(2011/07) July 2011

audrey > I have been worrying since I am preggy. Afraid of an abnormal baby. More so after I heard from some, who said that despite having ok or good results for the tests doesnt guarantee an ok baby and vice versa.

all is ok for u now.. can rest ur mind and have a nice valentine day celebration .. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kathleen - yah .. Agree that some things cannot be found out...

I am so sleepy waiting for my turn.. My hubby fell asleep le...

DS appoint at 9.30, I went in at 10.30

Gynea appointment at 12.20, I register at 11.10

Now almost 2 le, not my turn yet...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

wow... wqited for so long... hopefully by my appt wont be waiting so long. cos all timing r so near ;)

Congrats to all mummies who have known her bb gender and finished DS.. for those who are thinking your DS is far..i think no one can beat me..mine is scheduled on 11Mar..even more zzz...

on a side note, just gotten a hand-me-down baby cot from hubby's cousin! it still looks soo new.. just need to buy a new cot mattress will do. Happy! 1 item down..

Understand some mummies are m'sian here. My hubby also m'sian. Am thinking if certain baby items will be cheaper in msia? Example bigger items like bb pram, bumbo seat. Anyone knows? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies, happy valentine day!

just came in to office cos took half day leave. was on mc last thu and fri so din log in to check.

so many archives to read... now gotta read before any posting... haha.

mummies,juz make yourself feel better by telling urself that feb is a short month.so to reach to march will be a bit faster.heee.

thats what i keep telling myself..haaa

feimei, hw many u brought? u can just buy some more again mah..hahaha..

by the way, G market is what huh? n hw to make payment to them ?anyone brought from there before?

yaya,

its like yahoo auction... juz dat no need to bid... payment mostly by credit card... some may be able to pay thru paypal or bank transfer... usually quite cheap compared to retail shops...

yaya> oops i finally find later than me..cos from all the previous posts, seems like everyone else's DS is in Feb!

btw mummies, Maternity Exchange is having their annual sale now..up to 70% off. Saw from an email. Not sure if will have any worthwhile items to buy not. Think they only got 1 store at Marina Sq.. can go chk out if free!

yaya> i jus bot 1pkt to test water 1st...mi n my staff, crazy with gmarkets things...i bot some items liao...she bot alot of things...hahahaha...cos it's cheaper...Gmarket is the version of yahoo aution!!! create a acct, u can make payment via credit card, enets, paypal...all convenient ways lol...

my frenx pass me the breast pump ler...saw some parts available in gmarket...shld be getting from there...

Janice: I just spoke to the confinement lady abt yr interest and she is free to take u since i 'fly her kite':p. Actually i didn't 'dua' her coz she told me she'll call me to meet up and collect deposit in early Feb but i din receive any calls from her so i confirmed with my sis's CL. But i think this Auntie Lian is nice and responsible coz she explained that she needs to settle down the newborn whom she is currently taking care of b4 she has time to return my call. And when i called her this morning, she din pick up my call which i thk is gd coz she might be busy caring for the bb, so missed my call. She sounded nice and patient over the phone. She charges S$2k. U dun accept PM, u PM me and i give u her no.?

Feimei: Ha...dun worry, we're referring to diff Lians. I wont dare to recommend to mummies here if she 'luan-luan lai'.

Kimifin: Congrats on having a princess! I was pleasantly surprised when the sono told me mine is likely to be a gal last week coz BOY has been running in my mind since day 1. So, when the sono announced 'it looks like a ___', i was filling up the blank in my mind saying 'boy'. But when i heard the word 'girl', i was v.surprised and happy and turned and looked at my hb who was grinning. I'm really hoping the amnio result this wk turns out normal, else i'll be v heart broken...

Anyway, Usually sono dare not give u 100% assurance of the gender coz they dun want to be held responsible shld result turns out otherwise. Knowing their 'pattern', i told her i wont hold her responsible so dun worry and she smiled at me and thanked me for my understanding. Ha...

Janice: Like what XY mentioned, purpose of the detailed scan is to check for any abnormality in their developing organs. I questioned my sono if i still need to go thru detailed scan since i've gone for my amnio and spend so much. She said it's diff and i still need to go thru the detailed scan which is compulsory, though they're using the same type of machine.

