(2011/06) June 2011

raynsky, the only thing similar for both preg is i don't have cravings, so hb was spared the agony of getting up in the middle of the nite to get food for me, keke!

syrah, no prob! din help much too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

JJ, ya same for me too, told my hubby, "u r lucky u know, dun have to run ard spore to get food for me, I onli tell u i'm hungry." haha.

i need to take some sour sour stuff to keep my nauseous down, but no sour plums cos i will throw out if i take dat, same as my previous pregnancies.

Other than tom yum, what other sour sour stuff?

Hi mummies, wow thread is moving fast n had a hard time catching up !

anjo4, i think how many children is really up to you and hubby in terms of financial and time... for me, we already decided to stop at 2.

but just for your info, cos since u already have 3, family therapy experts say that 4 is the ideal number of children in a family. 1 is too lonely, 2 may fight cos different personality, 3 will have middle-child syndrome n 2 against 1 so 4 is the most ideal, even personality crash, will still have 2 against 2.

Re: KKH

I not sure about the nurses, but medically, KKH is the hospital that all hospitals refer to when complications happen. Many Gynae n PDs in pte hospital 'graduated' from KKH n start their own practice outside...

Hanis, i remember reading somewhere aromatherapy is not advised during pregnancy ? u may want to check it out...

raynsky, JJ, I also wan different symptons !! cos looking forward to a girl leh... but i have strong intuition it's a boy again

Sameera, my boy also turning 2 in Dec this year, what a coincidence !

Serene,

On avg, the last two visits I paid abt $120 ($60 for consultation + u/s and then another $40 for duphaston - which i figured will only take for a few more wks and then another $5 for urine test)

His antenatal package which starts ard week 12 is $600 but I know can claim back abt $450 frm medisave then the rm charges n delivery charges will depends on type of rm etc. I don't rem the exact amt now but the nurse will explain during ur first visit..

He is very patient and kind and also friendly. Can ask him any qns and he will entertain..very reassuring [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm...I normally see alot of patients waiting but then again coz got a few docs there..wkends the wait is longer...last Sat I went when they opened (without any appt coz of some pains)..waited abt 40 mins..but if u go on wkday shld not be too long. In any case, wkends abit more relaxing so i just sit there and read mags or newspaper..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thank Leikela n Qiuen for adding me!cheerio~

Syrah,how can u tolerate bedrest for soo long!Amazing!I m going crazy liao leh...getting abit pissed off when my mil says it is not safe for me to walk go to the supermarket when I have not gone out for a week aldy!

Hi Sweety & JJ!

Qiuen,isnt amazing to hear bb's heartbeat!my husband recorded it down.. lol

JJ,I heard from the gyne says that stretchmarks are inherited one..If u dun have for 1st preg,u wouldnt have.I have frens that never even put oil thru' out preg,they didn't get a single stretchmark at all!for me,I put tons also like that..still get alot..

I m using Bio Oil btw..cheaper lah..than Clarins.can get it at watsons in JB I think.

Sweety,yah,not to worry,like what Rosyth said.I only heard my bb's hb @ 7weeks.

Ting,spotting is norm but just becareful lor.talk to ur gyne if spottting gets more freq.

Hanis,thanks for the tips!I get nausea,only vomit when I brush my teeth for too long.*whew*

I think the only prob for me is although I feel sick looking the food.I can still eat!I can eat 3bowls of rice for lunch,4bowls of beehoon for dinner leh,then I will be sick after I eat..my weight is going up like crazy..

Syrah & bb_jo21,I will be coming back to singapore in Jan.Then,I will decide where to give birth.Coz'there are confinement centres here in taiwan which is more convenient.It is like staying in the a hotel but there are nurses to take care of ur bb 24hrs,and your husband can stay with u also.anyway,hopefully can go thru' this 1st trimester smoothly then I will decide.. (^-^)

Clare,

No choice. For IVF, we get 2 weeks hospital leave after the embryo transfer. So basically those 2 weeks is resting as much as possible hoping that will implant. In my case, spotting started aft 1.5 weeks. Tested positive then n been on bedrest as much as possible since IVF pregnancy is more fragile. Guess my body is weak too cos I just did laparoscopy in May. For sake of bb, just have to do what's needed!

