(2011/07) July 2011

pillow... if i were yr coll. oso shock lo. lollzz... but dat's gd... nw bb start absorb le ;)

hopefully those with no appetite will improve during 2nd tri reach ;) as dat is the time to gain weight.

cary.. icic... so dat's gd news for u ;) plain water is nt a gd fren to mi since i was small. nw worst gt to force myself to drink ;( for the sake of bb!!! jiayou jiayou

babychloe, for me, when I was carrying #1, from my 3.5th or 4th month onwards, I had bird nest once a week and chicken soup/essence once a week ... stopped the chicken soup/essence when I was 8 months but took bird nest up to delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe this will help to give you a guideline? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suying, I can't even force myself to drink it cos once I drink, I will sure puke it out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

cary, oh...okok, will tk note...maybe I will reduce the intake abit since I dun like..haha...I tink I prefer chicken soup [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The gynae told me drink plain water will make us puke more...so he advises drinking 100+/sparkling drinks..

babychole, for me, total opposite - I hate the chicken soup/essence haha ... since you like that, you can start taking it soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and your gynae very good leh, mine ask me to try and take more plain water haha

wildchillies: i had a contact from my friend and i booked about 1 month before my EDD. mine wasn't exactly great, but passable, good to get some rest when my wound was hurting. i think some people prefer certain massage ladies, so they are very popular and get snapped up very soon.

babychole: maybe we can try other supplements. now i hate the taste of essence of chicken too, drank too much in 2nd month, now find it eeky.

cary: hehe i had a bit of heartburn in the 3rd trim the last time round, but i'm the one who's feeling faint from low blood :p do you stay around the north east area?

suying: same! when i was young i also hate to drink plain water. hope our bb don't be like us :D

pleth, ah remembered wrongly, sorry sorry ... now, I remembered you feeling faint from low blood and I remembered replying you that I have thalassamia but luckily never have faint spells before *touch wood* ... yes, I stay in SK [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] used to stay in Tampines for donkey years hee

cary, I went to outside gynae once to scan on our own and its from tt gynae's advice not my own gynae.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I dunno hw my own gynae will react when he hears I hv not been drinking alot of plain water..

pleth, I can't drink chicken essence....I can't stand the smell now..only likes normal chicken soup...

another alt to birdnest is ginko barley with beancurd... My fren said the effect is the same as birdnest...

Cary, try diy chicken essence... It's easy to prepare n taste yummy.. Taste more like chicken soup

modisch

I just ordered similar pad from babymall..

https://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/product_info.php/cPath/67_72/products_id/1847/osCsid/5f0f71aea19bbcf29924cbc6edce0c02?osCsid=842ch2f5efmaaqq4od0ha8rre4

similar thing u toking abt yah?

keeping 1 in office, 1 in car and place 1 below bedsheet.. all is just in case waterbag burst.. when bb born can use it as changing pad..

cary

Mine is freelance i used for my 1st birth.. After research from website i find her's cheapest at $35-$38 per 45min, with herbal wrap. She'll measure waist before and after massage to monitor effect. Her 'strength' is quite good. Other's i never try before..

Babycole

I got PEM quotation.. The in charge called and ask lots qns like need to take care 1st kid? Need to prepare hubby's dinner, wash laundry?etc... then he quote me the price. Pricing seems depend on the number of chores to do. U engage before?

Just got reply from ikarenannies.com, no qns ask, email me the quote and its seems a standard price for 28 days. Still thinking...

cary.. i knw hw u feel. jus like i take milk powder i puke out. so really cant take. plain water still can be force in to take ;)

babychole... really can drink 100plus/ sprakling drinks. which type of sprakling drinks u refering. can we drink in cold type??? i heard is nt so gd to keep drinking/eat cold drinks/food.

i oso dun take bird nest nor chicken essence. i hate the smell. but i love shark fins. understand dat shark fins is a NO NO NO. so sad. my bro wedding i cant get to eat ;(

pleth... ya lo... hope precious wont be like us. i will train my precious to drink more plain water instead ;)

