(2011/07) July 2011

Hi feimei, i paid $300 for deposit. The standard are about 200-300. Besides cooking your confinement meals and looking after bb( especially in wee hours at night), the CL will do basic house chores (upon discussion, some dun do, have to ask! I got maid thus i dun need her to do house chores). Normally for the cooking, she will cook for you only but if you buy more, she can cook more for DH, but it is not recommended as confinement food is too heaty for normal people. Marketing can be done by CL if no one do marketing, or DH can drive her to buy (need to see which CL as well).

Basic CL chores:

- Prepare herbal tonic and confinement meals for new mother

- Nannies will take over the duties of feeding and taking total care of your baby like Bathing,Prepare all milk feeds and sterilizing equipment

-preparation of confinement bath

- Do laundry for mother and baby (cos baby clothes must be properly wash)

-Advise on breast feeding as necessary

Here are a few questions you must check with CL:

1)How many years of experience as a confinement lady?

2)What food does she cook for the mother during the confinement period?

3)How many meals per day? 3, 6 or etc? What if the mother is hungry during teabreaks?

4)Who is going to do the groceries?

5)Is she going to do household chores such as laundry, floor and kitchen? What chores will she do?

6)Must the baby sleep with her at night? If you are pro breastfeeding, can the baby sleep with you?

7)Is she pro breastfeeding? Does she has any breastfeeding knowledge? Did she breastfeed her kids?

8)Is she able to guide the new mum on breastfeeding?

9)Do we need to buy her transport? Mine dun need, her hubby will drive her.

10)What are her charges?

11)Where can she sleep? Does she need a bed? Mattress will do? Note: Some mind if there is no room for her.

Also, it will be better to arrange for meetup if the CL is in SG, so you can look at her and access if she is neat and clean by looking at her fingernails and the way she carry herself. =)

Aloevera, that will be me sending u the FB request [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Maelyn, care to share ur ML contact. Her charges very reasonable, have u tried her before?

SAHM, i also planning cause the early yrs bonding i feel is very important. But DH not keen...

wendy, appreciated ur sharing on CL....it will be great help to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i also wish to cfm one asap otherwise will hv prob if can't find one or found a lousy one...but i understand...our luck oso play a part!!!

is ur a singaporean or malaysian???

Hi feimeo, mine is a malaysian. Singaporean ones norally costs more and most they dun stay overnight de. And also, most malaysian CL hor, only confirm through phone, they dun do meetup. So, that why, some might go agencies to look for one. I got a whole list of nannies recommended that i populated from the forum and also those blacklisted ones. I could share with you. =) Just provide me your email address. Hehe..

pillow4,

This is my second pregnancy, so more sensitive and know whats baby movement like. For my first time, i didnt get to feel bb movement at this early stage yet.

FeiMei,

I think Wendy has covered most of the things to look out for when selecting CL. The CL that I was calling was recommended by my friend. She covers the basic Chores that Wendy has mentioned. For marketing, she will follow DH to market once a week. If she needs to get something urgently, she will go buy herself and claim from you. She will also cover housework like mopping the floor everyday, and clean the kitchen after cooking. If she is free, she will wash the toilet too.

jgwee,

Half boiled egg not safe for preggys. Try to avoid raw eggs.

Wendy, can u kindly share ur list with mi? my e-mail [email protected]

Maelyn, i LOVE half boiled egg.. think got to avoid loh.. thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hihi morning all mtbs

Any mtbs still Hving this super bitter taste in Ur mouth??? This taste make me feel to vomit

Wow so many mummy can feel bb movement... I still dun feel anything yet...

Lynn can u feel??? Cos u ard same wk with mine

Chujie

I bought the Korean strawberry yesterday at ntuc very nice n sweet selling $5.55/pkt..thinking to buy 1more pkt this evening

Confinement lady: I booked mine already, friend's recommendation. Suggest those who want CL better book asap--I'd actually called a few before this one, but they were already booked for July! Maybe cos they came highly recommended--one even told me she had already received a few other calls before mine. Think no harm being more kiasu about this ;) Mine cost $2k, deposit $200.

