(2011/07) July 2011

Morning everyone!

i had nightmares too.. dreamt of my darling dachshund got killed =( Hubby got chased by mobs in a multi storey carpark.. o.0"

i woke up, crying.. see my doggies.. alive.. i go back to sleep.. hubby surprised me by buying lunch back home =D

Silly dream i had..

Dunno u all have this feeling anot.. when u wake up, u feel like ur bladder is full.. (i was thinking beanie working hard to prevent me from leaking - hehee) but when u go toilet pee pee, did u all find that the pee pressure isnt as strong as u tot it to be?

audrey,

ya...each time the urge to go pee is there but when sit on toilet bowl, only a little or not that much as expected....last nite i only went for 1 trip becos i was hving bad dreams too, when the urge come when i got awaken by the dream, already 6+, so lazy to get up since waking up in another 45mins time...so i jus tahan lol...hahahaha....

wow... so envy u all... i always cannot tahan wan. up to nw still wake up at least 3 times jus to pee. so tiring lo. nt enough sleep.

Brenda,

I am currently on Utrogestan too. Thrice a day. My gynae told me to take one more if i continue having cramps. If not, have to go and take a jab.

audrey, suying,

hahahaha....only this morning i tahan ahh...other nights...i wake up 2-3times to pee lol..with my eyes closed....kekekee...but i never had good sleep....my left shoulder is aching...dunnu y....n this ache trigger my migraine.... :~( thats y every nite...i will rub my tummy n tell beanie to let mummy hv a good sleep....i always hv the tinking....when my nausea off n migraine off for that moment, beanie is resting....tink it's true, becos after a few hrs, my nausea is back, meaning beanie awake liao....hahahahaa...how silly i m!!!

Yesterday I called the CL who did my confinement during my first pregnancy. Wanted to wait till I clear first trimester but a bit scared that she wont be available. I think I am not the only kiasu one cause she told me she rejected those EDD is in early jul as she need to do another confinement in early june. Luckily, she agreed to do mine cause my EDD is late jul. Guess good CL must book quickly.

jerjer,

i oso start looking for CL but really dunnu how to trust leh...forum got good n bad but i think is diff ppl, diff expectation bahhh...

can u advice, what will ur CL do for u, at least i hv a guideline in finding mine... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks alot!!!

Feimei,

I only did three things during my confinement, eat,sleep and express milk. The rest of the stuff, housework (cleaning, washing, cooking)and looking after baby 24hrs would be taken care by her. She doesnt mind cooking more for my hubby everyday and also when relatives and friends visited me. She did all the marketing as I was not allowed to go out of the house. She was quite strict with the confinement rules like bathing and washing my hair. I was very kuai by following most of the rules. I was thankful to her as I really rested well and did not have to worry abt anything during that mth.

Usually it's thru word of mouth and recommendation for these CL. A good CL must know what to cook and how to handle the baby, making sure baby eats and sleeps well. As for food, there are certain types of food which the mother cannot eat immediately after birth like chicken (can eat only after 2nd week) and some veg. So a good CL must know all these.

jerjer,

oh...so she will do housechores for us too??? becos i always hv the idea, they only cook n look after bb...dunnu if housechores included anot...if not included, i will be living in rubbish chute for 1 mth...becos i can't do mah, hubby sure say he tire too...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] if thats the case, i more comfortable...but during the nite, is it her duty to look after bb or we must take care ourselves?

can i know how much u paying for ur CL... =P if too sensitive to say here, u can drop me email: [email protected] [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

u giving her ang pao before n after the period? does she eat with us or she will cook her own food?

kekekee....pai sey for soo many qns... =P

do you have to pay downpayment when booking your CL? or is it just verbal confirmation? after hearing wat u gals did, i better adv book 1 too. does ur all CL from malaysia too?

bbchole> Wow twins! Double blessings! I always envy pple with multiple bbs, 1 stone many birds mah. But my #1 wasn't an easy newborn and I thanked God I didn't have twins! I do see pple managing their twins/triplets very well and oh how cute they are! Just make sure you have lots of help. I'm sure grandparents and aunties are more than willing to lend their hands. =) Are yours identical or fraternal?

