(2011/06) June 2011

chili_padi, u're also with Dr Sim, hehehe! when ur next check up with her? mmmm maybe we shld arrange to meet up at her clinic, kekee!! I think my next check up after this fri will be 2nd week of feb cos going for detailed scan. U're planning to deliver at TMC too?

clare > Drink water also will gain weight, heee... thanks for sharing, makes me feel less guilty. But i guess it's normal for MTB to put on weight. It's better to gain than lose weight. But it's good u're exercising, I also wan to swim leh. But cannot fit into swimwear liao.

same here drinking tea almost all morning as i have the craving for it.

I am now also kind of worrried abuot weight gain. i read somewhere that water retention is resulted not becos we drink too muc water but mainly due to us not drink sufficient water. our body's natural defence mechanism for the mum and baby is to trap more water when it detects that there is not enough water intake. i think i gin like almost 1 kg overnight for eating fried rice for dinner =(

qiuen: based on the scan yesterday, gynae says it's most likely a boy. could you help to add this info the next time you update the chart? thanks

oceanicgal: coke, tea, coffee is discouraged because of the caffeine content, but as long as it's not excessive it should be fine. not sure about ice cream though, prob coz it's cold

JJ: sashimi, my fav! still waiting for my appetite to return though. struggling to put on weight

It's good to see so many mummies having their discussion here.

I am 15 weeks now and my baby will be due in June also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So glad the school holidays are over. Trains are less crowded. But still sporeans need to retake courtesy classes. Even my gf's Aussie husband find it amusing. Why pple who look so sound asleep can wake up just in time for their station. Haha

Feeling quite constipated. Think must try eating prunes later

hey mummies.. havent been posting for a while.. today first day back to work after clearing leave/off for almost 2 whole weeks.. totally no mood to go back work! and realised that after nuaring for 2 weeks, i not used to sitting for long hours in the office liao.. today my back got so uncomfortable, and tummy area also feel like got one big lump.. super bleh

regarding food restrictions, i dun take tea or coffee anyway so that isnt an issue for me, thank god. i cannot imagine being a slave to a beverage every morning haha.. dun like sashimi either, and i havent been craving for chocolate so i only took very little. so i havent really been suffering with regard to my diet haha.. however, i have been taking cold drinks every single day and also the occasional ice-cream.. i take sprite instead of coke, and have been drinking lots of lemon barley and apple juice.. hope baby come out wont be too 'liang'!

Hanis, ya gynae told me to take sugar water too. Now I m better Liao but on light meal. All the while not yet put on any weight n now lost some haha I m happy.

Hey everyone,

Ya, the water retention is due to lack of water. My gynae is always nagging at me to drink at least 1.5l of water a day, eat yoghurt and fruits. Then she ask me, what do I snack on? I said ice cream. Haha. Somehow, Ben n Jerry's New York Super Fudge is my craving now.

My friend who is almost 7 mths now just got gestational diabetes. She said she went all out during Dec. Now, she must prick herself, watch her diet and record every food she take and count calories.

I bought granola bars thinking it's a good breakfast for each morning, then she said granola bars have high sugar content. Oops. Somemore I'm addicted to the choc ice-cream. Think must cut down liao.

Now no more MS, so can eat most stuff. I can chug down plain water also.

Hopefully everyone gets a balanced meal and try not to have too much sugar in your diet esp if you have family history of diabetes.

Ratatouille, slowly test if you can take solid foods. Liquid diet, then porridge/broth, then add rice see if can take it. Stay away from spicy food. I gained 2 kg before kena hit stomach flu, then lost all the 2 kg during the 3 days on soft diet!!!! Now back to square one. But i cannot live without my chilli and spicy food so on 3rd day I just ate briyani. So far ok.