Wow... Your appetite is amazing!!! Instead of 3 bowls, mine is 3 bites & I'll be done.

Comparing between KKH & pte, the cost is comparable actually. Cos if we choose our own gynae at KK, it's the same as pte patient rates outside. In fact my consultation with my pte gynae similar to Leikela'a $60. For my gynae at KK as he's a specialist, his rates already $62. I understand rates at the pte suite is $68 which is even more than outside pte gynae. So it does boil down to if yours is high risk case. Pte gynae will still refer u to KKH if anything crops up & they can't handle.

clare: ya. its amazing how the little dot can make a heartbeat. Think hub is too shocked when he heard it to do anything. haha

asked him to read the book (what to expect when you are expecting), but keep saying he is busy.

does it make a loud sound? becoz we heard other mum's and their bb's heartbeat from the waiting rm but i figured it was sooo loud becoz the bb was big..those mums were quite far along..

the 7 wk heartbeat can also be heard very clearly?

leikela, it will be loud, no matter how big the bb is, cos they use a 'amplifier' thing, forgot the name for it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It's realli amazing when u hear it for the first time. Pregnancy is a beautiful process of nature.

Leikela,

Don't worry. All will be well & u'll hear the hb soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

syrah,wow...keep it up!I m sure all our effort we are putting in is worth it!i had a mc in feb this yr,so i m considered "weak",my mil n hub are taking all precautions.

my hub commented luckily i have still have nausea,if not i think i will gain 3kg in a mth.so far,I have aldy gained 2kg aldy..

Chil,thanks!didn't know singapore also have leh.

qiuen: lol the same as my hub lah.he is easy going.not worried at all.but he was so touched and amazed when he heard the hb for the 1st time.

2weeks ago,my hub even tried used a glass tumbler and put on my tummy,tried to hear bb's hb..kekekeee...

Hi Leikela,

Yup yup, the heartbeat can be heard very loud and clear! At first, my doc said that the 'twinkling' on the screen is the baby's heart beating. I was like, 'the twinkling?' Then she switched on the amplifier, and we heard it! Sounds like horses galloping!

I heard it when I was 7 weeks and 2 days...

Anyone knows if its ok to eat instant noodles like maggi and indome when we're in 1st trimester? That's all I have appetite for. =(

Hanis,i think it is all right to eat,but maybe in moderation?

I think eat whatever u like,thats what I m doing.I had been having fried rice,fried beehoon,fried chicken all this time.

What I really crave for is sushi,but I m forbidden coz' of the raw stuff.(I did manage to convince my hb to let me have some 2wks ago..haha,when my mil was not ard of course)

I just did my OSCAR test today, results came back and it wasnt good. 1:245 risk of having an abnormal baby. Im so sad! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Im opting for the amino test in about 3 weeks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Clare, I agree. Doc said to avoid oily food, but that's the only thing i can eat, but then I'll vomit it out later...I dunno what else to do, and eat! Sigh...

What about sushi with the cooked stuff on top? Like tuna or crab mayo? Did you have those kind of sushi?

THank you to all mummies for the great encouragement and i am so looking forward to hearing my bb's heartbeat. Seeing the growth in the sac makes me feel better =p

Mummy Hanis,

I think its pretty normal to have cravings like that just have it in moderation yah.

Mummy Ashley, Is there a reason why must you go thru the Oscar Test? WEll keep praying for the health of baby and may your prayers be answered and have faith in your baby. Keep talking to baby.

Ashley Belle,try to stay positive.yah~try to stay positive for the sake of ur bb for these 3weeks.

Hanis,yah.thats what i thought.try to get some nutrients with whatever we can eat.

I wasn't being good during that meal.I had all the raw stuff!My body feels soo heaty most of the time because I m banned from taking cold and "cooling" stuff.I even take warm yogurt!sounds yucky right?

anyway,I m trying to control myself,not to think of sushi anymore.

sweety,

I went for the oscar because i thought it would be good to know what are the risks my baby might be having, etc. =( Now i have to worry for the next 3 weeks. Sigh. Ill pray everyday!

thanks clare =)

I do take ice-cream once in a while, cos I figure i can't drink milk, confirm vomit.. Not yet, I guess. So get some calcium from vanilla ice-cream from the tub, or those mini cornettos...

