(2011/07) July 2011

Oh dear, so many worriers out there! There's no point worrying cos if anything bad's going to happen, it'll happen anyway, whether or not you worry. And chances are, nothing bad will happen, so you would have worried for nothing. Best way to ensure our babies turn out ok is to take good care of ourselves! Cheer up everyone, it's a good thing to be pregnant, enjoy it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bananas: I read somewhere that we should avoid the "ang moh" Del Monte type bananas as they are "liang", but ok to eat the small "local" ones. Not sure if I remembered wrongly though.

Bak zhang: I think should be ok to eat (though glutinous rice probably bad for digestion) but maybe get them to heat up first? In case the meat inside the bak zhang has bacteria from being left lying out there for so long? Hmm, I am now craving bak zhang too!!

thanks audrey... ya hoh.. i shld think hotdog or ang ku kueh nw ;)

my FB is su ying.... i did add u ya ;)

ya lor.. coopie, i agree.. hehehe

i am going to attend the pineapple tart baking course this sunday at Jia Le.. i know hw to bake pineapple tart actually but forget liao!!! alamak..so decide to attend to freshen up my skill and also see hw others bake..hehehe

planning to go learn kueh lapis at end of jan also.. hehe.. look forward to all these baking class!!

Daph, i got alot of pee during night time... day time not so much.. wonder y...

tdy got abit of 'sng' at my back there.. stomach growing?? hope hope.. now wishinig lunch time faster come! maybe eating chicken rice later..

Haha Daph, I salivate quite a bit more nowadays too, DH laughed like mad that day when suddenly I drooled in the middle of nowhere! So pai sei, lucky was just him and not my boss or sthing!

The peeing is supposed to reduce in the 2nd trimester, something about the weight of the uterus shifting away from the bladder, so hopefully we'll have more peaceful nights the next few months! 3rd trimester supposed to pee like mad again.... Daph, maybe you're in the 2nd trimester stage so not so much pee?

Coopie

Seriously I think my output of fluid is through my mouth! I have a special cup meant for spitting. That bad! But only for home use la. Go out spit on tissue and throw into plastic bag which is in my bag. Sometimes I need to wake up in the middle of the night to spit!

Hi Simone...ya sometimes i feel my bladder is very full but go toilet no pee or maybe some drops only. I spoke with a fren who already gave birth many yrs ago, she said is very common. maybe you check with your gynae and share share with us.

Hi coopie..for bananas, you're right...cant eat the del monte type...must eat the "pang jio" direct translate "gd smelling banana"...haha those small small type one but dun mistake it as "kek leng jio" direct translate "indian banana"...the latter also cannot eat. you ask those old folks they will know.

Yaya: wow sounds like you're a great baker!! I like baking/ cooking too, but only beginner level and haven't touched anything in the kitchen for more than a year! I think you have just inspired me to start again, thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My baby will not be as lucky as some of yours to get home knitted booties etc though, cos I totally suck at art & craft. You gals go for it, I think it's great to sew stuff for babies. My friend sewed a whole quilt for her daughter before she was born, wish I could do something like that!

Okok Hui

Will take pic... the material very gd the wool is suitable for bb...now make my heart itching again once know the gender will start knitting again

coopie, i bakes regularly.. but recently stop baking le... now since cny is approaching, i am going to try to start bakin again..but not as much as before..

Dap, I dun drink much at night n will pee before gg to sleep, but still will need to go toilet in the middle of the night to pee... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ST, okok... Hope I remember to ask tomorrow... Nowadays really goldfish memory...

Do u gals pee alot during the night time or throughout the day? I drink lots of water during the day, but what goes in doesn't come out at all. In office, I go at most twice onli... Strange leh... And night time at most wake up once only... Am I abnormal?

N do u gals experience blackouts? I dun seem to be able to stand in trains now... This morning i almost blackout in train again cos i was standing... I've been taking pre-natal multi-vits obediently. Is there anything else I shld take?

Tks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Crayon_mini, i actually experience blackout for 10seconds and i fainted for a few minutes when i am on my short holiday during new year year. It was scary. I saw that dizziness and fainting spells are normal as more blood are flowing to baby instead of us thus we might be dizzy at times. Also, it might be due to hunger or lack of oxygen.

Suying, cheer up k! Dun worry so much. BB will be fine and will stick to you. Miscarriage will greatly lessen by now and dun ever think negatively k. Let me know if you need a listening ears and you could ring me if u need something to talk to.

daph: in first tri I need to wake up every night to pee.. now 2nd tri the prob disappears.. better sleep liao..

