(2011/06) June 2011

2ww,

Mt E is Mount Elizabeth hos. There are gynaes who are based there. My sis-in-law delivered both her children at Mt E. Gleneagles is another hos. I delivered both my 2 elder children there. Cost me S$4.2k (gynae cost, my hospitalisation cost and my baby cost). I got a 20% discount on the hos charges because my gynae just came out from KKH and so he managed to negotiate a discount for patients who follow him out. For my 2nd child, the bill came out to be S$5k plus. I chose 1 bedder for both my delivery and also I didn't use epideral or other pain relief, only laughing gas so cheaper than some others.

hi Joyce. i on off have that, think is bcos our hands/ skin too cold. try to make yrself warmer w sweater.

Altariel. i tot here rarely ppl practice baby shower. normally they do b4 give birth. my ex-boz last time suggested that for my #1, i say no thanks :p

I took the hosp tour with my preggy gf yest at Thomson Medical, and the suites are so nice! Heh. Initially was deciding between 2 bedder or 1, but after hearing stories of how we might get a roomie that snores loudly etc, i decided to opt for a one-bedder, then hubby can stay over as well. For one bedder, they have so many categories as well. Deluxe lah, premiere single lah, etc. Popped over to the nursery to look at the babies. So cute! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Claire,

Congeats on knowing your bb's gender! Yeah gal or boy doesnt matter. As long as bb is healthy! =)

Thanks mummies for sharing how you choose the hospitals. Like what chil said, I think I will double confirm with my gynae tml which hospital she can delivers only before making my choice. Hopefully not just Gleneagles! =S

From what you all have shared seemed like Gleneagles is really going to cost a bomb (2 to 3 times more), so that makes my choice easier, only need to decide between Mt A and TMC if I can have the option to choose.

mongs > Sorry for my ignorant, what is laughing gas?

Chil > GA stands for?

I saw some maternity packages posted by hospital, what is the difference between normal delivery and assisted delivery?

Altáriël > I think baby shower and full month celebration means the same time in local context. But that's from what i know lah, dunno correct anot.

hi oceangal, GA = General anaesthesia aka total knock out. gd and bad.. gd = is like gong through a deep sleep. when u woke up, yr bb is out. bad = it took hrs before u can totally wake up and walking ard. and u cant c yr bb till then! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] some ppl say is more risky cos got mummies never woke up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

E'leen,thank you..will try more pelvic exercise ^_^

2ww,it's my dh.he said if girl must buy gold for her birthday every year and start to keep Chinese wine for her so she can drink during her wedding.He even plan to delay his retirement plans if girl,but bb is boy..nothing...haha..my poor boy boy..

Ok lah,we are just happy to have a healthy bb at the end of the day.

Hey gals, for those looking for gong cha. There's one at AMK Central jubilee. Just newly open =) Feeling super exhausted after i started work from a long holiday. Thank goodness friday is coming and i can take a short break.

I think i also prefer to stay in 1 bedded room as i hope my hubby can stay with me by my side at this special moment together =)

I want to drink gong cha!!!

joyce: sometime u experience static because your skin is dry, wearing rubber shoes will also generate static due to the friction. try moisturising your hands to see if helps

altariel: baby shower is pre-birth, full month is post-birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oceanicgal: yup, assisted delivery is when forceps or vacuum is used to help to baby out. mongs is referring to entonox, a mixture of nitrous oxide + air (http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/painrelief/entonox/) it's supposed to help relieve the pain... but effects vary (it didn't work for me~)

There was an article on Tuesday papers. Bill sizes for Delivery (c-section) with severe complications. Will upload pic tomorrow. IPhone can't upload attachments.

Moh began publishing bill size data for the top 70 medical conditions. Data will be updated monthly at www.moh.gov.sg/mohcorp/billsize.aspx?id=302

Not sure if delivery ward charges will b stated on the site anot.

Hey mummies, good morning! In a few hours time, will be seeing my baby again. Excited. Pray that bb is healthy, growing well, also be good, say hello and open legs let me and DH confirm the sex. =P Cos was kinda worried for these 2 weeks, friends and colleagues keep saying my tum tum is small, dun look like pregnant, make me very uneasy.

clare/el'een> How to do pelvic exercise?

Chil/Altáriël/Shymz > Thanks for the explanation. Wow GA is really risky > never wake up =(

qiuen > Thanks for sharing the bill sizes article and weblinks. It really helps.