Hanis. I want to drink koi wu long milk tea with pearls .... My fav ice cream is ben jerry's chunky monkey. Hee

I was eating ben & Jerry earlier & discovered that it contain egg yolk... We are not suppose to take ice cream with egg yolk... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

E'leen Lau (leenmummy): thanks!

ann01jan: do u have any good recommendation for good cordless or re-chargable breast pumps then? cos my company no nursing room or any spare room for me to pump out milk (NOT A GOOD ENVIROMENT FOR BF), i think can only pump inside toliet..but i know manual pump is not better than electric one. at work use electric one is faster olso..but toliet no electrical points lo.

regarding coffee/coke/tea is due to caffeine but experts recommend a limit. cos too much caffeine has been linked to miscarriage. also, caffiene will constrict your blood vessels and reduce the nutrients from reaching your baby and thus have low birth weight. see link for more info.

http://www.epigee.org/pregnancy/caffeine.html

as to ice cream, beside being cold. soft serve is discouraged because bacteria like listeria and salmonella might grow inside the ice cream machine. home made ice cream is also a no no because of the use of raw eggs which might have salmonella. safer to stick to big companies that use pasturised eggs and milk.

as to cold food, according to western medicine so far have come across anything yet but cold food makes it harder for stomach to digest food so might cause further ms and indigestion. the chinese believe that eat too much cold food/drinks will cause baby to be liang and the body weak so next time easily fall ill. personally, if i drink too much cold drinks my belly will feel cold and achy so i think my baby will also not feel good so i restrict myself.

i seriously want bubble tea from KOI also but the q is ridiculous.

so... ice cream wif egg yolk is ok as long as its pasturised egg la?

make ur hubby queue for koi for u! haha this period u are queen leh.. after give birth no more liao! :p

How is everyone doing??

New start 2011

Went for interview afternoon n waitin for good news

Heheh

So any mummies hv good news to share share

I missed alot of post

Hey mummies, thanks for sharing about the disadvantages of taking coke/tea/coffee. Will try to limit or restrict myself. =P

Christine/Hanis > I didn't know water retention was due to insufficient water intake. All these while, I still thought it was the opposite. Personally, I am not a plain water lover, phew.. now I know I must really try to drink lotsa water, ahh then must go toilet more often liao.

Yah, I also heard about the mummies who had diabetes, very poor thing.

JJ,

my next appt is 25th Jan. can't get weekend coz her schedule's packed! and i'm doing the FA scan that day. can't wait =) yeah lo so fun if i get to meet you there!!

intending delivery at TMC though i had the impression that she doesn't go to Mt A. you wanna check with her? Want to sign up parentcraft for prenatal too, wha, like so many things to do..

Eliomummy, hope you get ur dream job!

I now have itch bumps between fingers and toes, in-house GP doc in office called it pompholyx (don't eve know how to pronounce it!!). skin allergy, can't apply steroid cream. so just can use moisturizer to avoid dry and itch skin. SOBS!! can be quite bad until i wake up in the middle of the night to scratch my hands and feet like mad. just saw my feet got blisters. i think i was scratching myself mad yesterday night =(=(

chili padi, she do deliver at MT A as well. Nah, i'm sticking to TMC for good. Ya lor, her sat's appts are always full. oh ya, if you confirming to deliver at TMC, if you need epi, ask for Dr Lim (tall,slim, wear spec), he's very good in administrating epi! check with Dr Sim's nurse, they know whom i'm talking abt. heheh, i'm going to ask Dr Sim if i can have the same midwife (sister fang) in this delivery or not hahaha! The nurse is very good, help me in making my 2nd delivery very smoothly. But i think it depend on the nurse who is on duty that day right?

Winnie,

oic, if standby gynae is Eunice Chua then will b a long wait. She is super popular lor. Everytime my wait is at least 1hr to get to see her for 5-10mins........

shymz, ya saishimi!! hehe!

gals, just take everything in moderation, ya? My gynae always tell me that ahhaha! Though i may heckcare abt the food i take, but i'm still conscious of the amt of the sugar i'm taking.