Hi cary i not sure coz i still have one appt with dr koh on 8 jan. Aft calculating seems like the total cost based on estimate seems to be almost the same as other hospital. The one bedder is 1488. But the hospital is damn quiet lor unlike thomson med or mt e. Kinda of thinki g if press the bell got any nurse come or not! Haha. Peaceful hospital i would say.

simone, i dun know the one I cooked last time is called chicken soup or chicken essence haha ... and the gingko barley with beancurd, agree ... actually best to have a mixture [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

babychole, for the ginko barley with beancurd, go buy from dessert stall easier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suying, i can only take cold drinks now (at least for the first few months) - same as when I was carrying my #1 ... and he turns out ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST, haha then maybe you can stick with him [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

berrycarrot, my fren got hers from PEM confinement and she is v happy with it...I cannot get recommendations from frens as all are hving singletons, I need experienced CLs with twins, so I hv to resort to agency...

suying, no, we cannot tk cold drinks....I din drink it cold...I let it become room temperature then i drink. I got mine from Cold Storage, green color bottle, the name is Applelicious, got grapes flavour also...but we must finish within 4 days upon opening...I find it refreshing...I mix with plain water to drink...at least got some taste. Alternatively, u might want to put a slice of lemon to your plain water....not bad also....

Babychloe

dun have ... I usually have it at dessert shop.. Can try google it.. Last time my mum wld add in hard boiled egg also... Nice nice....

Berrycarrot

yup yup.. It's cheap n gd.. I use black chicken to boil it for 3-4 hrs to get one full bowl of essence...

The leftover chicken will use as soup base the next time

berrycarrot, find those freelance confinement lady? search the thread such hv alot.. those agencies charges agent fee?

babychole, boil barley in a pot first, after boiling, put gingko. u can use slow cookier so that the barley n gingko are both very soft n u dun hv to 'watch' the fire. U can use rock sugar or brown sugar. Only when u wanna eat, 15minutes before add beancurd (note that u must use those beancurd skin meant for soup). Add 15 minutes before cos they soften very fast..u want soft beancurd but not completely melted ones..haha.

actually this 'dessert' is what my mom always prepare once a month when i go back to Malaysia.

berrycarrot, saw the one u bought. I tink is similar but i got mine purchased directly from hospital cos my fren is a nurse..hehe

berrycarrot, ok, thanks...will read it over the weekends...

Modisch, thanks for the receipe...wah...hopefully I hv the time to prepare.....skalli end up eat at dessert stall..

if onie for 2 ppl, best to buy outside. save the hassle of washing.

i cook cos i dunno what to eat outside..been eating out for more than 10 years liao so abit sian. once a while juz cook simple meal.

hahaha..tonite i oso frying beehoon!

modisch, yummy! might try cooking the dessert one of these days [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ... and you are tempting everyone with your fried bee hoon again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

must be becareful of the beancurd hor.. got 2 types. 1 is used to make ngoh hiang, that's salty n need to be wiped first. Another is meant for dessert type..so dun buy wrongly hor. later sweet dessert become salty dessert

berrycarrot: wah your massage lady sounds pretty good! mine charged extra for the wrap which i didn't like, so i didn't opt for it. dunno whether that's why i've flabby tummy, oops. can pass her contact number? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simone: my fil made me super nutritious chicken soup with black chicken and 2 bottles of chicken essence. wah really cannot tahan but must eat with a straight face. heng i finished it in the end.

cary: we stay pretty near to each other! i stay at punggol :D

you all talking about desserts... now i'm craving for sweet desserts... but punggol here so ulu, no desserts in sight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pleth, we are really near [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and the soup your FIL made sounds really potent!

