(2011/07) July 2011

all the farting biz is so hilarious, lol!

Daph - your family's like an orchestra right :p

any tips on which hosp to choose as compared to another? ... my exp of m/c at thomson was so- so.. good thing was, the nurses were v nice. not so gd was, because mine was premature labour, n maybe that time i was emotionally v down, the labour room was like so small, we were sharing rooms, like three pple in a small room, and just separated by curtains.. (from what i recall) so no privacy, v claustrophobic...

but the gd part was that the nurses were v nice in general.

hi all.. am new to this thread..

am 6 weeks preggy. visited gynae for the 1st time ytd and was charged $249. after reading up, my understanding is that normally the charges for 1st visit is between $100-$150. gynae didnt give me any advise at all. this is my first preggy. he even told me spotting is normal. no need to be worried. I was given 'an tai' med, folic acid. he did a v-scan on me and i can see bb heartbeat. told me to go back in 3 wks time..

need some recommendation on gynae in jurong as i do not intend to go back to this gynae anymore. thks.

rosegal, Mt A got 10 birth rooms... and normally those birth room are not reali BIG ones leh...

u can go for hosp tour to c the rooms....

one thing is dun liek abt tmc is the parking... is horrible leh...

Thanks everyone.

Feimei, SGH is really far from my place (staying at the east) and was thinking if i should change my gynae but hubby is a civil servant so going to govt hospital is subsidies for us. KKH is equally far too and have not heard of any good gynae at CGH thou.

I'm in a dilemma now.

wendy, thanks..

this dr henry cheng, which hospital can he deliver?

et2008, where is the clinic of your gynae? is she good?

thanks jgwee! i see... i think i'll take some time to really consider....

i'm not really so concerned about the parkg cos the valet works ok for us..

from the east, there's not really many hospitals... i have a v bad opinion of cgh cos my father in law was once hospitalised there before and they lost him as a patient (couldn't figure out where he was after being wheeled away from emergency room), and very messed up for quite a while... i find the service v bad in general.. and i just don't like the idea of seeing chained criminals go there for checkups (have seen them at least twice.. but maybe not for the maternity side haha) but i just have a horrid impression of cgh...

anyone has any experience to share about parkway eastshore??

xinyue,

u shld be more than 6wks bahh....becos, 6wks, will not hear heartbeat yet, heartbeat can be hear ard 7 - 8wks leh....ur that gynae oso very 'fu yan'...1st time preggy, shld tell u more...n how all these gg to chnage ur life, how u need to handle things...y only a few sentence and that's it??? tink u no need go back there lol...the above is only my own opinion!!! think chkup wif v-scan will be abit ex lol...but ur bill oso abit too much leh...

hi-5, px22!!! :D

jgwee,

KKH parking also horrible + terrible.... =P

tze,

i was with KKH for my 1st preg...i went to the private suite...the waiting time oso 'sucks' lol...soo long waiting...this time round, i went to SGH becos my diabetic doc is there...so he recommanded a senior gynae for me...

xinyue,

i also staying in jurong but too bad, no hosiptal there....they building one but by that time it completed, our kids how many yrs old liao...hahahhaa....from jurong, nearest will be TMC or KKH or SGH lol, if go by express way...

et2008,

sure, will include u...

ah hahaha, i just found out that my doc only does delivery at tmc, so i guess i've got no choice then! lol

feimei, pls help me update then, mine is tmc. unless of course, i change gynae! lol

Xinyue,

My dr is a male Dr,

He is very popular, he due with IVF in KKH.

Many nurses choose him to be their gynae... he is very careful with people like me, who very diffucult to get preg. he put me on 4 weeks of progestarone for support the pregnancy.

Hi Fei mei

Can you add me in your list too? - many thanks!

EDD : 1st Week of July 2011

Gynae : Dr Poon King Fu

Hospital : TBC (probably will be Mount A)

BB Gender : TBC

My colleagues recommended me to attend the Prenatal courses at TMC organised by Mrs Wong. She said Mrs Wong quite famous and her courses very good.

If anyone start searching for these courses, please share the info here, k. Mybe we can also go together. hehehe....

ET2008, thks for the info.

feimei, i was recommended by our family doctor to a senior consultant in SGH. I suppose distance should not matters. To be honest, waiting time at SGH was freaking long too.. I waited for hrs on my 1st visit.. arggg!!! then on 2nd visit i decided to change it in the morning which is much better.

My gynae althou a nice and friendly guy always seems to be speaking very fast, makes me very gan cheong lolz..

tze, u can go kkh. i am gg to kkh. my hb oso same as yours. so can only choose govt hosp.

feimei, private suite for kkh oso have to wait so long ah?

feimei >

I dont know. Doc says 6 wks. I can see the heartbeat. He didnt let us hear. imagine. consulation was only 5min. :mad:@@

that's why now asking ard for recommendations on gynae. Hmm.. hubby prefers a female gynae.. considering KKH and NUH lor. TMC is ex..