Talking abt koi tea, i just had my bubble tea at Gong Cha, u gals shld try that, it is bttr than koi tea!! So far i only know city square and vivo have Gong Cha shops.

JJ > Gong Cha? I heard the name before.. but have not tried it. Nice ar.. okok must go give it a try.. huh but only city square and vivo, seldom go there.

Any mummies signing up at parentcraft? I am also interested, most probably going in March. Tried to call them to check on the price and dates, but no one answered. =(

oceaniegal, i googled and found gong cha have a few branches:

Gong Cha City Square Mall

180 Kitchener Road #B2-k3/k4

City Square Mall Singapore

Tel: +65 6509 3803

Gong Cha Novena Square

10 Sinaran Drive #01-172

Novena Square 2 Singapore

Tel: +65 6397 6816

Gong Cha Plaza Singapura

68 Orchard road

#01-k1 Plaza Singapura

Gong Cha VivoCity

1 HarbourFront Walk #01-111

VivoCity Singapore

Gong Cha Raffles City

252 North Bridge Road B1-71

Raffles City Shopping Centre Singapore

(Near Paper Market & That CD Shop)

Gong Cha Orchard Central

181 Orchard Road

#B1-02 Orchard Central

Gong Cha The Central

6 Eu Tong Sen Street #B1-15/16

The Central @ Clarke Quay Singapore

Gong Cha Bedok Point

795 New Upper Changi Road #02-30

I dono leh, i feel i like gong cha than koi :p pearls smaller and easy to munch.

JJ > Wow in fact they have lotsa branches huh. Thanks for the info. Hahahaha..increase e chance of me trying a cup. But what is your favorite flavor? Any recommendations?

i've heard from some that says Gong Cha better than Koi,but i've never tried before also.

Eliomummy>good luck for your interview. hope you get that job.

Alteriel>yup. stick to hard ice creams.

chilipadi> do those tiny bumps look like they are fill with water. i did a google. i kenna before. doctor say maybe that time the detergent i used was too strong (i washed toilet). only help is steroids. but you can avoid dish washing and use mild soap to bath and see if got help.

everytime i see my gynae he tells me to drink lots of fluids. so i drink, then i go toilet. even worse than the 1st trimester. i wake up at least 3-4 times at night to pee. make me so tired every morning.

i plan to go to parentcraft sometime in march or april. go too early scared forget.

oceanicgal> I already sign up with Mt A for their Parentcraft Childbirth Education for the March 2011 intake.

If you have not its time to do it if not later late.

wow, suddenly so many posts! think most of the mummies back to work liao!

Never heard about Gong Cha before and there is none near my office at Raffles place. Think will try one when i go shopping with my hubby so that he can share with me and i wont finish one.. *Guilty*

Everyone talking abt the parent course. May I know what is being discuss in the coursE? like how to bathe or feed baby or more on how to delivery?

Thanks Suzie.. ya looks like really little small bumps filled with water. hubby told me not to burst them coz if never clean properly will spread further.. a doc friend told me to soak in warm salt water. will try today..

yeah intend to get parentcraft in march too. but friends tell me to book earlier . hmm..

JJ> coz this gynae intro-ed by my colleague, who said that she doesn't go Mt A. hmm? i can ask her when i see her again. No major pref as long as it's her... i guess at most i'll see cost, ambience and ward tours?

ur previous deliveries are all in TMC? you like it there?

Quien> If you are taking the weekend class.

1st class is on weekday - 3 Mar 2011

2nd class in on weekends onwards - 12 Mar 2011

Following by 3rd to 6th class is on the following Sat.

