5) Wendycsk

6) crayon_mami

7) zachmommy (TBD - depending on time)

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (TBD)

13) Lizzie (sugarspunlily) (Halal food pls =D )

14) jas (prefer City Hall)

15) Cactusnah

16) pillow4 (novena/cityhall also can)

17) pinkyrose (will hv dinner with lizzie 1st b4 joining u gals)

elch> Wowww...thats a good supply!!!! :D ya, i agreed that starting oways the difficult part esp 1st time mummy...

feimei, it is ok to freeze once a day. u pump all in the morning then night time pour to milk bag, label and then freeze.

first 4mths i never freeze anything cos i latch direct..then when i go back to work, i pump in office, i will bring abt 5 bottles to work, use 4 bottles (cos express 2x during office hr). Bring home liao, if intend to let bb drink next day, i dun bother to freeze liao. only expressed milk at night or midnight i will freeze. I make it a point to freeze the latest expressed one.

dun worry abt supply, if we are diligent sure hv milk.. no milk oso got help to produce more milk..haha

modisch> i see...i see....ok, will take note!! thanks ya~~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

feimei,

2 hours to be on the safe side.

For me, 1st month I was desperately hanging on to breastfeeding by riding through sore nipples, bleeding nipples, engorgement and etc. Despite all those barriers, I persevered and latch every 3 hours (even in the middle of the night) and pump after every feed to totally clear the breasts so that my body can receive signal that I need more milk as demand=supply. Hard work pays off and supply kicked in by the 2nd month and I have lots to freeze. Hope all mummies will persevere on and breastfeed successfully!

modish.bebe,

I realize that both of us are like ambassadors for breastfeeding! Haha!

Wow.. Thanks to all the mummies who contributed the info on Pumping and storing milk.. very useful to me..

Event : July 2011 MTBs gathering

Date : 18 feb 2011

Time : 7pm

Venue : Marche @ 313

Attending :

1.) Audrey

2.) Lynn (novena/cityhall also can)

3.) Nana-mum ( TBD)

4.) Maelyn

5) Wendycsk

6) crayon_mami

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (TBD)

15) Cactusnah

elch, i oso tink so! I really really encourage all my frens to breastfeed exclusively and ignore what others said abt giving formula all those..my bestie's MIL kept asking her to feed her bb with FM cos she said bb on FM is chubbier.. but y want chubby baby? we onie want healthy baby but wat can i say except to ask her to persevere!

My MIL ever comment that too but to me, baby is mine, what i feed him is my problem no one can comment, not even my own parents so i told my hb directly in front of his mom "whether i hv sufficient milk or not that's my problem. if she wanna talk or comment further on my breastmilk, then please ask her to leave and dun come back!"

that really shut her up and since then she never once said anything liao..haha

i m glad my sis is oso pro-bf. I purposely flew back to KL to teach her how to latch cos hospitals in KL dun really promote breastfeeding unlike TMC or other hospitals..

elch> Bravo!!! ur effort really pay off, hope i can be like u...bite my teeth n go on mann!!!

is it true that cabbage leaves can help to ease the pain slightly??? or is it old wivies tales again???

XW> alamak...my frenx say wrongly...hahahhaaa...ohh...it will clog the ducts ahhh...no wonder she did not bf after sometimes...thanks!!!

modisch> i like ur comments: "baby is mine, what i feed him is my problem no one can comment"...steady U...i will definately say that if anyone dares to tell mi what ur MIL said...will tell them off jialat jialat...we give birth n we noe wat is good for our own bb...y they wan to bother soo much...n bm is the best...wat for being a chubby bb n not healthy??? what a joke lol!!!

modisch.bebe,

My mum kept asking me to give up breastfeeding when she saw me clenching my fist on the arm of the chair with tears running down my face while carrying my baby on the other arm latching. Was really pissed off then and quarreled with her almost each time I breastfeed. Hubby told me days later that my mum actually felt heart pain for me to see me suffering so much to breastfeed...he felt heart pain too but he didn't dare say a word for fear of depressing me further...

