(2011/06) June 2011

Dear mummies..thank you for your kind words. =)

ANyway, this pigeon detergent you all talking about, it's to use to wash the baby's clothes is it?

I find my girl kicking hard when I lie on my side, left OR right! oh no...she is very very active, once I shouted out loud in pain cos she kicked or shinned me really hard! The area was sore for a few minutes...

Shymz, better take care when having GD. My colleague has that too..my gynae also says to eat brown rice once in a while..

Hi Syrah..thanks! I've join FB already!

It's really nice to have the support from all u mommies. My hubby is posted overseas for work while I've been posted to KL too....super lonely in KL with my friends and hubby around. I only get to go back once a month for check up at TMC.

Like most of you, I've gone into baby stores a dozen times but i always end up confused! Dunno wat to buy n dunno who to ask!

Since some of you will be going to the Taka fair, I guess I'll make a trip back too!! Maybe some of us can meet thr and shop together??

re: breast pumps

hi mommies, was doing some research on the medela breast pumps and would like to ask if anyone knows the difference between medela free-style and pump-in-style(PIS) in terms of comfort & ease of use?

my baby boy is especially active during the night. He kicks alot when I lie down on my bed. I think he doesn't like me to lie down, prefers me sitting or walking around.

Does anyone of u find it hard to cut your toenails? I find it so exhausting with that watermelon belly getting in my way.

Sheila,

I agree. cutting toenail is very challenging now. And the funny part, I tried to shave below and I realised I can´´t even see my own private part. hahaha

Sheila, Yah cutting toenails is very challenging indeed! Wearing pants/panties daily is a chore too! hahaha

Matahari, maybe you can try waxing, as the regrowth is much slower and it is a really clean feeling. The therapist at the waxing palor told me more and more mummies are waxing nowadays and some c-sec mummies are even going to them a day before their op!

haven't shaved since my last BW in november. but i've just made appt for a full BW tonight.

last i gave myself a full pedi was CNY eve. wah piang. now i dunno how. maybe get a professional or my Hb to do it?

Hanis, my girl also kicks very hard when i'm on my sides. most active is from 10 plus till 12 am.. sometimes v hard to fall asleep with her doing her karate and somersaults.

chil: guess i will need to estimate, or find some used detergent cap as a gauge for how much detergent to be used in future. hee. dont recall seeing the bottled detergent earlier, thus bought the refill pack first. hee

Letting go of Medela PIS Advance (Backpack) @ $420

Good condition. Used only a few times.

Warranty included till June 2011

Interested parties, kindly Email me: [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5148823.jpg]

I'm really envious... Used to go for regular BWs, mani pedi etc but can't afford it anymore after I stopped working since having #1.. to spend more time with him.. Funny thing is, b4 giving birth I never thought I would give up my job.. But as my ML drew to an end I couldn't see myself spending most of the day apart from him...

Matahari, dun care lar most important is we feel nice and clean after the waxing. I did mine during the CNY holidays. Furthermore the therapist must be so used to 'seeing' already! heheh

Mummies, my girl kicks me repeatedly when I sleep on my side too! Macham I am pressing on her! Haha.. interesting to know that this is happening to most mummies here as well!

hanis> sorry for ur loss. do take care!

3rd tri> so when exactly is the 3rd tri supposed to start? i see so many mummies ask but no one seem really sure.. anyway i havent had any ms symptoms or tiredness yet.. still feeling pretty perky since i got over the first tri lethargy

weight gain> i've only gained 0.5kg so far! so far off from what the chart says i should be lor.. but i think maybe its cos my bmi is high la. smaller sized people seemed to be gaining more! i feel like the fattest cow here after u all post ur weight la.. despite having gained only 0.5kg, im at a freaking 62.9kg lor.. makes me want to stab those of u who gained like 10kg and is still only 55 -_-''

hard tummy & kicks> my tummy is always soft leh.. i assumed its simply cos im fat so got a layer of fats covering the tummy.. but i can feel the baby kick very clearly, and the whole tummy can jump about when she kicks so i guess all my fats are on the outside and not inside haha.. mine is most active from 8pm-11pm.. she will be kicking vigorously no matter what position i lie in

toenails> eh i used to do all my own mani/pedi but now i only do my fingers and go get professional pedicure for my toes cos i keep thinking that if i bend over too long, my baby is all squished inside and no space to move at all..

cutting toenails. furnie enuf, was discussing abt this issue w my col ytd [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya. i trying my best to bend my legs to cut now. last time during the last few wks, i asked my hub to cut cos on top of the belly, the water retention was really bad too! or.. pedi if you hv extra $$ / un co-operative hubby!

qiuen. the detergent bottle is just aside the refil leh. keke.. but diff color mayb tat's why you missed it! remember it is concerntrated, so use abit only.. else kwangx3

matahari. u not the only one. i can only use own judgement to shave now too. that is also the reason i only discovered my two huge long strech marks on my inner thighs after i popped my #1! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Looks like you ladies tummy is big! Mine is rather small cos I'm tall .. Nobody detect I'm pregnant and in public transport, I had to stand most of the time!