It's been a while since I've come in here. Been busy with work. It's so nice that so many of you seeing your baby often. My scan is still a long time away at the end of the month.

Anyone felt babies' kick/movement already? My friend who's 2 weeks ahead of me said she felt it recently. So exciting!

Re: GA. It's not as scary as one imagined. I gone through it twice (not delivery but other op) and had no problem with it. Really all depends on indv. Also not all gynaes do epi c-sec so the choice may not be yours to do GA or epi for c-sec. Best to check with your gyane on this.

went for scan on wed and doc says most likely girl. now will wait for DS to confirm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, I cant remember who but someone mention her kids at blk 671a cc. do u ve the direct contact no to share with me?

eleen, i register for all 3 nearby myfirstschool last yr in nov/dec all tell me long wait list too. hai..... When are u seeing Clifton again? next visit is DS?

morning hi e'leen & rata. no kidding. tried to register my gal for this school in their amk hub branch. gosh, 80+ in waiting list. and i did a reverse count back, to register her, i must register when i'm preg w her tat time! crazy right? hmm, does it mean i should register my #2 now?

rata, my frd reminded me to register early, tot i'm kiasu already but there is 1 year waitlist... *faint*

I'm gg for DS on tue then see Clifton after that. I feel that this preg, baby is quite low, now im abit worried... hubby banned me from carrying #1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

chil, the 1 at JP has 300 on their waitlist! haha... I'm hoping that they will practise like primary school, once jie jie is in, the rest are automatic... haha...

Eleen, update me on ur DS. I m going for mine on 31st. u should b excited too coz u will b able to know bb gender.

I think is elder one inside will ve piroity to get in.

Out of curiosity,

Is anyone attending the mumsfairy breastfeeding workshop tonight? I'll be going alone so thought will be nice for some company.

Joyce,

swa ur comment on static shock. i had that when i was in US few months back, weather was prob too dry.

one sure way to get out of it (that's what I did), touch the door handle with ur fingernail first. then u can grab it coz static electric already discharged. worked like a charm for me then. else every door i open i'll get a shock! not a nice feeling =)

so nice most of u know gender and can feel kicking.. i haven felt much. or i'm confused. sometimes i feel in night, but maybe its just my muscles cramping and stretching? felt like a few taps then no more... excited to feel movement leh.. maybe my 'layers' too much.. =)

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4977116.jpg]

Today's Scan, BB camera shy, keep covering the face. hee

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4977233.jpg]

Alterial:

For Enquiry, call 67312133

Starts on March 01, Tuesday all classes at 6.30-8.30pm.

8th(Tues), 15th(Tues), 18th(Fri), 22th(Tues).

Maternity tour can be arranged at Client service counter

i have some nursing tops and pants from Mothersenvogue for Sale. Preloved but condition 10/10 as worn only afew times. please take a look at the links for pictures and measurements.

Bourbon Rosettee (white)

Retail Price: SGD 65.90

Selling @ $25. size M'

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=94

Britney Bubble Tank (brown)

Retail Price: SGD 59.90

Selling @ $25 size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=85

Cleopatra Tunic

Retail Price: SGD 69.00

Selling @ $15 Size L (the embelishments on top has fallen off abit, but its not obvious)

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=14

Woven Harem Pants

Retail Price: SGD 69.90

Selling @ $30 size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=109

Comfy Sateen Pants (khaki) - this one doesn't have pockets

Retail Price: SGD 82.00

Selling @ $25 size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=31

Comfy Sateen Shorts (khaki)

Retail Price: SGD 45.90

Selling @ $30. Size M (this one only worn ONCE to try)

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=45#

Comfy Sateen Shorts (white)

Retail Price: SGD 45.90

Selling @ $20. Size M

http://www.mothersenvogue.com/product.php?id=45#

Please PM me if you are interested. thanks

hey E'leen regards position low, check w yr gynae than worrying yrself. i heard sometime it start low, but eventually it might move position as the bb grow. me also still carrying my #1. mummies hugs are the best. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chilli_padi, noe what you mean. sometime to me is also guessing games. was that bb movement or me too suspicious [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

qiuen, i like yr gyane reply regards tummy size. big / small not imp, mostly bb healthy and in gd weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i feel mine tis time round is smaller though..

quien> thanks for finding out abt the pre-natal classes!

