(2011/06) June 2011

AWARE calls for mandatory paternity leave

One of the association’s main propositions is for a mandatory two-week paternity leave.

It also wants the final month of the existing four-month maternity leave to be converted into a parental one — where the mother can transfer her leave to her husband instead.

http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/02/09/aware-calls-for-mandatory-paternity-leave/

would you convert ur 4th month's maternity leave to paternity leave?

Rata > i oso only think of the English name, no idea for Chinese name as I'm not Chinese educated. I asked hubby to choose but all the name I don't like the sound, so we have not come to a conclusion yet...

But some parents can choose really unique name loh. I know a guy called Genius at my sch before, but the irony is he was not doing v well at school. Another one name the girl after sport car =.=" how if the model kana recall? lol

Hanis > I think 5k should be enough. Personally I'm bringing one credit card with five digit limit just to be safe cuz I'm planning to stay in suite :p

createjoy & pianojazzy > remember to contact the cord blood bank also by 32 weeks, because my colleague told me she was late to make arrangement den no time to do interview etc so can't donate. I think the they need to do some risk assessments like your family health history, etc. Me and hubby intend to donate even if we need to pay extra. I think about it, 300 plus is cheap to safe a life ya?

pianojazzy > I like Kylie [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm okay with gathering but TBC also, depends on the timing cuz even saturday sunday I got a lot of family stuffs.

Medisave claimable for delivery expenses depends on how you deliver (normal, caesarean, or assisted) and depends on the hospital too - but your room does not affect it (so whether you take suite or 4 bedded, the maximum claim is still the same)

mum who intend to buy diapers, maybe dun buy so much first? Because your baby might not be like the size / cutting / material of the diaper. This is based on experience from my colleagues. Of course it's good if your baby chin chye type lol

Christy > i cant really take milk also, so I eat those yogurt & Kraft singles instead.

Altariel @ paternity leave conversion > for my case is not dun wan but cannot, cuz my husband can be considered self employed lol he's a photographer, so take leave = no job = no money for baby and me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] even got paternity leave also he has to think twice whether want to take or not cuz it means lost of income.

Hi Mommies

This is a very happening thread. So active [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivien: My next appt with Dr Kek is end Feb, I think 25 Feb. Yup maybe we might bump into each other [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I like her very much, very motherly and calm.

Talking abt BF, I'm thinking of investing in a good bump to encourage myself to BF my princess. So far I heard Medela PIS is pretty good, if u get via bulk purchase (US model), it's abt $370.

hi all, long time din log in here... been busy and recently my gal is down with viral fever, so tireddddddd!!!

I don't seem to put on a lot of wt, this fri when going for checkup shld see how much i gain, so excited abt the coming ds this fri as well. BB had been moving and kicking fiercely whenever he wake up, keke! I think i have a karate bb inside.

Diapers - in terms of cutting, petpet, drypers and huggies cutting are smaller than the rest of the brands (think fitti premium also smaller cutting size), so mummies you may want to consider getting one size bigger, the rest of the diaper brands so far, size and cutting still ok. Try not to buy too much of nb size diapers as bb will outgrown very fast and also you wont know how heavy is your bb till he or she is born, i only getting 2-3 packs of nb size, and abt 4-6 packs of s and m for my bb, just for a start, this is just the estimation.

but my ham i will either soak it in hot water or pan fried b4 eating so should b ok.

Claire> Har donate cordblood still we need to pay?? Its so ridiculous lor.. cause we give pple things yet they earn money from us?? Do u intend to donate to the SCBB? Hmmm never heard that need to pay SCBB le.. I check with my clinic on my next visit...

Talk about CC also must remind my hub to increase his credit limit when I going to deliver.. later card cannot go thru *pai sey* hahah

How everyone wish their baby chin chye type.. like that very easy life lor...

Same lor I also take yogurt & Kraft singles.. than take soya bean milk the SOBE brand and also buy those instant soya bean powder mixture...

Rat> Ya ham recook again should be fine... cause in a way you kill the bacteria.

Baby Cot Mattress> I mesure the exsiting mattress... Babysafe do not have the size I want only if custom made... I think maybe wasteful to custom made the mattress. Plus the baby cot bed cannot adjust to lower level.. so that means once my bb know how to climb and I cannot let her sleep in the cot.

i think sausages, luncheon meat even we are nt pregnant also nt gd for our health..coz they are processed food..then i always think they throw the whole pig inside the grinder..hehe..i rem news got say b4 eat too much will cause cancer??

eat moderate better..

as for ham..if at subway..although its cook..but they also took frm the fridge..very cold..

but if at hm..boil already then eat should be ok..

Hb bought ham and cheese sandwich for breakfast for me.......