Gg to buy the clarin oil this wkend cannot stand Liao tummy getting bigger than saw the skin at tummy very dry think better to apply earlier for prevention

Will buy at Chinatown the market abc cheaper think is $58 if buy at counter $80

wahaha.. the beehoon topic start from morning and till now.. hehee.. i look forward to my MIL beehoon soup tonight.. hope is nice...

by the way, any one can feel fluttering sensation at lower adominal? i got experience that but not very frequent..is once in a while kind.. i wonder is it the baby moving?? i know its very early to feel movement at this stage.

modisch

still doing research on the forum for freelance CL. Only concern for freelance is that they BOMB us.. then very troublesome.. Agencies at least can ensure CL is right at doorstep anytime of birth. Not sure abt agent fees... was quoted $2050 + $168 work permit fee. 2.5yrs ago i paid a freelance $1800nett

sunshinebb, yes better start now.

yaya, I have that fluttering sensation too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It actually felt like it's the baby's moving but agree that now it's very early to feel their movement. so I also dunno what was that hee

berrycarrot, wow agency also not cheap! somemore they charge for work permit fee too ah ... think freelance now is abt $2k (market rate).

I'm starting to source for confinement food caterers too cos planning to order tingkat.

cary...oic.. ok ok.... cute le.. there is one time where i sit down cross legged and lean forward, then felt the 1st fluttering sensation.. make me startled abit..then tell my hubby must be baby find too squeezy when i am in that position.. then i quickly go lie down and watch tv liao... hehe

went for my re-appointment for oscar scan this morning..baby grew from 4.2cm to 6.2cm in 10 days..whew! everything measureed seems ok, now hope next week visit doc for blood test result also ok. baobei is growing...

i felt a sense of happiness from my 1st bite of Old Chang Kee curry puff last night... subsequently bloatness follows..sigh.. but better than nothing..

JIA YOU EVERYONE!!!!!

yaya: i feel it too, thought it was baby's heartbeat! then later realised that it was my own heartbeat hehe.

berrycarrot: wah it is pretty expensive! close to 2k, my goodness. oops, i just activated it, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cary: my mum is doing confinement for me, but i'm also toying with the idea of tingkat. heard from a colleague that it's economical and some of the better companies do cook very fresh and nutritious meals for confinement mums. thought of sparing my mum all the hassle of cooking and cleaning everyday, + newborn + my gal + new maid. wah headache.

Yah, 2 agencies quote came back with work permit charge so think its a norm bah... then makes me wonder my previous CL no work permit in s'pore then?!

If current freelance market price oredi 2k.. then i just go for agencies bah.. oh, and not to forget need to give angbao to CL on 1st and last day of their service. Haizz.. $$$$$$ all the way..

cary... wow. i gt cravy for cold drinks. but was been warn. maybe my body is too weak to take it. so i gt to bear wif it 1st.

thanks babychole... noted room temperture shld be ok ;)

dunno heard from who barley is liang oso. can take but must have limit.

tingie: congrats! bb's growing well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] this evening is my gynae appointment, hope to have good news too.

berrycarrot: some freelancers come over on social visit pass, like my neighbour's nanny. then i think every 2-3 months she must go back to m'sia and then come back to sg again.

for those mummies with fluttering feeling, maybe it is bb mvmt if this is not your first bb. Cos i been told those who give birth before, ard this time can feel already.

tingie, wow ur bb absorb so fast. how many weeks are u now? my bb is only 5.7cm at 12 weeks 2 days. like a bit small le

pleth, always good to have own mum to do confinement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my mum is no longer around so for my #1, was done by my MIL. she dun really know how to cook confinement food - everything put ginger and seame oil = confinement food liao haha ... and the whole family had the same food as me! I dun want them to go through that again and I want more variety so opting for tingkat this time round [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] best check with your mum cos sometimes, they will still want to cook for you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] new maid coming the same time? better get her in earlier, so that at least when newborn comes, she can do the daily chores on her own.

berrycarrot, think those freelance ones comes in on just the normal tourist stamp, that's why some have to go back in to "chop" when time is up.

Thanks everyone for your well wishes and the info on birdnest and corbyceps.

For those graduating in a few days time, hang in there... 1st tri is almost over soon.. jiayou [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

suying, if you can tahan, just tahan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pillow4, it felt like the baby movement but thought it's too early to feel anything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so it is the baby's movement [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pillow4: don't worry ur bb size is normal... I checked on babycentral..

Mine was 6.5cm at 12weeks and during oscar scan they told me its abit oversized! not like I have been eating for 2...