(2011/06) June 2011

Jaymum,

The worst part is I drink tea & coke almost everyday. I felt guilty and it really relieve me from the terrible nausea.

matahari - dun feel guilty, I'm even worse. drink coffee in the morning, tea in the noon if not by mid day cannot open my eyes

Eliomummy: good luck for your interview!

re: GD

yes mummies, do watch your sugar intake. it's no fun if you have GD... had it during my first pregnancy, poking urself 7 times a day is no joke.

re: parentcraft

any 2nd time/3rd time mummies going?

winniepooh,

If i can hv ice cream... i think i also will b happy like...Yumyum

Matahari/winnepooh,

I think moderate is ok.. i rem we cnnt drink more than 3 cups a day.. or if u feel nausea, jus take half a cup ;)

Matahari,

I don think company will willing to employ preg women..plus if i not wrong we have to work for 180 days to entitle the benefit like maternity leave etc..

Matahari and Jay_mum,

actually it depends on your job scope, skills set and the demand for the positions that you are applying. I was lucky enough to be employed twice when I was pregnant with my 2nd child a few years ago when the market was good. I also enjoyed the full 3 months maternity although technically, I was not entitled. Quite lucky then. But it's really quite risky and I was prepared to stay at home because I was quite determined to leave although i actually have a chance to pull back my resignation letter when I left my initial job.

Re: parentcraft,

I think it's good for first time mummies to attend because it gives you an idea on some stuff such as breastfeeding, nutrition during pregnancy etc but some of the stuff like breathing during labour and bathing baby is quite useless. because you will forget how to do it when you really experience it. For breastfeeding, I feel that no matter how prepared we are, we will never be prepared enough. it's really the determination if you want to continue through the process. But it's definitely useful to find out more and be thoroughly prepared as much as possible. I breastfed both my girls for 18 months and I find it a chore but also a joy in doing so. there will be times when we feel like giving up but I can really see the difference in my children's health compared with some of her peers so as much as possible, let's all try to have the determination now to breastfeed our babies. Breastmilk is the BEST!

hello mummies. new year started and same as my hectic work life [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

so many msg, must spend some time read. oh more and more mummies can feel bb movement / spotted the gender. y me still cant feel / see anything~ my frenz joke is bcos my fats too thick [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

oh tmc parentcraft, if u gals want Mdm wong class, got to check with the receiptionist which is her class b4 u book. my frenz sotong, no check. at the end she say the instructor no good.

abt diabetes. this is risky, do cut down when possible. as it will hit you even there is no history of diabetics in yr / yr family health history.

have a great evening ladies~

It's funny how so many mummies have craving for ice cream.

I actually have no cravings for ice cream after preggie. Instead, I crave for star fruit and pomelo. Must have it before bedtime every night... haha...

To mummies who have sweet tooth craving,try tofu ice cream which is healthier:

Ingredients

18 ounces tofu, well chilled

3 tablespoons honey

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/8 teaspoon salt

Method

Combine 12 ounces tofu, honey, vanilla, and salt in a blender and puree for about 1 minute.

Transfer to a covered container and place in the freezer overnight.

Puree remaining 6 ounces tofu in the blender until smooth.

Cut the frozen tofu into small chunks.

While pureeing at high speed, add a few chunks at a time to the tofu in the blender until all has been added and the mixture is smooth and thick.

Serve immediately.

Variations:

For variety, add toward the end of pureeing 1 egg yolk, 2 to 4 tablespoons each chopped almonds or shredded coconut, and your choice of fresh or frozen fruits.

Serve topped with chopped nutmeats.

Or add 1 teaspoon powdered green tea (matcha) and 1 additional tablespoon honey; omit vanilla.

Makes 3 or 4 servings.

I've tried it before, it is quite nice for those who likes soy products.

I think I have one more healthy substitute for ice cream. Shall look for it and post it up when I find it.

Hi everyone! Long time no post and there are soo many messages!

Congrats to everyone who knows their babies' gender and can feel the bb's kicks.

Happy, congrats that the results are ok! What a sigh of relief!

Regarding food and drinks.. my gynae says she doesn't oppose alcohol once in a while too! GULP!!

A very belated happy new year to all!

Regarding birth classes. It's really good to go but as all 2nd and 3rd time mothers can attest to it.. but it doesn't really prepare you for the child birth itself. Must just tell yourself you can make it!

I went to gynae yesterday and this time he said 85% girl. I was hoping for a boy (and previously the gynae mentioned looks like a boy) so I felt kinda sad and disappointed (lol) but my husband who likes girl was happy and quickly decide the name hahahaha but today I'm fine already. I think girl or boy does not really matter, what's more important is the baby is healthy.

I have not feel the baby kicks but my gynae told me not to worry, first timer usually can only feel it by the sixth months [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I gained a total of 2kg so far which is quite little but the baby is on the right size thankfully, so gynae told me not to worry too much too.

