(2011/07) July 2011

yaya> do we have the same edd? me also hit 18weeks tomorrow... my edd 20Jul. yrs? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunshinebb, i am 17 wks 4days today.. Yupz. My gynae confirmed to me that its a girl. My ds will be 11 mar..

When i preg with my first child, she confirmed gender of my boy when i was 16 wks.. As usually, boys can know very fast. By 16 wks can knw already as can see the birdie..So usually if cannot see its more likely a girl already..

HI LADIES.

Having just gave birth, I would like to advise all mummies here to go through all the listing on the confinement ladies in case you get a bad confinement lady. I had a bad experience with my confinement lady and do not wish any mummies here to encounter the same and waste your money.

Sorry to disturb but I just feel I really need to highlight to all mummies, thanks!

pillow,

If i have to work late, i'll prob only be able to reach ard 8.15pm. Btw, how do the latecomers know how to locate the whole group?

sunshinebb/icezjo/jgwee/lynn/maelyn> welcome welcome .. :-D i just email to all my hp no.

just a little description of me, i hv short hair, sleepy round eyes (no glasses) and not tall (1.58m).

jgwee/modisch> oh why? u gals choose e auspicious date is it? which methods? wif GA or epidural? initially i wan c-section too but i wanna avoid epidural, so i dun know how.

I'm going for natural w/o epidural and induction. Will be going thru pain for long hours..Heh.

My wish & hope;

Waterbag burst naturally,

see gynae and check cervix open already or not,

go home and monitor contractions, if still not open yet and if it is advisable to go back.

Target 8hrs labour with max just gas.

I need all the support & encouragment from hubby.

Maybe I sound crazy, but whats motherhood if there's no pain involved?

Wish me luck!!

bellatwins> is this your 1st time or 2nd time? you sounds so confident. i also wish to go w/o epidural but heard from so many mums tat its so painful tat they ended up wif epidural.

Bella - you are not crazy ! =D

i think I am too ignorant to say that when time comes, I shall go wash my hair, grab a bite before heading to the hospital to "shit" it out..

Hopefully just happy gas =D

Wanna see how the pain is like =D

Jan-ice, my #1 was emg-C... so i was put to Zzzz.... this time round.. i was thinking .. must as well CUT lah... not choosing date.. just pop when #2 is ready. still dun knw 1 2 GA or epi....

Modisch u gng for which 1?

bellatwins, why u want to go for induction??? cos i think all mummies will wait for waterbag to burst or show, if not is overdue then go induction...keke

if u gals want to hv natural without epidural, towards last stage better walk more so that our muscle can contract better and dilation is faster..imagine ur waterbag burst and you are onie like 2cm dilation and u gotta wait till it is 10cm dilated before can start pushing..could take hrs leh..

not to scared anyone but my fren ever had 26hrs of birth.. it was so difficult that she blacked out, developed fever, etc. Haha

but hor my mom oso delivered 4 of us without epidural..keke.

Agree with Audrey, must wash hair, hv hearty breaky before going to hospital to pop out the kid..

janice, c-sect of course with epidural..i dun want GA cos i still wanna hear my bb cry and take photo with him in the labor room. I chose c-sect cos it's better for me with prev 2 c-sect alr..

eh, i hv long hair (slightly below shoulder), not very tall (1.65cm), shuld be wearing jeans bah..haha

jgwee, me too, also emg-C de, went for induction cos 40 weeks liao, but dilation very slow and waterbag alrdy burst and damn pain lar, i mean the contraction, so end up went cut lar...hehe...this round will still go for cut and GA...hehe....same like #1....cos my gynae dun like epi de...

bella- i also have the same wish as u...but it's juz a wish la... hopefully i wun need the epidural

crayon mami- ive been using yoko2 for muscleaches at other areas of body...but not for backaches..

Hey mummies, I'm checking on behalf for a fren for a doc that specializes in infertility. I saw a common name previously and want to recommend to this good fren. Please advise

jgwee,

I went through emergency csect for #1 under epidural. Was thinking that since I can't go through natural birth, going through csect witnessing the birth of baby is the next best thing.

This time round I'll see if I can go VBAC. Otherwise, I'm considering going through GA csect as epidural didn't work wonder for me due to me having scoliosis.

