(2011/06) June 2011

Eleen> Thanks I was also looking at this thread... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am wondering should we get the NB Starter kit... will it be more worth it

christy, for a nb, usually u need abt 6-8 milk bottles on standby (i ks, so usually standby 8 milk bottles). start with 125ml or 150ml bottles (depend on the brand you're using), then abt 2-3mths later, u need 260ml bottles on standby.

raynsky> Oh another Bt P. mum [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] bangkit there alot of food to eat...

Christy, 2 bottles not enuff, trust me, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cos bb get hungry abt every 2-3hrs. u can accumulate few milk bottles and sterilise in one short. a steriliser can hold 6-8bottles. So u can save time to wash every time after bb finish drinking.

I'm a lazy mummy, my girl only has 2 bottles. Sterilise every morning & sometimes again in the evening. Other than that, rinse with hot water after wash...

JJ.. hmmm sorry for asking.. cause I think I very su ku hahhaha cause last time what I did to my cousin's bottle is the most got 2-3 set nia than after they finish their milk wash it up and use the brush a little rinse a bit than put into the hot water pot..

Now change style liao ah... hahaha

How u use the steriliser machine... never use before... also after a feeding rinse the bottle.. use brush and brush than rinse and pop it into the steriliser??

haha, E'leen, i'm very particular abt the hyigence for bb's first 6mths, so i will wash and sterilise for every 4-6bottles i used. Also the BM bottle - also sterilised unless i'm using milk bags. A super clean freak for bb's first 6mths nia, then after that, i relax le. Actually wanted to stop sterilising the bottles after bb turn 6mths old, but it's dh who insist to continue sterilise even my 3 yo boy's bottles too *shake head and given up on dh*

aiyo christy don say like dat la hehee! after bb finish milk, i will wash and rinse the bottles in the basin, then bring all to sterilise. Steriliser very easy to use, just dump every thing in, close and on the steriliser. The steriliser usually come with instruction and you can ask the sales assistant to demo for you, no worries.

I also onli have 2 - 3 bottles at a time, cos I would usu sterilize with my pump accessories, so that would be a full sterilizer load wor. And 2 -3 bottles is enuff to go round for me.

It's a little too early to stop sterilizing bottles at 6 mths, i sterilised bottles all the way till 1 yr plus, after tt I sterilize once a week with the traditional method. But until now, before I use any bottle, I would rinse with hot water.

Christy, if you intend to sterlise your bottles using the old school method, try & get glass bottles instead. My colleague's mil boiled the bottles for too long that they looked 'melted'. My colleague freaked out when she saw the bottles...

Oh does it mean that if I want to buy the sterilizing machine it must from the same brand? EG. Avent Bottle to use on only Avent sterilizing machine.

Claire: I started eating sashimi once I finished my confinement wor. Cannot tahan, cos I love sashimi! I ate sashimi through my breastfeeding period. Never read before tt during breastfeeding cannot eat le. What i understand is, during pregnancy not advisable to eat, cos if the sashimi/ raw food contains bacteria, it can potentially be passed to ur bb cos we share the blood. Bacteria/ virus are carried in blood. But during breastfeeding, it would onli be the nutrients that will go into the milk.

Raynsky & Eleen> Oh no need same brand ah... okie... cause I thought Avent bottle is wide-neck type so the s.machine must be a bigger hehehe.

Eleen> Har serious... so jia lat :p sound serious le than u found out too late cause no bottle for feeding *faint*

Than like that better do the wash, rinse, brush, rinse again method. Than Sterilize everything at night. Cause I putting my bb with my SIL to take care in the day when I return to work.

Eh. We need different milk bottles? Size upgrade as child grows? Gosh.

Eliomummy. Ur Barney boy is so CUTE [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya, Christy, I'm using pigeon steriliser even though my kids using avent bottles, if i recall, u can 5-6 avent bottles in pigeon steriliser.

qiuen, cos nb normally drinking capactiy is lower, so will need 125ml or 150ml bottle for a start. then proceed to 260ml or 300ml or 330ml bottles depend on the brands and also ur growing bb's milk capacity.

i usually start with 4 125ml and 4 260ml of avent bottles (christy, u see y i need so many bottles haha cos of the capacity).

oh ya, one thing to advise: not all bbs will prefer the same brand of bottles (or teats), like my #1, he only prefer wide neck bottle and he k with bfree or avent but not pigeon on standard neck bottles. My #2 for a start prefer nuk standard neck bottles than avent and only recently she is ok with avent wide neck bottles after i change her teat to nuk.