Thnks mummies for the comments on the names. I am still confused haha. Think I just leave it to the master.

i think for us asians, we'd only be concern about safe asian foods and supersitious food. but there's quite a lot of info on the www regarding western cuisine and pregnancy safety.

e.g. http://www.healthcastle.com/pregnancy-foods-to-avoid.shtml

i think it's better to be aware but not be obsessed with the avoidance. know your limit. if you are generally prone to food poisoning then of course you might want to avoid food that's not hygenic.

in terms of doubt, cook everything. like ham, luncheon meat, cheese. i did take some camembert during my first tri, i was in training in aussie and that's what all i can find to eat with the crackers. i just crossed my fingers everytime i pop one into my mouth.

like the way my DH refuse to let me eat sashimi at all. i told him why dun we go to a super expensive restaurent so sure fresh fresh, then he will say what if the chef's hands are not clean. *pouts*

generally if i were to eat something i'd just do a google. who knew that indians believe that eating papaya will cause miscarriages? then i found out that it's the unripe/green papaya that has certain chemicals that might cause miscarriage if consumed in large amounts.

i've also be extra cautious about overnight food. once i smell something fishy and i'm extra sensitive now, i will throw away even though someone might think it's ok. it's very wasteful i know, but for the sake of safety it's better to be more kiasu.

for more paternal leave, of course i'm up for it. i'm sure my DH would love to be more involved. but he's got a travelling job, and in his position, working from home is not a problem so he doesn't actually have to take leave at all.

but i just think that in our culture, many men still believe that taking care of children are still a woman's job. they might misuse the paternal leave to do other things. but i still think any form of encourangement for daddies to look after their kids is a good thing.

Suzie> You are right.. I do not take overnight food... even its reheat again. My MIL like to keep food which I cannot take it.. but my hub family grow up that way and all big size.

I have poor tummy so besides dairy food I avoid overnight food I also avoid... with now preggy I even dun want to touch the overnight food... harmful for our body (cause overnight food usually no more freshness, protein or vits)

Christy, my MIL is exact opposite. even if she cooked enough food for 10 people but only 3 of us eating, she will force us to finish everything cos overnight food is no good. lucky i do not live with her LOL.

i'm generally ok with some overnight food, but i just don't like the fridge smell that will stain the food. anyway now pregnant liao, better safe than sorry.

MTBs, I've shortlisted a few boys' names. Am looking for down-to-earth, simple-to-rem names. Dun like those fancy names. What's your pick?

1) Cayden (boyish sounding to me, fanciest of the 3 names)

2) Tristan (quite like this name, but not much meaning to it)

3) Sean (hb & my name both begin with "S")

mayo, cheese, ham, luncheon meat.. these are my favor! but ya, eat in moderation iso daily consume. started even b4 preg..

christy, my gynae no charge me for extra even though i donate mine to public leh..

^moon^, my vote for 3rd Sean [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Moon, my fren's son name Cayden. I quite like this name. Has a student name Tristan too. This name also not bad. Least preferred - Sean.

moon, what's ur hubby's surname? need to see wat will go best with the surname.. sometimes a name sounds very nice but when paired with surname then become flop liao.. haha still thinking of suzie's karl pay lol

Moon> I also like Sean le.. hahha dun know why but easy to call...

Chil> If not wrong my gyne also dun charge even for donating the cordblood out to public... I better ask again to reconfirm...

moon, neo, everything can except jack neo! keke.. sean i like cos i bumped into lots of sean and they are really handsome!

christy, ya lor. my gynae said that during my #1. i better confirm w him tis friday!

Moon, my vote is for Cayden. =)

Just wanna share sthg cute and funny with all of you. My colleague saw this cute P1 boy walking up the stairs VERY VERY slowly, and as he walked up, he left ONE SHOE BEHIND! Hahaha..why do parents buy such big shoes for their kids? I know must save $$ lah, but that is ridiculous! LOL!

Moon,I like Tristan.it was one of choice also..but there was a hero who had a sad romance named Tristan.My husband didn't like...hehe..

My choices were Tyler,Tristan and castiel..my bb likes Tristan coz I asked him last week and he kicked when called out Tristan.haha...too bad daddy don't like..

Hanis,erhmm...Kiasu parents.I guess I might be like that one day.lol

Suzie,haha...my mil the same..the table n fridge full of food.sometimes we get some weird cny dish served on the table in aug.Then she would answer it was found at the back of the fridge,bought during feb for cny!!haha...then we have try to finish the food also...

Hanis > ^5, we're in the same line [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Taught a P1 class during my first few years, and when they removed their shoes, and wanna wear them back, they didn't know which where theirs! I had a painful time trying to match their shoes. Now I know better about what to do!

Pianojazzy > Teacher too?

Clare > Haha! That's a great idea, ask bb to choose. So what name have you decided on?