Not that i'm trying to scare mummies here, but my cousin had no choice but to opt to abort her bb at 5 months aft her detailed scan. Her FTS and other scans were normal till the DS when they found enlarged heart in her foetus. She had no choice but to be induced and give birth to her still born. Such cases are rare but juz wanna share and shed light to the purpose of DS.

mummies,i very worried....i haven been eating healthily ever since day 1 i got pregnant...

i dun like to eat fruits n veges...

can only swallow those unhealthy food..help!!

and im always worried that bb will grow w/o the necessary nutrients [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

feimei, i just signed up for the gmarket account. quite cool le! hehehe.. later go home then browse..

yaya> hahahhaa...u will get hook to it...esp the beauty care session...they got good lobang....esp the bb cream...my col bot before...not bad...

but before buy, read through ppl's comment....i gg to buy specs frame....hahahahaha....

yes hving a bb must to go thru so many tests...the emo is really up and down...i feel that we r just like gg thru many endless exam...so anxious waiting for the result...many thing r just not within our control...so the oni thing i can do now is to pray for a healthy bb....me alway praying for all mtbs to hv a healthy bb

ixoral, bb stuff is definitely cheaper in SG thatn MY! Most of my frens from Malaysia oso travel to SG to buy toys etc for their kids.

Bumbo oso cheaper here.. i went to recce liao..haha

yaya- fried and spicy food.have been junking on potato chips,those crackers,tidbits..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yaya,

The glucose test is optional. My gynae is the play safe so he ask me to do. I ever failed for the first test for elder one.

Cactus,

My gynae keyed into his screen , girl, but he told the nurse xy. Xy is boy.. But nurse double chk cos last record is ger mah. My doc jus go thru the measurements n din say much one. So thk all is ok lor. But I did ask abt confirm ger right. Hhaa...

feimei,

Blue Egg milkbags are cheap and good. I used alot of them when I was still breastfeeding. Was able to get them at $8+ per box (no thermal sensor) back then via BP. Thermal sensor is not necessary at all.

modisch.bebe> ok thanks for that! cos my cousin-inlaw was telling me KL having their biggest mom&baby expo fair on 6-8May in midvalley..ask me to consider..hee. So now i'm more assured to just get my bb stuff in sg instead..

btw want to seek some advice from the mummies here. What other items from Medela are worthwhile to buy other than the breastpump? i saw from the spree section in this forum, alot of mummies buying the milk bags, bottles etc, and maybe even the nursing bras. Wonder if it's worthwhile to buy those from Medela to try try too? since i know most ppl will just get the bottles from SG and the milkbags from bkk, korea, etc

Ixoral: I bght Tollyjoy cloth nappy from M'sia last time. It's much cheaper there if u're thinking of using cloth nappy that is.

Kimifin: Yr gynae blur liao ah? Anyway, glad u have what u wished for[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow.. congrats to all the mummies who get to knw their bunny's gender today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so can go SHOPPING liao loh... Princess got more things to buy.. i can says there nothing much for Prince....

cactusnah > I got ur email and I hv called her. She seems nice and among all those I have called, I find her the most suitable. :-D Really appreciate your great help! I have send you an email back. Am wondering how you manage to find her in e 1st place. I wanna find out a bit more from you before I go down to meet her and pay her deposit. Need to travel to Sembawang ...very far for me.

ixoral, yes yes, clothes nappy is cheap! those bb shirts for newborn (tollyjoy pure white one) oso cheap..few ringgit can get liao. but other than that, nothing is cheap for me in Malaysia though after exchange rate..haha.

not essential to use medela milkbags cos it is expensive. can get cheaper like lansinoh or blue egg. milk storage bottle is essential if u want to store ur expressed milk but not freezing. each tiem pump, need 2 bottle. I used to have abt 10 milk storage bottles to use interchangeably.

elch> ahhh....the thermo not neccessary??? hahahaha...1st time trial n error...test water 1st...but the size i got is 210ml...my frenx say big size worr...die liao lol...waste space -__-"

feimei, 210ml not big lar..haha. store more in a bag is more cost-effective..to me lar. i usually store up to 230ml per bag (really maximise the blue egg bag). When u start using frozen milk for ur kiddo, they will prob drink 150ml each time, 1 day drink 6 times, u need few bags to be defrost leh..

