(2011/07) July 2011

Karen, take care of yrself n dun carry heavy things. Have Yr gfs to help u if possible. Very crucial during 1st Tri. Tired must rest, hungry must eat. Do not exert yrself when traveling ya.

audrey... wow... envy u to have subsidy rate. really can save a lot.

babychole... i oso... been wif Dr. Loh all the

while so cant have subsidy rate. oh ya.. twins.. but extra 100.00 is still worth it ;)

by the way some mummies say cant sleep facing down as will hurt our tummy. oh gosh... i have been sleeping in dat position cos i hugs my bloster to sleep. my DH will always say dun sleep like dat u will hurt baobei!... shit him lo... i cant sleep well facing up. like dat hw to hug my bloster. lollzz...

since like the timing for TPS wif Dr Loh. quite limited. Hmm... shld i change???

karen... so many places. some more wif company nt bad. must be extra careful lo. anything u feel nt rite must take a rest. maybe can inform yr gfs. at least they knw yr situation & they can be more understanding ;) enjoy yr trip ;)

janice... true lo. no job = no income is tough. spore is a stress country ;)

sunshinebb, do u kw whether KKH has packages? So far no one inform me and I dun think there is any. I tot we can choose to stay B1 ward also?

modisch, I hv heard horrible stories abt infantcares too...my fren told me must find out the ratio of babies and caregiver. The same goes for nanny and maids, I think its a matter of heng or suay lor.

Thanks all for your advice. Yupe, I'll do research on the nearby hospitals just in case. It's a bit hard to pack light cos it's really very cold lei.. I'll try not to be garang... haha...

Okie jan-ice, will take note when purchasing the metro tickets..

Hopefully everything will be smooth...

babychloe, yes.. but mcys have guidelines n most schools will max out the baby:teacher ratio. there is usually 2 qualified, certified nanny, 1 part time and i recently heard must have 1 with qualified, certified nurse diploma or cert.

some nanny very calculative..i visited so many before settling on the current one. some dun wanna feed baby with BM say very troublesome to defrost and heat up, one say must provide milk bottles for every feed cos she dun wanna wash, one say cannot pick up baby later than 7pm cos her hb comes back from work after 7pm.. my current babysitter dun care wat time i come n pick my son up. soemtimes he even stay overnight at her place at her request summore..occasionally bring him out shopping even to USS! Very cincai.. i feel if they are cincai, we will also give and take.

suying> yeah sure is. when i m still working in sg, i cannot get pregnant. once in china, within 1 and 1/2 month, i got pregnant. then i realised stress is no. 1 killer to pregnancy.

modisch, u really got a v good nanny!!! Its not easy to get one good one...my fren's nanny also v good, unfortuately the nanny is taking care of her coming #2....so my 2 is out le...I will ask her for advices when I pass my 1st tri. Hopefully to find a good one near my place also. My fren even can go travel once a year and her girl with the nanny for tt whole week! But my fren paiseh, pay her a bit more.

hmm... true oso.. soli.. normally hw long u waited to reach yr turns. hehe... i so loh soh!! pai sei ya...

Sunshine... aft so my visit. N till my first scanning by my gyne. i spend only S$110+.00 so is still reasonable. Or it could be i have been seeing Dr Loh. for quite sometimes so the charges is diff. abit ba. Or maybe diff. gyne have diff charges too. Unable to compare much either. But i still prefer to have a pro. gyne instead of trainee & midwife. Understand from my bro in law wif. 1st bb... was deliver by midwife. midwife is so fierce plus trainee wan do the sewing part. kana scold by midwife due to forget gv "ma zhui" injection b4 sewing. lolzz. kelong lo... really scare to get trainee. if we still can afford abit is better to get a pro. instead ;)

My Hubby dun feel comfortable n he works even later than me plus I staying with fil n Hubby thinks fil can't help much.. Man! Haha.

We both work in a hotel n hours r really very long. At least 15 to 16 hours a day Lo. I was at first considering to put bb at my mum on weekdays n only bring home on weekends to take care than I will miss out his or her growings days n my mum already say she does not want to lose her freedom.

Ya, am expecting a singleton n am working in orchard near forum. infantcare there is more expensive than lots of places. My Gf who just gave birth few weeks ago recommend me her sporean CL Tat comes only 9 to 5 pm n charges 1.9k. I'm quite keen cos my Gf very fussy one. But logistics wise I need to plan plan very well.

karen> but i still think its a bit too siong (sorry for my bluntness) to travel to so many places plus wif ur gfs coz i tot if its wif ur hubby, then it will be different and will be better for you. on e other hand, it will also be a waste to give up the trip. dilemna man.

janice... i agree wif u. stress is #1 killer in spore oso $$$$ matters....

Karen, the P/T CL u mentioned is not any cheaper. Imagine if she goes back after 5pm, who will help u tk care of baby over the night? Can u cope esp when u just give birth? U might want to consider nanny/baby sitter liao.

karen> me definitely putting my child wif MIL during weekdays when i started working. then bring my bb back during weekend. one of my frens doing e same thing too. i believe alot of pple doing e same thing as sg is stressful place to work.

