(2011/06) June 2011

Life is beautiful, if u intend to bf be sure to let the nurse know of your intention.tHey will indicate on the baby's card. My experience with #1 at TMC was good, the nurse was very patient and taught me how to latch and burp the baby. The first few days after delivery, there is no milk, but we will produce colostrum which is more nutritious. Important to keep trying!

For pump, think it would be useful only after milk supply sets in 3-5 days after birth. Baby direct latch is more effective in stimulating milk supply. I remember feeling so frustrated and disappointed when I tried pumping and all I got was miserly 15ml! Really wanted to cry at that time. But it turned out ok in the end, managed to tbf my girl till she turned 2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Errr how actually u count bb kick/movement....

cause some time its like 1 kick than pause for a long time than kick again.

Eg. Kick - stop less than 10 sec - 2nd kick = this consider 1 set of kicks but in this set got 17 kicks? correct?

shymz > thanks for informing! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I guess I will get the pump nearer to EDD or get the US set which is cheaper. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: baby movement

I am a little confused. I always think the muscle-twitching-like feeling is baby movement but doing my 20th week scan, I could see the baby moving but I didn't feel the "twitches" *or maybe too excited to feel anything* and the sonographer mentioned that the waterbag is absorbing all the kicking impact by the baby...got to wait till the baby is bigger. So now I wonder what exactly is baby movement/how does it feel? Googled and found out that each mommy has got different feeling, some butterfly flutters, some muscle twitching, etc... But I still don't know what is mine? Now at ~22weeks, I am still feeling those muscle twitching around my tummy... so do I still take them as baby movement?

baby movement - fm 12 weeks I feel pop corn popping now is punch with slight wind (imagine playing a pin ball the pull and release feeling)

Steam sterilizing - Guess I have to buy steam sterilier instate of food steamer cause have to sterilier the bottle upside down.

http://www.babycenter.ca/baby/formula/sterilising/

Electric steam sterilizing is based on hospital methods and is quick and efficient, taking eight to twelve minutes, plus cooling time. You must be careful that you only put in equipment that is safe to boil (some parts of breast pumps may not be boilable, for example). Bottles, nippless and so on must be placed upside down to make sure they are fully sterilized.

Hi, for baby movements, need to start counting when u near 7mths. Baby movements will be noticeable by then. For me I can actually see my tummy moving. Actually I don't really keep track coz bz at work no time to count, roughly estimate that baby moves each hour will do. A group of kicks should be counted as one time I suppose. If don't feel bb moving for long time then need to specially note down I think.

Finally recover from the cramps. Was so bad in the noon just now that I was so worried that it was labour pain. Now wondering if i would be able to pain during the labour day itself.

It is quite an assurance that baby is moving pretty forcefull in the tummy but i just help but feel that the rapid tummy growing makes me feel so bloated all the time and it felt like tummy is going to burst any minute. Panting very badly these days.

cant wait to see the baby again during next wed(my next gynae apptmt) before our meet up during dinner time.

ting > i didnt buy any clothes cuz my mum will bring some hands me down and my colleague will give me hers also (her baby 6 months diff from mine, so just nice...)

createjoy > i'm planning to use ikea cot, cheap and nice and safe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

life_is_beautiful > i think baby hypermart & baby kingdom you can call to check price, no need to personally go down unless there is something you really want.

on a separate note, I feel very fat and huge lol wonder if im the only one that feel that way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Go buy the latest issue of Mother & baby (cover featuring Jaymee Ong). It has a whole section on the star buys at the upcoming Babycare Festival 18-20 Mar @ SG Expo.

I saw a couple of gd promos listed for stroller, car seat & baby cot.

Re cots:

I bought mine at $200+ during the BHG sales. Quite a good important brand and can be adjusted to 3 height levels & convertible into bed when baby grows older. I upgraded the mattress to a better one. So in the end I paid $400+

Re breast pump:

I am getting a Medela pump too. Decided to buy it over this wkend. Need time to make sure the pump is working and since on offer now, just buy lo. Scared next time forget or no stocks.

Not sure if will have milk. But I’m sure our determination will see us through 

Life is beautiful> I also stay in the west. But I went all the way down to baby kingdom & hypermart to take a look. They have many strollers/ cots/ playpens on display. Which you usually don’t get to see in departmental stores. Can choose the models u want from there then compare prices.