Strawberries: thanks for the tips sunshinebb and chujie, I'm going to get some tonight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh I forgot to add: I made the mistake of telling the CL that I was planning to get a maid. She then said she wouldn't do any housework at all and would only handle baby and mummy stuff. She also made clear that she is ok to cook for DH and me but if I have parents or in-laws joining us for meals as well, she may have to charge separately if she ends up having to cook for them too. For marketing, she can help to buy but will need DH to send her there.

Wasn't that comfortable with her "frankness" in setting out all these things so clearly, but she came recommended by a friend who'd used her for her confinement, so I decided to just go ahead, was too lazy to look somemore already. And I guess it's better to state all these things upfront rather than have unhappiness/ misunderstandings in future. But hmm, really wonder how she'll turn out.

Suggest you all "interview" your CL properly and better to state more rather than less, in terms of what you require of her. At least then she won't be unhappy when she comes and finds you need her to do more than she was expecting.

HI Coopie, fully agreed with you. Need to set expectations upfront. Also, my nanny mentioned she uses pampers and she dun use those traditional cloth diapers. Some CL wont do toilet cleaning, so must ask before engaging them. So, you need to state down wat u expect and see whether they can do it or not. For me, my confinement bath (just wipe body using the bath she prepare) will be twice everyday, once in afternoon, once in the night. She will take care of bb 24 hours and when bb sleeps, she will rest if she is not cooking etc. If i am hungry after 3 meals, she can make hot drinks for me and give me biscuits or cakes etc.

Maelyn: wow ur ML is very cheap. for my 1st one, I paid $50 but she only do 50mins for me...

is ur massage the jamu massage with wrap?

I also want ur contact. can PM me? thanks!

I heard alot of horrible stories from forums....1 nanny actually throw the solied diaper into the washing machine n wash with the clothes! Muz make sure she wash her own clothes too & dun miz her undies in the washing machine. eeks....

btw, anyone wana get Jan issue of M&B Mag/Motherhood Mag?

letting go at $2.50 mailed each. I've read finished my copy already.

px22... my like gt pop out lei. woli will have blood out. ya wo.... dis we cant predit. m bro. jus scolded mi. saying wat to woli. if god gv u he wont be cruel to take away. so we must live happily. if we keep thinking positive who is to blame. aft i hear wat ihe say i quiet. ;( i knw he mean gd do nt wan mi to woli oso. so i nv blame him for saying mi ;)

pillow... no woli. i think it wont happen on everyone. but touchwood if happens temporally stop it. ;)

chujie... ya my appt at TPS. but is afternoon ;)

hello everyone.. hws morning? i am now v sleepy cos i havent had good sleep yesterday.. stress over work and then my scanning this morning.

now waiting for the result to come out. only have result of the scan but not the blood test... NUH only took 1 tube of blood from me. quite a big tube... but luckily they only take 1./.. if nt, will faintz liao.hahaha

by the way, those who went for the scan, hw thick is the NT for ur baby? mine 1.5mm. is it okay??

suying: if never bleed and stay there like a purple blueberry then must see doc liao.. ask your husband to help u see if its very jialat? When I had mine, DH exclaimed "WAH i married a baboon!"

Horrible...

maelyn: can i have ur ML contact as well? How much in advance do we have to book? and is she good? first time mum.. dunno wat to expect...

SAHM > will only stop working after March 2012..haha. By the time i finish maternity, it will be Oct and I have abt 20days of annual leave to clear so i will not be in office most of the time. Just 'wait' for another 3 more mths to march to get my bonus and then 'ciao'.. that time my son will go N2 so I can still send him to school to n fro..

coopie, at least ur CL was frank to u..my prev CL automatically stopped doing housework the moment she saw i have a part time helper coming in twice a week. this time round i told my CL she gotta clean the kitchen daily! tat's my requirement. she dun hv to care for my #1 but hv to cook for my hb.. my in laws will not eat at my place (i forbid them eating at my place cos his dad will spit here n there..haha). i really pray hard this new CL is good lar..at least she said she can take a bus to the market..

yaya.. u also doing ur NT Scan and blood test at nuh. where is ur gynae from? ya, 1 tube of 5ml blood..

