(2011/06) June 2011

clare, welcome & congrats! Same here, i've been spotting on off up till now. so my gynae ordered bedrest for me n is monitoring me closely. Wah...its really cheap in taiwan hor. my gynae consultation is alread 70-90ish plus scan is 60-70ish....my total bill per time plus jab always comes up to 200bucks.

bb_jo21,thanks! I was spotting,but later I started 2 bleed (fresh blood kind) coz I had a blood blot.The gyne then asked if my hub n I had sex recently~n bingo.so we are off from sex for now lor.

wah!$200+ per visit~~that ex.

If I was on the local medical scheme,the scan + consult cost like s$5.thats y my husband still complainin say ex..

Hi Clare! Welcome to the thread. I'm like u. Had 2 episodes of bleeding already n still slightly spotting now. No hanky panky on my side though. Ive been on bedrest for the longest time already. It's really really cheap in Taiwan. I'm stunned. Since cost of care in so cheap in Taiwan u can delay coming back till the very last min of 2nd tri.

clare, i agree with syrah. no point coming back so soon. our local gynaes are really ex loh. wait till last min then come back.

when spotting, we hv to be very careful. SEX is totally out..haha...

Leikela,

I just tried the Clarins oil. Very nice smell & not oily at all. Even my doggie likes the smell [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my mummy fren told me must apply not just on tummy but on thighs & butt too. At this rate, seems like will finish the bottle really fast!

I have the sudden craving for magnum almond. Now waiting for hb to buy it back for me. I've not taken cold stuff for a loooonnngggg time. Going to break it later!

Syrah oil is reali better? Wanna buy it soon if nt ltr too late no use. My fren say must apply on our bust also. Hahaha. I have been drinking alot cold drinks. GynAe say can drink N can eat anything we wan. As long as fresh, no overnite food can le cuz of bateria.

I tink if bleeding or spotting. Better no sex thruout cuz I gt one fren. High risk miscarriage bt she told me she totally no sex. In the end she gt successful delivery

My pants are also getting tighter each day!!

This is my #1, till date I have nt decide on my gynae. Help Help!!

Where can i buy e clarins oil??

Clare: gosh. Gynae costs is so low in Taiwan. Ya. U should stay there till the last few visits then return to sg. Save slot $$$. Shall update list tomorrow. Using iPhone now. Hee

Babybubbles. Think the cost does include some checks for the newborn. Can't remb details but includes certain 1st jab.

Hi everyone, how are all of you doing? I'm glad to see that everyone is doing great and there are new members here...

Not doing so well, me. Vomitting has stopped but still very nauseous. Getting the most rest I can cos going back to work next week. =(

Syrah, I love the clarins oil too...i have really dry skin, so the oil gets absorbed into my skin really fast...

Wow, I love the table...Can add me, pretty please?

Nick Hanis

Name Hanis

EDD 10th june

Gynae: Dr Cordelia Han

Hospital: Raffles Hospital

BB# 1

A healthy baby is more than enough...=)

Oceanicgal,

Leikela helped me to buy mine.

For those who r interested in getting the Clarins stretch mark control cream, u can consider buying from this website.

http://sg.bestbuy-world.com/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=19&sort=20a&page=2

I bought a couple of things from them before. Purchase above $50, free delivery. Saw the cream selling at $68 there. The Clarins oil for pregnancy is out of stock. It was listed yesterday but removed today already. Note that there're 2 oil listed. One is the firming toning one (for pregnancy) and the other conturing strengthening. Don't get the wrong one!

Hello mummies to be.

To start off, i would like to say that i am possibly preg with my number 4.

I have an elder child in pri sch, and i have a pair of twins who are 1 yrs old.

I have been spotting for a week now, and i casually told by dh tat i would like to test for preg as this spotting is on and off. I tested it today and bingo, its positive.

I am now flooded wif apprehention, worry, and joy. Though i waited for a long time to conceive a bb, and now this one, I am so worried I am unable to cope.

Financially is a strain too. Wif 4 kids, and i dun work. I told my hubb that if the spotting means its a natural miscarriage, then we will let it be. But if it is ok, shd we keep the bb??

As much as i wld like to, i find it diff to manage the time (esp with the one yr olds) and to teach and guide an older child.

I feel so down (thiugh i shd be happi and blessed). I never expected i will get preg on my own without help.

I know it sounds crazy tat i would want to take away a life, but I am in a moment of confusion rite now. I jus need a listening ear

Ladies, yeah you can get the Clarins oil from the site that Syrah provided but like she said its out of stock now. So if you wanna get it soon then let me know and I can help u get..its $70 which is more than the website but still cheaper than the market price of $80+ outside..let me know who wants yah then i'll pm you for more info..

Syrah, really ah? ok im gonna use it tonight..and yes think i intend to use on tummy, butt, thighs n bust..esp for butt n thighs now..then maybe further down the rd can focus on tummy n bust alittle more..