Ashley Belle, dun worry, stay positive. =)

Ashley,

It's always tough receiving such news. But again it's just a probability n not confirmed. So stay positive n pray for the best k!

Clare,

Really have to avoid raw stuff esp so early in the pregnancy. However I understand how u feel. I'm also thinking of sushi tei phoneix roll. Gd thing that's all cooked stuff. Hmm...ok to eat unagi rt?

Hanis,

A little is fine. What I heard is to boil the noodles 1 round first to get rid of the wax too. Use less seasoning if u can too.

Hanis,

Don't remind me of ice cream. I didn't get to eat it yesterday. My DH recalled that no cold stuff for me & refused to buy for me in the end. In the end I gave him the puppy eyes yesterday & he promised to buy it tonight. However I'm only allowed 2 bites. Furthermore must keep it in the mouth for s while before swallowing it! I hope he keeps his promise n remember to buy it later.

Ladies, I just e-mailed my gynae a list of qns about food. Will post her reply soon.

It goes something like this.

1) Can I eat fully cooked sushi with like cooked stuff on it? Like crab mayo or cooked prawn?

2) Is vanilla ice-cream from the tub or mini cornettos ok to eat? Seems to work for my throat.

3) Can I eat maggi or indome in moderation? They seem to whet my appetite.

4) Spicy food helps me keep the food down, but I am still eating small portions of rice. Is it ok?

5) Do I have to stay away from cold stuff?

6) Is caesar salads ok? I cannot stomach cooked vege dishes.

Right now, my diet that I can stomach is toast (morning, lunch and dinner), a bit of rice with a bit of spicy gravy, saltwater biscuits, ribena water and ice-cream. French fries is also ok for me but I noe its oily. Am also eating one banana in the morning and one for lunch. And apples too.

What do you think? Am I doing ok? I can always make up for nutrition after 1st tri right? Do I need pre-natal vitamins?

Hope some of the questions can be answered..Let me know if your gynaes have other insights to my questions...

Hey ladies,

While I try to steer clear of raw food, ive been having cold drinks at every meal, spicy food and also ice-cream...didn't know that we had t avoid cold drinks and ice cream..coz my doc said i cld basically eat anything..feel like eating just eat..hmmm..just make sure dont have raw stuff and non pastuerized cheeses etc....

Anyway looking forward to ur doc's reply, Hanis!

Btw anyone knows if can take essence of chicken or issit too 'bu'

Ashley Belle..don't worry ok..we'll all pray for u and im sure ur bb will be fine...take care of urself yah...

She should reply by tmw, she's pretty efficient with replying my e-mails. Brief, but does the job..

I can't wait also leikela..=)

Anyway, my friend's gynae said that during 1st tri, it's all bout experimenting what's good to eat and what's not. As long as we stay away from the obvious no-nos..

Cos baby will still grow on our reserves...it's more of mummie's health and progress that we need to eat well...but if something works and we don't gag whilst eating it, we can eat it in small portions...That's just one opinion...

My friend who is 4 mths pregnant, had terrible MS. Basically was dependent throughout 7 weeks of her 1st tri. She survived on coke and spicy food. babby grew normally.. Now that her MS is easing off, she's starting to eat more healthily. But every woman is different and every pregnancy is different...so it's really doing what's best for you and your baby...

I haven't taken cold stuff due to cold womb. This is based on TCM. But otherwise western doc will say it's ok to consume.

Hanis (hanis)

WEll done! u can email your gynae!! where is she from btw?

COuld you also ask her what if a person ovulate late do but do not know when and how would they use the Lmp to calculate the baby's gestation age? Wahaha..such a lengthy question.

well i am also praying very hard for me and hubby to seeing our baby's heartbeat in 2 weeks time. So lets all pray together and mummy ashley i will keep u and bb in my prayers too! hugs!

Syrah, me too. My TCM doc says I am 'cold' inside...Oh no..=(

Sweety, she's from Raffles Hosp, very straightforward lady, non-nonsense, the way I like it..But she's sincere and genuinely cares for you...

Sure, I'll ask her, no prob!

Each time I e-mail her with a symptom or a problem, she'll e-mail then call me directly to ask for more info and squeeze me in to see me...That time I had cramps, she saw my condition through her lunch time and got me warded, on IV drip and all...Her assistant nurses are also easily available to me.

