huge pain. i cant get up from my own bed in hosp and home. i felt so sad and depress.. thank you i hv a good CL looking after my boy. I struggle with pain and walk like an old woman and still got to send my princess to school during weekdays. duhz...

Wa.... That must be hard on you.... Wow! U really had the courage to go for 3rd one!! Hoho! Most likely i hv to go for CSEC again... Will consult gynae again to see if I am suitable. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wahahahhahaha courage? frankly i m super frighten now. i so scare she tells me.. u are gng to csec again.. i think i will flip! whahahahhaa. but she is my gynae, its her call. :p