Does CL also care for our older kids ah? My #1 will only be 19 mths then, need lots of care n attention too.

I had my MIL do my confinemt for #1. Only plus point is save $ but I regretted it. I always hear pple enjoying their confinemt but for me was the worst time ever! So i will hire a CL too this time.

me back on 30th jan. has ask my aunt to book her known gynae on 31st jan. if not good, i might switch to dr henry from bishan. heard so much good praises of him from e mummies here. so do u stay near to tpy too? ours can become qing mei zhu ma...haha..just joking.

hi girls, one question. Is it too early to book now as EDD might be changing over time and what if the baby comes out earlier? Let's say EDD is in mid and the baby is out in early july? Haha.. Since the EDD date is not fixed and things might changed?

They will usually do household chores but i know some may not.So best is to check with the CL what she will be doing and state your requirements and expectations. I paid her $1800 the last time. Havent ask how much she's charging this time. I also gave her hongbao at the beginning and end of the confinement. It's a kind of practice. She ate the same food as us but she's really a small eater. I didnt mind her sitting with us cause she would share alot of tips abt taking care of baby and what i shd do. My hubby and i are quite easy-going people so we didnt mind at all.

Experienced CL will know that they should not accept two confinements too close cause the expecting mother may deliver earlier. Usually it will be three weeks gaps so that they can also rest. It's a tiring job cause I saw my CL only take short naps throughout the day and night as my son woke up at night during the 1st mth.

They are usually Msians and will require a deposit to be given first. I gave $200. It's really based on trust after that.

wendy,

thats my worry too...also scare CL will 'fly mi aeroplane' then gone case liao....!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jerjer,

appreciated the details info....it's very helpful!!! :D mi n DH oso easy-going, but i more 'chin-cai'....hahaha...so long she do her work, i m ok with anything...ya, being a CL is a very tough job as ppl always say, looking after a bb is never easy, u need 24hrs 'jing-shen'...so i can understand that their earnings come not easy!!!

hope i can find a good one!!! again, findind a CL really depend on each's luck as well!!!

wendy, my EDD date just changed u know? Now is 7th July haha. So i think u just tell the CL is a period in between so that she know what to prepare and will block out the date for you.

How are you ar? My ms hor up and down like roller coaster and was feeling so terrible! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Oh another reason why the CL shd do the household chores is we are not supposed to touch water esp tapwater (one of the confinement rules). Boiled water is fine. We shd not tire ourselves cause the real challenge comes after the 1st mth. Unless you have maid, some CL will not do anything except taking care of the baby.

Feimei - True it's really luck. Mine was recommended by my SIL. She's her long-distance relative but doesnt know whether she's really good or not. But luckily, she is very responsible and i can trust her with my son totally.

Feimei

Yes using the same CL as before. Coz I like her so much.

To those contemplating whether to hire CL...

Yes, definitely you should. 1st month after delivery is the time you should really rest. Coz after that no more rest! Getting mum to take care is not a good choice as you don't feel good asking your mum to take care of bb in the middle of the night. End up you still need to take care on your own. No rest. Getting MIL to take care is the worst choice! Coz there will definitely be old wives tale and practice you do not wish to follow! So confinement nanny is a must! If not who is going to cook, clean and take care of bb and you? Please heed my advice. Haha!

: ya, must hire CL. I didn't hire last time and I suffered so much and fell into depression. That time only DH took long leave to help but we were both too tired as my newborn was a very difficult baby who dun sleep much.

This time, I booked a CL since end Oct. Kiasi already..

daph, jul,

Ya....will be getting a CL for sure becos MIL already say out tat i shld start finding CL too!!! Hahahaha...oso better la tat she nt doing for me otherwise will hv mre conflicts n she very gd at complaining here pain there ache....aiyo...better dun or else she go ard telling ppl i tired her....!!!

Back fr my 2nd visit finally c my little pea now @ 7w 6d 1.5cm gyne say everything normal size n hb rate is gd... Mtbs u know I m so scare till I dun even dare to look at the screen can hear my own hb beating so fast till the moment gyne say look thr the bb hb it really a relieve 4 me EDD is 21 July

Ask gyne why m having indigestion n no appetite he say is a gd sign cos mean the hcg level high

hi feimei, hehe.. that is what i worry and if bb comes out much earlier than expected.

