(2011/06) June 2011

ann01jan, for a start, it's normal, my #1 used to cry for a few days before he get used to CC. My best frd's son cried for a few weeks. Just ren and i'm sure ur kid will be fine. Going to cc is nt a bad thing at least kids learn to be independent. But of cos, you have to be prepared that kid will get sick often in the inital stage as they are building up their immunity.

JJ, i thot i was quite prepared for it, but after seeing the crying, aiyoh... i can't even think properly at work... he cry until end of day no voice, sound like a parrot and have nightmares... when sleeping, he say 'bu yao bu yao', faintzzzz... sorry to 'su ku' here...

ann01jan, no worries, can understand, initally my boy too, the moment we reached cc, he refused to go in and dh have to carry him in, it's heartpain to see him in tears but i have to harden my heart cos it's for his own good. He had been in cc for a yr plus, so far so good.

Mummies..all of u are amazing!especially JJ..reading at all the posts about all of u handling ur kids really wan to salute to you lor...

ann, the 1 at my place has 1 cc & 1 ifc opened. the 3rd centre (likely cc) is opening sometime this month. they are taking up 3 void decks space.

JJ, my frd's daughter loves to go cc. her 1st day there, she kissed mummy goodbye & ask mummy go home... haha... at that time, she was more than 18mth.

JJ, good to hear your boy also adjusted well to cc. ya just have to ren the transition... it's true they become more independent and learn many things in cc lor... even my friend who dun put her child into cc says that...

clare, no la, just sharing some experiences. i dono how my gal will do when her turn to go cc next yr, haha! Think going to bring her to cc sometime to familarise with the teachers there when picking up kor kor, :p

E'leen, wow, ur frd's gal good leh!

ann01jan, seriously I have no regrets putting my boy in cc. I will prefer my kids to learn things in cc rather than letting them to rot at home and watch tv (which most grandparents will do that, hehehe!).

JJ, ya lor if she wan should spam her fren not us.

ann, ya lor she posted 1st on mon then now again. Somemore not fr our thread de.

Eleen, the one at ur blk is blk 671? I heard there opening up 1 new center at Blk 671C current one is at A right? think at Blk 648 there also got new one taking up 2 blks. I dun like JP one coz air-con. Jurong safra one teaching very diff no worksheet & stuff de.

Rata, they are using 671A & B for now. 671C is opening mid Dec. 648 is near pioneer mall? I think the 1 at 671 is air-con wor... i prefer non air-con too, if possible

back from my sinful lunch - laksa and now munching mini salmon sushi, dono how much wt i going to put on, hehee!!

quien, yes, even my frd told she can see the difference when her #1 is taken care by her mom and #2 in cc.

afternoon mummies.. hope everyone managed to down some lunch and will keep it in! i juz had icky porridge set lunch at the cookhouse in camp.. bleh. could onlt stomach half of it

im back to work today after nuaring at home the whole week since last wed.. not used to be back at work.. i cannot imagine when we come back from 4 months maternity leave the alien feeling of working will be even stronger!

welcome delfine!

rata, yes NT measurement is smaller better..

eleen/rata> non aircon cc is better than air-con cc?

eliomummy> this week got long wkend meh?

rgding maid> anyone thot of installing cctv at home to monitor the maid and make sure she dun do funny things at home or bully the baby?

and juz wondering, is NS still mandatory in Taiwan?

There is a huge difference lor.i m those timid kind leh,can't even find courage to buy food myself in school.my younger sis came back from her 1st day of pri sch.my mum asked her y her uniform look so new n different.she said she fell into the sch pond n got wet n reassured my mum: ' mummy,don't worry.tomorrow I will go find the girl who pushed me into the pond n push her back!'

My sis is very independent,she has her own views about things leh.I m just go with the flow kind..

I was like invisible kind in school,while my sis?haha..my mum had to go to school now n then..but still my sis came out fine in the end,the hard way n become a school teacher!I tell her it's karma when she meet really difficult kids..lol

Wahaha...

JJ welcome to my club ah..I had 3 bars of chocolate,persimmons n hotpot n yoghurt for Lunch.lol

eleen, blk 671 is air-con? I heard blk 648 is not. U might wan to go for blk 648 since is nearer to ur parents hse. is at those bluish blk opp JW pri sch.

Eleen, Ann, ve you both thot of pri sch for ur kids? the Pri Sch here is horrible too all need to ballot de....

wow Ratatouille, so fast think of pri sch liao! i have frds more ks, even before bb turn 6mths, they have already on waiting list for the famous nanyang kindergarden!!

Altariel,boys born after 1984 don't have to go NS anymore..they will make it as voluntary army service.coz their NS only one year,no point training these boys one year n they leave,waste time n not effective if it was really to protect the country.so they will make it as a signed on career.

Ohhh...I miss yummi yoghurt....

jj,rata> oh yeah hor non-aircon better circulation.. eh.. muz start looking for ifc now already is it?

clare> oh i thot its still mandatory in TW.. for all we know, by the time 18 yrs from now, girls in SG also need to serve NS cos birth rate fall and not enuf boys to serve! so end up give birth boy or girl no diff haha

and clare, my gynae told me not to eat chocolate! lots of websites also say dun eat cos got caffeine ma.. i now hav chocolate withdrawal.. gonna start foaming at the mouth soon. sianz

i'm so happy today coz' found a place to buy my 2nd breakfast for office. shop sells chee cheong fun, yam cake, pau, etc. i've been craving chee cheong fun for the longest time. yest when i was taking train home, someone ta pau carrot cake and it made me want to have some too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

JJ: eh. waiting list for Nanyang Kindergarten at 6 mths old? Wonder what for? It is not even affiliated to Nanyang Primary. But that is for now lah, we never know in the next few years. Just like in the past nanyang primary not affiliated to Nanyang girl's high, but now it is.

well...., but my friend bought a apartment in the area too so that they will be in the 1km radius for the Pri.

