(2011/06) June 2011

JJ> If you are a robinson member than u know they got avent promo... just only 1 product if not wrong is the Sterilizing set plus the nb starter kit... want to buy hor but I think think like very early.. :p

ya, christy, still early la!! i'm waiting for taka bb fair and isetan pte sale hehehe! Sometime they have those trade-in offers, like u trade in old bottles for new bottles at special price.

Now am waiting in the office for dh to pick me up.. already late for 1 hour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] bb hungry liao...

I can't pm! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] mummies who are interested in Avent duo:

I'll consolidate Avent orders for June mummies ard late march. My current spree $480 with delivery, $460 self collect. Hope to give a better price then if we have more sets.

Supplier's bottles are not very cheap, so I din spree that. I know there is another mummy selling Avent bottles very cheap. Will post the link if I come across it again.

I use glass bottles which are comparable with Avent pdt. Then I dun have to worry how the old folk sterilize the bottles & I find glass bots not so oily if feeding bm.

my experience told me no buy anything yet.. stroller carseat can buy later when bb born / 3-6mths.

pump, diff ppl milk flow diff. some ppl feel avent better, where some feel medela make them flow better. if can, try to borrow from frenz then buy one for yrself. some ppl, no milk. got pump also no use..

Christy

talking about increasing bm ss, fenugreek nt so good cos 1day hv to take alot( i think like 20 over tablets then when burp will hv the after taste). My fren took another supplement sold by Mumsfairy called malunggay, she told me is very good. U may want to try if really low ss. But I think if u very hardworking in pumping like very 2hrs, i think will increases ss, is abt demand n supply.

JJ

I am oso a Avent fan, all my stuff is avent from DUO pump to mircowave steriliser to bottle n food warmer all avent, hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I really love my duo pump save me so much time.

Qiuen, I agree with you! Was reading every post diligently and still so blur! But I think Chil is right...I'm planning to buy stroller only when bb is more than 3 mths...Cos not planning to go out so much with bb less than 3 mths..I will most prolly get those sarong slings with padding for baby, all my gfs have that and baby sleeps so well and so snug..

As for clothes, if girl, confirm a lot of hand-me-downs! No need to buy! If boy, maybe need to buy..Just planning to get a cot and car seat first..everything else can get slowly or wait if pple want to give/borrow..hehe...

I hope that I can breastfeed so am going to sign up for the Mumsfairy course to see how to improve supply of bm...

Anyway, am going to Japan tmw! Will see ya ladies in 2 weeks time..Hope I stay healthy there..In the meantime, take care everyone!

How come no one mention Ameda pump? I use dat for my #1 is quiet. But it was so heavily used dat the suction n motor is dying Liao so I m going to get a new set. My gal was on bm till 21mths [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so long u work hard will ve supply ve to pump every 3 hrs day n night to bring in supply. I pump in my office 1st aid room.

Hi hanis,

enjoy ur trip! will it b cold in jap now? which part u going? i miss jap, was there this yr july.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me also Avent fan! Sterilizer, bottles, everything all avent. Love the Avent pump, used it till my boy turned 1. Had a Medela pump prior to it, took too long. Mummies if wan to get medela, must buy the pump in style, other models not very efficient. Din use any supplement to increase BM cos my boy cannot take the smell of frozen BM, even when i mix wif a lot of fresh BM. So scared he wld reject the milk if i take fernugreek. But for me, jus by drinking lots of water throughout the day and drink soup for each meal, increased BM quite significantly.

Stroller vs sling: I swear by the sling and carrier, until now, when my boy is too heavy to be carried by sling. He is 2.5 yrs old, stopped using onli a few months back. I am not a fan of stroller cos feel tt logistically very troublesome when gg out on my own. I have both the mum's in mind sling and the pikkolo carrier. Both served me well. Dun realli have to worry abt the bb falling out of the sling, the 2 rings and the long cloth is very amazing. My boy can sleep very well in both the sling and pikkolo. But now preggy, dun tink can tahan carrying 14kg boy ard, so trying to get used to using the stroller.

