(2011/06) June 2011

Hi MdmKhoo (Diana) -- Hope your flu is getting better. I try to hold my tummy everytime i sneeze or cough..Everytime i sneeze or cough..i am so afraid i will tramatise my bb inside..cos sure to have very big movement at my tummy area (cos i have flabby tummy with fats!-Opps)

Ya ladies.I can't sleep very well too....can't find the right position to sleep too..for me now sometimes on the back..sometimes on the side.I read the book that the best position for us and for baby is to giap a pillow in between our legs and sleep side way! U ladies can try! for me is i will at least wake up once or twice to pee!! Really interuption to my sleep. And i am having a lot of weird dreams!! So sleepy now and hungry now.Yawnz!

I forgot to take out my prenantal multi vitamins and DHA Fish oil today!!! SIANZ!! Hope its ok for me compensate in the evening!! Feel sorry for my baby! due to my super forgetfulness!!

claire, Bb kick.. initially like gas in ur stomach rumbling "tick tick" feeling hard to describe. but u certainly knew after u get it few times dun worry!

Wow victoria, i often forget my pills! as long as you eating well dun need to be over concern. i hate to wk up to pee sometimes will end up awk for an hr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sian year end PH all on sat n guess what? my HR say PH on sat no off in lieu! what the hell! MOM rules heck care. just becos i got childcare leave try to "eat" me.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

createjoy...i often dun eat too well i think....bcos now my appetite very weird..all healthy food turns me off. i dun like fish at all. tats why i feel more secure to eat the vitamins, fish oil and milk in order to get nutrients for my baby...

once a while i will get tat kind of tickish feeling at my tummy. Hope its baby kick..although now still early...me only 14wks this week.

me too have a hard time zzz then every nite have to go toilet so mani times [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

btw mummies i read from online that we have to zzz left side leh..must train ourselves..cuz gd for ourselves and our bb

vict

u same as me..healthy food totally turns me off.. last week went to buy fish bt in the end, i threw the fish noodle away..nw i always like to eat spicy and unhealthy food..me today exact week 14 but ms still haven go off [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

victoria,

think it's ok. i dun even eat fish oil. gynae doesn't believe in it. i just take my pre-natal vitamins and my normal vitamins. seem to be having constipation nowdays though [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Krex78

i am going with hb n no1, but mil n maid oso coming along. Wow u plan to NZ or hokkaido, good. cos I went Hokkaido & Tokyo this yr in Jul, very nice place. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Talking about slping position, I usually like slp on my side or tummy, very uncomfy to slp on back. Same I oso scared pressing on bb so will try to slp on my sides. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Victoria, i also entered my 14wk this week. i realised my fish oil capsules will run out ~2-3 days before my next gynae visit (fish oil bought from clinic, told to have higher % etc).. so i called up the clinic, the nurse said it's ok to miss a few days. hmm.. so in the end nearer the visit, i skip one day and eat the other, rather than skipping 2-3days straight. Self conjured reasoning that it's better.

krex really ah? then why gynae still ask us to buy... =(

rain,

dun think i wanna bring my maid or ILs :p is hokkaido very cold in feb/ mar, and is it easy to drive around? i won't be able to do the onsen rite? so sayang.

i am new here, but have been following this thread diligently for weeks. My bb is coming 14weeks this wk..would like to learn from u gals here through this pregnancy journey!=)

Name: PF

EDD: 20/06/2011

Doc:Dr Douglas Ong

Hospital to deliver: Mount Alvernia

Preference of gender: both is fine as long as healthy!=)

for those mummies still suffering from ms, i read up online that you can try taking the prenatal vitamins at night instead. http://www.ehow.com/way_5132189_way-prenatal-vitamins.html

same thing i kind of get a little sian when taking vitamins and fish cod oil. I think too much health food makes me cringe. Somemore, i still have half a can of milk powder left for mummies. Think I will just drink it occasionally instead of daily.

Hi mummies, any idea whether if you think baby sarong sling better or a baby carrier better? I am now trying to stock up on the big items like cot, stroller etc becos i think once we step into 3rd trimester, the physical constrain will make it a turn off for us to do such purchase.

my friend was commenting that should buy a 4 wheel stroller cos 3 wheel stroller more difficult to control when going up the escalator.

Thanks Syrah for the tip..I tried it when I took my nap..it works!other mummies can try..

Welcome Bless!

Victoria,I guess being forgetful is common among us liao..hehe..I just couldnt recall whether I shampoo my hair anot during shower sometimes..very jia liat..

Christine,I m still waiting for donations..hehe..Hopefully frens n relatives can donate the big items like cot n car seat before I plan to get anything..My hubby's colleagues started to call us to get the bb items from their homes already..I think it will cost a bomb buying all the items..

Just got the support belts from my hubby's cousins.hehe..