I think first time mummy like me tend to worry too much hahahaha

Hi gals! I will be going for the Mrs Wong class at AMK hub on every saturday, starting from Mar. I think it's good to book early, esp if u can only go during weekends..

Btw , although i m in my second trimester already, I hav been having v frequent headaches and giddiness... and very bad nausea (due to wind).. making me so hard to focus at work.. haiz.. r u gals experiencing this before? any way to curb this? it's so terrible and a struggle to go to work every morning!!arrrgghhh

For caffeine,I read max is 200g a day from one of the books..

But I think 200g is a lot leh..

Ronghui,thanks for the receipe..will go try later...wahaha...

Claire,yah..bb healthy is the most impt thing..My gyne also said my bb prob 70% boy at the 12 n 16weeks..so still got chance to be girl lah..wahahaha....I have chance to pass my strawberry shortcake rag dolls to my kid.2 more weeks to next scan..

Anyway,it is 85% girl,still got 25% leh..

Just to share,my dh's colleagues gave us a lot of preggie books..my dh read one particular book to me which made me laugh the whole day!!It is about how to train ur bb now to have psychic power/sixth sense..can train ur bb to know before hand how is coming home etc etc..stuff like that..

I really can't believe that there are such things lor...

I told my dh if really can train then I want to train my bb give my winning lottery numbers..who wants to know who is coming home soon lah... Lol

But there is something quite interesting that u might want to try.train bb to respond to you.whenever bb kicks,u tap back..do it a couple of times n next time when u call ur bb,can try tapping ur tummy,bb will respond by kicking back..

Bless,I read in baby center if we have frequent headaches during 2nd tri,means there might be a prob like stress or lack of water or caffeine or even food that u are eating..

I was having very bad headache when I was in my 14th week like 4days in a row..then I realized I was not drinking enough water.

Bless > I am also currently in my 2nd trimester. Just yesterday, for the whole afternoon I was having very bad headache, felt like my head is about to burst. Like u've said, so hard to think and conc at work. And during evening when my DH fetch me from work, 5 mins after i got into the car, I puke. Thankfully,after vomiting felt much better. I believe like what clare shared it could be due to lack or water or I've ate the wrong food.

i've also been getting headaches for the past 2 weeks. it doesn't hurt a lot, more like a nagging pain. and it moves around. sometimes i think it's because i oversleep but i'm so sleepy all the time.

to book Mrs Wong's class at AMK, do we call her direct or TMC/Mt. A. i'm a bit lost with this thread. i need to chop my DH time otherwise he'll be overseas or something.

Mongs,

You are lucky to be able to find job during pregnancy and enjoy the maternity leave.

As I worry that I may lose my job anytime, I plan to look for a temp position and work till I deliver. Its fine if I can´t have the maternity leave benefit, but its better than to be jobless. With the arrival of the baby, will certainly need more $$$. Very sian, already have to deal with the terrible ms and now have to endure mental stress of losing job.

hmm. think i will have to take the parentcraft lessons at AMK hub. Cos Hub will have a headache at TMC's carpark.

Just called them, but i forgot to ask them for Mrs Wong's class. Alamak. And now they're busy, no one picking up the phone.

Suzie: call the same number at TMC

But basically for it starts from 18th March. I was looking at Sunday (Start on 20th),

Time slots available is 10-12, 12.30-2.30, 3-5

For non TMC patients, charges will be $267.50

Hi Clare,

i tried each and everytime my BB kicks me, i will tap and ask her to kick again coz daddy want to feel. Then she just bo chap and stop kicking! hahaha.. notti gal!

does any mummy know if Mount E also offer similar kind of parentcraft lessons as TMC & Mount A? cos I will definitely be delivering at Mount E..

altariel: me too. will be going to gynae tomorrow, shall check with the nurse then. Any idea how much roughly the hosp charges will be? Used to be able to find a bill estimate few mths ago. Seems the link has been removed

Hi Mummies, may I ask how do you all decide on which hospital to deliver? I can't decide between the 3 hospitals (TMC, Mt A and Gleneagles).

oceanigal - I dun have very good experience when I did my laproscopy op in 2007 in TMC, hence my decision of going MT A to deliver. Yet to discuss on this issue

qiuen & altariel, dont think Mt E hv parentcraft.

qiuen, depend on yr gynae. some clinic have a chart that show the charges for diff delivery package.

regards hving ice cream, normally my trick is to share it with yr famaily / frenz. so you can e njoy, but never overdose [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ww,maybe ur bb needs longer time for training..kekeke

Mine difficult to train coz bb is active only at night.I always feel the kick after those midnight toilet trips.. Lol

thanks quien!

oceanicgal >i chose the hospital base on location and the fact that i work there (SGH). my previous choice was mt. A because i like the environment. but since i am heavily subsidised by SGH and my company i have decided to stick to SGH. the doctor is good but very busy but the nurses and sonographers are actually very nice.