each time pump, max can get 360ml alr need to use 2 bags liao.. summore if we are good cows, mabbe get more than 360ml each time, then need more bags, 1 day pump every 3 hrs, u do the maths..haha

feimei, if store on normal fridge freshly expressed BM (breastmilk) can be kept for 48hrs.

frozen milk can be kept for 3mths. frozen milk that is defrosted must be finished within 24hrs.

frozen milk on stand-alone freezer (chest freezer) can be kept up to 6 mths

milk that alr warmed up can be stored at room temperature for 1hr and up to 3-4hrs if it is kept in warmer. but once bb drink liao, if cannot finish must be thrown away

feimei,

Like modisch.bebe, I also maximise the milk bag one. I got lots of bottles to store breastmilk too. Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles very cost effective and BPA-free too!

thanks modisch.beeb and elch for the valuable advice on milk bottles n milk bags..hee.

So pigeon bottles will be gd to buy during bb fair right? Just wondering, are the blue egg milkbags from korea comparable to the ones from BKK Boots? rem some of you mentioned abt the boots milkbag some time back.. if gd then i can ask my friend to buy when she goes bkk for holiday..:p

ixoral, i never use boots before so i dunno wor but will buy a few boxes to try when i fly there in March..price wise oso dunno long term cost effective bor. but blue egg quality is good. bag is thick and they hv sides which are sealed and easy handling when pouring. most impt is their top is double sealed too

ixoral,

Welcome. Pigeon is a controlled price item so it's good to buy during baby fair when the price are on discount. If miss major baby fairs, can also look out for those NTUC ones as they will have 20% discount on baby items as well.

modisch, tks for the valuable advice on bf and milkbags. wow, if that is the case, if we plan to bf for 3 mths, then how many bags we need? gg by your cal, 3 hrs 1 pump, 1 pump 2 bags... then we need ard 1000 bags? i deducted some for immed use liao.. phew...

mummies, as for the gathering shall we quickly fix the venue? so maybe we can do booking... since most are comfortable with marche at 313, shall we confirm it?

if yes, details are as follows:

Date: 18 Feb (Fri)

Time: 7pm

Venue: Marche, Somerset 313

oops, and any of u know the list of the confirmed attendees is in which archive? so I can repost the namelist. i cant find...

Jan-ice: Glad u like her too. Most imptly is to feel comfortable with her since yr hb might not be arnd with u for the entire confinement period. Hopefully she is truly gd coz i've never engaged her b4. She was recommended to me thru Lan-Jie. The one highly recommended here and from other mummies. Lan jie gave me her words that this Ah Lian is also v gd and responsible, else she said she wont recommend. I tried to bargain for u for $1.9k but she said her price is fixed:p

gam sia, elch n modisch for ur valuable advices!!! realli need to do maths lol...but sekali i m a low-supply Moo-moo...hahahaha...each pump onli little bit nia...waste the storage bag leh!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pillow:

I think this is the latest list:

Event : July 2011 MTBs gathering

Date : 18 feb 2011

Time : TBD

Venue : United square ?? City hall??

Attending :

1.) Audrey

2.) Lynn (novena/cityhall also can)

3.) Nana-mum ( TBD)

4.) Maelyn (TBD)

5) Wendycsk

6) crayon_mami

7) zachmommy (TBD - depending on time)

8) cary

9) XW

10) Jan-ice

11) jgwee

12) sunshinebb (TBD)

13) Lizzie (sugarspunlily) (Halal food pls =D )

14) jas (prefer City Hall)

15) Cactusnah

16) pillow4 (novena/cityhall also can)

feimei,

Just to share what I do to maximize the milk bag when:-

1) Flow is low.

2) No intention for use for the next 48hours.

1st pump, put into bottle (assuming both sides yield 90ml) and fridge it. 3 hours later, pump put into another bottle (assuming both sides yield 80ml) and fridge it. 1-2 hours later, when both bottles from 1st and 2nd pump is of same temperature, pour them into milk bag and freeze it. Label the milk bag the date and time of the 1st pump.

feimei,

Welcome. In short, if we are to mix breastmilk from different pump timing, the temperature of the milk has to be the same.

For the 1st 1-2 months, we will be busy getting the grip of breastfeeding and building milk supply so may not need alot of milk bags yet. Once the supply is build up and you yield more than what your baby can consume, then it's time to clear your fridge of everything to store breastmilk. At least that's what I did previously. My freezer has nothing but breastmilk for almost a year!