Moon, not sch teacher though.

Dear teachers, do u still scold your students or raise your voice in class, that fact that it is not good for the baby?

Luncheon meat is my favourite. But I make sure its cooked first.

Hanis: its very common to see kids in big shoes. I have heard from friend that once that a girl fell down during PE, and her mother called up the school to complain. But in actual fact, she fell down cos her shoes was way too big!

Tingting, I always have regular massage at home and I've checked with her b4. She charges 70 per session. I heard is market rate. Recommended 5-10 sessions. She is a Chinese but uses jamu.

Altariel, wah, 4 months maternity is so short already and they still want to convert one to paternal leave. They should make it an incentive to take paternal leave right? Like if the dad also takes, then there is a total 5 or 6 months parental leave.. makes it more attractive right? Here, if both parents take parental leave, it's 14 months in total. If only one does, then 12 months. The hub took 6 months last year, was really good!

Claire.. haha.. Genius? Very difficult to live up to. I had a classmate called Congming.. well, no need to elaborate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Christy, logically speaking if you donate something you shouldn't have to pay right? Doesn't make sense otherwise.

Moon, my vote for Sean, most timeless. Cayden is too modern for my taste. Tristan is hmm.. ok.

Christy > Yes, intend to donate. I need to pay my gynae, NOT the SCCB. SCCB one is FREE. But no choice le, some gynae charge... I heard those private ones usually FOC cuz they pay the gynae (gynae actually earn commission, no wonder some gynae like to promote private cord blood banking) but of course there are gynae who is supportive with donating the cord blood so they will do it for free and even encourage the patients to go and donate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah, I didnt think of increasing my cc limit... Hmmmm... what kind of limit is "safe"? lol Worst case I bring 2 credit cards loh... lol

Suzie > I'm a sashimi lover, usually I eat sashimi AT LEAST once a month. So imagine my sorrow for not eating sashimi for 5 months already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My hubby die die dun let me eat also, but he promised after baby pop out and confinement done, we will go for a nice sashimi buffet lol

Talking about paternity leave, even childcare life kena misused too lol my colleagues actually took childcare leave to go watch movie, shopping, holiday etc lol

moon > I like Sean [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] simple and nice. Sounds like a name of a handsome guy lol

My baby name is Vanessa, her dad choose for her [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mummies & MTBs,

Interested in getting a neck float for your baby?

Comes in 3 designs:

Winnie the Pooh

Disney Princess

Thomas and Friends

Each at $16, kindly PM me or email me at [email protected]

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5098235.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5098236.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5098237.jpg]

hehe i wanted to name my Sean too initially.. but my hubby say together with his surname, difficult to call.. Sean Ong Sean Ong.. the tongue will get twisted whahahahh!

Moon and PianoJazzy,

Didn't know we are in the same line! I teach in a pri school...but mostly upper pri classes.

Actually, before preggie, i was already very hot-tempered and strict..I mostly teach those lower-end classes, so must be 'garang', if not they walk all over me, but they do turn around...I love my pupils to bits... =) But they can really make my blood boil! Hahaha...

Now, preggie, they are older, so they are more mature, so no need to shout or scold as much. Actually, the lower my voice, the quieter and 'calmer' I am when talking to them, the more afraid they are! They know a storm is brewing...lol..

But they are very considerate, always carrying my books/laptop for me and making sure I have a seat to sit down..dun give me much trouble in class also.

Sometimes, I feel the strain, not because I'm shouting, but i get too engrossed in teaching, my voice very the loud! Hahaha...

Moon and Pianojazzy, where do you teach?

Claire, I love sushi and sashimi too...but didn't dare to eat...cos that time, I ate at Hei Sushi, I had stomach flu, virus attacked my small intestines! I was very unlucky..=(

Even in Japan, I only ate the cooked sushi! They prepared the cooked ones fresh daily, so that one ok, but hubby was feasting on the sashimi...hehe..

Morning mummies, today is Friday n my detail scan later @ 11am. Can't wait manz..

Sashimi. I still take one pcs when in jap rest leh. Cos #2 le, not so strict vs #1 time keke. But ya, rarely lar.. Till now mayb 3 pcs in total?

^5 bless, hubby also surname Ong! But we decide to let d kid chose their English when they grown up. Just crack our brain for Chinese name will do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hanis,

I teach piano from home. I am still scolding students as exam is just next month, so v stressed up. I feel v guilty after that but students being students, if don't scold them , they will not be serious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

How i miss sashimi too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i told my hb the first thing i am going to eat after i stop breastfeeding is sashimi!