Hey Joyce, u didn't enable ur pm function ah? Trying to pm u abt the clarins oil...u stay in punggol also right? I can get for u n pass to u

Hi qiwen, thanks for putting me in the mtb list. BTW I forget to put my nickname as Rosyth. Name as Sameera.

Hi Chilladi, Clare and Hanis and anjo4. Welcome to the thread.

Hi Joyce, My baby is 3mm too at 6 weeks and we have the same edd date 21 Jun

Hi anjo4. I know it must be tough on you having to cope with 4 kids in future but I am very positive you can do it. I know of mothers who have 4 kids and they are probably the happiest super mommies on earth.

As for clarins oil. I used it throught my 1st pregnancy cos it smell so gd. However the end result was there were oil stains on my towels and most of my clothes and it didnt stop me from having stretch marks. I might need to find another cream to prevent further stretch marks. Any recommendations ladies?

Hi anjo4. I know some mums who have 4 kids, hold great positions, squeeze in date nights/lunches with hubbies, and they are extremely exhausted most of the time, but they are truly happy. I'm sure that whatever decision or whatever happens, it's for the best and that the most important thing is that your family is intact, strong, happy and safe.

Take care..

Thank u Rosyth and Hanis for yr encouragement. I have an appt to see my dr tomorro. I hope the spotting is not a risk to the baby though. I am possibly only 4/5 weeks preggie.

Hi anjo4, glad to be of help. Think positive and if you have great support from dh and family, anything is possible. Take care sweets...

I thought to share some solutions here..

I can't stand the smell of food being cooked, so i bought an air purifier and put in eucalyptus in it. It's on like 24/7 and it works like magic.

Also, I keep saltwater crackers, like from Meiji brand, beside my bedside table cos I wake up at 2 in the morning hungry. And when I'm hungry, that's when the nausea starts, sO I grab like 2 biscuits to munch. Not more than that cos I dun want to feel too full, just enough to last through the night.

I know most of you experienced mothers know this already, but just thought to share what works for my MS.

I also sip water every 10 mins to keep myself dehydrated, and eat really small meals. Like 3 or 4 scoops of rice or toast or biscuits.

I hope to gain more weight after 1st trimester..Now into 2 mths...lost a little weight, but hope everything is ok..'

Take care and good health for everyone..

Hi Chil,

I gave birth to my #1 at KKH, and I have a great experience there. Though I have also heard of not so good stories at KKH. My conclusion is to see ur gynae at Private Suite.

There are 3 types of services at KKH, 1st type is gynae doc and confirm he/ she delivers for you, then you see your doc in the private suite and can opt for class A ward, though I opt for a 4 bedder. 2nd type is u get to see a fixed gynae for all your appt, but there is a small chance tt he/ she may not deliver for you. 3rd type is subsidised rate, whereby u go in and see any gynae that is on duty tt day, and it may even be a trainee doc who delivers for you.

As tt was my first pregnancy, I chose to see my gynae in the Private Suite, cos I want her to follow through my whole pregnancy + delivery. At The Private Suite, I feel the gynae is able to spend more time wif you and does the ultrasound scan herself. But if u opt to see the doc at the Specialist Clinic A, you would need to go to another section to do your scan, then go back to see the doc, so means longer wait time la.

The total price that I pay is comparable to private hospital.

But why I opt to go KKH cos it is the most well equipped hospital to deal with any neonatal or postnatal emergency. Not that we wish for anything to happen, but we never realli know what can happen during a pregnancy or delivery. Cos if any complication arises for the baby at birth or wat, the baby may have to be transported to KKH for treatment, cos other hospital may not be very equipped.

But of cos, everyone have your own reason why we want to choose a certain gynae or place to deliver la. Hope this helps.

Oceanicgal,

Welcome! I'm sure there's other such websites ard too.

Btw sidetrack a little, anyone know where to buy Gatineau facial products cheaper?

thanks raynsky, the info is really helpful! just booked an appt w john Tee @ amk clinic on coming Mon evening + another appt w my prev gynae tonite too.. just wanna get a 2nd opinion before i decide which gynae to follow.

regards stretch marks, do remember to apply on the inner part of yr thighs too! that is what i missed during the #1 preg.. there are two huge strech mark tat i discovered only after the #1 delivered aka the tummy is gone, and i can finally see my trotters [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] is gone case now le.. no more sexy bikini for me

back from gynae.

So happy to see doudou's heartbeat and is now 0.67cm. Currently 6+weeks.

chil: thanks for the reminder. that seems like a lot of places for stretchmarks to appear. gheez

hi, new to this thread, just tested positive and be expecting bb#3, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif], have a 3 yr old boy and 10mths old gal, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif], will be seeing my gynae next sat which i will be 7wks by then.

pls help to update:

Nick - Marchbb

Name - Lynda

EDD 29 June (TBC)

Gynae: Dr LN Sim

Hospital: TMC

BB# 3

I am new to join this thread and tested positive last week =p

Had spotting 3 days ago and went to take jab and the brown stain had since stopped but occasionally i do get a little cramping feeling. Just wish to check does anyone of you experiencing something like that?

rosyth (rosyth)

we could be around the same time and just want to check when do you hear the heartbeat? All i see now is just sac, but EDd could be 22th June but doc mentioned that it might be smaller than the stated date. So i am really worried if my baby would be alright?