Hello Mummies! Hope all of you are fine.

I have the following Organic Ergo Carrier for sale. It is recently bought from the shop the First Few Years. Used only once. It is in mint condition 9.5/10. Bought at $200plus, selling at $150 (price neg). It comes with the box and the instruction booklet. Interested parties, please email me at [email protected] or PM me. Self-collection at Jurong Point.

Ergo Organic Carrier Sienna Sunset with Stripe lining

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4849866.jpg]

qiuen, ya lor, kua zhang right! anyway i not so ks la, go to any normal kindergarden or nearby school can liao. last time we all studied PAP kindergarden leh! nowadays parents, aiyoyo!

i read that we shouldnt exceed 200mg of caffeine a day..

this site lists the caffeine in stuff. can take a look

http://coffeetea.about.com/library/blcaffeine.htm

1 oz is about 28g

so clare, how many ounces was ur 3 bars of chocolate? :p

im super craving the funsize mini snickers bar sitting at my desk winking at me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

JJ: think i will pay for my pri alumni fee and secure a place for my kiddo there. As for CC, i will find one that is nearest to my place. Dont need to wake up so early and be troubled with transportation. heee. Last time we also go for PAP tuition, nowadays wah the tuition fees are $$$$

i thot tou hua is good cos eat liao baby skin smooth smooth?

anyway is milk like HL/Magnolia better for us or soya bean drink like NutriSoy/VitaSoy better?

JJ, when my girl was about 2mths old, i heard from other mummies in forum that st james in fully booked for her cohort! more kua zhang - the school will be moving soon, so those parents who enrolled are committed to accept wherever location that the school moved to... insane!

Rata, the primary school behind my blk is one of the better school in the area. My girl's god-daddy will be promoted to VP next year. Asking him to keep a lookout for my girl! haha...

Chocolates - how to resist chocolates... i still eat them, 'try' to reduce the intake but its tough... ;P Milo also got caffeine wor... report says 5 cups of milo = 1 cup of coffee

JJ / Altariel, no tou hua cos one of the ingredient to solidify it is very cooling, same ingredient to make grass jelly. drink soya bean milk if u have the craving...

eliomummy, ya, this is first only bowl of tou hua i ate, it's been on my table since morning keke! MODERATION hehe!

ya lor E'leen, siao right? I feel la, imo, doesnt mean kid go to famous school will become genius, it really depend on individual kid.

Altariel, don take so much of soya milk esp if you are expecting a boy wor.

qiuen, nowadays the waiting list for cc or ifc can be very long, so bttr ks, book book early.

JJ: aiyoh so many things to do like that. Think after giving birth, i am going to drag hub for excursion round our neighbourhood to checkout CCs nearby.

E'leen: Milo too? I juts have one big cup for breakfast this morning. opps. But lucky i am not a coffee drinker. so still abit hope. heee

Err just wondering. Any bad points for drinking too much Ribena? Think i am addicted to it. heee

Altariel, soya milk contain something which will produce more female hormones something like dat wor, so if expecting boy, try not to drink so much wor.

quien> isnt ribena liang? i rem when younger my mum always say dun drink too much ribena cos will make me cough.. and unless u're taking the less less sugar one, i think ribena have lots of sugar. and i read before the ribena is one of the more fattening drinks out there wor!

thanks JJ! very interesting link.. and one of the commentors mentioned a really valid point which got me thinking.. everyone has been telling me cannot eat sushi, esp raw sashimi.. so when women in japan gets pregnant, wat do they eat? only ramen and udon everyday?

Altariel, yup that's right. I think the women in japan do eat sushi and sashimi, as you know, the seafood is really very fresh over there (they grow their own fishes!!). I'm not saying "hey, heck care, just eat watever you want to eat", just make sure the sashimi is real fresh and i don't see y we cant eat, :p

Just now i saw the sashimi esp salmon so fresh, i'm tempted to buy and eat, maybe tmr go and grab salmon sashimi and eat hehee. And my samauri burger from mac!

wah.. sound like every children behave diff. when send to CC. i sending my gal to CC 3rd Jan. she 2yo, do u mummies prepare yr kids b4 when u send them to CC? they so young, i dunno wat to tell her regards school. dunno will she cry or not.. how? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

regards drinking soya, so long we consume everything in moderation should be fine bah, unless u drink everyday kind? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] same to women, if u prompt to hv fibroid/ cyst, can avoid soya product, then try to avoid much.

eleen, yeah WG is a more popular one. but even JW also need to ballot. So most likely I will send my gal to my old sch though is pretty far.

chil, you can prep her by telling her all the fun that she will have in cc... the friends, activities that she cant do at home & will get to try in school. make her look forward to it...

I din know women with fibroid/cyst should avoid soya... gotta cut down on soya

chil, i remember i bring my boy to see his cc few times before he offically sending to cc on his first day, i told him that will be his new school and he have many frds to play with. First 3 days of cc, my boy was there for half a day with us accompany him in the class, and from there, will start full day on his fouth day.