(2011/07) July 2011

hihi mummies, good morning to all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

been busy doing research on milk bottles..and seems like a lot of different variations!

from 1 valve to 2 valves and diff sizes, etc..

are you all using avent bottles?

usually how many bottles a baby needs?

was thinking of sending my baby to mom's hse for care when im at work after ML but worried that every item i have to buy 2 sets?!

2 sets digital warmer, steriliser, boottles, pacifiers?!?!?

feimei: how to see which one is angmor which is chinese?

cary: ya! first time cramp this morning. until now the calves still got abit pulling sensation. =(

crystal, morning! I used NUK for my #1 and will continue to use it for #2 ... think for a start, 2 should be enough cos you will have time to wash/sterilise before next time use. and yes, if your mum is helping to take care of baby, you will need to buy 2 sets of most things. Will you be planning to bring baby home every night or only on weekends? If only on weekends, you can either get a pre-loved steriliser/warmer etc ... at least can save some $$ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I know of many pantangs during preg..

but my work require students to do workshop, like technical type (but in classroom with simple hand tools), but i wont get to do though need to be around.

So far, i help to conduct during my 1st tri n be careful not to get injured.

this time, heard got some sawing of metal tubes.

I still have to perform my basic duties so din ask for exemption.

anyone can advice how you continue with you daily work?

px, when got cramps, must be careful hor ... try the exercise tonight ... I can't remember if the ang moh barley is the bigger sized barley or the smaller sized barley heehee

px22, can eat better than cannot eat. I realize I ate lesser than b4. Always no appetite. Used to love bak kwa but now I hv at home but dun like to eat. So sian..

This weekend gotta boil birds nest liao. Hopefully bb dun let me throw up. Now every night I feel bloated n sick [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Feimei, wat time is ur scan??

crystal i m using avent for my boy.. he still using avent milk bottles n he is already 21 mths turning 22 soon..

eh i left my steriliser with my mum's hse aft i returned to work.. my workplace got steriliser for my pumpin stuff so i din hav to hav 2 sets .. but if realli need to sterilise at home coz bb more often at mummy's i bot medela's sterilising bags.. can use microwave to sterilise..

my boy using 2 bottles ..

i suggest u buy 1 set 1st n c if ur bb will use those items like pacifiers .. bottles i tink ok to buy 2 ..

crystal_cloud,

no need 2 sets, or depend on your mum, maybe she's the boil water to sterilise n warm milk type?

I used to put mine at nanny and sometimes at in laws.

imagine 3 sets???

I onlt buy those i need for my convenience, most likely mum or nanny have their way, so need to ask them.

cary: y cramps must be careful? got prob one ha??

First time cramp leh sian. Where got pple so early start to cramp one..

modisch: aiya can eat is good, but all the weight comes to me not bb leh. I put on another 1kg again.. so since pregnancy total 8kg. jialat.

Px22.

u try wearing socks to sleep, one mummy taught me that!! u try and see if still got cramps

and make sure you drink at least 8 glasses of water..prevent dehyration

Hi all...

crystal_cloud,

I'm using Avent for my 1st boy. Tried Pigeon, Dr.Brown and Medela but still prefer Avent. Find that the quality is much better. For a start, just get 1-2 bottles as you won't know if your baby will like the teat or not. You may not even use the bottles if you're exclusively breastfeeding.

My boy's looked after by my mum when I went back to work and I did get an extra sterilizer, bottles and etc. Sterilizer can get a pre-loved one. I never get a digital warmer. Got a pacifier from the Avent starter kit but my boy didn't like it. He's not into pacifiers.

px, no major problem ... just that when you have cramps, if you stretch your legs too fast, your veins might be hurt ...

kimi .. i spoke to my boss abt e walkin requirements needed as part of my job once i knew i was preggy i asked to b excused .. ppl can guess but my boss jus says she not feelin well ..

ah okie ang mo barley bigger sized ah okie okie.. can get from normal super market?

aiyah poor modisch .. bird nest gd stuff pity to throw up .. hope ur bb likes bird nest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] r u takin any B6 to reduce being a merlion?

hihi morning all mtbs

yes crayon...saw the old magazine of KKH...Prof John Tee still look ok ar...but now super dry up...hubby n me was thinking maybe he too stress liao...hahaha

Feimei...ur appt 2.30pm...so u working today?