JJ & Sweety, welcome n congrats!

Sweety, cramps r quite common as our womb is stretching to accommodate our bb. Nothing to worry about unless it gets very intense accompanied by bleeding.

Hey babes

My friend can get the Clarins Oil at $66. PM me if you are interested cos im getting 2 bottles so can consolidate and order cos she gets them in bulk tts y the cheaper price. i think we will need at least 2 bottles for the whole pregnancy so just get first.

hi sweety..is brown discharge considered wat u all call spotting?

coz i tot spotting is more like got blood..

i also got on and off brown discharge..doc said its normal..he said its the same as ur nose..the blood vessel..

i also read in baby bks..as ur baby is growing..certain of ur tissues will tear..then bleed..by the time reach there..it has become brown..

my 7th wk was .94cm eh...

then ah i saw in SinMing nite newspapers yesterday..research said those pregnant woman who dont feel nausea and vomitting will likely to have miscarriages..i saw already i wana faint..

then my MIL said its rubbish ah..she dont feel anything when expecting 3 kids tat time..

Hi Anjo4... we are here to listen to u. whatever you choose, as long as you know its in the best interest of all the people u love, then i think u shdnt worry abt wat other ppl might think or say. cos they r not u n they dunno wat u r going thru. Many of us here are expecting #2 or #3 n we r already worried so nobody can blame u for worrying abt #4. take care babe...

Ting, I also think its rubbish... my aunt had 3 kids n she never got morning sickness before. i think mummies who never get morning sickness r just lucky!

ting: i saw that article too. Saw the headlines and decided not to read it. heee.

Dont need to worry about it. Cos alot of women dont experience MS and have perfectly fine kids

Thanks bb_jo21 for the welcome, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

RE: MS

I think it's nonsense when they said no ms will result in mc. Whether ms or not, there are pple who do not have ms and have fine kids.

RE: Stretchmark

I have no stretchmark for my previous 2 preg, heeee! hopefully this time round, will not have stretchmark too, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

syrah, yup there is a difference between the charges for delivery, in fact even for normal consultation. But u r guaranteed to have ur gynae deliver for u. You seeing ur gynae at Specialist Clinic A now?

chil, no prob! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

About MS, I din have any for my previous pregnancy. Now #2, i wld feel nauseous in the morning, and cant brush teeth w/o vomitting, but nothing come out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Then my GP say, different symptoms, so may mean this time is a girl. haha. I hope. Anyway my gynae say MS usually gets the worst at week 8 - 9.

raynsky, for me, when i preg with #1, my ms only start from wk 9 to wk 13 after that it stopped. but preg with #2, i was having very bad ms right from the start till when i was abt 4.5mths preg, i think i lost abt 6-7kg and thanksfully i was not dehydrated. Now for this one, i just feel nauseous like you but nothing ocme out, hopefully ms don come and visit me, i have enough of it when i preg the last time.

Leikela,

May I ask how's Dr Tham charges like? Is he friendly and detail?? Do you hv to waiting very long to see him?

Congrates JJ and Sweety.

Qiuen - Glad that you could see the baby's heart beat *Cheers*

Sweety - My gynae said that it is sometimes too early to see the baby's heart beat at 6 weeks. Not to worry Sweety cos you should be able to see the baby's heart beat at your next appointment. Meanwhile you should have plenty of rest and not exert yourself too much ya. Take care!

Raynsky,

I see my gynae at specialist clinc D. They told me I need to re-register as a new patient again since I was previously under the IVF side. I'm sticking to the same gynae since it's twins & he's experienced with multiples. R we talking abt a huge difference when it comes to delivery charges? Need to plan since must be prepared for NICU.

JJ, wah u must be feeling horrible during ur second pregnancy, and worried at the same time. So what is the gender of your #1 and #2?

syrah,

maybe you want to discuss with your gynae about it? Cos for my #1, my gynae did not propose to see me in The Private Suite (TPS) until the pregnancy is stable. She only started seeing me in TPS after I chose the premium package for delivery. The difference for the delivery package is not very big, tink the diff is in hundreds of dollars? But normal consultation also more ex at TPS. But I tink for multiples, there is a different package or something. Understand your concern, NICU is realli expensive. I had pre-term labour at week 35 for my previous pregnancy. I tink was like $2K/ day in the NICU if bb was delivered then, and different price scale if delivered at different weeks of the pregnancy.

JJ,

Wah, so it seems true, tt when the symptoms of pregnancy are different in the first trimester, the gender of the bb will be different. haha. happened to quite a number of ppl ard me.