1.5 mm for NT is ok. I was told ideally is not to exceed 2mm or 2.5mm.

i took another 2 tubes for blood test to test for things like thalassmia, etc

Hi yaya n xinyue

mine is 2mm... The sonographer said as long as below 2.5 is ok... I also need to wait til tomolo for the result

morning everyone!

Simon/xinyue.. mine is 2.6 (Scary, thats why nid to rescan cos my 1st result was 1:918)

but together with blood test and doopler.. its corrected to 1:16k =D

sunshineb and chujie, now i also feel like buying the korean strawberry le. i hv not been eating fruits since i got preg cos i dun really like. even before preg i oso dun eat much cos lazy

simone - dun worry.. i took 4 too.. includes oscars and some pre-preg test which i have not done b4 prior to pregnancy.. =D

Sunshinebb, nope dun feel it yet... Mayb also first time... Even have slight feeling also will think is stomach churning... ha ha

Maelyn, tks for the PM... Have u tired her before or did u get recommendation fm someone?

Regarding CL, i booked mine about 2 wks ago @ 2.2k for 28 days and 300 deposit. Abit on the high side but she came highly recommended by my colleagues... So keeping my fingers crossed that she will be gd...

Piles, if is causing u discomfort pls go check with a GP or Gynae. Had mine about 5 yrs ago and needed op to remove...

suying, px22: if you have piles you can try this during and after bath each night (it works for me in my last preg).. during bath, try to use some soap to help pushing the piles into your anal.. then after bath, you are clean, so take some normal moisturiser/cream and rub on the piles and again try to push the piles back in.. it might not go in the first day.. but do it for few days.. once the piles when back in.. less rubbing to your clothes while walking.. it will heal much faster.. panador help to cease the pain too.. (panador is safe for preg)..

simone > dont worry.. should be fine de.. total i took 3 tubes, 1st time - 1 tube and 2nd time 2 tubes.

audrey > wa..

btw, do any of u still experience stomach cramp? i still do. wonder if it's normal.

sunshinebb: get one more strawberry lah.. finished very fast one.. hehe.. later husband fight for it too..

coopie, pillow.. go and get the strawberry.. help fetus brain growth.. full in folic.. hehe

I also called my ML who did for me last time.. she charge $70 for 1.5 hour.. is it ok?

suying: I tot TPS Friday only night service.. haha.. maybe I was wrong.. Last time I go Wed around 4:30.. then just take time off no need to take leave too..

thank px & chujie...

paisei ask DH see. but i can feel it. so will try push in... thinking of apply medicate oil. can i... cos like a bit itchy lei ;)

Super heavy rain...nearly fall down the steps when gg out for my lunch...so scary thanks god for blessing me n my little pea

Yes pillow...must buy strawberry has very gd source of folic acid n vit

simone, xinyue and audrey, the sonographer keep on concentrating on the neck area to get the NT measurement.. when i ask her hw is it. she v concentrate lor.cos she said once baby is in right position, have to snap and take the dimension fast.. from beginning till the end, kept on seeing her taking NT measurement....

simone, u went NUH for the scanning also right? hw come u taking 4 tube wor??

Massage Lady

Since so many ask about the Massage lady, I will post here. She is Kak Su- 91390549. She was recommended by my fren. I have not use her before. Yes, I think she use Jamu massage and she mentioned she will do binding. You can call now to book if interested. She will take note of your number. Then when you deliver, you need to sms her. Normally, she will arrange the massage 5 days after normal delivery, whereas 3 weeks after for c-section. She will come to your house to do the massage. If you find her massage good, you can engage her to do more sessions. She say normally ppl will engage her for 3-5 sessions. She is quite flexible and does not force you to take package.

There's another Massage Lady called Kak Ida, very famous but I dun have her contacts. I saw some where in the forum that she is fully booked liao.. so I dun bother to find her contact.

sunshinebb: actually my friend taught me that too.. haha.. if it does taste good.. then doesn't matter if like obasan or not la.. haha..

alicia and chujie, tks. i shall switch between kiwi and strawberry. but kiwi that i bought last time all sour de. how u all choose sweet kiwis