PX22...yes i alrdy exp leg cramps liao...so painful

Crystal...that is my concern 2...cos my mum is gg to take care my bunny...m thinking to bring bb home everyday cos i live 3 bus stop away oni..so shld i buy 2nos of cot, bottle ect...still dun wnt wht to do

cary,

i will be sending bb to mom's hse on weekdays n bring back for night feeds...

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wat is NUK? sorry never heard of it being first time mummy

Wendy

i feel like buying the avent high durable bottle set x 2pcs in a box (2 sets)

means total of 4!

i feel like buying the 125ml for drinking water, and 260 ml for milk.. very kiasu..too many isit?

kimifin,

i think hor my mom most prob will use the hot water leh..old method..if got extra bonus or tio 4D.. then i buy another set bah..my hubby will kill me! if i buy will be my own money bah.

so your nanny and in laws have 1 set each ah???

what else do i have to buy? isit bottle nipples for 0-3 months, 3-6 months, 6-12 months standby to change??

Px 22,

how many weeks are you already? i forgot again..too many mummies

i also very worried will have leg cramps..i felt it before when i wasnt preg..i was having a drink too much from parties and got severe leg cramps! the pain is terrible! and i will scream out from sleep to ask hubby massage for me!

so afraid that yesterday i lifted my legs on a pillow to sleep but sigh..not very comfy ...my bb is probably pressing on my sciatic nerve and my left buttock got the tingling pain

Wendy, not taking med for vomiting. Hate to eat med one lo..

Crystal, elder ppl usually dun like sterilizer. My mom boil the water n when boiling throw bottles inside n boil for few minutes nia. So no need 2 set of everything. Last time my boi onie 1 bottle cos most of the time I latch. So convenient.

Yet to buy anything. Haha.. Tink I'll buy in April/may. Sooo lazy to shop lately. Surprisingly for me. Haha

hihi eLcH (elchwong)

ok then i get Avent..hehehe most babies use them! should be ok lah!!

will look out for preloved sterilisers for mom's hse then..having a baby is no joke, so many research, things to buy! worse than wedding and renovation!

sunshinebb you also got leg cramps liao ah?

my friend told me she din experience at all, she is quite fat but she drinks alot of water..probably thats the reason y..u try drinking more water!

2 cots are no joke! they are real ex..

think my mom's place i probably buy those normal car seat carrier for baby to sleep inside..i mean besides the ex cot, wat else can i buy to replace a cot?!

probably mom's hse will have a cheap cot from ikea??

zachmommy,

I've yet to buy anything and also yet to think of buying! Think because it's #2? This time round I'll just get 1 X 125ml and 1 X 260ml. Over buy alot of things for #1 the 1st time round. Must shop smarter this time round.

crystal, NUK is another brand, like Avent/Pigeon etc ... here's there international website http://en.nuk.de/ ... like what w160879 suggested, maybe just buy a few first ... and decides which items to get extras later, before you go back to work. and no need to buy bottle nipples to standby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can get them when needed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunshine, I got it from Hock Hua ... they are having a promotion now. I got 2 liang at $260 and top up another $40, get another 6 bottles of birdnest (ready to drink kind) ... so that package is $300. I also took the opportunity to get the ingredients for the chicken soup cos starting to brew that too.

crystal, for your mum's place, you can get those rocker for baby to sleep in or baby can sleep on mattress [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

modisch/elch, hee same same ... haven't buy anything yet ... will buy in Mar/April or whenever there's sale :D

Wendy,

Thanks. I tried a few shops but mostly velcro at the back and not the front.

px22,

My babies' movement can last quite long and be quite frequent too. My DH can feel them if he places his palms on my belly. Your DH cant? Don't think u need to worry abt feeling them too often! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just enjoy!

