(2011/07) July 2011

sidetrack a bit hor... need to check with experience mummies... which nappy rash cream is good? drapolene, desitin, benpathan? only heard of drapolene... thinking of buying in bulk cos ntuc now having twin pack promo... 2 for 9.90.... mummies, if u interested in that quickly go and buy...

cactusnah> thank you so much for ur great info. its really really helpful to me! at this point of time, i am unable to find a better CL. so most likely i will select this one.

jgwee> thanks! i go lunch first before replying you back wif my hp no. so sorry, i m so hungry now. later...

PX> go into ur Profile, under Preferences, find: "Do not send me 'Private Messages' e-mails from other board users", this opt shld be unchecked, by default it's checked, that's y ppl can't PM u...is this what u asking me abt???

janice/IcezJo/jgwee> will meet u gals at 6.45pm somerset mrt control station...

janice will e-mail u my contact

will meet pillow direct at the entrance of marche

pillow i using desitin.. it's good.. :p but chk expiry when u stock in bulk.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PX> ahhh....pai sey...i get wat u meant now..not u sauku...i oso get nothing in my 'Check for new messages'...soo u not the onli one...but anyway, PM will tie to ur email...u will rec the email of ur PM message de...soo no worry for any lost of PM messages...

hello all, long time no "see"! have been very busy at work and with family and personal stuff so have only been randomly reading posts and no time to contribute. hope everyone had a good CNY!

i won't be able to make it for the gathering unfortunately, but trust you guys will have lots of fun! hope i'll be able to join you all for the next one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i just got back from a long weekend in bintan with DH which was nice. regarding someone's (can't remember who, sorry) query on swimwear, i was thick skinned and wore a 2 piece bikini (in larger size than usual). i tried on a maternity tankini and looked REALLY fat, so decided it was better to "bare" my stomach--hopefully pple realised i was pregnant and not just very fat! felt really good swimming, so think will try to swim regularly from now on.

pillow4: i am first time mum also but was recommended desitin by my SIL so you may wanna check that out. not sure abt the rest of the brands you mentioned.

Hello all mummies! a pity i wont be able to make it for the gathering.. u babes enjoy! it'll be such a wonderful sight with all the round tummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My ins agent sent me the link for Prud's baby insurance (called PRUfirstgift). Rem some time back, some of us were interested in the details. Have pasted the link below. Any experienced mummies or MTB think this policy is worth getting? It mainly protects the pregnant mummy from certain birth complications and coverage can start from 18W preg onwards. Any advice? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.prudential.com.sg/corporate_sg/content.do?page=products/protection/health/prufirst_gift

but i noe desitin de, early stage better dun use cos its quite strong....i remb i use avent brand de...buy from Mrs Wong when i attended her antenatal class...

yaya, yes, desitin cream is for nappy rash.. dun need to be very thick when applied. just abit will do. overnight skin will become less red..haha

got 2 type, one is purple n another is blue. Blue is better.

hmmm, then how come my mum like drapolene le? desitin is double the price of drapolene le.the desitin cream that u all used is blue or purple tube?

Hi mummies, I'm an Oct 2011 MTB. This is my 2nd pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just to share some great products I've also recommended to other mummies in another forum:

Prenatal vits: http://www.iherb.com/Twinlab-Dr-Greene-Prenatal-120-Capsules/11053?at=0

Fish oil/DHA: http://www.iherb.com/New-Chapter-Wholemega-Prenatal-500-mg-90-Softgels/22651?at=0

This website is in USD (conversion rate now is good!) and they ship direct to SG.

You can use discount code YAF688 to get US$5 off your first purchase.

This is a very good website, I buy my son's supplements and toiletries (all organic) from this website since my boy was born in 2007. :D

If you don't have a credit card but want to order, PM me. We can combine orders (I stay at PG).

BTW, they also have organic products for preggy mummies. My face wash, body wash and shampoo are all bought from this website too (Aubrey Organics). Price is not expensive with the direct shipping to SG. :D

In fact, most of their products are available at shops in SG, but double or triple the price. :D

modish.bebe,

I also use Desitin (Blue) for my boy. 1 tube can last me a long long time. Cannot finish before expiry date as I apply only a thin layer and not frequently.

I will confirm again on Thursday if I can make it for the gathering..

I am on mc again today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] got dizzy spells with nausea.. Turned out to be throat infect a-g-a-i-n.. This time I totally couldn't feel anything on my throat until doc told me it's swollen. My arms been tingling and numb the entire day.. Luckily it's linked to my infection and not coz I am getting a stroke or anything.. Pregnancy can really make me freak out easily sometimes.

