(2011/06) June 2011

Eleen> Oh... still have to pay to try pumps ah.. wah TMC the parking very bad as what I heard.

Shopping ctr can try pump or not?

Vivienne, my vote to Cayla too!

birdnest, i ate lao hang jia. concerntrate and no sugar. buy 5 get 1 free. no need to brew, open and eat. but my baby furnie, everytime i eat, them grow faster. #1 like tat, tis #2 also seem like tat too.. i better slow down eating them :p

eh.. christy. paisay to try at shoping ctr, cos u need to "understand" the feel lar.. i think TMC hv private room plus the lactation consultant w u?

I read that edema isn't caused by high salt intake, contrary to common belief. Most MTBs will experience this. Didn't expect it to happen yet, though. But that's for swollen feet, which isn't causing much distress (so far!). It's the aching pain in the back of the calves.. Oh oh, it's like how one would feel the next day after a long jog/run :|

christy, ah.. tis is gd. maybe can ask to try while we at the breastfeeding workshop?

not sure abt other hosp. i noe Glen E no hv [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my cousins told me to drink tons of water in the day eh..so tat when bb comes out wont hv much wrinkled skin..

then she said no need to take bird nest tat often..

take more oats instead..it's gd for the bb heart..then skin comes out also nice nice..

Hmmm I think have to call up the hospital and see if they have different breast pump to try... I personally like going to Mt A if they have it :p

I think my breastfeeding workshop is only introduction type.. cause its part of the pre natal class.

Do you all still go for BF class (only talk abt BF nia) even thou you sign up for pre natal class.

Eleen> Okie.. new information again.. LOL I really know nothing on BP :p sorry if very long winded and ask question if ask before...

Regarding cramps. i dont get it that often nowadays. Just have to remind myself not to do my lazy stretch in the morning. Cos when i am intending to do so, i can feel the muscle starting to cramp.

qiuen, i get those cramps in the calves if i stretch myself... so painful! btw, old folk says NO to stretching cos u might over-stretch the muscles that support bb... :S

E'leen, i oso seldom take fries leh.. but will watch put for the soya sauce intake as well.. but i do take some sour stuff like 'wu hua guo' or sour plum sweets.. dunnoe if these got any salt contents..

so far, my leg cramps 3 times. so i guess not really due to salty food? but feeling kind of numb on my swollen right foot now leh.. normal anot? abit of numb feeling since yesterday.. =(

u gals might wan to read on this..

http://www.babycenter.com/0_swollen-extremities-edema-during-pregnancy_230.bc

Joyce, my fingers swell until my wedding band cannot fit in liao. :S

Christy, u referring to Mt A's parentcraft huh? i oso signed up for the class in March, i dun tink i m going for any BF class other than the parentcraft one..

Oh, some of u mentioned that used Avent bottles can be trade-in right?? go trade-in where??

may i know how long do you guys intend to BF? i was thinking to BF maybe for 2 mths cos it's rather inconvenient to BF when i go back to work. does it help to BF for only 1-2 mths?

Junez> Yes I also attending the Mar intake. We will be able to see each other there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tigger> I also intend to BF only for 3 mths.. see how my supply and the bb reaction.. dun know if she will slowly take BF or very kan chong type... if she kan chong and my supply slow I think maybe have to pump and offer her BF or FM.

Well every BM count.. so every drop is good for the bb.

Than u buy pump already? Look like we are in the same BF timeline [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Junez, yr water rentention sound quite serious. i was quite jialat too when #1. so far i tried drink water, walk alot, eat less salty also no use. hopefully tis #2 will be better.. but gd thing is the min u gave birth, water gone!

tigger, can u pump out while in office? for bf, i think is one yr, cos after tat they will take their normal food. but u can't is fine. bb healthy, and showered w parent love are more imp [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh i haven't bought pump yet but not sure if i want to buy actually.. cos it's soo expensive and not sure if i have milk after giving birth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tigger> Me now is getting info first.. I think I would want to know the pump I am suitable first than I will KIV it. If really can BF for long time maybe will get hub to buy during my ML if I can't go out.

But I have spoken to Mdm Wong BB of TMC I ask if we are encourage to buy pump during preggy she say not recommeded. I also got Mdm Wong's BF book very informative but also scard me a bit cause I very scard of infection or sore (touch wood) Mdm Wong I think she encourage us more on latching which I feel.

ya i think latch will do. maybe dont need pump for now. my sister wanted to BF when she give birth but baby dont want latch.. in the end, no milk...

but she didnt buy pump so cant give it to me to use. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Happy New Year to All!! Gong Xi Fa Cai!

Ya ladies, please don't buy pump first..as i understand from a few mum's friends, they will rather we latch to stimulate milk flow first...for the initial stage...then to use pumps. If milk flow is good and kick in liao...its still not too late to get the pump. Now we can just highlight to hubby what kind of pumps we are "aim-ing" so when the times comes he will know which to get loh.