Good afternoon mummies!! I am back to office after gone for 2 days.. my #1 attending N1 so took leave to go with him. More tired than going to work..lol

I am officially at 14 weeks which means 2nd tri but appetite still very bad! Half bowl of noodle oso cannot finis..see noodle alr feel full..hahah

eh, i din catch up on earlier post but su ying, what happen to ya? How come u r worrying? dun worry ok.. harder to be done than said but we must keep a positive mind! Very impt to have a cheerful n calm baby.. i attribute my #1 attitude to me being calm n happy during my pregnancy.. now when he goes to school, even teacher oso said rarely see a 2yo so calm, not anxious or scared. Proud to say he din cry when others did..cos mummy rarely cried too.. i hv too much ego in me to shed tears..hahaha. So no matter how down u feel, just tink happy thoughts. if that dun work, spend $$ will work (at least for me) haha

crayon_mami & wendy, me too experience almost blackout just this mon, i see patches of black then feel like fainting and my swaying, so i quickly alight at the next stop and sit down for while, was having cold sweat too. the feeling is so scary, first time im like that. i usu have dizziness too but nvr like black out before.

have u all started taking vitimins alr?

Yay, I satisfied my bak zhang craving by having a nonya zhang at lunch, on top of my rice with 4 dishes...I think I need to start exercising soon :p

Haha Daph that's hilarious, no wonder you don't have any liquid left to go out the bottom way ;)

Kimifin: I am trying to avoid caffeine as much as possible but have given in a few times to tea, green tea and coke...I also don't consider chocolate as part of my caffeine intake though strictly speaking it should ;) I think once in awhile should be ok, as long as don't overdo it. Btw other than the usual health risks the doctors state, apparently the baby can come out very hyperactive if we drink too much caffeine during pregnancy.

IcezJo: yes I started taking vitamins quite early on. I take pregnancy multi vitamins, some DHA/ fish oil thingie and folic acid. For the fish oil, make sure they state the fish they use does not have high mercury content.

I haven't started taking calcium yet though, doc told me during 1st tri I didn't need to, not sure about now. I used to try to take more yogurt to boost calcium intake but ended up getting diarrhoea so have stopped for awhile.

modisch: I also went to my son's first day yesterday and see all kind of babies... got play without influence by crying type, got cry like crazy type.. got see parent/helper then start to cry type.. so funny..

and my boy surprise me by feeding himself whole bowl of porridge where at home only want to be fed by helper.. sigh.. hope he will get used to feeding by himself..

kimifin: me this time also like coffee and tea but only allow myself to add half tea spoon coffee power to milo once in a while but I drink a lot of lemon tea.. and this time like also grave for instant noodle.. lucky I still like lots and lots of plain water..

hi mommies.. I started all multi-vit, fish oil and calcium following my gynae's instruction after my DS scan..

But the phamacy lady told me do not take the multi-vit and calcium at the same dose as the iron inside the multi-vit will reduce our body absortion of calcium.. so she advice me to take the multi-vit and fish oil (+ my remaining folic) in the morning and take calcium after dinner at night..

chujie, actually my prev gynae oso told me that do not take multi-vit n calcium together but my current gynae say is ok to take all together. so dunno which is right and which is wrong.

I really 'pei fu' those in teaching line esp pre-school. These kids practically are shouting and screaming their lungs out!! and the teacher gotta be calm and not show their frustration..i was there and I alr felt headache hearing those kids scream..wonder how they do it for years and not only 1 child but 12 crying kids at the same time. cry when wearing shoe, cry when changing diaper, cry while walking to playground, cry while washing hands..practically crying all the way..haha

hi icezjo, i have not started multi-vitamins yet. ya.. you will start to feel blackout and then sway, then will faint. So when during blackout must sit down and rest or else like me sure faint after walking a few steps..

Hi girls, i taking a cup of coffee per day still, cant live without coffee.

simone, I also felt that feeling once or twice! Remember my bladder was very full but when I sit down at the toilet bowl, no matter how the urine just won't come out & I am feeling so urgent. I have to keep forcing myself to pee & a few drops come out gradually & started to get normal after awhile. It never happen before, only after pregnant...

coopie, ur appetite v good! i cant stomach so much.. just now had a duck mee dry and orange juice.. eat until v full till i go and merlion some out.. *sigh*

kimifin, i drink black tea, chinese tea ocassionally. limit to at most 1 cup a day can already. i also drink bubble tea..but i only drank a few mouthful before passing to my hubby to finish up all. cos i dont think we can drink that at this moment. so i just only drank a few mouthful to satisfy my tastebud only

ice, be careful wor.. not the 1st time u experience black out.. got tell ur hubby or not? maybe ask him to send u to work instead? hehe

Regarding multivits and fishoil

I'm given those supplements, but not taking at the moment. Coz still puking after breakfast leh. Most days when I took those supplements I'll end up puking them off. I'm taking folic acid, but half of the time it goes down the toilet bowl too. No choice lor.

Modisch

I'm sending my boy to childcare in march. Quite excited abt it. Think he should be fine leh. Since we've been dropping him off at Sunday school since he was seven months old. Doesn't cry when we part. We'll see. Haha.