elch, ya, our own parents feel heartpain cos my mom kept saying i look pale and listless cos at night gotta wake up few times and din get to nap during day time. Bb sleep, i must wash nappy. that i understand but my MIL is saying my BM not enuf for her grandson which makes me fume lor..

tell me abt sore nipple man! each time my bb latch, i will cringe..and i resort to wearing breastshield to sleep cos my pyjamas rub on nipple oso pain! Lolz..those were the times and now i m going to experience it all over again!

feimei, actually cold cabbage can use to clear engorgement but then hor it will oso help to reduce our supply. Best method to clear engorgement is to apply warm towel and then massage or go warm shower and let the shower hit our breast, clench our teeth and massage! Lols.. u will notice milk squirting out after that.. that time i went to TMC parentcraft and the nurse really massage till my blocked ducts all clear and no joke abt the pain!

elch,

I was not as strong as you. That time i did confinement in my mum's house in msia. And my mum was so gan jiong say baby hungry cannot wait. That time I also blur blur, let my mum feed FM. I couldnt master the latching skills, no one was there to help and guide me. Some nurses came to my house and teach, and my baby dun wan to latch. So I was advised to pump. Than got once when i was pumping, my DH couldn't manage bb and scolded me for wasting time to pump breast. Since then, I stop pumping and stop BF. So sad hor..

So this time round, I am having confinement in my own house. Find a CL who is pro BF. Dun allow my mum to come over until finish confinement, keke.. And I drag my DH along to my breastfeeding workshop! Hopefully I can succeed this time!

wow! thanks for all the breast feeding tips! I actually copied and paste onto words, and maybe print out next time. im very forgetful.. =P

i really hope to succeed in breast feeding!

ixoral > my DH also m'sian, went back ipoh during CNY and saw some items eg.. car seat, its cheap compared to SG but duno good anot.. the brand nvr hear before.. i dun dare buy also, most prob will buy in spore..

I've added myself in the list, here is the updated one.

Attending :

1.) Audrey

3.) Nana-mum ( TBD)

4.) Maelyn

5) Wendycsk

6) crayon_mami

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (TBD)

15) Cactusnah

18) Icezjo

modisch> ya...i heard massage can help to clear clogged ducts but mus do it right...realli hv to learn otherwise no one will help me too!!! I asked my CL, she say very easy to bf...those mummies under her...very fast pick up ler ( try to belief 1st ) lol...hahahaha...

Modisch,

Mine's a gal.

All, I will be having dinner with frens at Ngee ann city so not joining. But if u happen to c me in the train, we try to smile hor... U all will b so easy to find!

Btw, any1 getting conf lady of 40 days? Anyone gg to apply thru Internet stay extension?

audrey, i very kiasu one. scared no seats cos our group too big. btw marche only allow us to go in if we have at least 50% attendace. else we gotta wait. So can I have a show of hands who can reach at 7pm?

pillow..

i m suppose to meet lizzie for halal dinner b4 marche.. hehe..

if u need head count to go in.. i can be of help =D

Most prob we will be hanging round the corner =D

i pm u my number..

also to add.. i got no school that day.. so.. i cant reach anytime lah.. =D

tell me if u nid any help coordinating

=D

Tmmrw i be seeing my bb at 11.00 am aft waiting for 1 mth..

but was told tbat i will hv to wait long as there are alot of patients for tmmrw.. Sian.. Alone somemore as hubby is working.. Can'thelp thinking of tmmrw check-up.. Hopefully can confirm gender.. If nt wait for another 2-3 wks for DS..

Gd morning gals, I'm not allowed to get out of e hse, so cannot mit u gals... Awww, I really hope to go cos it sounds fun to mit up...

I've replaced my name with sweet pea. Here's the updated list:

Attending :

1.) Audrey

3.) Nana-mum ( TBD)

4.) Maelyn

5) Wendycsk

6) sweet pea

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (TBD)

15) Cactusnah

18) Icezjo

Gooooood morning Mummies. Woke up to another backache....tsk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]. 3 more days to the meet up session!