Thanks Liz!

crystal: week 17/18... the funny thing is i drink alot of water yesterday cos i was getting heartburn.. much more than usual. And when I sat up in pain halfway asleep screaming for DH, he wasn't around.. claims to be sleeping in the living room bcos he stirs too much in his sleep and wakes me up all the time..

I heard Avent milk bottles no good cos they leak and the baby ends up with milk over all the face?

crystal_cloud,

For my mum's place, I got a playpen but he did not use it very often. Most time he'll be on my mum's bed or the mattress on the floor.

cary,

Think I'll be in 'panic mode' nearer the date. Haha!

i realy tink it is the #2 syndrome whr alot of my frens and bosses told me our attitude will be diff compared to when expecting #1. Haha..#1 everything must sterilise, #2, sterilise when necessary, #3 never mind lar..dirty eat dirty grow..haha

crystal, sleep on mattress like cary suggested oso ok. When i go back to my own place in Malaysia, my son oso sleep on bed or mattress or rocker and i was thr for 1 whole month..

ask u gals, when boil chicken soup, u all use black chicken or normal kampung chicken or normal chicken parts can ler? saw one of my fb frens her mil so nice, boil black chicken soup for her weekly. envy!! My mil onie know how to boil salted vege duck soup which is quite nice mabbe cos i never drink before at my mom's place..haha but it is not nutritious leh..haha

Px22,

There's a certain lot where there's an issue with leakage issues but not anymore. The trick to Avent bottles is not to over-tighten it. So far my boy has not have incident of having milk all over his face.

cary...me too think to get fr hock hua cos m member thr....wow $300 is reasonable

cary n crystal...my mum say dun need to waste $$$ she say just get mattress let bb slp will do...cos she say no small children at home can do so...cos if got small children then they run abt or jump on the bed will step on bb very dangerous

Crystal .. avent teats a lil tougher than NUK.. i dun suggest u buyin e 260ml yet.. 125ml first..

Modisch.. i also dun like meddy but if i dun take e B6 i surely merlion now take also merlion but reduce e frequency ..

Cary good deal on bird nest ah.. u hock hua member?

oic cary,

studying the NUK website now

haha i very kiasu! think most probably will get the nipples later bah..hahaha

i feel like buying those bottled concentrated bird's nest to eat! i think imm sells them..each day 1 teaspoon

i think you are very right! will get baby to sleep on mattress or those rocker netted seat which those market sells..hehehe save money!

wow PX22,

your DH is so nice!!! if i dare ask my hubby sleep in living room he wil be offended!

tink the queen size bed is becoming very cramp for me..with the lifesize boaster, extra pillow for leg and DH tossing around ! he is very restless when he sleeps and often nudges me with his elbow unintentionally! i will often wake up and push his elbow away.

either that or he will snore at my direction and i have to ask him turn around!

so in the end who eases the pain for you?

poor thing

you are just 4 weeks more than me..very scared of leg cramps ..think mine is nearing soon!

avent bottles leak???? but i seen so many parents using it leh..like 'branded' liao.lol

ok elch..more or less cfm i get mattress lah..save costs..hehe

baby wont roll right?!

side track abit

are medela b pumps really THAT GOOD?!

the prices are very ex!!

and how come most % of moms using that? i heard about the good reviews and is keen in participating a spree to get it..but really cant bear to pay 450 for it!

i wonder watz the diff between that and avent electronic pump?!

px: if you have cramp at night.. try to left your leg higher by putting pillow below when sleeping.. that help the blood circulation.. and like they mention put socks on to keep warm..

I read that from some other baby source.. hope it helps..

crystal_cloud,

bottles, about 2 sets each. they use hot waterto sterilise.

I duno if to get new teat or reuse my #1??

Leakage issues of Avent, YES, if you do not screw it properly.