Hi mummies,i just started my multi vit,calcium n fish oil ystd given by gynae..i was given obimin mutli vitamins n i tnk i cant stand the smell..puke ystd after eatin tat and today morny puke another 2tmes..i tnk i gg to stop it cos i cnt continue like tis..anyone same as me?i gt to find other alternatives..v sad...sob sob...

Px22> i bought baby posters at mothercare..many cute ones.

Talking about supplements.. Since week 5, I have been taking the following:

1 xFolic

2 x prenatal multi vitamins

2 x DHA

Total 5.. Like eating candy ...

I dun like Obimin's colour.. So took the Prenatal Vits from GNC instead.

I didn't take calcium.. Maybe will start Liquid calcium soon..

Liz/Suying - I reach KK already.. Too early.. Roaming around..

Audrey, good luck!

u eat alot of vit since week 5 hor.. i will be starting Obimin tomorrow.. i wonder i need to finish up my duphaston or not.. still have 1day tablets...

cc_sleepy: ya.. obimin is really big and smelly.. maybe you try to take it with some drinks that you like.. milo, etc and see if it helps?

modisch: ya.. the teachers there are very good and patient.. in fact this kindergarten my son goes, the teachers are quite old age.. hehe.. they will try all way to make the kids stop crying.. like say "we going up staircase, you don't cry huh.. if not I no strength to climb the stairs".. so funny..

The crying bb are really like a big orchestra.. like you said.. shouting and screaming their lungs out

coopie: if you don't want to have diarrhoea after yogurt.. maybe you can try to take slides of cheese instead.. later on when we start to have our appetite in 2nd tri.. we can take cheese with bread in the afternoon.. I found that Gardenia's High Calcium Milk Bread is very soft and smell very nice.. I will take that when my appetite returns..

Audrey..where can buy liquid calcium?

gals..i puke for the 3rd time today..sweat...txs to obimin.

Yaya>i was told to stop my duphaston eversince ystd i started muti vit etc...

Actually hor,i duno hw to swallow pills..so i crush all pills n eat..mayb tats my pukin so serious after tkin the smelly obimin..hahah..oops

Audrey..where can buy liquid calcium?

gals..i puke for the 3rd time today..sweat...txs to obimin.

Yaya>i was told to stop my duphaston eversince ystd i started muti vit etc...

Actually hor,i duno hw to swallow pills..so i crush all pills n eat..mayb tats my pukin so serious after tkin the smelly obimin..hahah..oops

Chujie>hehe..i like the calcium milk bread too..nice..

Milo no wk for mi..after takin tat i drink milo..stil cant cover the smell..can u imagine..zzz..faintz..the power of obimin vitamins...hohoho..

Im gg GNC today find other alternatives..maybe replace those missing ones with other forms of diet..zzzz

Haahaa!! Just reunited with Audrey and Suying!!! Now i all alone cos they are in the process of scanning!

All the best dearies!!

Now i am anxious

Thanks Chujie for the recommendation, will try that, the bread sounds nice and nutritious and I love cheese! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So cool that you gals are meeting up at the doc!! Like blind date like that haha. Good luck with the scans!

cc_sleepy: powder form of obimin.. no wonder you will vomit.. I think if I crush them to eat.. I will also vomit.. haha..

I also don't quite like to take pills.. I will put it all the way to the end of my throat and drink big gulp of water.. my husband always ask "Do you really need to put them so deep in".. I will reply him "not your business" haha..

Maybe you try not to crush them but break it to half (smaller easier to take)

cc- okie.. noted.. i thought of not wasting the duphaston..cos they are quite expensive pills also.. hehehe

i think suying shouldnt be worry liao la.. since now start the scanning..hahaha

Haha..i find it ridiculous smetimes oso..so big liao duno how to swallow...heee..smetimes i tnk my throat too small..i tried to put deep in..end up still stuck..omg..

Put in jam..i oso try b4 put in bread..:( failed...

Helpless...

Audrey: I also take GNC prenatal vitamins supplements.. but after taking them - still need to take extra folic acid?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/proud.gif] I didn't leh! I thought enough liao!

Cc - u can get liquid calcium from GNC, supposingly easier to absorb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lizzie/Suying - so glad to see u girls today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

must make fun of Suying, there was a great difference in herfacial expressions before and after the scan .. Hehe..

It's like, so nice to have someone to chat with especially when my hubby can't make it to Acc me..

cc_sleepy: then try cut first and put deep in la.. use milo instead of water (lukewarm.. if not burn your tongue).. or maybe rebina..

Hui - the Folic acid very small easy to swallow... So I anything lag

If I m not wrong.. Folic acid not enuf leh.. I read 800mg... Kia su.. Just eat lor..

That prenatal vit is more swallow friendly right? Slipperly slippery de .. Hehe