Hi karen, Paris is really romantic! Venice is not really big so you should be fine but take care when boarding the boat as it tends to be very packed. Rome is big and i recommend those free and easy hop on bus, it brings you to most of the places of interest like dome etc. I never been to Milan and Amsterdam that time. As this is a free and easy trip, i recommend you plan well before going there and try to cut down walking and just relax during the trip. By the way, dun try climbing the dome, it is tedious for pregnant woman and once you start climbing, then is no turning back.. Hope you enjoy your trip, i feel as long as you know your limit and take good care, it should be fine.

Ya Lo Babychloe, tats y I am in a fix. Full time where she gg to sleep, part time at night who gg to feed.. My mum want her freedom n dun wana take care.

Can u imagine if I hire a helper/maid cost is $550 a month, CL just one month let's say 2k, for 1st month already est 2.6k Lo. Afterwhich infantcare lets say at pats house 1.6k n e helper still maintain at 550. Really need alot of money Lo. Haha, it's really not cheap when u have no one to help.

hi karen -> same here, actualy i already got a maid but she is going back in august period and i am not sure the new one will be up to it. I am thinking whether i could get a CL - full day or get my mum to help me do my confinement during the day and the maid takes care of bb during the night.

Janice-> My mum is rather relunctant as well cos she wants her own time and she is currently taking care of my k2 niece as well.

Also, thinking who takes care of bb after my maternity leave, intend to take 4 months straight but need to neg with director. How much is the infant care huh? I think worst come to worst is maid take care after i go back to work but just cant rest my heart.

Janice, yap guess it's a norm here la. When I read e news abt some companies supporting working mums n all. Unfortunately not in e tourism or hotel business or even some other companies Lo. It is sure super expensive to have a bb ESP when u really want e best for them n having ppl to help out after birth. I got no mil or sil to help me out so my expenses surely very high.

karen, i tink where ur CL going to sleep can be resolved.. ur hse got how many bedrooms? worse come to worse, ask ur hb to bunk in with ur FIL and CL sleeps with u and the bb cot put in ur room. my fren places her bb in the living room because her house no space too..haha

i dont tink u can take care of bb from 5pm onwards because u shuldnt be 'touching' tap water so what if baby poo (which they usually does after every feed), u need to wash etc..n then need to feed, express milk, dinner..wat if u hungry at night? and then after delivering, u will be exhausted too.

all moms say that..my mom oso said that last time before we gave birth that she dun wanna babysit her grandchildren cos she still want her own time to go out wif frens, exercise etc but once 2 grandson pop out, she kept asking us to bring them back n place them wif her n we come back to SG n work! Haha.. she rather forgo the freedom! usually they are like tat..once see baby, everything else dont matter.

Yes, it's all abt e dollars n cents! Wendy, if u have Yr maid take care, u better install CCTV so u can see wats happening at home. If not have someone do random spot-check ya.

Janice, I know how u feel, I feel e same as u lor. My mum still ask my aunt if she interested to take care of my bb, From there I know n got e hint.

Karen, when u intend to put yr baby at infantcare, then u dun nd to hire helper/maid already. Cos u can take care of the baby yrself after the CL left for another 3 mths and by then its just nice to put baby at infantcare after u go back to work.

haha just back from lunch..wow n the thread move so fast can't catch uo...hehehe

babychole....me with Dr John Tee...KKH no package de i ask b4...they oni hv the express payment scheme...mean u deposit some $$$ with them abt $400+ if i remember correct...then aft every gyne visit u dun hv to pay to pay u can just go off...they will deducted fr ur deposit thr

think the ward can oni choose class A1 or A2...if B is not ur gyne deliver 4 u....can't remember clearly will go home today to double confirm

Karen...pls take care...make sure dun carry heavy thing, ask gf or hunny to carry ur luggage 4 u...must seat down n rest whenever possibble...n must take every meal on time...enjoy urself

Hui...saw fr web b4 slping on tummy will affect the growth of the uterus....best position is to slp face up or on ur side

Audrey....OK Ok will try in the mrt/bus...hehehe ...u mean keep the recepit for consultaion can claim is???

suying...me 2 i rather pay more 4 more pro gyne...if not later the midwife or trainee later forgot anything eg scissor left in my womb then sew up...OMG

i dun know leh feel my consultant fee very high leh...i also saw my gyne b4 this pregg to check up...told the counter nurse but she say every pregg consider new case will charge as 1st consultation fee...hmm

Haha Babychloe I need to still hire a helper cos no one can help me pick up my bb after 7pm from infantcare. Cos Hubby finish work at 11pm n me around 9pm Lo. Hope I can get thru this la.