Dear Sashimi lovers, we must be strong. *sniff sniff*. the hubby let me take small bites a few times when he declared that it's fresh. but never entire slice. i also liked smoked salmon but it's so hard to avoid eating. now i just gave up on going to jap restaurents altogether. i know a friend who ate sashimi during her 3rd tri, when near her EDD. maybe we might have some respite then.

how to tahan till after breastfeeding? i plan to BF for a year leh?

last night my tummy was itching and then during the night i dreamt that i had the worst stretch marks ever! oh dear. they were red and raw and it hurts. so scary. it felt so real also. how can stretch marks just show up overnight?

Hi Pianojazzy...wah!!! So good! Can teach me? hehe..I stopped at grade 4, cannot tahan the exams! But playing i like..hehe..back then, my piano teacher also was stressed up because of me.

Dun worry, I feel guilty too when i'm too hard on them, but we must always rationalise that we care for them and their well-being, that's why we pay a lot of attention to their success.

But, at the end of the day, our baby is more important, so i have to keep reminding myself of my little girl inside of me, then I dun get so stressed. Sometimes, she kicks me when I get flustered, like a reminder to me that she's inside! Hehe..

Suzie, you mentioned the ultimate for me, SMOKED SALMON! Oh how I miss thee!!!!!! *wails*

See la, I am supposed to do lesson plan now, but spamming here instead..hahah, obviously not doing work!

Hanis > Same here! Upper-primary lower-end classes. School in Woodlands, what about you? I miss my last year's P6 batch. They were with me for almost 5 years. Literally watch them grow. By the way, I've not gotten over the fact that part of my maternity leave will be "makan-ed" during the June hols. Arrrggggghhhhh~

Inevitable to scold the kids or get angry with them, but the lousy moods will pass quickly for me. After so many years, have learnt to take things in stride.

I love, love, love Jap food, but hb's more of a sashimi fan than me. I do eat some hamachi once in a while. Find sashimi outrageously expensive, and the taste doesn't do much for me. I cannot stomach a $60 bowl of chirashi without feeling the pain in the pocket, but hb will happily eat it anytime, and finds it value-for-money :\

Suzie, my fren told me she no stretch marks till 30+ weeks. She is v sad.

Hanis, v stressed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Sometimes i scold till my hb come in and scold me for scolding students....

I know i have to relax but hard leh. Piano is not like sch work where parents put the priorty on and they have tuition to help etc. Haiz.... ok enough of my ranting kekek

Need advice on vaccination jabs. I am considering whether to go to polyclinic or PD for the monthly jabs after baby is born.

Any recommendations?

Moon!! We are the same! My school is in Sengkang...But I am staying in Pasir Ris..I miss my ex-students too, now they are so big and tall! Esp the boys, haha...whenever they come back to see us, I can't recognise them!

Ya, am a bit sad that I can't take the whole P6 class this year, but am taking half of them (foundation group).

About maternity leave in June> I tell you, my hub was saying, can keep the baby inside till July? I say siao ah, you think I am a cow? Human babies gestation period max is 40 weeks! Cos he calculated, if give birth july, just nice, come back, then few weeks later, holiday again..haha..nonsense lah he, as if he is the one that get to stay home not me.

I agree with you, have learnt to keep my cool and let things go..haha..

Some students deserved to be scolded (dreaming and not paying attention!) and i am also v strict. Normally my students get used to it and they only see my fierce side during exam period. Not guilty towards students though, guilty due to my foul mood and might affect the baby. Me so bad hor :p

i know i can never be a teacher cos my patience is very short. lol. last time people keep asking me why don't i try teaching because the salary is good. xiao ah. i will get high blood pressure and depression lor.

my hubby must be scared that i'll get depressed from any stretch marks, keep asking if i need to buy more clarins oil. and last night ask me whether i found any massage lady yet. lol. maybe he's afriad i'll turn into a cow. aiyah, anyways so touched that he cares about these nitty gritty things.

i only broke the news of my p to my father on tues. now he's telling me to eat. haiz.

Even though i love to have the 4 months maternity leave, I do agree that by converting the leave to a paternal one may really help in Singapore low birth rate context.

By giving on more leave to the ladies in the private sector will only means a career opportunity cost and the employers will favour the man in the employment more. If the guys start to have paternal leave too, it will help equalise and ease the tension of the career ladder to a less gender base one. This encourage more females to take up motherhood more rather then to put a delay to it.

I am looking forward to the Chingay preview today and vdae outing with my hubby tmr!!! Havent have a proper date with such busy school work over the CNY holidays.

Christine, Man ve reservist to hinder them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I keypo and go call Babysafe on their latex mattress.. gosh so ex... S$235 for size 70cm x 133cm... really never expect it to be so ex..

Anyway... hub say go take a look on mattress if go cheap and good one than we buy.

I like to check with mums here.. which kind of mattress you use and is it lasting and good for baby.