ET2008 & wendy > thanks for the info. should i visit another gynae in 3 wks time?

xinyue.. I think the price for pte gynae is almost the same for all hospital... unless u walk r refer by poly clinic as a govt patient?

pls correct mi if i'm wrong..:1

hi xinyue, I seen cases where week 6 they can hear heartbeat le.. And i went on some websites like babycenter and they says heartbeat is forming at week 6. Some women might hear them earlier, some later.. also because we based on LMP, so sometimes the weeks aint that accurate as well. =) Great that you can hear heartbeat!!

My next visit is on coming Monday and the main purpose is also to detect heartbeat! It is my sixth week on Monday.

Some posts that state heartbeat is formed on week 6 on famous sites:

http://www.babycenter.com/6_your-pregnancy-6-weeks_1095.bc

http://www.whattoexpect.com/pregnancy/week-by-week/week-6.aspx

serene,

sure, will add u....

@.@ Wowww...our list getting longer... :D gd sign!!! cheer for Jul BB!!!!

tze,

u can ask him speak slowly lol or u keep asking him the same qns, then he will noe u can't catch him, so he will speak slowly...hahhahaa

pillow4,

very long, i can wait 4hrs...really sucks...n my hb Zzzz on the sofa....hahahahhaa....i went private suite becos my frenx say shorter waiting time but no lor...where got diff??? oso the same, freaking long...

xinyue,

u saw the tiny dot, does it blink like twickle little star? if so, thats the heartbeat. not all gynae will let u listen to heartbeat unless they hv the equipment....but normally they will tell u: "look, the one blinking, is the heartbeat lol"...when u see it...u feel very warm, will nearly wan to burst out....hahahahhaa...

lunchtime, Mummies!!!!

rem to eat good n healthy~~~ :D

i not da pao-ing today, big boss come, must hv team lunch with him...i hate that...anyway, i got nothing much to talk, all my team r guys...as usual, i will sit there, look at them....hahahhahaa....

Enjoy ur lunch!!!

wendy,

actually, wk 5 the lil one already start developing, like the brain, spinal cord...so heart will be 2gether as well bahhh...hope to c ur update on monday!!! u will be very happy when u c ur lil one, blinking... :D

Morning everyone!

No class today

Had to read the archive to see what I have missed =p

pillow - had a great sleep =) no pee pee.. or rather, i dont remember. good sleep = girl?

Tze (tze48) - both my hub and I are civil servant, so tot of making full use of the perks.. U can go to a poly clinic, get a referral to KKH or other hospital. so that they can give you a subsidised rate =) Imagine i go see a gynea to "geh geh" check my overian cyst (so that i can be charged as a follow up case), they found out i pregnant ( i know i m pregnant already), and did a v u/s for me.. and i was charged only $25, under the subsidised rate.. 85% goes to the MSO scheme, we pay only 15% of it.. which is like.. $3.75 ? =p strongly encourage civil servants to go to these govt hospital =p

also, keep it receipt of your 1st gynea visit, and see if after your birth, your hubby can claim anot.. =)

my SIL got a claim of 1k+ (in cheque) for her gynea visits, she submitted the receipts on the day she gave birth..

hahhahaa....we r in the same boat...got threaten to lunch with them....i escape the previous time, so no escape for mi this time...i told my boss, i on strict diet, can't eat much, guess what he say....eat little then chit-chat lol -.-"

so u claim one time then hb claim another? can meh? even if we civil servant alread still need to go polyclinic for referral? but if i already have a gynae in mind how ah? how come your SIL can claim so much? under the norm MSO medical visit or special gynae visits? i thought max only 10buck to claim?

Xinyue

$249 for a first visit of not doing much sound very crazy! The last time with my first visit for my #1, it costs ard $100 plus only. TMC doctor with her own clinic. but it's at amk. So, I think you should consult some other Gynae instead of your current one. Imagine you have many more visits to go and you don't know how much the male Gynae is gonna charge!

One thing about private hospital like mt a and Tmc is that they have professional nurses and caregivers who know their job very well. They really make you feel relaxed and at ease. When I was warded to SGH and KK the other time (for spotting at 3rd trimester) there are lots of training nurses who always come by to visit. So it can be quite annoying at times.

daph,

u went to the gynae at amk hub? Michele Lee? i visited her once, she very nice. i did tot of gg back but not convenient leh...soo give up the idea... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i haven ask for the details from her..

she told me to keep ALL the gynea visits...

But thats what she adviced me..

