(2011/07) July 2011

Jan-ice> ya we like Giselle... but we r having a boy, so hv to chg loh... We oso scare wait ppl disturb him.. .... so still thinking.....

Pillow> Gregory is nice? Or gennadius?

Zachmommy> thx zachmommy for the suggestion [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]) me n hubby will take note

jgwee, i initially oso planning to name my gal Giselle but am thinking those older ppl may not know how to pronounce then will call her "ji siao". however, i still think Giselle is a super nice name. anyway my prob solved cos i am having a boy. but headache, cos boy dunno what name.

janice, just talk and plan nia. cos we can do any major shifting till bb is out. so now our main task is pack the room which is giving me headache liao

hihi morning....

wow mummies all started to think of bb name...

i hv alrdy ask some mummies opinion between brandon n kingsley....all vote for kingsley

cos hubby love to start with king....so just to check is kingsley better or kingston???

my hubby ho really influnce by the HK TVB LIN FENG sia...but he say kingsley sound in hokkien like KE SEE LI =make u angry, till u die...LOL

jgwee: How about considering another name because -Than and your surname Tan is too similar? Have you considered Matthew, Malcolm, Melvin, Marcus, Marshall, Martin, Mitchell etc..?

pillow...u mean to plan to let bb slp in another rm?? me n hubby think to let him(my boy) slp alone when he 4-5yrs...so therefore the rm we still hv not pack

pillow: I was considering the name Gerard (pronounced jeh-rard) among other 2-syllable names as in like the actor Gerard Butler coz it's not as common as Gerald, but will be having a girl after all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunshinebb> dont want kingston ba? reminds me of the fatty who sang "beautiful girl"

And Mt Alv is so nice. I applied for the mt A card online and missed the promotion of 68 bucks if u applied at Mothercare.. But they actually sent a cheque to refund me the 30bucks and gave me the discount anyway.. so nice..

maureen, thought of gregory but i think the meaning "in the watch". so he will always be vigilant? haha. it is in one of my watch list. gennadius, first time hearing it. sounds unique... tks. will look for the meaning when i am free cos i cant find the meaning now.

sunshinebb> first thought that comes to my mind for Kingston is the brand of memory card..haha. I prefer Kingsley. In fact, i would have chosen Brandon if u ask me to choose..hee cos it's more shun kou to me :p

pillow4> how abt Gareth? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

XW> i like the looks of Eli.. i would have pronounced it "E-lee" if i were to decipher my own..ha.

Hubby and i currently set on Nicole, quite easy to pronounce..and we did think if #2 daughter again, maybe can name Natalie.. if boy.. maybe Nathan? Nicolas too common.. cant seem to think of much boys' names starting N hor

sunshinebb, cos our room actually no space for baby cot. if put bb in the middle of the room it is very odd. moreover, the fengshu master said the area not very good. so no choice. we may put bb in the other room when he is 1yo. train him to sleep alone then wont sacrifice couple time. but then again quite hard cos gotta go in an out. hai... that is a prob la. i still have not settled it. thinking nia.

chinook, my dh name is gerald. so gerald/gerard is out. i like gerald a lot... sounds manly and prov a sense of security. haha. maybe if really no other nice name may name him gerard instead... haha

I benm wanting to sign up for the mt a card but until nw still haven't sign.. Lazy me..

Expo has a booth? Where else can I sign up other than printing out the form and mailing?

sunshinebb: I also prefer Brandon actually, hehe.

ixoral: Nicole is a good name. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pillow: agree that Gerald is a strong and manly name. I think Gerard will be too similar to your DH name. There's Gavin, Gawain, Gilbert or Glenn also.

Thanks Chinook [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you and hubby discussed on bb name for your girl yet? i've another expecting friend gg to name her daughter with starting 'V' words..i quite like that alphabet too. hee

ixoral: yup, will be naming her Elizabeth. Hehe my hubby wanted names starting with 'V' also coz same as him, but I told him I want our children's names to all start with different letters. 'V' got many nice girl names like Valencia, Victoria, Valeria.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya loh...ixoral n chinook....me also think brandon more shun kou 2

is hubby loh....wanted to hv boy name start with king something...cos he say his boy will be king or leader in the future....then i say wait become big bully then he know...wohahaha

cos later he say kingsley the meaning in hokkien - ke see li (make u angry, till u die)...then this hold him back...hahaha

ixoral, Gareth is my priority.. but thinking whether is there nicer name avail. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] anyway i personally think Natalie sounds very nice and sweet.

talking about name.. got 1 time i want to name my baby if boy- kingsley and if girl= queensley..

guess what.. my sis in law said kingsley is a brand of underwear.. .. pengsan..so i drop the idea.. but then thinking of naming my princess queensley ..hehehee

n my hubby got nick name for my princess.. called fei mei.. full name is Ng Fei Mei.. i had a good laugh.. hahaha..