Ratatouille, wah, so many types of breast pump...My fren also use Ameda I think...My school has a breast-feeding/pumping room cos a lot of young mummies hehe...

JuniorRain...yup, it's winter season now, but not the peak yet..Peak is in Jan...But it's cold, latest weather forecast is 8 degrees! I brought sooo many sweaters!

Local set is 899, kiddy palace gives 10% to members, Isetan sometimes might have 20%. Only difference between US & SG sets is the plug, voltage is ok.

these are the ones that seem to receive better reviews, along wif the prices that I researched last week when hubby go overseas.. wanted to see if he could get it any cheaper overseas ma.. i think the freestyle one very ex so nv include inside haha

# Medela Pump In Style Advanced Breast Pump $599 retail, $435 ebay US set no warranty

# Medela Pump In Style Original Breast Pump $754 for SG local set, $490 US set no warranty

# Ameda Purely Yours Breast Pump $356.70 overseas ship to SG

# Avent Isis IQ Duo Breast Pump $599 local set

Raynsky, is mums in minds still operating? They had a clearance sales earlier this year then no news anymore. A sales person at kiddy palace commented that they dun stock up anymore... It's a pity if they stop operation. I love their slings, gd when bf outside...

Omg. Breast pump is so expensive. I will most likely not buy most items till closer to edd or after. But think good to know the prices of the important items so can set aside the money first.

Experienced mummy. Roughly how much u spent for basic items in total? just an estimate. Like cot carseat stroller pump.

I brought cotton one in May. When I want to get another one in sateen, the online store was closed. Went to kiddy palace, the sales girl said they very long din replenish their stock...

Hanis. Enjoy ur trip. N keep yourself warm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Qiuen, good to get the breast pump before giving birth, cos u never know when ur supply comes in. Have it handy, rather than panic later and suffer engorgement. U can look at avent pumps, I rely on the manual pump throughout my whole breastfeeding period, which cost less than $100. But hands will be very suan at first.

Try to buy everything at least a month before EDD, or look out for bb fair and buy when u can, realli dun wait till to last min or after give birth, cos too many things to handle at that time. My fren intended to go shop like 3 weeks before EDD, who knows her bb pop at tt time, end up, hubby have to rush and run all the errands.

hey Christy & JuniorRain, I also stay in Bukit Panjang, Bangkit Road. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah, breast pumps are soooo ex! I thought like one hundred plus only....my hubby say he volunteer to help pump...LOL!

Raynsky, thanks for the tip...I think only an experienced mummy would know that...I think next year would have bb fair at expo...if I'm not wrong somewhere in march..

Thanks Qiuen! I will! Now cannot sleep, too excited haha!!

Altariel, ameda pump locally sell $300+ too I m waiting for good deal juz mths back I help my sil to buy a set which onli cost abt $270 but ve to wait for the deal.

Hi Clare,

Heh.. yeah, I think most Taiwanese are rather patriotic! Easier to have a sg passport.. don't need to apply for visas as compared to the taiwanese one hor? You work in sg and hub in taiwan..then won't miss each other? hehheh.. I'm also 'suffering' through winter. Temperatures are below freezing, a lot of snow and ice. So troublesome to dress up the kid. Really don't envy you next Dec. European winters are so cold and gloomy!

Hi Claire,

Wah, didn't know that if you do NS then you automatically renounce your other citizenship. Then it's a lose-lose situation for me cos both sides have NS! So even if I apply for PR and the boy does NS, it's still going to be a problem in the end.. ZZZ.

JJ,

when your 3rd child comes out, must show a schedule of the kids' sleeping and feeding times. Very interested to see how to cope with 3 kids! Very peifu lor!