Heard that medela brand electric pumps (single)is good. Avent philips electric pumps (single) also not bad. Any feedback on this two breastpumps? Check out the price for these two..about the same cost.

welcome to the mummies new to this thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

createjoy> eh i leak whenever i sneeze nowadays leh.. which is quite often.. so much so that i have taken to wearing a pantyliner everyday.. so ma fan.. maybe i need to do more kegel exercise..

quien> haha maybe me and hubby very kiasu.. even before pregnant already think of names for both boy and girl liao.. now juz need to ask around to make sure the names cannot be made fun of in any other language or dialect!

i only feel the onset of cramping if i start to stretch myself in bed.. so i always try to rem not to stretch.. else if i dun, so far havent kena.. *touch wood*

uh.. i juz wiki hashima...

Hasma (Harsmar, Hashima) is a Chinese dessert ingredient made from the dried fallopian tubes of true frogs, typically the Asiatic Grass Frog (Rana chensinensis).

i refuse to eat anything with that description even if it is good for me lor -_-'''

victoria. i no like both leh. medela single my sis say very noisy.. like those machine cutting grass there! where avent single elec letdown too slow. at the end i switch my avent elec to avent manual. tiring at start but the letdown faster and can pump more.

but quite a lot of ppl say u got to pump out the remaining milk after bb latch, so yr body will send signal to generate more milk, be ahead of the bb required as they will inc their milk intake very soon

alteriel, wah. u got yr bb name already? share with us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

victoria & chil, medela mini electric is super noisy! can hear from outside my office if i use it to pump at work... as compare, avent is gentle lo...

there is 2 schools of tots, 1 - no need pump just latch... another school - pump after latch to promote supply & clear your breast cos during the first month, baby will only latch from 1 side...

up to individual, but if you intend to total BF for long, invest on a good pump... BF is very amazing, as long as you stay positive, mother instinct will ensure there is supply.

with #1, i wanted to save $, so bought a medela mini electric, too noisy & painful, ended up buying another avent duo... waste more $!

for #2, i already bot a new avent manual pump. cos the prev one i used till yellowish already.. pump for nearly two yrs. worth every cents [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe for 1st time mummies, if u unsure, get a manual pump 1st? less than $100. not much waste $ if u cant pump later..

Any mummies having regular headache? My head is exploding...........

Pump: I think if u firm on bf then it's a must to buy.latch n pump aft feed mk body tink bb v hungry help Inc supply n if all effort to latch fail then u can go all fully pump out. Actually I speaking base on my own experience cos I fail to latch,sire nipple n bb v slpy end up I pump till he 9mth old but I nt wking that time.fully pump is waste of time but wat to do as long as he get to drk it I willing to.

hi piano.. ya i do hav regular headaches as well... especially when i have dry eyes, in airconditioned office.. it makes things worst.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but my gynae says that headaches are normal but body will slowly get used to it cos now more blood in body etc i tink. so body getting used to it.. hope it's true..

If u mgm to latch 100% also won't b v waste lah can pump to Inc supply or store up cos they wil have growth spurt but then last time ppl no pump also survived so buy if comfortable to spend the $

I saw an article avoid sunlight n strong light if u headache.

Those water retention v jialut mummies can try drk green bean soup not everyday wk lah half soup 1 or 2 times a week.rid toxic n retention read from library safe for 2nd trim already

Createjoy,

Those normal green bean soup from hawker centre dessert shop can?

chil> hee I'm naming her Vivian Chew Zi Xuan.. 周紫萱。。 i search Vivian and it means lively, which describes her so well cos she's always so active haha! for Chinese name misusing the 紫 from purple instead of the more traditional 芷 cos that's my fav color haha..

Some mummy seems to attend Mt A's March session - I'm attending February session actually lol starting this Friday. Cuz end of March my husband kana reservist [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sian... I told him to differ but he said nvm differ oso next time still got to do so may as well do now...

I wanted to delay taking maternity leave but I think my neckache n tiredness getting worst, may end up taking maternity leave early lol

BTW, I asked my gynae and he actually charge for extracting cord blood. Is this common? Is it some gynae charge, some do it FOC?

Christy, thanks for the tip. I will buy some tmw..I used to drink chicken essence by brands last time before exams. Didn't know it is actually to prevent lethargy.

Clare68, thanks for the recipe! The white fungus helps in what? So far, the recipe for the red dates tea is highly recommended, Quien, even the auntie at the regular bakery shop that I go to said to drink that every day so baby will have red cheeks! But lately, a bit lazy to boil, hehe..

Junez, same here! I only get up to pee once, sometimes I can sleep through the night without waking up. But when i wake at 5.30 am, my bladder will be damn full and painful! I will stop my water intake about at 7-8pm, but will drink lots and lots in the day.

Chil, the lao hang jia is a brand is it? Where to buy? Actually never eat birds nest before, so dunno how it tastes like.

Piano and Tigger, I also get the headaches esp when in a car. I already have motion sickness before, so if I'm sleepy and in a car but need to stay awake, my headaches will come. If I drive, no motion sickness/headaches at all! But, hubby dun let me drive whilst preggie...=( I miss driving...He so kancheong.