Claire> U’re not the only one feeling this way. I also feel like a giant. Keep knocking into things everywhere I go

christy / shymz > I guess the muscle twitching I felt is the baby movement. From last night til now, even at the moment I am typing, I can feel my baby moving. This time, it's not only muscle-twitching like feel... it's like someone tugging from inside of the tummy. I guess my baby is awake now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

claire > thanks for the info on calling the baby stores but actually i don't know what i want, so maybe going there to look see look see if the fairs don't have what we like.

syrah > shall go & get the mag during lunch! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mel > oh, one of the shortfalls about getting the pump early is the warranty. if you are getting locally, bear in mind the warranty starts from the date of purchase *also another reason pulling me away from buying early*. For now, I shall put on hold unless the price is really attractive. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hm... am thinking of going to the baby fair at harbourfront over the weekend. any mommies went already? any updates on any good deals/buys? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mel, not sure if christy is ordering, will have to check with her...

my sis just called me, she's tested positive and maybe going to my gynae next wed with me since i'm going for checkup as well, oh gosh, my mum going to be busy hahaha!

christy, think amazon oso having offers? the bundles ones (lotion + diaper cream+shampoo/wash) oso cheap leh, feel like getting, if you're getting the lotion, let me know, i tag along hor...

I used thier shampoo/wash, quite nice!

JJ> Oh.. their shampoo & wash oki ah... like that maybe can consider to buy the lotion & body+hair wash together.

My hub got amazon and vpost can buy le..... LOL...

life is beautiful, i went to the mothercare fair at Harbourfront yesterday during the noon time and the sizing for the baby clothes that sells in bundle are quite limited. I was asking the service staff if they are going to do a re-stock and she claims that she is not sure. Maybe you can still check it out. If i remember correctly, i heard baby clothes from mothercare are expensive but worth the money because of the good quality.

They sells stroller, cot (not much selection), car seat and etc. You should just pop by to take a look.

Does the mummies here look for any particular brand when it comes to choosing of stroller, car seat, cot & playpen? Anyone ordering the spree for baby clothing like Gap/Old Navy and Polo Ralph?

ya christy, u know what to do hor, haha! think mel want to order the lotion? no harm ordering the bundle since they have offer, the last time i order the bundle consist of lotion and shampoo/wash, but this one not too bad la, 3 in 1 bundle.

life is beautiful,It is 15% discount store wide.If u are getting daily deals like the pumps n bottles n strollers etc etc.You have to go queue up early.the daily deals are grabbed within mins after shop open.I went at 10.15am yesterday n the Q was aldy pass the Yakun shop already..lol..

Actually I didnt get much.I would think the taka fair n the expo one will be better unless u like mothercare brand alot..

St3ph, actually if you do the maths and compare outside, mothercare rompers not very ex, most of the rompers come in 3 or 7 in a pack, i was sharing with the mtbs here earlier, their rompers' quality are really good and imagine the same rompers i have now already worn by 4 kids - my kids, niece and nephew (soon will be worn by another 2 kids, cos my sis is also expecting)

clare, i still think metro 20% sale is worth it hahaa, rem i share with u gals in fb that if want to get mothercare stuffs, can go to metro paragon cos they have a shop just inside metro, so if metro is having 20% off, usually the mothercare inside will share the discount, so it's 20% + accumulating points for both mothercare and metro, hehee!

JJ, come to think of it, you are right. Yesterday was my first time shopping for baby stuffs. Not sure on the market value and etc. Reading this forum makes me feel that i am so behind is getting all the baby stuffs. I should buy more rompers from mothercare. hehe...

mon went to eat maoshan durian..hub said ok..once a mth for me..but MIL said must eat coz bb will grow to be chubby but hub thinks its high sugar..

then after then went to eat nasi lemak..

at nite super heartburn..got breathing prob..cant slp..so next morning take MC to KKH to check on my ECG etc..they put me at the delivery suite to monitor me eh..then next rm i can hear nurses talking to the mummies..breathe in breathe out..think they gonna deliver also..

after this ordeal..i very guai already..eat just nice for dinner..and after tat go for a walk..whahha

Baby blanket

Milk Bottles (small) - Glass

Milk Bottles (big) - Glass

Milk Bottles (big) - Plastic

Baby bibs

Burp cloths

Steam Steriliser Set with tong

Diapers bag

Insulated bottles bag

Electric Breast Pump

Manual Breast Pump (if ofc toilet no power circuit)

Bath towels with hood

Bath tub

Baby anti slip mat for bath tub

Small face / body towels for bathing

Baby shower foam

Baby lotion / oil / powder

Baby powder with puff

Wet tissue for baby

Cotton balls

Cotton bubs

Diapers

Nappy Liners

Nappy rash cream

Nail Clipper

Changing waterproof mat

Crib sheets

Mosquitoe net

Cot with wheels

Breathable pillows / Bolster

Thermometer

Ru Yi oil

Pacifiers

Stroller (pram)

Car seat

Baby clothes detergent

Baby clothes

Baby booties

Baby mittens

Baby cap

Baby bottle detergent

Baby mattress protector

Baby bed frame protector

Head support for bed / prams

Bottles brush

Baby teats (varies from 0-4mths)

Teat brush

Milk powder container

Baby handkerchiefs

Baby harness carrier for adults

Nasal aspirator

Cloth diapers

Safety pins for cloth diapers

Baby milk power for 6mths above

Disposable breast pads (mum)