Hope you'll hear your bb's heartbeat soon!! =)

Hi Ashley dun worry took much. Last time my sis ratio was 1:77. Very high risk of abnormal bb then she did amino. But my niece turns out to be very normal cute bb . Bt she is 1.5 mths premature. Everything is fine. And my second sis coll

Also also suspect of ds bb. Her ratio 1:7 but she is 36 yrs old. In the end she also had adorable bb Ger. Dun worry so much.

RegArding food. My gynae say follow ur mouth. Wad u wan eat or drink just enjoy. I have been drinking Alot 7up. Cuz I can't eat w/o cold drinks

Hi Ashley, stay positive ah. I done amnio test for #1 as my triple test failed. But eveything turn out fine. So hang in there!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks u my dears! =)

Yah will pray. A 0.4% chance of a abnormal baby seems v low..but still, i think most moms get a much lower result.

sweety,

u will def see bb's heartbeat in 2 weeks time! Its an amazing experience!

Hanis,

I think maggi mee in moderation (maybe like once a week) shld be ok. But to be safe, try to eat the 'dry' version, eg dont drink the soup, etc

syrah,

How are your babies doing? =)

leikela,

I love spicy food too! And i think cold drinks sort of eases my nausea. Lol

Hi MTb I dun tink I can hear the hb leh. But the scanning was moving and gynae told me that's was the hb. But I heard loud sound when doc Check hb from my below instead of tummy. But doc say the sound nt hb sound leh. But reali like horses galloping

Joyce,

Thats reassuring to hear. Im trying to google more on oscar results. Thanks dear! I feel better after seeing your post. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chil,

i failed 2 of my tests. DS passed. Dunno whats the other 2 though. Im scared of the test! =(

I was very discipline with my diet throghout my pregnancy with my 1st child. (no cold drinks, no ice cream, no shelled seafood, no instant noodles etc) But now I just eat whatever I crave for (just can't help it this time around) except for the once that is an obvious no no. My hubby refrained me from eating seafood cos he said that if I eat it there is a chance that our child might have skin problem like eczema in future. Not easy to avoid it for 9 mths cos I absolutely love seafood.

This time round I ate prawns and squid a couple of times and felt guilty. I think I will stop eating it cos I want baby to have gd skin.

ann01jan, its nice to know your son shares the same birth month and year as my son. My son is a very active boy and its not easy to handle him especially now when I am tired most of the time.

Ashley Belle, I know that you must be nervous now but try to think positively since its not confirmed yet and pray for the best. I had a friend who experienced the same as you a couple of years ago. She prayed so hard for the next few weeks and thankfully the amniocentesis result came out normal. Her daughter is now 4 yrs old. Take care and will pray for you.

MORNING LADIES!

clare, really? hopefully i wont have stretchmark for this one as well...

i finally found the remedy to ease my nauseous - chili and sour cream potato chips, keke!

Hi Ashley Belle, i am considering whether to take OSCAR test. Did your gynae explain to you that there are some risks in doing amnio? and the risk level of amnio is 1 in 250 in threatening the pregnancy, as a needle will be inserted to collect some fluids. It is also this risk level that states that if your OSCAR results is anything higher than 1 in 250, ie 1 in 100, 1 in 200, then it will flag you as high-risk for DS and indicate that u shd do next step, amnio..

meaning even if you are 1 in 249 - u will be in high risk level, but if you are 1 in 251 - u will be in low risk level.

when actually the stats are not that far off.

just wanted to flag this to you as i learnt abt this yest and 1 in 245 is not such a bad result, don't worry too much. And hope your gynae has explained all abt the amnio to you...

Yesterday did ultrasound scan and saw the bb for the first time! could see the heart beating, blinking very fast and the shape of the bb is so clear! next time i see the doc is to do OSCAR test 4 weeks later. are any mummies here gna opt out of OSCAR?

Qiuen, can i also trouble you to amend my EDD on the chart? The scan shows that according to the size of the bb, im 8 weeks now, so my EDD is actually earlier at 10 June 2011. I'm pleasantly surprised and happy that im a few days faster.. 2nd trimester here we come!!!

Hi.. anyone got idea that preggy can take mee siam or not...

Just to add I am preggy too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but have been feeling very bad off and on for the whole day since yesterday and today