Usagibb, mine emg-c at 38 weeks... cos bb big kua... den i induc for 2 days leh... still 1cm open oli.. so gynae burst my waterbag for mi.... den from morning pain until afternoon... 9cm open oli.. they say .. wat inside swollen already.. n bb head tilt.. so CUT! wow pianz! pain like hell! the contraction is no joke!

hey all, i'm ard 168 cm... should length hair... those hv my FB 1 can c my pic... hee hee

Victoria Beckham is splashing out £150,000 on a nursery for her baby.

The 36-year-old star is currently pregnant with her and her husband David Beckham's fourth child and the couple are sparing no expense for their new arrival, which according to reports is a girl.

A friend of the couple told Britain's Star magazine: 'She hasn't looked at a price tag for a single thing she's bought. If she wants it she

gets it, no questions asked!

'Believe me, that baby will be surrounded in luxury from the minute she, or he, comes home from hospital.'

The room is believed to have a 'bunny' theme, with the fashion designer planning to buy a £1,000 'French Bunnies' round cot with hand-carved woodwork from exclusive store Petit Tresor, as well as a matching nightlight and two lamps.

Victoria - who was said to have been told she was expecting a girl at a 16-week scan at the private Rivers Hospital in Hertfordshire, East England - has also ordered a rocking chair and cashmere robe from Petit Tresor, while she is snapping up blankets from Little Giraffe following a recommendation from friends Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes.

Even though she has hired a decorator, Victoria is overseeing the styling of the nursery, which is to have an 'old-fashioned theme with a shabby-chic feel'.

The source added: 'The decorator was pushing colours other than traditional girlie pink but she wouldn't hear of it. Victoria gave strict instructions that she wants the room to 'look like a little

girl lives there'.'

i wish i can also 'She hasn't looked at a price tag for a single thing she's bought. If she wants it she

gets it, no questions asked!

elch, scoliosis will cause the epidural not to work? In wat way? i oso hv scoliosis leh but mabbe not so severe..

Mine i dun tink is considered emergency c-sect bah but oso not my choice..haha

Went to see gynae on Thursday then she gave me bad news and asked me to checked in to TMC that night itself so that next morning can operate. Such a big party in the theatre..got nurse to monitor my BP cos it is super duper high..another dr talkign to me to calm me down so that my blood vessel dun burst, my gynae and the anaesthetic dr to make sure epidural is working etc.. then gynae talking abt holidays etc..keke. before i knew it, my bb is crying liao..i tink all in all < 10minutes it is over..

audrey, tks for the offer. that will be good. but i think u dun have to q. just reach there and tell them it is a group of 20. then q for 2-3 mins the say u need to go ladies, will be back. then just disappear. haha. so u dun hv to q so long. that is what i plan to do if i reach early. cos i cant stand stationary for long. else will hv giddy spells.

i forgot who asked re the room i marche. it is not really a room. it is an "enclosed" room with no window. but more privacy... i sat there before with group of 6..

syrah, just ask them where is the group of 20 woman sitting. they will guide u. then just look for the noisiet preggies group. i dun think it will be hard for u to find us. haha.. if latecomers dun mind can pm me your num. then when u reach just call/sms me. i can go and pick u up from the basement entrance. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jgwee,

Take epidural not as pain as contractions. It's all in the mind actually because when injecting epidural, we got to bend our knees and curve our spine like a baby. A very vulnerable position hence the 'scary' part. Too bad for me, the epidural was not 100% effective for me due to my scoliosis as I still feel contraction pains and the pain due to pushing down of baby in the OT during csect.

My #1 was born 3.46kg with head circumference of 36cm. I fail to dilate successfully after more than 8 hours after water bag is burst by gynae. Only dilate to a max of 4cm due to baby head tilted as well.

I had my #1 thru induced coz i was losing weight. Natural birth w/o epi. I only suffered severe pain for abt 40 mins and bb was ready to come out b4 my gynae reached. I walked a lot during my first pregnancy and i guess that's the reason why for the smooth delivery. Hoping for the same this time round. I showered twice and had hearty bf before going hospital bt ended up vomiting all my breakfast. Think the drip made me puked. So u ladies better check with yr gynae before having hearty bf.

hihi morning all mtbs

janice/icezjo/jgwee/lynn/maelyn...hv email my contact no to u

bella...tht wht im thinking 2...natural w/o epidural and induction....cos wnt to exp the pain of motherhood...LOL hopefully can make it

mummies who alrd hv #1 or #2....how the pain like ar...is it like wht Audrey say....just go in to shit it out??? hopefully can be like my mum...her super fast

if we wanna go for natural w/o epi, how soon should we walk? can start now? only walk? or can do other form of exercise. what other exercise is good? will walking alot increase our bloatedness. cos think my feet start to swell le.

modish.bebe,

Due to scoliosis the spine is curved hence the epidural will not flow effectively according to the anesthetist. It's a 50-50 chance of having the epidural work 100%.

wah, so fast we talked about delivery?