Hi happy, today is very bad.. i puke on whatever i eat and also just one chicken cutlet, i am now having sore throat and i feel that i am going to have a fever soon!! I am feeling so terrible today.. I just feel that my EDD will be earlier as well.

Hi girlies, how can we source for good CLs? I am thinking of getting one but i am not sure MIL will hire one or not cos she told me she wanted to get one as my sister-in-law is giving birth in june as well.

Today was talking to my colleague and she is an australian and she is taking one year maternity leave!! 4 months i already felt that my director will already stress out and one year is definately very long!

feimei - hehehe.. me wanna get a CL cos.. i dun wan my mummy to do it.. and my IL confirm wun do for me one.. prevent my daddy say "baby follow my surname" cos he sure say my MIL not doing anything one.. for peace sake, i'll put about 2k aside to get a CL lor.. =Z

i will not be using my prev CL cos i hv really bad experience. She was intro by my neighbour and i m not sure if she knew that was my 1st baby so i m not so experience she really cut corners. She sleep more than me!! She demands fish at every meal..and she said she dun do marketing. imagine, during confinement i hv to take bus to market n get food! n when i asked her what should i buy, she say buy whatever u wanna eat lor..n when my parents came to visit, they will buy fish, she even help herself with those fish. my parents super not happy but cos she gotta care for my son, they close 1 eyes.

Ultimate came when she found out i hv a part time cleaner coming once a week, immediately after that she stopped cleaning the house which she is supposed to at least sweep every day and mop once a day... i was so depressed then i kept asking my hb to pay her off and ask her to leave! n she kept commenting how slow my milk came in etc.. :'(

this time round, i m determined to find a good CL!

Modisch

Your CL hopeless la! How much you pay her? the most bth part is when she commented that your milk is slow in coming! If anyone says that to me it will be such an insult. Somemore it's your CL, wow, how unsupportive. Never comment on pple no milk or etc, I find that very insulting to a woman.

Janice: Hee I go to Dr Joycelyn Wong at Thomson. Like her a lot! She's very nice!

With regards to CL: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif] Yeah I feel apprehensive about having a stranger coming to my house to stay and you never know whether the person is nice or not, and if not nice, 'additional' problems to face during already tiring time of life.

When do you all start looking for/booking your CL huh??

Morning everyone!

Gone where the nightmares come..

Grow beanie grow..

Love the food mummy is eating...

and stop letting her throw!

Daph - True.. I feel that CL should be supportive towards BF... not demoralizing mothers instead..

Hui - I also feel uncomfy with a stranger at home, but what to do... unless I am willing to do my confinement myself... I dont think I can handle it.. =(

Hui, Audrey,

You'll be fine when the CL is here. Really not that uncomfortable. It's like hmm... Hiring a maid who knows their stuff very well. There are alot of things that we don't know. Only through CL can we learn. Like bathing bb, taking care of bb. CL also helps to boil red date drink for us everyday. Prepare bath water for us and etc. Cook and wash dishes for us. Makes you feel like queen la. Bb cry also nevermind coz CL will run to bb even when she's in the midst of something. Handwash bb laundry also. The other time when my CL left after one month, I literally cried in front of her! Got very attached. usually after we give birth we'll more or less feel abit unstable mentally one, that's why need people to take care of these things.

morning mummies...

sunshine.. congrats to u[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so hapi to hear dat[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

modish... yr CL so bad ya.. think if u gg get one better change for a better wan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all... is true oso!.. getting a CL is a ???? as we dunno they r gd anot. I might get my mum to help mi as my MIL cooking is sucks.... everything ajinomoto. i hate it lo. my mum did say i have to do confinement at my hm as my MIL is staying wif us. If im gg back to Niang Jia do dat wont be nice. I say getting her to do i will die & go crazy faster. As my MIL dunno hw to cook, only knws hw to complains nag n nag!! nobody can stand her at all. if we are doing confiement ourself we can actually get the confinement catering food lo. tough is only the baby part everything by ourself.

mi waiting for everything stable dan discuss wif my mum again ;) hopefully she agree. as my DH oso prefer my mum as she cooks well. Nt like my MIL lazy like a piggg.....