Normally I put the cap on and shake a bit, if not leak, means ok.

sunshinebb, my mom hse no small children..only her alone and my brother if he knocks off from work.

i wonder wat if the baby flips or rolls?

so cute right? recently my mother instict kicks in a great deal..i keep imagining carrying my baby and smiling to myself!

crystal.. no.. not that avent leak.. but that sometimes it is quite easy to put the cap on slanted.. so just be careful when you put the cap on.. then it won't leak.. human problem not product problem

wah... u all so fast already discussing bottles... great for a first time MTB like to listen to feedback fm other there if not will be clueless...

whoever wanna buy nuk teats dun buy first ok.. i hv alot that TMC nurses gave me last time.. all still unopened.. they gave me all those bottled FM to feed at home and they oso gave nuk teats as well. wil not be using nuk cos i find the teats too soft.haha. if anyone wants, juz let me know i can mail it out.

chujie,

yes, if screw that way, the spill is very bad.

I din screw the right tightness, will leak as bb drk.

v hard to control.

I still used cos able to get discount from fren...

oic chu jie..

ok will take note

seems like alot of mummies here with 2nd kid already!! im a greenhorn!

modisch bebe

you are so nice!!

wonder wat does MT A gives out? TMC gives out quite alot of stuffs!

reused the teats shd be OK?

i got many small teat sizes cos I buy starter kits and end up many small bottles n small teats.

mummies, baby fair at expo 18-20Mar

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mother-Baby-Singapore/136281856413399#!/event.php?eid=184365588248133

crystal: i never chase DH out to sleep.. he was tossing and turning and doing backstroke the whole night.. flinging his arms kicking his legs and woke me up so many times tat i get insomnia. So last night once he started to move i was barking at him already.. so he went to sleep on the floor, then in the living room. End up he is the one with insomnia hahah

In the end i massage abit, once not so painful i fell asleep again. tats y until now still not totally recovered. muscle pulling very tight..

me too.. everytime i poke my tummy and baby responses, i cant wait to hold bb in my arms. 5 mth plus to go!

crystal for medele pumps i m user of 2 medele pumps .. my 1st pump was a manual hand pump from Avent but hehe too tiring for me..

then i went to buy mini electric - dual pump.. it works okie for me.. as i progress .. i jus wanna cut short pumpin time so i bot pump in style advanced .. (PISA).. tat is my last n will b my next pump it draws more milk so i realli shortened my pumpin time.. i nvr used to latch my bb for long .. due to a sudden op i hav to go thru after giving birth .. so i relied on pumping .. my bf ing - ebm journey lasted 16mths ..

so ur spree is likely for Freestyle .. freestyle has rechargeable batt more mobile so if i turn back clock to choose i will choose freestyle.. but one thing to note.. freestyle might b a problem for mummies with blocked duct.. coz they dun clear e ducts as well ..

Avent electric pump (e stories I heard) .. is more of it not drawing a lot of milk but heard it worked ok for some mummies also ..

i like ur candid mummy instincts .. eh .. all milk bottles will leak ba if not screw properly hehe so mus chk coz in e beginning ur precious bm in e bottle n it leaks not into ur bb's mouth v sayang.. :p

yes crystal....our bunny will start to flips ard 4mth if im not wrong...so u hv to put some pillow to surround them to prevent them fr rolling...beside tht if u place them on the ur bed...make sure buy some cushion or mattress to put ard the bed on the floor...just incase they roll n fall out of the bed...most important thing is bb wun hit their head

kimifin, the teats that i mentioned above are not re-used..haha. they are brand new still sealed.

dun tink u shuld reuse teats lar. i tot we shuld change bottle teat often esp if we keep sterilising them 2-3 times a day. I dun tink those plastics are BPA free.

kimifin: teats don't reuse la.. imagine has been put inside #1 mouth for so long and now reuse for #2.. not hygenic leh..

personally feeling that bottle still ok to share.. but teats very personal leh.. but I think I will get new bottles and teats for #2.. cuz even #1's use too long should buy new one to replace after period of time.. no matter how you sterilise.. germs will accumulate.. also bottle and teats cannot take heat for too many times.. will release bad chemicals.. they do turn yellow too..

just like we shouldn't reuse milk storage bags