Gareth is a lovely name ;) well, do a google search on Gareth Bale and you will know he is one of the wirld's BEST soccer player ;) in fact, i always tell my DH tt his son is kicking like Gareth Bale heh!!

yaya> kingsley & queensley are such an innovative combi! but nice leh! kudos to you for even have thought of that. *impressed*

pillow4> gareth is my boss's name too, and i find the name quite 'man'. hehe. Ya i like the sound of Natalie too..quite sweet to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chinook> i cant seem to load that webbie in office. weird. shall try again at home. I like Elizabeth too.. very 'queen' sounding to me. keke

sunshinebb> your hubby v cute, he think too much la...haha

sunshinebb> i also like brandon name but its quite a common name, if u dun mind.

yaya> hehee...fei mei? is it one of our members here nickname is feimei.

Mt A card got disc when u deliver at Mt A.. and got disc for the parenting classes too.. total benefits I counted was abt 120bucks for these 2, but i pay 68for the card only.. then I think see doc or something also got benefits ah

pillow4> regarding ur fengshui master, did u hire one before or after ur hse renovation? is it troublesome to hire one in a way, eg if e fengshui master wanna paint all rooms walls wif different colors or must renovate or place something in e hse?

ixoral: Seems that the server went down after I posted the link. Dunno what happened. Hopefully it will be up later. :X

Jan-ice: It's a very uncommon name, haven't heard it before, but it sounds pretty. Almost like a cross between Jennifer and Jessica. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ixoral, yeah.. i even thought of naming my princess "SUMMER" but i guess i prefer Queensley... it will be great if my 2nd kid will be boy then i can name Kingsley.. but then since my sis in law said its a underwear brand.. i think i better drop Kingsley..otherwise, sound a good combination hor.. hahaha

PX22, u paid the Mount A card for only $68??? i thought is $98.. so thats y i am waiting to go expo and sign up the Mount A card lor..

Jan-ice.. yeah.. i was taken aback when my hubby told me that..hahaha.. really v concidence.. lol.. if mine is a boy, i think he will confirm say NG BIEW DI (meaning Fat boy) which is his nick when he was young..hahaha

janice, jennica is nice and unique. re fengshui, we hired him prior to reno. so we did hack a few walls cos gotta change door direction. the guy is my fren's father. i find him quite nice. his fees cheap compared to those thousands. and he dun force us to buy things from him. yeah, we choose colours according to what he recommended. I dun mind cos all the colours he give i like. Natural tones.

Chinook/pillow4> thanks gals, after hearing ur opinions, i m gonna stick to this name. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pillow4> wow..hack a few walls coz of e fengshui. but e good part is at least its someone you know, easier to 'talk'. hehee... i still considering whether shd hire one or not when my hse is here.

yaya> i personally find Queensley more unique compared to Summer. but of coz its e meaning tat u like. Summer gives an impression of like refreshing, sunshine right?

janice, i just hope nobody will tell me thats another name of bra or what.. then i pengsan liao..hahaha

ur jennica is also quite unique le.. u think of urself or get it from those baby name book?

Jan,

I hired one before my flat reno too.. Basically just see whether the stove direction is good and where r the "ji" (good) and "xiong" (bad) areas for Hubby and me so thy we can avert..we had Reno and design ideas in mind already so we consult him if the hacking and everything is good for us..

Mine didn't specify the colours of walls..he just told us to use light colours and we wanted cream, light brown and white so just nice lor

My old kitchen was super dark and gloomy.. Nt good. So i want to hack the walls and use glass to let the sun in..he agreed and see nothing wrong with that so we went ahead and hack :D

Actually fengshui master just give u peace of mind lor.. Most importantly is u have to feel at ease and comfortable with the house

Yaya,

Queensley is a pretty name!

U can change the spelling to Quinsley too if u like [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I thought of naming my bb Quinn like the girl in Glee at first.. Heheh..