Krex78,heard from my husband n my colleagues who have went there,u can get GPRS..quite easy to get around with their system..

hi bless

welcome and congrats to u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my edd changed to 19/06/2011, one day earlier than u..wahaha..

clare

if im nt wrong, u are based in tw rite??

are u working there?? cuz im afraid i might need to go aust soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] thurs, husband will have second round interview [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] worried cuz im alone there

Hi Joyce,

oh no....Which part of Aussie?hope its not those Ulu parts of Aussie..I nearly fainted when my husband was in Adelaide for one yr..I had to take train to the nearest shop just to buy a birthday cake...

If its those bigger cities,better..

Did u discuss with hubby where u wan to give birth?I think being alone is tough especially u need help when bb comes..

Maybe u can give birth in singapore n once bb is stronger,can go australia to join him?

I m in taiwan right now,coz' my husband is a taiwanese,but he have plans to move to vietnam when bb comes..

clare that is so good. I am also getting the cot donated from my cousin. However, I am getting the rest from scratch. I'm mainly purchasing lots of 2nd hand stuff from the other mummies.

qiuen I am getting a 4 wheel stroller => Graco Travel System as i like how the baby carrier can be clip onto it to minimise disturbance to the baby. However, I heard usually the 3 wheels one are more powerful(hence more expensive) lol but not sure in what sense. mabbe "smoother" wheels?

Hi christine,

I have both the sling(from mumsnbabes) n ergo bb carrier. I like both of them. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think the sling is good for breastfeed when u r outside and I oni start to use my bb carrier when my no1 is bigger like 4-5mths old cos wait till their neck is firm i think better pluz my hb oso like to use the bb carrier alot.

Dear Mummies

Sorry for interrupting you

I have 3 * S$100 Babybaby vouchers for sale

(Please go to www.babybaby.com.sg for outlet details)

Letting go at 15% disc,I can meet up at Serangoon/Bishan/Lorong Chuan MRT or registered postage

Voucher Expiry: 16Dec2011

The vouchers can buy anything in the outlet except Ferrari car Seat (the only exception)

Interested please PM me

Ya joyce, i threw away my tom yam fish slice soup a few days ago too. I used to like to tom yam earlier weeks and it just turn me off now. Aiyo. Dunno how also.

krex78 (krex78),chilli_padi (chilli_padi), i felt so much relief to hear tat is ok to skip the fish oil and vitamins. Think i m being too paranoid. Hehe.

Wow..seem you all starts getting the baby stuffs. i really have no idea how to start buying things leh..hehe..really so lost. So far i only have baby girls clothings passing down from cousins and from my brother. Since gynae say most likely my baby is a girl. Excited!! hehe.

Anyone has a shopping list for 1st time mummies?

hi junior rain, note taken. I will purchase a sling first then. I do agree that carrier is easier for guys to use as the sling usually needs a lot of practice and skill.

Hi Victoria, you may want to start purchasing with the confinement in mind too. I m not experience about it either but here's a rough list on what to look at. Mabbe other mummies can add on to the list?

Mummy items :-

1) Maternity Pad

2) Breast Pad

3) Breast feeding equipment

4) Disposable Panties

5) Herbal Bath (cost about $3/pack outside)

6) Dry shampoo

7) Breast cream

Baby items

1) Diapers

2) Wet Wipes

3) Nappy cream

4) Shower foam for baby

5) Small towel

6) Baby towel

7) Mattress - cot and cover

8) Socks and mittens

9) Baby clothes

10) Baby bibs

11) Cotton Bud and pad

12) Diaper cover to be used with Cloth Diapers

13) Milk Bottles

14) Pacifer as stand by

15) Hot electric flask

16) Sterilsing equipment (Modern type or electric type)

17) Stroller

18) Baby Carrier (the basket kind esp for those who have vehicles)

Just wan to interrupt and ask about mini confinement. What is done during mini confinement? Need to follow all the rules like confinement?

Wow christine, thanks for sharing the list. its so useful..

ladies, iam having severe low backpain.. feel like crying.. trying to stay calm, so that my baby is not upset..

raynsky,start ur confinement food(if u are preparing any) only after u have stop bleeding after the op.

The last time my gyne keep reminding me not to eat at least for 2 weeks,coz' if u keep replenishing iron/blood,the bleeding will not stop easily.

Not to carry heavy stuff or squad down.(my mum always reminded me that)Try to keep ur womb in position as it is in a healing process.Try to sleep face up.

take the red dates soup later on..

A follow up check up with the gyne later is important.My gf had only a few drops of period only for 1 yr, 2-3mths later after the op,coz' the walls of the womb were stuck together thus,not much period(the op was not done properly)

I still shower lah,but hot water n dry hair immediately coz' weather too hot.

And dont try to exercise after a few mths..I did..sily me.. n the bleeding came back after a 5km jog.

n please take care...*hugs*

morning ladies. back to work ytd after almost 2 wks break. damn tired. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

had my favorite tea halia ytd end up indigestion, wonder why..

oh fancy, wanna give yr gynae a call? maybe they hv medicine or sth that can cure yr pain fast.. go home and rest if possible.

for stoller, try to get one lighter one if you plan to take public transport, travel ard alone with baby. as it is more easy to move ard.