Only can claim one side lahh.. LOL .. cannot pian garbbermen de..

if u walk into to KK, they charge you private rate liao..

i m going poly clinic at 4pm.. to get the letter.. cos they closing at about 5.. i thinki shouldnt spend more than half an hr there bahh..

will bring my U/S foto along too hahha

so now i still can go polyclinic, get a referral to go kkh? then when we are there we can choose our doc? cos i already made an appt on next tue. how much can we save if go in as subsidised? when u said subsidised, it is all the way till delivery and even the hosp stay? sorry for asking so many qs. so lost. cos hubby said paid 15% only then i dun bother liao. i din know can disc some more.

Audrey / pillow,

for us, hubby got the CSC card which is meant for outpatient bills only which is up to 70-80% subsidized. Eg: my 1st appt cost was $96+ and end up only paid $20+ which was auto-deducted from my hubby's salary.

For In-patient bills (ie hospital stay includes delivery charges) is not subsidized.

not sure if this is the same for you as well?

Also for KKH, if i'm not wrong, i think once you choose your gynae &/or upper wards (B1 and above), you are considered private patient hence not subsidized.

Feimei,

That's what my mum says too. just ask repeatly those questions until he answer them lolz... ...

To Everyone,

Which stretch mark cream are you currently using?

Feimei

Yes, it's her. I used to stay serangoon north at my in laws place. That's why visited Michele. Just shifted to bukit panjang beginning of the year, but will still choose to go back to her this time round. Coz used to it already[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she's very gentle and calm even when delivering my #1. Very positive also, that's why I like her.

jgwee > am not referred by polyclinic. Not sure also. my feeling is this gynae charges too ex. have seen some charges (pte gynae) given by Mommies to be as only $50 or $60 for the v-scan. Mine was $80! :mad:

wendy > Oic.. Hmm.. Guess I am pretty slow in finding out compared to you.. Heehee.. excited about your appt on Monday?

feimie > ya, I saw the tiny dot and it is blinking like a twinkle star. Doc also told us that is the heartbeat.. I see.. hmm.. this gynae didnt even tell us the formation process of the bb.. I was wondering how come so fast got heartbeat. Always thought it is just some tissue of blood inside boday.. :/

daph > ya lor.. that is why now want some recommendation for gynae. who doesnt charge sky high price and not doing anything. hmm... my friend's experience was opposite of yours. Her #1 and #2 at KKH, #3 and #4 at TMC. She told me nurses at KKH nicer and more experienced. Those at TMC, just do what they want to her without asking/telling her. Somemore, TMC more ex than KKH.

hmm.. maybe I should just walk in to polyclinic tell gp i preggy and ask for referral?

Tze answered them Liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I wanna find clarin de..

Cos my MIL works in SaSa... And they carry that..

So I think can get good price bah..

But I dun wanna ask her now.. Cos I haven tell her I m pregnant..

Can update u the price when I know from her =D

Xinyue

Hmm haha ok. Diff experience then. The other my bill in Tmc was quite cheap. Coz I chose 4 bedder(in the end I got 2 bedder but at 4 bedder price) and mine was natural without epidural. So save money! Haha.

Hi All. I am totally new to his thread.. EDD is on 7 July 2011. 1st check up went 2weeks ago but nothing much to see just to confirm that I'm positive pregnant. Next appt 19 Nov, so hopefully there be more updates. Taking the Folic acid but the iron medi really wana make me puke. It's the after taste that I detest so much. Anyone same as me? or anything to share for a first time lost mum to be.

tze, tks for the clarification. at least now i dun have to waste time to go polyclinic. so hosp bills and delivery oso paid by csc? we only pay 15%? cos hb said fren wife go A ward, norm delivery used csc card, in e end pay nothing. or pay like 100 plus.

daph, u did w/o epi? wow... tat is what i planning to do. but everyone incl hb dissuade me and say i must be crazy.. but i wanna experience some maternal pain..haha. but seriously dunno whether i can take it or not. so glad to knw someone did it. then next time when we meet u can share with me and teach me.

Serene,

I have attended Mrs Wong's classes before. Her classes are quite interesting. I attended her weekday classes at AMK hub since it is near my place. It is very tiring to go for classes especially after work, but luckily she crack alot of jokes and kept me wide awake during classes. I feel it was worth going when i was first time preggy. I got to know alot of things and clear alot of my doubts on some traditional myths.

My first gynae visit would be next Friday. Oh.. just cant wait to see my bb for the first time. Hopefully can see heartbeat too, then no need to go for second visit liao..

yar daph - so cool! do share your exp with us pls!

karen - welcome to the forum!

wah - you guys talk about kkh so much i'm now beginning to keep options open!! haha.. what you say about the nurses at tmc is quite true - the other time, they just shaved me (i didn't know anything, didn't expect anything) so suddenly and without any prior experience, it felt like so intruded upon! not a gd exp... but after that, on the whole, i'd say the nurses are not too bad at tmc....