But summer is also a very pretty name !! U try calling ur princess these two names for a few weeks and see which one is easier to call.. I am doing that now to decide between Kaela and Allyssa.. So far Kaela is winning coz Allyssa seemed too long

Nana, i just hope the eldery will pronounce better.. cos last time when my sis in law named my nephew as Aaden, my inlaw pronounced as AGENT..hahaha....

maybe i should try talking to bb see which one she prefer..hahaha

Yaya: I had a friend called Queenie, she was a pretty girl. Quinn is a cool name! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Heheh.. The elderly has lotsa funny ways of pronouncing names de.. Some r really funny.. I am never never never naming my kid richard.. Coz my dad has a worker named Richard in the past.. And my grandparents think that it sounds like Lizard.. So they just happily assume that his name is Lizard.. Finally when they find it troublesome to say Lizard , they end up calling him "Zi leng" ( lizard in teochew) instead

yaya> thanks to nana-num, Quinsley is even more unique than Queensley. you can consider that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i change from erica to jennica coz my dh and my name starts wif 'j'. so now make it triple j family. hehee.. on e other hand, good fengshui will be good for ur family members. ~tat makes me confuse - hire or not~

nana-mum> ic..i find luckily ur fengshui master's opinion suits ur taste or ur 'fengshui' in e same way. wat if i hire a 'fengshui' who gives me opinions i cant accept, then i will hate my hse. hahaha..

tats a good try, try calling e names and see which name baby will 'react' and that will be name e ur bb likes. hehee..

Jan,

Haha.. The most u don't follow exactly what he says lor.. I think most importantly r things like toilet bowl don't face the bed, stove don't face door, direction of main door suits Hubby n u (most importantly Hubby coz traditionally hb is the head of the Hse) ..

These kind can see for urself de.. Just use compass lor..

As long as u feel at ease and happy inside the Hse can liao :D coz u r the one staying in the Hse, nt the fengshui master

I'm new to this thread. My EDD is July 21st and just passed 5 months this week (counting from Oct 14). Gyne said baby is big/tall.. But I hope baby will stick to EDD coz my bday is 19 July and hubby's is 23 July [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mummies here already start buying things for the baby? Any suggestion as to where to find well-priced baby stuff? Online or on forum?

I know it's abit too early to buy, but I'm really puzzled as to which breast pumps I should get. Heard Medela PIS or freestyle is good for working mums... I am not working now but am planning to go back to work if I could after give birth.

Any SAHM/MTBs like me here..?

Thanks a bunch!

Hi wens!

Welcome to MTB July 2011.

Im a working MTB. EDD is 10th July. Expecting a baby boy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: baby necessities

Ive gotten almost all already, except the toiletries, diapers, creams, wet wipes, breast pumps.

I guess its never too early to start, only a lil late (when we are bloated and penguiney and have problems walking lol). I started to buy mine in phases so its a comfortable race to the EDD.

Usually, we will discuss here and get some pointers from the experienced mummies here then we will go out to buy our things.

For instance, Taka baby fair is now on till end of the month i think. Can grab some nice things there...like packaged sterilisers from Avent and Pigeon etc...

For strollers, they also have a bundle, for Maclaren, i think. Or you can go to Baby Hypermart at Shun Li industrial to take a look. they have many things there.

Welcome~!

hi welcome wens...u hv the same EDD with me...haha n we conceived ard the same period...yoyoyo ur is gal/boy?

yes mummies...thou to give some unique name for my boy...but scare eldery dun know how to pronouce than will be very funny and make fun of my boy....or even when they go sch teacher or classmates make fun of them...

therefore think to hv same simple n easy to pronounce name...

Hi Lizzie,

Thanks! Me too expecting a baby boy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm still deciding on the name.

It's good to know that I'm not the only starting so early... I even thought of getting some flash cards already for the baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and those early learning dvds too...

I did visit the taka fair and got a few items there, like the fisher price swing chair, musical gym, and kick&play piano (for this one I realised later the price is still on the high side [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Now I'm looking forward to the baby expo this weekend, hoping could find better bargains there.

Have the mummies here done any gathering recently? Or is there one coming up? Would love to join if there's any [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Sunshinebb,

Wow, what a coincidence! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's a boy for me. have you decided on which hospital you'll be delivering?

Long story short, both hubby and I thought it was a girl throughout the whole first four months, just becoz all those predictors (available online) and the chinese "tong shu" book predict it's a girl. Only when the gyne says it's a boy we were caught off guard, still very happy though, so long the baby is healthy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lesson learnt: never trust those online baby sex predictors =P

wens- mine too...all those signs show we are having a boy so both DH and me mentally prepared for a boy..when sono told us it's a girl,we got a shocked but all's well now,as long as bb is healthy.

we had 1 some time back and heard there's going to be another one.join our fb group...

it's never too early to start buying.think most of us here has started buying bit by bit