Christine,Thanks for the list!you're a star!was clueless n dont know where to start lor..

Fancy,have a got the support belt yet?ur pain lasts the whole day?maybe u want to go check with ur gyne n see what is the cause of the pain if it is really severe..no cry ok?

Krex..yeapz..got english..can understand..my husband's english lousy also can understand..hehe..

Thanks clare.

U mean onli start on confinement food after bleeding stop? Not like after delivery, start confinement immediately? Ok to take essence of chicken?

Chil,Clare,

i didn't get support belt yet , i thought i will be able to wear only when tummyis big enough.. it is just sticking out a little now.. not enough to get a seat in MRT though :)

my pain is sever in the late evening and in the morning , afternoon iam fine. i have emailed my gynae, he had gone for vacation. hope he responds.. lying down is also a problem, i don't want to lie down straight for a long time..then side ways... uhh.. long way to go.. i heard bad aches only during 3rd trimester.. here i have just entered 2nd trimester.. long way to go..

any of you experiencing backaches, planning to keep warm pack in the back to relieve from pain..

Noticed most mums here are given fish oil. Not my case. I was given multivits n calcium tablets. I m to eat my floxine for another week before I start on those.

Christine. Thanks for the list. It's going to be really useful. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Bless, another JW mummy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ladies, I found my things-to-buy list, similar to what christine posted but comes with the brands & comments. Problem is I can post it here cos its very long... PM me if you need, will email as attachement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Eleen Lau,

i think u can upload as attachment( while posting see in the right side ( upload attachement) or share the online spreadsheet link.

i have never tried before though :)

hi fancy, mayb get a gp / A&E doc to check. cos sudden pain in severe is not a good sign sometime. i feel for u cos last time i hurt my back and i cant even tolerate to stand still for 5 mins. i hope your pain will ease off soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi fancy, dun stand for long hours. get shoes with good arch support. My mum advised me to wear shoes with a bit of heels. Initially I also though we are still so early in pregnancy, no need to wear heeled shoes, but turns out i also had backaches from wearing flats. when i changed to heeled shoes (with arch support) i felt way better.

I feel for you.. i cried out the other time coz i Gei Kiang squat down to turn the switch. I think i hurt my tailbone. then thereafter I couldn't sleep well. So i feel like my tailbone, right hip, right waist, right back, right shoulder AND right neck is hurting like SIAO!! miserable feeling. but it should go away. Please monitor situation and call the clinic if you don't get better. There should be anoyther gynae on standby when urs is on vacation?

anyway what's the deal with ple not wanting to massage my shoulders? I'm aching really bad, and I asked my colleagues to rub my shoulders (she's quite good at it) and she just refused to do it! came to find out it's 100% superstition and maybe health reason.. anyone knows what's the superstitution about? just curious =)

coz i'm still aching. HAHHA...

Chil,

first thing iam taking half day off and going home for bed rest and lets see things improve...

y no massage on shoulders... ?? never heard ..

E'leen, do you mind sending me at [email protected] ? Many thanks in advance. I think the comments from your list will be useful.

chilli, thanks for the advice and sharing on the shoes becos i have a back ache too and I have been wearing totally flats. My lower back pain near spine area was so painful that i cried during hari raya. But when i went down to KK hospital the 24 hour clinic doctor says nothing wrong with my spine after she feel the spine bone. But still my pain is a recurrence on a daily basis. Pain resets after a night's sleep and get worse as the day goes by. I suspect i have slip disc but cant go for xray etc as I feel that it will affect the baby. i guess just have to be careful and rest well. the pain is more under control and much lesser now compared to months ago.

chilli_padi: my beautician refuses to do shoulder massages for me as well. Think its more to health reasons bah.

Ladies: know any good and cheap prenatal massages?

am at wk 16..went for scanning yesterday..cant see gender yet..haha hv to wait til 18/1 for the detailed scanning..

hv already gained 5kgs eh..so scary..

doc also said i can eat fish oils at 6mths nia eh..but colleague said need it nw for baby brain development also..so which is which..

E'leen,can email me the list?Thank you so much!

[email protected].

Fancy,I m getting backaches in the middle of the night.I cannot stay in a position for too long like sitting down or standing also.but mine isnt that severe..no alt gyne u can see?

Ting,I went to see baby center,they also recommend to eat now..

raynsky,yah..thats what my gyne advise me the last time..coz' replenish urself with all the nutrients will coz' ur womb to start healing the lining/blood thus the bleeding might not stop as fast.but I remember my bleeding didn't last really long.check with ur gyne about this matter..

I didn't take essence of chicken leh.

Does any mummy here know about this?

hello.

i new here.

i currently into my 13th wk.

but i've not got my gynae leh.. wanted to get Dr Jocelyn Wong but fully bk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

may i know how u gals choose ur gynae?