i think it is important that you will feel comfortable giving birth in the place you choose. also in the event of labour, is it going to be easy to reach your hospital.

quien> a friend who delivered recently showed me her Mount E bill and it came up to 9k before medisave. she chose one-bedder and her gynae was really expensive la. the gynae fees alone was 3.5k already

do please let us know if u manage to find out that there are parentcraft lessons at Mount E! my next appt is only on 26th Jan so still super far away..

oceanicgal> i had to go Mount E cos my gynae only delivers there. so i didnt have a choice.. but if i have a choice, i definitely wont choose TMC for the simple reason of traffic congestion

actually, even for Mount E, I also super paranoid there will be traffic congestion when I try to go down orchard during certain timings.. maybe in the end have to take mrt down haha! then give birth in mrt then i and baby will get lifetime free rides lol

clare> haha that's like my baby giving me the 'good' hand sign when i went down the last time! super cute la

altariel: OMG. thank god hub was the one who chose my gynae. So he better not complain about the charges. haha. But will just double check again tomorow if she only delivers at Mt E.

if ur gynae is normal type then shouldnt be too expensive la.. maybe 5 or 6k total? minus medisave so maybe pay 3k+ lor.. cos think i remember the standard one-bedder package is 2.6k.. muz go back check the pdf file again..

oh and my fren used epidural so that's 800 already..

Altariel,yah!!like ur bb like that!my dh also saw ur bb's scan,he also said it's super cute...hehe..wish our bb can do this sign also..memorable leh..

Just rushed to a nearby gyne(coz my gyne is far lor) because I poo n it seems I have piles although I go toilet once every 2days..my bleeding didn't stop for an hour,my dh was shocked to see so much blood coz the whole toilet bowl was all red..

Anyway,gyne said gave my oral medication n cream but he said use only when u really need it although it doesn't harm the bb..erhmm..

Gyne's 1st reaction to my US was it's a boy..okiez..guess my 30% chance gone..since 3 doctors say boy..

My dh no reaction..haha..no need to buy gold n wine since not a girl..

Oceanicgal> I am a bit confused. A lot of mummies talk about Mount E but you are talking about Gleneagles right? For Gleneagles, I heard that its very expensive and its for those rich people and artists. Think you really cant compare Mount A and TMC medical bill to Gleneagles.

Clare> the V sign is really super CUTE. and yes you are true la, must try more often. I only tried a few times. Really need to be more patient!

2ww i delivered my bb in GlenE but i not rich ppl/ artist [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my bill came out same as my frenz delivered in Mt E leh.. bo bian, same as alteriel, my gynae only do delivery in glen E

Oceangal. maybe you wanna check with your gynae which hosp he / she prefer. i know some gynae no do delivery at all hosp. only one / two

Chil> you must be humble.. but i think the bill can be double of Mount A or TMC right? I think i read somewhere in the forum that if deliver at Mount A or TMC, the cash outlay after medisave is about 1.5k. So are you going to deliver BB in GlenE this time too?

Wow Clare, you think really far leh... that is almost 20+ years later on the wine and gold!!

but come to think about it, i will have wine and gold and also pin jin lor!!! Good thots!

hi mtb

i gt one prob here..any mummies here always exp slight electric current when u touch those metallic or steel things??

e.g when i go toilet, sometimes i touch the handle of the door, i will have abit current passing me..same as the basin tap..

is it normal??

sorry ah just a stupid question.. I always thot if someone has piles and you sit on the seat while the seat is still warm, you will get piles. Is this just a myth?

no choice. i have faith with my gynae, entrust his skill and knowledge. prepared this time round will be c-sec too. any many tried c-sec with epidural ? me still considering whether GA / epidural. abit scare of the sound and etc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sometime delivery is like lottery. one of my frenz relative is stingy. opt for normal delivery end up water bag burst over wkend then bb stuck during delivery and c-sec emergency. bill size triple than her expectation.

I have one NEW (unused) Philips Avent Single Electric Breast Pump to let go.

All under original packings. Come in a bundle pack with Seal discs, breast shell and nipple protector.

Retail: S$ 239/-

Selling @ S$220/-

Self-Collect: Hougang or Sengkang MRT

PM me if interested

joyce, that is static electricity and I believe it has something to do with the shoes that you are wearing or the material of the clothes that you are wearing. Perhaps you should try wearing some other shoes and you see if you still have this problem.

hi mongs

ok but my shoes made from rubber de..me so scsre lor..nw i dun dare anyhow touch..even today i use my jacket to open toilet door, also kana the current..sighh..duno is it dangerous ornot

maybe its too early to be asking this.. but i muz ask now or else later forget liao haha

is there any difference between baby shower and full-month celebration? same thing? or is it like in US where baby shower is held a month or two before delivery by a female fren? do we practise this in SG?