Though mine was long labour, short pain, i got goosebumps listen to your stories and thking #2 delivery hopefully wud be smooth.

my #1 was due, and doc wan to induce, cos no signs of contraction and not good to stay inside too long.

1am start to induce, 8am doc burst waterbag (thk got dilation), and say maybe 2pm then can deliver.....n left.

pain at tummy as contractions start, tolerate for 10 mins, n give up, cos the contractions come evry 30s.

epidural doc come 20 mins later, i already all tears.

I was lucky,took effect immed, BUT side effect of shivering, so ask nurse to reduce epidural dose...already reduce to MIN, but i still shiver. hhaa, the shiver comes, pain goes.

doc comes at 2 plus, ask me push, 3 times, n OUT (got vacuum).

the wait from 10am to 2pm was long, cos i can hear bb heartbeat from the machine N i v scare last min got anythg happen...

once waterbag burst cannot wait too long for delivery cos bb will be stressed out too..

elch, ur bb weight was good.. my boy was born onie at 2.7kg. Tiny n wrinkled..haha.

pillow > besides walking, can do some swimming too. Best to do it at last trimester cos if u start walking now, tendency our swelling feet will get worse! do some kegel exercise too.

3 weeks before delivery, drink some coconut water (once or twice a week) so that bb comes out cleaner [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it works!

pillow,

the website is www.drugstore.com... you have to use vpost/comgateway/borderlinx to ship back to sg, but the savings is worth it. If you don't have a lot of things to buy, u can just join a spree. The good thing about buying on your own is Desitin is slightly cheaper cos sometimes they have promo like buy 2 get $1 off and it's limited to 2 tubes only. I am planning to stock up some stuff like nursing tea, lanolin cream, fenugreek when it's nearer to edd. Besides, I have a toddler so I buy his supplements online too.

I had my #1 delivery without epi because I heard that epi may delay your labour and sometimes it's associated with assisted delivery. Hence, I only took the gas and my labour lasted around 5hrs. The pain is like a super duper bad stomachache, and it actually gave me a phobia of labour. I am hoping this time will be better and faster than the last time. If anyone is interested, you can check out hypnobirthing courses. I think it helped me.

walking more for natural birth:

i heard this a few times from 1st time mummies n i hv a ex-col, her tummy was very big ler...but she still walk alot n during delivery, les than 10mins, her bb is out....hahahahaa...but walking is one thing, noe ur limit n dun stress urself in doing it....everything will take place naturally!!!

mummies who have had epi before- did you have side effects like constant back pains after that? I heard alot about it.. tats y still very apprehensive abt taking epi..

Oh yeah, I did walk quite a fair bit during my first pregnancy. Always went shopping after lunch until I get breathless.

px22, I didn't have epi but I also had constant back pains after delivery. I think it has nothing to do with epi, but more like your posture, or maybe lying down on bed for too long, etc.

pillow,

u have a pm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eLcH,

I have a hand me down breast pump too. I intend to get new parts too. Thought it'll be better.

modish.bebe,

Yup. My boy's estimated weight was 3.1+kg just 1 day before birth but when he came out we're all shocked to know he weighs a hefty 3.46kg with a big head! Haha!

I suffered from non of the epidural side effect. More proves to show epidural doesn't work for me. Now I wonder if I should still opt for it this time round.

tsukushi> the one tat i heard is not just directly after delivery.. my frens told me that after epi, they became weather forecasters.. back starts aching once its going to rain.. even years after their delivery. and uncontrollable bladder for first few mths.. did anyone else have it?

Px22,

I had epidural but I'm no weather forecaster. Uncontrollable bladder is definitely not due to epidural but due to childbirth. That's where kegel exercise comes in useful.