Confused me have another ques. We start producing milk before we give birth? If so. That means we need to get the pumps slightly earlier?

Thanks for help ladies. All these are so new and confusing to me.

wah, JJ, your #1 goes for exp bots! haha

Mine is more interested in the flow of the milk, gotta be fast. She is an aggressive drinker.

JJ> I see your point now :p why u need so much bottle.

Har... faint le like that waste bottle cause have to change bottle to suit bb aiyo...

Ur kids choosy now kids very lucky hor... I think last time our parents just dun care lor...

qiuen, milk comes a while later after birth. We get the pumps earlier so that we dun have to get hubby to buy... (cant trust some guys to buy bb stuff). I used the pump to stimulate supply in between feeds after birth.

I just went to see the pigeon steriliser got so many type...

Being a parent got so so much question *headache liao*

Can someone just give me a list of things to buy and what brand than I buy from there... LOL hahahaha I think no such short cut.

back from my shopping in smh bp, hahaha!

E'leen, ya lor, esp my #1, not only he have exp. mouth, he have exp. backside too! only can use mamy poko, nepia, huggies ultra on his bum. Drypers, petpet all cannot, he will have rashes. His skin was ultra sensitive as nb last time. My #2 bttr, her bum is less exp, use drypers, ntuc, petpet no problem, only at nite use mamy poko ahhaa!

Christy, pigeon got 3 types - compact one (this one u can no need to get, only sterilise 2 bottles at a time and only good if you're travelling or chalet), 3 in 1 or the rapid steriliser, these 2 u can consider getting.

yes yes, E'leen, i nvr trust my dh on getting bb stuff except diapers nia ahhaa!

btw, E'leen, my pigeon food warmer also in cold storage, cos i find le cheh to use esp to warm up my bm, ahhaa!

JJ, i dun like to buy diapers & formula, can go broke very easily. always ask hub to buy then he pay. my girl's bum cannot even accept huggies ultra! she is using pampers now.

how to u warm bm if not using warmer? i'm using warmer for bb's jar food & my chic essence now...

Eleen> Aiyo you are my life saver whahahah really got such list ah... pls share w me thanks.

You do not accept PM. My email add: [email protected] [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E'leen, i thraw my bm after taking out from the freezer and put in the fridge, then use slightly warm (not super hot kind) water to warm it up.

went to gynae yest. had a blood test and took a scan. bb sleeping so cldn't see much. still can't tell gender.

btw, my gynae didn't mention anything about taking herbs and smelling essential oil. anyone knows if i can burn essential oil (lavender, bergamot) and use it pure w/o diluting in water? meanwhile, i'm still happily eating my bak ku teh and drinking any herbal soups offered to me :p

krex, no rose essential oil & dun take shi quan duck or anything with shi quan. preggy women can take up to ba quan only...

krex, i thot you mention you will skip the test as you ve decide to keep the baby no matter wat? i didnt ask abt burning oil as i dun ve the habit.

JJ> the pumps i saw not from ebay USA so should be ok la

delfine> thanks for analysing carrier/sling for me!

eleen> this is the website where i saw avent isis duo for $599

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/list.htm?pid=15

can you also please email me the list of stuff to buy that your friend sent to you? thank you!

question - we must start with smaller bottles? cannot juz start wif big ones so that when bb milk capacity increase, no more need to change bottles?

also, is it necessary to get a steriliser and warmer? cos i remember last time for my brother, my mum juz always use hot water to wash and boil to sterilise, and then to warm the milk, juz put the milk in the bottle then submerse half the bottle in hot water again.. for millions of yrs mummies also nv use steriliser or warmer lor haha.. why now so ma fan wan?

eleen, is it cheaper to buy fr the spree or cheaper to buy over sales? does philp sale sell it too?

Altariel, I nvr get warmer at all cos my fren was telling me tt sometimes will overheat or not hot enuff, so I din buy at all.

E'leen: will be great if you can find the shopping list. Will save us alot of headaches. Ya. the only +ve point for hub to buy items is that he will most likely pay the entire bill. For -ve points, we dont want to get started on the list. haha

rata,

i didn't do OSCAR test but gynae did a standard blood test to test for thalessamia, etc. i think.

Krex, I thot blood test is for Down Sym too (confusing)? U didnt test for thalessamia the other time?