Btw do TMC give bath tub for new born?

Also any mummy can recommend a cheap and goOd fish oil? I m taking neurogain ;)

hanis > i'm sorry to hear that, please be strong kay?

mel > it's not a playpen, it's a play gym. Something like a mattress with an arch on the top of it, and some toys hanging on the arch. I spend 90 bucks for mine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Generally the range is around 100 for those with musical component.

I notice my face skin become more dry (certain part my skin peel off!) and there is very faint marking (like freckles?) on certain area. Very panic, now put mask in alternate days lol I'm fair skin so small changes become obvious lol

I heard some pregnant mothers will get oily and acne prone skin, while others dry skin (like mine) - but lucky ones will get a nice healthy 'pregnancy glow' *jealous*

weight gain > nowadays I never bother to measure oso hahahaha cuz if gain too much or too little, not like i'm going to do anything about it :p

matahari > can agak-agak one lar... cuz not a very good idea to go waxing now since you will be more sensitive to the pain. But if can tahan the pain I think just go ahead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

public transport > I took public transport all the time and so far less than 10 times people gave seat to me. IDK if people are getting more and more ignorant or there are more fat people around so people can't recognize anymore LOL but one thing I notice is those that gave their seat tend to be ladies or elderly. So far, NONE of the people who offered me seat are young men.

Mummies, anyone know if it's better to buy nail clipper or nail scissor for newborn?

Morning mummies...thank you for all your condolences. Am very thankful to have found a nice support group here..Hubby is still very amazed at how us women can bond through a forum! He was like, 'won't you gals be awkward during the gathering?' I said, 'We will be talking too much to feel awkward!' LOL!

Toenails> I posted a pic of my hubby cutting my toe nails for me on FB cos I can't reach the nails! Actually, I can still reach a bit, but its straining for my back, so I got him to cut. Hehe..

BW> I have to go soon! Got forest already down there! Haha..Am sooo busy busy with work, no time to go down to the salon to do..But, I read that it is good to go for wax cos it will prevent us having yeast infections..Usually, mummies can get yeast infections during 3rd trimester. Try not to leave your pantyliners on for too long too..

JJ> a lot of people say it's just old wives' talk..hehe...Malays believe that if you are carrying girls, your hips and butt area widens, and your tummy is more roundish than sharp. hehe..

Claire> My hospital gave me nail clippers for newborns for free the other time..But I chucked it aside, so I am not sure of the brand though...

Shymz, no idea leh, cos the poster just says sale..books selling at $2. But my colleague says there is quite a nice range of books, so can go take a look..

Thanks marchbb then I ll need to buy One ;)

I see the recommendation by mothers of the dha fish oil at herb.cOm, is it cheaper n better?

My fren told me that msia is cheaper to get neurogain ;)

Fen, yes, get from misa is cheaper, i maybe going to jb next weekend, so will get some. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah quite long never read the post here. For me I already1 week plus in hospital cause of low lying placenta because of heavy bleeding need to monitor here.

Hi Junaine (girlnani)

Hope you will be well soon. You and your baby will be blessed! Take care ok?

Haiz..I have been feeling crampy all these while since week 21 onwards......cannot describe what kind of pain it is..its really annoying and worrying!! Anyone have the same experience? Is it normal?? i dun think my stomach is very big leh. Wanna call my gynae..but i really dunno how to describe the cramps. Haiz..hope nothing serious! Next wed is my appointment liao. I've been applying alot of calamine lotion with menthol on my tummy cos of the rashes...hope this is not the cause of the cramps!!

Oh..and i also i think i have piles leh...it bleeds a little whenever i pooed! Sob!!! seem like alot of issues now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hu Junaine, hope your condition stabilises.

Victoria, i tot i had haemorrhoids too. i have this fleshy bit stuck outside but i've been told it not red and bloody so prolly not. but still can feel a lump. wipe with toilet paper also feel raw. i try not to constipate and gek. all this little pregnancy side effects. being a mother is a very big sacrifice hor.. we are so wei da!

finally went to de-fur myself last night. feel so clean! hopefully will reduce the chance of infection. it wasn't more painful than normal, but it helps a lot that my therapist kept talking to me. she's a experienced mummy and was telling me stories of her babies. so the conversation helps a lot.

anyways, she said that her babies were lactose and soy bean allergic/intolerant! wah piang, she said she tried so many milk formulas cos bb keep ls and almost got depression. in the end found this super expensive and rare milk powder. so poor thing. i only know one cousin was on soy milk cos cannot drink milk. imagine soy milk also cannot...

i checked out my usual salon, the pedi they charge w/o package is 50$! wah piang!!! tomoz when the HB comes back from Taiwan i will ask him to try and trim for me.