congrats on the good FTS results [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone suffering from constipation. I have been eating alot but the output is like very little, think I have constipation. B4 that, every morning I will sure go hv output wan but these few days no lei. Have being eating papaya & drinking alot of water oso no help.

hi hi, baby wasn't cooperative at my 17 weeks scan yesterday so cannot see gender ! gynae said she thot she saw a boy but couldn't verify cos could be the umblical cord... so have to wait for 20 week scan on 28 Jan !!! what a loooooooong wait !

someone asked me to about handsfree / rechargeable breastpump - my recommendation would be Ameda cos it is very portable and silent. Even if you do not have a room in the office, just wear a BIG shawl, set up and pump. 10-15 mins is all it takes to get all the milk out. I will put the pump in my drawer to reduce the motor noise so that makes is even more quiet. And with the big shawl, no one can see anything and you can even talk to colleagues who drop by...

chil, im gg to check with him on tue. but i dun feel as good as my 1st preggy. hopefully, im just tired cos also need to spend time with #1...

E'leen > Thanks for the link on the video.

I've just got back frm my checkup. Gynae has confirmed that it's a princess. Hohoho.. BB is measuring 10cm. Gynae told me my tummy small cos only 16 weeks how big can it be? Wahahaha, and she said cos it's first birth, usually the stretching effect is slower.

I've checked with my gynae, she only delivers at Mt A and Gleneagles. I think I will go for the maternity tour before making my decision on which to hospital to deliver.

Qiuen > can update for me. Baby=Girl, Hospital=TBC and Location=Bukit Batok. Thanks.

Hi E'leen,

I'm going for my DS next Tuesday too! Hope I can get to know the gender too. Yeah, I think having to care for no 1 makes one feel less energetic as compared to the first pregnancy. First time still can rest and relax when tired. Now no chance!!

Oceanicgal,

Congrats! Now you can go buy a lot of clothes!!

Qiuen,

Your baby looks so cute! Your gynae is like mine. Mine didn't even want to scan the privates at 16 weeks. Just mentioned that it's still small and asked me to wait till 20 weeks.. GRR. 20th week is fast coming!

Krex78,

congrats!!

ann01jan,

keke..now how you feel. Guess everyone is just waiting to find out the big surprise [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 3 weeks will past very soon!

juniorrain: constipation is a major problem for me... try a small cup of prune juice every morning, and take fybogel (safe for preggy women, recommended by my gynae).

Hi all mums!

Happy new year and congratulations on the little one in you!

I am new and would like to know if anyone knows about water birth in Singapore. I am so not looking forward to the pain and would like to go for water birth, but am not sure if my gynae is able to do it. I keep forgetting to ask during my visits.

Edd: 20 June 2011

Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham

Hospital: TMC

BB#1

Thank you! Would like to wish all of you a blessed and exciting 2011, especially with the arrival of the little one soon!

mummies, sorry to disturb. i have 1 unopened and brand new NeuroGain Vegicaps Fishoil (Purple colour) supplement to let go only at 35 bucks (outside selling at 45 or more).Expiry April 2012. Available for self-collection at AMK. thanks!

hihihi, finally can sit down peacefully in front of my laptop, been out whole day after checkup this morning, out shopping with my mum, whoohoo!!

Gynae confirmed i'm having a boy at least 70-80% quien, pls update for me, thanks! going for my detailed scan on 11 Feb.

chili_padi, i had double checked with Jeanelle, confirmed Dr Sim deliver at Mt A, I'm not too sure where your colli heard from that she don't deliver at Mt A. btw dr sim's delivery $ increased liao, this time round we need to pay a deposit of $600 (for normal delivery) upfront at 34wks. her normal delivery is abt $950-$1100, din check the rest, the deposit will be used to offset when we receive the TMC bill.

oh ya, i lost a total of 3-4kg from 1st trim till now, but bb is growing, bb estimated wt is abt 148g.

Hi everyone, I'me new yet. Wk 18 now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] going for my detailed scan in 2 wks now. so excited.

quien> is that a 3d scan or normal scan? looks so clear!

i m so excited too. finally coming monday at week 20 can go for my FA detailed scan. Cant wait to find out boi boi or girl girl.

anyway i registered for mrs wong's class too. will be going down on 19th march for 1st lesson. slot 2:30-4:30pm any mummies here going for the same slot?

Delfine, my appt for DS is at TMC, afternoon. U?

Eileen, only NUH has water birth & Mt A has the tub for 1st stage labour...