Woo Daph: sounds like you had a really good CL! yeah i told my mom too that I rather she look after ME (her big baby) while CL looks after the small baby. KEKEKEKEKEKEKEKEK!

adurey,

daph is right! we hv to get use to 'stranger' at home, anyway, onli one mth nia...very fast de...after that, we hv to back to sq 1... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] jus nice bonus come in time, i can set aside the $$$ for CL n oso find a nanny when i gg back to work...

thanks, daph! ur info did help!!! will start to enquiry on CL liao...otherwise all fully booked, i die lol...

Daph - orh.. sound very miracle leh.. looking forward to getting one ^^ btw.. do you assign her a room or she sleeps with you?

My only spare room is at the 1st level and it is w/out aircon de.. \

den if i put baby with her i she-bu-de..

if put with me.. i scared middle of the night she cant hear den i have to wake up..

if she sleep with me.. my DH gotta sleep downstairs..

whats ur arrangement like?

suying - "If im gg back to Niang Jia do dat wont be nice" - thats my concern too! my MIL hinted me if my room at my niang jia is still vacant anot.. i say yes.. den i told her.. i got own house dun wanna stay, go back niang jia stay for what.. later my daddy say baby follow his surname den u know.. LOL that is enuf to shut her up..

Morning Mummies...

Babyjosh, mine is fraternal :My mum says she will lend me a hand, we are exploring into hiring maid or putting the babies in infantcare when I goes back to work…still considering.

Sunshinebb, congratulations, now u can be more relieved! Agree with u we hv to hold our breath each time we go for our chkups.

Suying, are u seeing Dr Loh at TPS now? Or in Clinic D?

suying,

there's nothing wrong gg back to ur home to do confinement mah....moreover, ur hse soo many ppl already....gg back ur hse, will give u a peace of mind to rest well....if at ur own home, soo many things come n 'fan' u...then u will not hv a good rest lol....my frenx who is mother of two, keep reminding me, confinement is very impt, make sure we rest well!!!

ask ur DH go back stay with u lol....1mth onli, he can't bare his family? for ur own good, hv to think twice lol....

feimei - talk about bonus.. LOL .. my friend all took their Dec pay + bonus liao.. start their shopping spree liao.. left me.. supposingly 12th.. heng it is a sunday.. den i'll take on friday.. force myself to put $ aside for CL lor.. dun think my ILs are going to come out with any $ de lah..

sunshine,

u r doing great!!! so u can stop all the worries now as beanie is doing good too!!! i oso got no appetite to eat but for the sake of beanie...more or less hv to throw in some food...

Ladies, I agree that confinement nanny is v important. My fren got hers thru an agency and she is expecting her #2 now, so she is using back the old one. She told me one good thing abt agency recommendation is that shd the CL fly aeroplane last min, then a replacement will come v fast, but it wld be more exp and levy is imposed.

I also prefer recommendation from frens but as I am expecting twins so it is better to get a nanny who is experienced with twins. CL for twins is also more expensive.

My fren told me, her CL helps her with all hsehold chores, cooks, marketing, take care of her #1, newborn baby and mother. She says all these things must say in advance before hiring her.

My fren paid abt 2.1k for her CL.

Ladies, do u all crave for spicy and sour food? My dh forbid me to eat too much chilli...and I will throw up all fruits and fruit juice, anyone experiencing the same?

audrey... i did mention to my MIL b4. if i have bb i will go back my niang jia for confinement. even aft confinement my mum will look aft my bb. she say like dat bb nt close to her hw. i say i will only bring back weekends & holiday. so she shut up!!! she have no rite to stop mi if i wan too. as she shld knw herself better! dun even knw hw to cook dun even knw hw to look aft bb.

can u imgine my house bro. in law wife. 1st confinement by her so jialak. everyday same food plus nt nice. she likes to pin point say ppl dunno hw to take care. i see le she oso same same lo. still dare to mention she's a mother of 4. u knw she even say bb porridge if no taste can put some ajinomoto n soya sauce. crazy rite... bb at only few mths old. eat so salty. her mind must be crazy.