Victoria, is your cramps on the lower abdomen? i had radiating cramps like sour sour. maybe you can see your GP first.

my symtoms were radiating cramps in lower abs, and it feels a big swollen and tight. turns out i had bladder infection with bacteria.

Hi Junaine, hope you get well soon! Do take good care!

Hi Victoria, for the rashes on your tummy, maybe you can try Desitin which is the blue tube of baby nappy rash cream? For me, I am not sure if this helps to clear up my tummy rashes or aloe vera gel which Clare mentioned about as I had used both types on and off. Now my rashes are more or less cleared.

Hi suzie (suzieduck),

Ya. we are really wei da..and now i love my mum more! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the pain seem not fix at a location..very often it is felt at the side..or even near the center of the tummy...and occassionally it can be felt on the lower abdomen too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi Evvie (evvie),

i tried aloe vera gel..but it doesn't work. Shall try the desitin nappy rash cream u recommended. I think my gynae see my condition sure will prescribe me steroid cream..cos it is red and spread in patches on my tummy now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Haiz..depressing as seem alot of issues with me!

Hi Junaine (girlnani),

Please take care and hope you get better soon...

Fen, the Cinch tummy wrap I bought is for me to use daily after confinement period. As for the legs, I plan to apply slimming cream that my SIL recommends (she says it works for her), it's a brand bought from a traditional Malay shop. And of course, planning to get back to my running routine, that is if I'm not too tired with BF-ing and work commitments!

Victoria, I also tried the desitin nappy rash cream back then and it did ease my itch. but the only set back is that the cream is thick and i dont really like the smell. difficult to wash off the hands too.

now at week 26, i feel easily out of breathe these days and I feel dizzy occasionally i wonder why. So far i have put on 6.6 kg, cant help but feel swollen looking in front of the mirror. anyone feeling dizzy at times too esp when we sit in front of the com for long hours doing work.

Hi Victoria,

My gynae prescribe steroid cream for me too, but I dun dare to use it anyway as I somehow fear of the steroid content being absorb into my tummy.

Hi Christine,

Yah! I so agree with you! The desitin nappy rash cream is so thick which makes it tough to apply all over my tummy and tough to wash off! One time when my hubby helped apply, he used up almost up a tube and grumbled when washing his hands!

I feel out of breathe easily nowadays too and I am only at week 23++. So far I have put on 5kg and I feel like a penguin whenever I caught sight of myself in the mirror! I am conscious of the way I walk now as I hope I do not start to waddle!

Hi Junaine (girlnani), hope u recover fast though low lying placenta I think u must refrain from walking too much. Rest more.

Ic hanis so means instead of using those wraps we use this .. Is it good ?

Just back from BHG Baby Fair. 20% regular priced item til this sunday including brand such as Avent, Pigeon, Tollyjolly, Lucky baby, etc etc.

I have 4 bottles of home made confinement red rice wine to let go at $12 each bottle.

750ml

no preservatives added

best for confinement, blood circulation and remove wind "qu fong"

pm me if interested

I am not sure if i am pregnant as it is too early to test but this few days i am having white discharge which is uncommon for me.Is this pregnant symptons or i am actually having so kind of infection.I am so worried as i am trying to conceive.I also pee alot,keep running to the toilet.

Any Mummies went thru this?Need advices.

Junaine (girlnani),

take care! u and your bb will be safe...

little_bb,

uh, i think u are having an infection. better to go see a doc.

little_bb, sometimes if you have more discharge or watery discharge may mean you are ovulating.

Fen, you can also wear those wraps too, but I thought it might be a little troublesome. If have something snug and portable, which i can wear inside my clothes when going out, then it's better..

For us, our post-natal massage lady will use an extremely long piece of cloth (called bengkung) to wrap our tummies during confinement. I won't know how to tie it after she is gone! haha..

Thanks all for the concern. Now need to still monitor till there no more brownish discharge. If no more brownish discharge hopefully can discharge if not had to stay hospital till give birth.

re-post in case anyone forgets :p

gathering:

9th mar dinner 7pm

@iluma manhattan fish mkt

i have posted my mobile number on our facebook page so that if any of u late or not coming or last min want to come on that day can call/sms me. if u're not on fb, pm me for my mobile

this is what i have so far. let me know if ur status change (ie confirm come or dun come)

Altariel

Pianojazzy

Syrah

captain_piglet

leenmummy

Qiuen

Bless

JJ(marchbb)

Clare68

winniepooh (TBC)

chiladi

Amtail

Hanis

Joyce

shymz

tulipslover

princess_christine

suzieduck

loneeagle1178

rain4days

Junez (TBC)

Hanis sound good.. If to buy those cover legs will be troublesome and hot ...

Sometimes so sick of my family making me so mad until my tummy feel pain sometimes! Whenever I feel angry I can feel my stomach tense up..;(