Sometimes I feel so sad, how come some ppl become grandparents sure happy to take care of their grandchild but not mine Lo. Maybe its not their 1st grandchild but 3rd Tats y. Anyway, I will cheer up n depend on myself with all u mtbs encouragement n support n good suggestion.

oic.... maybe the following visit will be cheaper le ;) u see Dr John Tee @ TPS oso??

karen,

dun sad la....i oso in the same boat...my beanie will be the 1st grandchild for both side but of cos i can't get my side to take care as my mum passed away liao, left my dad, how can a man take care of infant??? that's y when marry, i hv to choose near my in-law area (i staying in the east n now i in west area), i tot in future got kids, she can help but who noes, she already say out, find CL....so i guess she will not look after my beanie as well lol...regretted to move near her...Arrghhh~~~anyway, tinking over, also better to depend on ourselves bahh....at least u wun hv to see other ppl face!!! hahahaa...that's what i think to make myself happy abit!!! :D

Thanks Feimei, wat u say is very true. My mil pass away n am staying with Hubby n fil. I got no chance to choose where or who I wana stay as I have to stay with them, if not fil alone Mah. But yes, gotta depend ourselves tat y can't quit job n work even harder so both me n Hubby can support all these expenses la.. Haha! Thanks for making me smile [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a 99% brand new Pigeon Steriliser to let go. Used only two days. Warranty included.

$80 only.

Pls email [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4856781.jpg]

karen> wow, i cant imagine you guys work till so late.

feimei> i m so sorry to hear that. but be positive, at least you two are working. me only my hubby working for now and the next 9 months. luckily my MIL is willingly to help wif my bb. i tot can save some costs, who knows my hubby said his mum is old, wanna hire a maid to help. i faint on e spot.

modisch.bebe > i think only if mine is a baby boy, then my dad will be doting on him. if not, wait long long. stress man. luckily my MIL is fine as long as baby is healthy.

weird hor.. my whole family including in laws all hoping for bb gal!!! all crazy abt having baby girls. for me, i m ok with boy or gal. if #2 is boy, i can save $$ on clothes n toys. if girl, then siao liao..confirm money flow out like water.

Jan - so #2 can wear #1 de clothes mah.. den for girls.. high tendency for mummy to splurge on dresses de..

sunshine - my SIL ask me to kip de leh..

cos we got 4k to give birth mah.. surplus can claim lor.. i nid to check out where that 4k come from =D LOL cos she is also a civil servant.. so confusing.

Hmm.. Cos people scared in case choy choy anything happens and the things left behind for who/what... and make ppl more upset..

choy choy choy...

Thats what I was taught lah..

i got a soft spot for fox dress for girls.. if i see a dress i like alot.. i will buy from my fren de dotter.. cos she will end up pass to me if i have a girl de.. hehe.. smart hor?

Hi fellow mtb,

hope you dun mind me joining. I'm currently at 9 weeks, Edd ard 14 jul...I'm a first time mtb..

I just went for scan today n saw bb legs n hands already! Really an incredible feeling...

Hi sunshine, yes i walk pass fox bb n e clothes r so so cute! I like e winnie e pooh cos he was smilinf so happily. Honestly dun mind if i have a gal or boy as long as healthy. But my preference is a bb gal.

welcome simone... hapi for u ;)

hihi... i oso prefer galgal.. cos will be more tian xin. but my six sense told mi will be having a boyboy. dunno my six sense accurate anot ;)

anyway boy or gal.. im oso hapi. as i have been waited this gift from god so long ;) hopes everything goes smooth smooth ;)

Ya audrey. We better be safe than sorry..

Anyone plan to take prenatal yoga or pilates? Those 2 time mum, have anyone done it before? Any comments or feedback? Cos i was thinking to take up n pass my time for the weekends.

welcome simone...wow the feeling must be very gd...

Audrey...ya lah hubby also say better be more pang tang...hehehe

karen: yes the clothes r so cute n feel the price also quite reasonable...i prefer boy(old fashion)....haha

Regarding CL - She slept in a separate room with my son. She wanted me to have a good night's rest but i still would wake up at night to express milk.

I found a babysitter near my place to look after my son till recently as he will be going to childcare next week. The babysitter is really good and I want her to look after my #2. I dont think she can cope with taking care of my 2 children. I paid her $500 initally then increased to $550 when I started fetching my son later and later and finally $600 when he started taking solids. Market price is also like that. Advantage of having a babysitter is that when my son is sick I dont have to take leave to take care of him. I still bring him over as usual. I only hv 6 days of childcare leave. Teachers got no annual leave. Luckily for next yr, the babysitter said if my son is sick or childcare centre closes due to HFMD etc (touchwood), I can still bring him over to her place. She's a nice lady and very understanding as she knows what I am facing regarding childcare problems. My mum is working and my ILs are in Msia. So I am really on my own taking care of my children.

My son's clothes are mostly from Fox too. I find the price reasonable (wait till their sales) and quality is not too bad. Another one will be mothercare. T-shirts cost only less than $10 each(sold in sets of 3) and quality is also good. I usually buy from sales. I like the hangers from Mothercare. Can put 3 shirts together and can save a lot of space. Cheapo me will ask more unwanted hangers. LOL