Nipple cream for mum

Nursing coverup (if want to breastfeed in public)

Cool Pad for fever

Disposable panties from Watsons for Confinement

Nepia diapers in NTUC (optional)

Beansprouts pillow

Detachable basket for Pram to put food etc

Hooks for Pram

Cushion pads for Prams seat belt

Swaddle wrap cloth

Blanket with hood

Baby shoes

Baby rocker / swinging chair

Aloe Vera lotion for baby

Gripe water to prevent colic on baby

Nappy rash cream (Destinee brand)

Baby comb / brush

ting, i also bgt lemongrass confinement shower gel and ginger cream, but from smh bp, cos this seller, newmummy, always organised confinement/preg stuffs on and off, and sometime she do have some bundle deals which are cheaper.

ting.. my gynae said my bb underweight so told me to eat more durian!! now not durian season already rite.. dun think i saw ppl selling..

Haha. Christy, JJ> what's the conclusion? buying or not? Actually, I'm first time mum. so duno what brand is good or use for what also. I only bought Destini diaper rash cream cos evyone said good.

This baby lotion is to use only when baby skin is dry? i recalled bees products not good for ppl with asthma. My family has asthma history, most prob my son will also inherit it. Not sure if safe to use?

JJ, can pm me the link of the confinement shower stuff? If use this, still need to buy the herbal pack fr medical hall to shower with or not?

Latest update from my 25 week scan today. Both babies @ 900g each. BIG BABIES!!!! doc was shocked but otherwise said that both doing well & didnt mention anything abt controlling my diet.

As to what I've been eating. I don't really eat a lot. Sometimes just 3 meals and milk at night if not will be very small meals thru out. But I sure love milk & bread now! Maybe the durians 2 weeks ago added to their weight? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altariel..u can always get from Geylang eh..

i bought mine from Geylang..always 24/7..coz i can only eat once a mth..i took the most ex..MaoShan type..cost $48..its $30 per kg..

but b4 u buy..ask them to weight 1st or wat b4 open 4 u to eat..coz i saw news alot of them opened 1st b4 they agreed to buy eh..end up its like $100+ for a durian..

Hi mummies TGIF!

So looking forward to nua-ing at home for the weekend! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babycot - for mummies looking at baby cots, try to look for one which has the highest top level for your NB baby. My GF advised on this as the higher the bed level is, the lesser you need to bend too deep down several times a day to put down and to carry your baby up. Many mummies complained of backaches after delivery due to this. I have bought a playpen with bassinet but I am thinking of looking for a cot now since I have to bend down quite a far bit as playpen's bassinet is generally quite low.

Watery discharge - I remembered a mummy is asking about watery discharge... I saw this on babycenter which you can read about. If you are constantly leaking clear watery discharge, better to check with your gynae as the link advised sometimes it could sometimes be leaking amniotic fluid.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_vaginal-discharge-during-pregnancy_270.bc

Ting, the lemongrass bathe and ginger cream sure looks interesting!

JJ, can you also send me the link of the confinement shower stuffs!

Evvie me and hub nt thinking of buying bb cot eh..

i heard my friend she said she bought already..but bb dont want to slp..and also need to breast feed..so slp with her at her bed now..

i was thinking of buying those small cushion bed for her to slp with me..then if wana breast feed..also no need to get up to the cot..she will be by my side..haah..

my hub said durians very hard to burn due to the high content of sugar and fats..

so if wana eat..best is morning or afternoon..

if wana eat for dinner also moderate..

coz we easily kena heartburn also...

mel and evvie, her email is this one:

newmummy09​@gmail.com

i don think or nt sure she have any bp at the moment, but u can try to email her and ask, usually her reponse is prompt.

mel, wait for christy's reply, if she cfm buying, then i will tag along hehe! i cfm buying, waiting for chrsity's confirmation.

Syrah, wow! You have a pair of chubby twins! Yes I heard frequently drinking milk helps too! Have you found out the gender of your twins yet? Sorry for being such a kypo but it is really exciting to hear news of your twins... is your tummy really big now with both of your twins at 900g each? wow! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altariel, do you drink milk daily? I have also heard from many of my mummy friends that drinking milk helps the growth of the baby. Try, maybe it will help for you! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JJ mum where's the link also ah?? for the confinement stuff..

i also did see it somewhere under the Bulk Purchase corner eh..hehehe

ting, i posted the seller's email on top le.

to all mtbs, just don fatten ur bb inside ur tummy too much, you may have problems delivering out naturally. when bb is born, then fatten them up, hehe!

Ting, I have also thought of letting baby sleep with us on the bed, but I am so scared of my ah lao crushing her when he turns! hahaha... yah I have also heard of babies not wanting to sleep in the cot/playpen but I think I will try to stand firm and train baby to sleep in her bed the times come.. then again too early to say right! haha..