My friend gave me a tube of destine to keep for bunny. She swore by it after experimenting with diff brands and told me not to bother to try other brands.. So I reckon it should be very good.. Especially after other mummies here also said so [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am cooking chicken soup with celery, tomatoes, carrot and onions for dinner tonight! Just threw in all the ingredients into the slow cooker just now so that I don't have to watch the fire..hehe

Some (or most) of u are taking herbal chicken soup already? How often do u take? Do u just go to medicinal hall and ask them to select the herbs for u?

I haven't start any herbal soups yet. Thinking of starting this weekend..

feimei / Px22

aiya... i also want to meet you gals at RP first leh, but you all meet so early... i can only meet at MRT abt 6:50pm.

think i'll just meet you gals there directly, unless you all can wait for me. ;P

star night

you not joining us for dinner?

pillow4,

blue blue desitin is better, heard less chemical.

purple one got a funny smell n not smooth to apply.

the expiry date v short, so dun buy a big tube.

nana> do take care, i oso hv the sight of sore throat ler...trying hard to prevent it...hv been pumping water n drink barley once or twice wkly...1st time i experience gg to get sick... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

looks like u always took healthy home-cooked food...how come ur throat keep getting infection? did u tell ur gynae that u got throat infection??? maybe he can suggest some prevention for u...

jas> u can only leave sooo late???

nana> the herbal u can asked those typical medical shop ppl, they can tell u wat to put for preggie...i hv not started yet...very lazy...

feimei

my official hour is until 6pm, but even when i leave at 7+ eveyday, i'm the first wor....

the earliest i can leave on friday will be 6:30pm lor, by the time i walk to MRT will be 6:40pm already.

i think nevermind lah, i'll see you gals at Marche itself.

Gals, Bad news.. Marche said they don not do reservation on fri, sat, sun. Have to walk in. Eventhough i told them we have 20 pax. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] How ah? Those who can reach 6plus maybe can stand in the q first and alert them to reserve seats for 20pax? cos they said 730-930pm is peak hr... any idea?

mi, px n XW shld be able to reach before 7pm bahh...we will go n ask them arrange the area for 20 of us lol...if they dun accept...we use our tummy to knock them...hahahahahaha

pillow, i knock off at 6.15pm..by the time reach Marche oso abt 6.40pm.. queue first lor..but then hor, oso need 50% attendance onie they will let us in even if i m the next in q rite?

so we do it this way, whoever reach liao, just go q up, can?

pillow > suggest either you stick to Marche or change location.. I can only confirm attendance on Thur..

xinyue, it is better to stick to marche. else ppl will get confused.

modisch, feimei - what i did the last time is q first when i reach. norm big group is separate q. then when u q tell the gal in charge that yours is for 20 pax. ask them to prepare first, preferably the room one so more exclusive. then we just continue to q... i will try to reach ard 630pm to q if can...

pillow> ok, got room one ahh??? hahahaha...i never been there before...suakuuuuu me!!!ok-ok, whoever reach 1st, will go queue...

desitin

yes it's like a "miracle" cream for nappy rash.

super fast-acting and effective.

but during confinement month, my CL can use up 3/4 tube in 1month!!

she said prevention is better than cure!!

anyway, i was told that baby girls are more prone to nappy rash, so will probably use up faster.

It's expensive to buy from SG, i used to order in bulk, of cos shared among my colleagues and frens.

If i just need 1 or 2 tubes, i'll just join sprees or BP if i need it urgently.

Sunshinebb/liz/pinkyrose, thanks for yr support.. I got to see baby aft 2 hrs of waiting.. Baby is ok.. And its confirm a GIRL. I am very happy for nw.. Was even thinking to go shopping.. But i'll wait for my DS on 11 mar than my shopping will start.. Gd luck to all who hv nt yet gone for appt..

Jan-ice: U're most welcome. Really hope u'll get a gd CL.

pillow: I'm also using desitin cream (blue box) for my son since day 1...very good! I KS, will still apply once in awhile for him though he is 3+ years old le. Buy from overseas spree/BP here, it's much cheaper. Spore sells only the 2oz at double the cost of 4oz from USA. Yup, dun think u need to stock up too many since there's many BPs going on for the desitin cream. A few boxes will suffice for the next few months and u can order again during yr ML if supply runs low.

i m still stuffed from lunch! n we hv loh hei session again tonight..

i tink it is heartburn again..sianz!

i hit 20weeks today! another 18 weeks to go before my baby comes out to this world..yahooo!!

Desitin

The one in blue is called Desitin CREAMY which I have been using. It's really effective for nappy rashes. But for normal barrier, maybe Drapolene is good enough, but I just apply a thinner layer of Desitin. One 4oz tube from overseas is quite cheap, normally between S$8-9 with shipping. I normally get mine from drugstore when they have 20% promos.. think next one should be somewhere in May.

pinkyrose - Im not going as I have family function. Celebrating my nieces birthday...

Sorry late reply. Swarmed wif work!! My colleague just tender.. So, we need to take his workload and distribute to the rest... =P