Crayon Mami: Omg, painting your belly sounds so fun! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Enjoy meeting up mummies! I will b busying doing my nephew bday cake for sat.

Yesterdae manage to complete barney's friends figurine! Luckily. tonight got to continue with the rainbow figurine

morning ladies....

toking abt Bfeeding...i bf for a yr for my #1 and my mom also discourage me in the beginning stage cos she see me very tired and its like every moment must latch and pump...slowly i told her e benefits of BM, and she accepted it...

i think for lst time mummy, dun be gan chiong, cos milk doesnt flow in immediately....u must hv patience, so beginning, u mite be stress by mil or mom, saying 'aiya, u no milk de'...dun be depressed oki, gv urself at least 2-3 weeks or even 1 month to try...its def not an easy task de...need alot of encouragement from yourself and your hb...hehe

and meanwhile while waiting for ur BM, u can feed FM de....its oki de...no harm de done de....so dun need to worry....

modish and elch- thx for the BF tips...i also copied and paste into words and print,keep in my notebook... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning ladies...

Breastfeeding:

I was so stubborn about breastfeeding successfully that I did not standby any FM. Informed the nurses straight upon admission that I want to be Total Breastfeeding (TBF). Milk supply didn't kick in during my 4D3N stay at TMC but I still latched 3-hourly or lesser. My boy cried but I was persistent in letting him going on TBF. Read that a newborn can survive on its reserves and the colostrum for the 1st few days so that keeps me going on. Milk kicked in only on the day or 1 day after I got discharged. Thinking back, I was really 'cruel' to let my boy suffer for about 5 days without 'proper' milk! However, all's well and he's a super chubby TBF baby!

elch, same for me! But i was quite depressed during my stay in TMC..i dunno if he get his milk or not and every night, i would wake my hb up to ask him if that is my baby crying (my room was just beside the nursery) so imagine my anxiety! Summore i was c-sect, i drag myself out of the bed few times a night just to make sure he is not crying. Haha..

It doesnt help my son was born the day he turn 37 weeks so he was very tiny and so thin. Coupled that milk is not coming in makes me sad and angry that i have to get pre-eclampsia and it is so severe that it is life-threatening for both of us..sighz!

the nurse saw me being so anxious kept assuring me the bb that cried is not mine..lolz but she suggested to let him drink glucoline which i did lar but onie via cup..but reach home liao, the cruelty starts..i latch him every 2 hrs..till my breast starts to get sore!

Elch...haha...i can understand, me too....during my 3days stay at TMC, beginning i also same as u, total and its 200% total BM only, so every 2-3hrs the nurse will bring my bb to me for BF, but then me not much milk, so when my mom came, she insist ask nurse for FM, well, so i told my mom, i tot lst 3days bb dun really need milk, but my mom say, who say, come out liao sure hungry...hahaha...

so well, i also scare bb hungry lar...so everytime i will latch bb and then ask nurse for FM to standby...feed my bb some FM...to make sure bb not hungry...haha....

Hi all, tks for the RSVP.

Ok, so this is the confirmed list. Will call Marche later.

Attending :

1.) Audrey (7pm)

2.) Lynn (7pm)

3.) Nana-mum ( TBD)

4.) Maelyn

5) Wendycsk

6) sweet pea

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (7pm)

15) Cactusnah

16) pillow4 (7pm)

18) Icezjo (7pm)

19) feimei (7pm)

20) modisch (7pm)

As of now, we have 20 confirmed pax. wow big group... (Hopefully can get the room cos we will be very noisy). Only 7ppl can reach by 7pm. we need 3 more... anyone?

Now i am thinking of how to identify each and everyone of us (as in when we sit down). cos some of us esp me hv bad memories of names... cant remember... and one night gotta link 19 names to the nicks... think my brain will burst. then if u all dun mind, will take a group pic too... so can identify after that... haha so drama..

syrah, i am not too sure. I can stay till 930pm though. how late will u reach roughly?