Hey, do you ladies know how cash to set aside for delivery? How much are you setting aside? An estimate would be good, cos hubby and I was wondering.

Hi Mummies to be,

Organic Red Raspberry leaf, also known to herbalist as Hindberry, wild red raspberry, raspberry is often taken as a warm tea beverage. It is one of the more commonly used natural food for pregnant ladies to prepare their bodies in their very late stage of pregnancy to prepare for childbirth as it tones the uterine muscle preparing it for the intense contraction during childbirth.

Baby Dust Shop is strictly selling loose pack from Starwest Botanical Organic Red Raspberry Leaf that is grown in Croatia and is repacked in foodgrade sealed bags.

It is strictly advisable to check with your doctor before any consumption during pregnancy.

PRICES:

100 grams pack: SGD$7.00 (inclusive of normal mail postage within Singapore)

454 grams pack: SGD$30.00 (inclusive of normal mail postage within Singapore)

Pre-Order may be required depending on availability of stock.

Contact us at [email protected] for any queries or orders.

Visit http://babydustshop.blogspot.com/2010/11/organic-red-raspberry-leaf.html

Qiuen, can't remember who taught me here but its real easy.

You take the red dates, with some rock sugar (not too much), with dried longans...Boil with water till it looks like tea...

I think next time I am going to add the white fungus..

Enjoy! You can continue to keep adding hot water each time you finish drinking...I will just put into my thermos flask, and keep adding hot water..

Anyone heard of brown rice tea? My mum ask me to put the tea bag in boiling water together with red dates and wolfberries and drink it. Dunno if this helps.

Wah, clare68, I like what I read in the link you posted!!! So many benefits..will go and buy tmw! hehe..any sinseh got right>?

Hanis, Lao hang Jia hv stall at taka basement near cold storage. They hv branch at thomson plaza too.. Think tampines also hv a branch. Basically no taste, just like eating jelly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altariel, nice name u got for yr bb! I like 芷 more though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for us, we selected a few Chinese char for both gender. will wait till d Detail scan to confirm d gender then finalize it. Too bad it won't hv same char as my #1 cos d 'eight char' quite diff [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

White fungus, hv a nick name of 'birdnest' for poor people. Same nutrient, much cheaper [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mayb we should take both so bb come out extra fairer? Lol.

Red dates, must remember to remove d seed when boil else too heaty ya. I on lazy side, pop in those ready made red dates snack instead. So far it help on my morning dizzy spell

Hi hanis, i heard if we give birth natural, after deducting medisave, we have to pay cash of 2k to 3k. If csec, at least cash of 3k to 4k and if emergency csect, can go up to 6k cash.

Dear all, please beware of CL auntie Meijie. Her contacts are 93500170(sg), +60165181278 & +60125841293. She is not fit to be CL and claimed that she has worked as CL for more than 10 years. I am sharing here so as to cautious future mother not to face the bad experience I have, more important is the harm done to the new-born baby.

First, she got no sense of hygiene at all. She got long fingernails and kept on dropping her hair. U can see hairs almost everywhere. baby bath basin, towels, feeding towels etc.

Second, her cooking skills sucks as the food got no taste at all. Think her taste buds got issue as she got to eat at least 3 chilli paties every meal. She don't know how to cook confinement food to help the mother to release the wind or reducing the tummy.

Third, she like to deny things even if she got caught. e.g. use baby clothing pail to soak her clothes.

Fourth, she is not automatic in doing housework like vacuum and mopping floor. Got to instruct her to do.

Fifth, she do things at her own convenience with no consideration of the baby and mother's welfare. She can wash her clothes when the baby is awake, leaving the baby alone.

Sixth, she dunno how to operate equipment such as warmers, steriliser etc.

Last of all and the most important point, she told me she don't want to work anymore when I told her to do her work seriously after spotting her not cleaning my baby hygienely and allowing shit to be on my girl's pussy.

Feel free to msg me if u want to know more and happened to have booked her in advance. Pls think thrice to confirm her as ur CL

bb names:

Wa! mummies even start thinking of their babies chinese names. For me I have more or less settle for the english name, as for chinese will leave it to feng shui master [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

A very good morning mummies.

Hanis n Chil,yah...I think white fungus is cheap n good.for the sake of bb's skin,must eat..hehe...

Hanis,any reputable medical shop will do,a lot of bedok n tam pines.have to be careful in buying stuff like that especially when most of these stuff come from china.I think have heard enough horrible stories about china food stuff..hehe

Altariel,nice Chinese name!my husband n I have been thinking hard especially for Chinese names because we are afraid of those funny nicknames will come out from Chinese name then our kid will be laughed at in school..

It's sooo tough thinking of a name.

Ratatouille,I also believe in leaving the Chinese name for feng shui master but my husband don't leh...so I guess I follow his wishes.

clare, i see. coz for us since is not too ex & if it reali can helps in giving the kid a better life y not. more over there will still be a list of chinese words given to us to form a name we prefer not like die die ve to use the 1 & onli name given by them [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]