MT A Parentcraft talk abt the following:

Topic

1st Session

• Changes during pregnancy

• Nutritional needs during pregnancy and after delivery

2nd & 3rd Sessions

• Backcare and exercises during pregnancy

• Stages of labour

• Breathing relaxation techniques to cope with labour

• Relaxation and massage

• Role of support person

4th, 5th & 6th Sessions

• Signs of labour

• Pain relief in labour

• Methods of delivery

• Care of mother after delivery

• Familiarization tour of hospital

• Infant Feeding

• Importance of breastfeeding & bonding

• Bathing and care of your newborn

Complimentary Session

• Marriage Enrichment

- Romance and sex during and after pregnancy

- Communication and conflict resolution skills

- Managing each other’s emotions as new parents

Christy > Oh so I must quickly book now. Thanks for sharing the schedule, what about the timing and price? Any difference between the class at Mt A and TMC?

Oceanicgal> Weekday sessions are from 6.30pm to 8.30pm. Saturday sessions are from

1.30pm to 3.30pm and 4pm to 6pm respectively. The first session of the

programme is usually held on a weekday evening, followed by subsequent

sessions on weekdays and Saturdays.

I took the weekend class so 1st class on weekday and 2nd onward on weekend (1.30pm)

For mothers delivering at Mount Alvernia Hospital

Weekday S$181.90 Weekend S$203.30

Participants not booked for delivery

at Mount Alvernia Hospital

Weekday S$214.00 Weekend S$235.40

*10% off for ALVERNIA Ladies CARD members.

I never check on TMC cause I am very comfortable with Mt A since I plan to deliver there.

I am also going for the parentcraft.

Heard feedback from other mummies that it is very useful esp for 1dt time mums.

The receptionist said to book early as they normally have full class.

Below is the info I got from calling the receptionist:

1) Can attend the class after 20 weeks

But must book early cause it is normally full.

2) Cost: $267.50 for mother, free for husband

3) The course will last for 6 weeks, once a week class, 2 hours each lesson

4) 2 venues available: Ang Mo Kio Hub (About 24 to 30 people)

Thomson Training Centre (About 10 to 15 people)

I've emailed to those who PMed for the baby list. Please let me know if I missed out anyone. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: parentcraft class

I only can book the class at Mt A if my gynae confirm wanna deliver me there if not I'll stick to TMC liao

Hi E'Leen,

Can I have the baby list too? Wish to start my shopping soon.

My preliminary amino result came out as OK. What a relief! Been worrying for the past few wks. Wanna start shopping for my bb boy soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chilipadi, not that i know of, i have frds going to her and they deliver at MT A leh, i can check for you since i going to see her this fri. somemore, i did ask her if she deliver at mt a b4 when i preg with #1 and she said she do. Ya, my 2 previous deliveries all at tmc, ok la, will stil go back to tmc for delivery again and if there is anything, can sos dr sim if stay at tmc, hehee!

RongHui > Thanks. Means both Mt A and TMC offers the same training course. It's just different pax per class.

E'leen > Can I have the list too? Thanks. I have pm you my email.

Hi Mummies who are sick.. hope u get well soon. Rest well n take care =D rem to drink mre water as weather is really bad.

Qiuen,

Can help me to update the table, gyane cmf that 80% im having a boy. I will go for my detail scan this mid Jan..

Congrats mummies who knw the bb gender too =D

Matahari/JJ/Ann,

Me too, I take coffee n chocolate too, jus that try not eat/drink everyday.. I try to drink coffee the most twice a week.. before my preg, i sure need to hv a big cup every morning at work if not my mind cannt work. Haa

JJ,

I can feel my bb too n its qite obvious esp when i wake up in the morn. I can feel the movement n i saw a little bump from my tummy if i lie flat. So Cute ;) I rem my 1st preg i cannt feel the bb that fast..

Most mummies here craving for ice cream n milk tea.. really make me drooling .. but hubby dun let me eat ice cream... ;(

Eliomummy,

Good Luck for your interview [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E'leen, would you please send me please? thanks so much for the help..

JJ> hey thanks so much for offering to help! Ya you're right on the SOS part. keeping the options open and discuss with hubby. keep me updated ya!

jay mum - I have ice cream for the very first time last week as it was my bday! hubby say he cannot finish 2 share so allow me to eat, I happy like anything hahahaha