E'leen,

your hub is very ti tie! Think both our eldest will hit the terrible 2s soon. Hope we will survive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I can see the 'evil' side sometimes already.. hehheh

Altariel,

Slings are good when the baby is young, cos they can lie horizontally. You can also breastfeed your baby in public discreetly. But as you say, you probably have to hold on to the baby, cos I also feel rather insecure with only the sling. Plus when they get older and heavier, it's taxing on your shoulders and back. The sling probably doesn't last you very long. The carrier can also be used from birth to about 20kgs. The baby is securely 'fixed' to you so no worries about dropping it. Weight is distributed around your hips. They are both useful but if you only want to get one, I would choose the carrier! Hope it helps!

oops to clarify, the ones I posted are more expensive as they're electric duo pumps.. if u get manual single pump then its way cheaper! but I didn't want to sit there 3 hrs juz to pump one time until hand die so nv consider the manual single pumps..

Haha. Mummies who direct bf, do yr kid prefer wide neck or STD size bottle?

Me hv bottle phobia cos my #1 got nipple confusion since 3rd wk. So she is on spoon n straw throughout. So all my bottles bot for her are still bnib. Tat's d reason I managed to direct bf her till she 23rd mths old. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] thinking to try wide neck bottle for #2.. But scare dejavu...

Pump I wan try freestyle at home, will borrow frm my frenz. Office still prefer agent manual, cos small light n quiet. Actually I find manual pump let down faster leh..

cant zz, so log in here, cos having blocked nose!

chil, according to wat the info i got, for freestyle, horse power is not as power as PISA but is lighter when u carry the pumps to office and suitable for first time mother, PISA however have stronger suction and good for 2nd time or experienced mother or who want stronger suction.

Avent electric pump is not as noisy as medela pump, so usually i prefer to use avent to pump in office, it can be manual pump as well.

delfine, wahaha, ok, i will try to put up the schedule here once #3 is out. Hope this bb will be like kor kor and jie jie, sleep thru the nite after 1st mth. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altariel, for pumps, try not to get from ebay usa, i was told some pumps actually re-serviced and then sell as brand new set.

Altariel, the price i stated for the ameda is dual pump too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chil, u r a sahm? Good that you managed direct feed for so long... My girl prefer the bottle instead of latching cos of faster & easier flow. She keep chewing on my nipples until I give up, pump & bottle feed. I'm quite determined to latch #2 for as long as possible *cross finger*

Chil, I use wide bottle neck, cos tink it's closer to how bb mouth is shaped during breastfeeding. Tried giving standard bottle to my boy before, but he cried his head off cos cannot suck out anything!

I also agree tt when i use manual avent pump, let down is much faster than medela pump, but then tink my medela pump is the cheaper one, though dual, but let down takes too long. I heard medela PIS is good, my fren can empty both sides in 15 min.

Aiyoh... u all talk about sashimi. Actually i LOVE LOVE LOVE sashimi to the extreme and has been very, very sad that I can't eat sashimi [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I told my hubby once my pregnancy & breastfeeding period done, he got to take me for sashimi buffet lol

I know at Japan mother-to-be still eat raw food as it's their culture, but in Singapore mum and MIL sure raise their eyebrows lol

Soya milk I read before is good for baby girl BUT bad for baby boy, his reproduction system might get affected. That's why if your doctor is not sure if it's a girl / boy, maybe hold on first? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

delfine > technically it's a conflict of interest la if you do NS for one country while holding another country's citizen. That's why usually countries with NS system won't allow dual citizenship. But at least if baby can hold dual / PR while they are still minor, it's easier if you want to travel around especially when family members are scattered in 2 countries [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chil, i'm using wide bottle neck cos my #1 prefer to use this wide neck rather than any since he's a bb. My gal using avent bottle with nuk teat as she prefer nuk teat, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

raynsky, ya, PIS is good but if you have tpt, it's good to use in office to pump but if don't, prefer to pump at home, cos PIS is very heavy to carry around!

JJ, max 2 weeks.

Altariel, can share where is the Avent $599 deal? So that I can advise the mummies who cant wait when i dun have ready stock. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E'leen, great! 2wks is ok for me, as long it arrive before or in may, just worried i may due earlier cos my gal was born 3 wks earlier! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]